We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont bother if your english”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Narcia Resort Hotel
Ranked #61 of 227 Hotels in Side
stoke on trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“dont bother if your english”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

we booked the narcis 4 our honeymoon and were sold a 5 star hotel and accomadation however on arrival we were put in the anex in a room no bigger than a box room no storage 4 clothes other than a cupboard with 4 coathangers! and balcony with 2 chairs which was very small.we were very dissapointed but thought we would make the most of it as it was our honeymoon and first time away in 2 years because of saving 4 our wedding.when we went 2 the pool on our first day we were the only english people there and the majority were german russian but we just thought never mind however when my husband went 2 the bar 2 get a drink he was ignored and the german guests were favoured over him waiting 20 mins 4 2 bottles of water with other guests repeatedly jumping the queue and getting served straight away! the guests were so rude but as were the staff many of times we went 4 lunch and were asked 2 move tables because they were set up 4 the evening when asked why we couldnt sit at the table the staff didnt understand and just shrugged their shoulders and walked off mumbling under their breath!the food though was very good and couldnt say a bad word about it.we had a problem of misplacing our room key we managed to get a replacement just but when we were concerned over the old room key and wooried bout some1 being able 2 get in2 our room the reception staff didnt have a clue wot we were talking about after 2 days of trying to explain we had 2 ring our travel company in england 2 ring the travel provider to ring the hotel 2 tell them that we were worried that someone wud be able 2 get in2 our room not acceptable if they r selling the holiday 2 the english the staff should also be able 2 speak english as well as very good german!we had no rep as she had finished 4 the summer we were never informed of this we fell we were miss sold our honeymoon as when some english guests did arrive they had paid roughly 700 pounds less than us and were in the 5 star accomadation wot a joke! after the first week we never sat by the big pool as you were constantly pestered 2 compete in the activities and when we politley declined the staff would walk away muttering under their breathe we decided 2 go to the beach on arrival there were very few sunbeds in the sun but alot in the shade so we moved 2 sunbeds in2 the sun when 2 more english guests came to us 10 mins later they did the same only 4 a member of staff 2 come over and have a big rant in german for them 2 put the sunbeds back and when we asked why he didnt understand us and as the morning went on the more guests arrive and moved yet more sunbeds in various places over the beach 4 nothing 2 be said 2 them sunbeds we saved first thing in the morning and people wouldnt tend to make an apperance untill way after lunch we were told savind sunbeds was not allowed! we were very dissapointed with our stay at the narcia we had read the reviews before going on our honeymoon and we just took it with a pinch of salt however having spent 2 weeks there we wouldnt go back guests r very rude some of the staff very rude and we have found out on our return back that this hotel will not be sold to english guests next year due to the number of complaints! we were very dissapointed with our holiday and if the staff had maybe spoken english and been a bit more respectfull towards their english guests we would have enjoyed it you couldnt fault the food as i have said before but the staff were disgraceful and we certainly wont be making a return visit our honeymoon was ruined thanks narcia!

Room Tip: make sure you ask wot part of the hotel you r staying in as the anex is the ecomony section of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank emma f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    95
    33
    22
    13
See reviews for
113
84
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Just back from two great weeks at Narcia Hotel, we found everything about the hotel to be very good except for the entertainment which was a wee bit dodgy to say the least, geared for the German tourist. We stayed in the annex which we found excellant apart from the 54 steps to our room but when you got there the view certainly made up for it, stunning view over the sea, we also had our own little pool that hardly anyone used which was great, no hassle getting sun loungers etc. The food in the hotel was first class i myself am a lover fish meals, which was in abundance every day and lots of variety, there was also a great selection of meats, salads, cheeses, breads, fruits, sweets and drinks for every palate. You also have the choice of the facilities at the beach, the restuarant, covered and uncovered sun loungers, but you need to be up early to get one of these, though there is a guy who monitors the loungers and if there are towels on one's and no one has been on them within roughly a couple of hours he takes the towels off them which is good. There's not alot of English spoken but we managed ok with this a met lots of good people. We would have no hesitation whats so ever going back to this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I agree with all the reviwers poiting out the lack of english spoken personell, even thought I speak some german myself. Furthermore, there is a problem with all the german guests, as some revewers has stated before (rude people as tourists).
One other thing I foud wery disturbing was that there were loud music at the main pool all days. The music was wery monotom euro-disco and techno-turk music. Hovewer, when we took a walk in the sorrunding areas, we discovered that many other hotels had this concept (If you want a qiet and calm vacation, don't go to Turkey). I made a retreat to the small pool next to the old part of the hotel, this pool araea was much moore quiet.
Here are some other points;
The food was surprisingly good, Turkish kitchen is a great experience.
We had a room facing the back side of the hotel. I found the noise from the air condition for the rest of the hotel (not the air condition on the balcony) disturbing, especially during night time. There was also some smell from the drain system in the bathroom (rotten egg). I seems to disapear when you flushed the system.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uffe65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashford kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

we went as a family to narcia resort on 28th june stayed for two weeks what a night mare thay dont like the english you get pushed and shoved about when its dinner time the germans and russians are greedy and think the food is just for them so most nights we ate out as we could not be bothered to be treated like animals a 5 star hotel dont beleave that the kids were given glasses to drink from with chips all out of them when we complained thay said it was ok thay can use a straw the staff was very un helpfull only wanted to no the germans and russains at the bar thay would be serveing you then a russian or german comes thay stop serveing you and do them we told them if thay dont like the english then dont take our money and let use stay here we like turkey as we stayed two years ago in side and had a great holiday but this one was a nightmare so if you are english then dont go there and if you have all ready booked then i would try to canceal and go some where else i could go on and say much more but i would be here a life time thay have a slide on one pool but the kids did not get ago as it was packed with the germans and russians and thay would not move so thay could go down the slide so all we payed for was the bed as we ate out when we did go for food my husband was told to get out because he had a vest top on but he pointed out to them loads of germans and russians dreesed the same but the staff did not want to no and some off them were very hairy but that was fine so we just ate out so we could have peace and some good food the food in hotel is the same every day thay were allowed to put towels on sunbeds to save them when we did it we had a letter put in our room to say we were not allowed to do that but nothinng said to them so if you want agood holiday do not go to narcia we ignored all the reveiws and throught it carnt be that bad but beleave me it is we have nothing good to say about this hotel we dident even see them clean the pools out and our room was a club room right near the small pool this hotel is only about 2 star if that

Room Tip: we had a club room 2 adults 2 children in 1 room two single beds and 1 doulble and you get a shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quadashfordkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We go back from our holiday at Narcia on 16th June and had a lovely time!

Although it is a German speaking hotel we found the staff to be very helpful- they attempted to speak English, or if they didn't know any would try and find someone who would. We wanted to go out on our first morning, but were worried about leaving out passports etc in the room without a safe so requested one- it did take about 2 hours to get one which perplexed us at the time, however in hindsight the reception staff were obviously waiting for one of the chips to be returned from guests who were checking out (the safe needs a chip to be inserted to it to work). Most of the transfer companies require you to call ahead two days before your return transfer to confirm, and the reception staff did seem funny about calling for us, however they activated our room phone and talked us through as best they could how to make the call from the room.

We stayed in room 1634 which is on the top floor of the hotel and has some stunning views overlooking the sea. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels and bed linen most days too... the cleaning ladies even made us swans out of our bed sheets and laid rose petals on the bed which was a lovely and personal touch. On a Sunday the cleaning was very basic, but I think this is due to it being the day of rest. The room has a mini fridge which the cleaning staff replenish with fresh bottled water every day. The shower was lovely- a power shower, however watch out as the water temperature does have a tendency to go up and down mid- shower. The only issue we had with our room was a sewage smell every now and again once the shower had been on- once you had the balcony door open for quarter of an hour or so the smell had cleared. The air con was very welcome through the night and it was free which was great.

The restaurant was great with everything you could have wanted to eat from salads, soups, fresh fish, fresh vegetables, beautifully cooked meat, chips and pizza and some traditional turkish dishes. Breakfast is very much a traditional continental breakfast, which was a shock to the English system at first- don't expect bacon! Every morning the cooks made the pastries fresh as well as cooking pancakes and frying eggs for you if you wanted them. There were plenty of cereals to choose from and breads as well as cheeses and cooked meats... I was very amused to find that I could have Turkish delight for breakfast!! I would recommend going down for your evening meal after 8 as between 7-8 the restaurant gets very busy and we ended up some nights wandering around with our food for 20 minutes looking for a table- we quickly learnt to find a table first and take it in turns to go and get our food. Don't be surprised if people rock up next to you on your table- this is the German way apparently.

The all inclusive drinks were much better than expected- the lager and wine were very drinkable and there was a wide range of local alcolohic drinks to have. The pool bar is more limited in the drinks that they had and we ended up having lager or soft drinks frok here most of the time. The reception bar had a lovely balcony overlookig the pool which was lovely to go and sit to have an evening drink. Well know cocktails such as sex on the beach are extra and very expensive, however we learnt towards the middle of the holiday that if you say 'coacktail' to the bar staff they will make you one wth the all inclusive drinks available- normally with vodka, fruit juice and dependent on the bar staff they added other things to this too- each of the bar staff made their own different cocktails and they were all lovely and very drinkable.

The beach does get very busy, however we got down there at 9am and managed to find some relaxers and at that time of the day it is still hot enough to sun bathe. We only stayed at the beach for a few hours at a time purely to just to watersports such as jet- skiiing, ringo and banana boat. The jet ski is 75TL for 15 minutes which is about £35 and the banana boats are about 14TL each which is only about £7. The beach is very clean and the sea was lovely- you could wade out 100m at still only be waist deep in water. If the shuttle was there from the hotel we would use this to go to the beach, howeer the walk was fine and only took about 5 minutes.

The pool area was lovely, and we could nearly always find a relaxer. Reservinbg relaxers is banned so if no-one has been to a reserved relaxer within 2 hours the hotel staff clear the relaxers. The wind can pick up by the pool area in the afternoon which is very refershing in the heat of the sun, just be careful about the umbrellas as these had a tendency to blow over knocking over drinks as they did so, and as the drinks were served in glass glasses rather than plastic ones make sure you have your flip flops when walking around as there could be a lot of broken glass under relaxers some days.

Pool towels are given out every day with tokens, just make sure you collect them by 11am as after this time they stop giving them out. If we went out for the day we would collect the pool towels and take them to the room so that we had them for later in the day.

The spa and shop are very expensive, so I would recommend going to the shop over the road for cigarettes etc and there is a spa over the road which was much cheaper and looked very good.

Outside the hotel is the bus stops for Side town- there is a market everyday in Side other than Sunday which is referred to as the Bazaar- if you say Bazaar to the bus drivers they understand and will take you there. When you get to Side there is a bus park- walk back the way you drove in (away from the ruins) and head to the mosque for this- although small the market has everything you would want and bartering with the market stall holders is very good fun. The ruins in Side are worth seeing- you can walk around the ampi- theatre for £10 eahc but i wouldn't recommend this as you don't see much more on the inside as you do from the outside. Near the ruins is a lovely part of the down with several streets of shops leading down to a beautiful harbour- we spent two days down there it was so lovely. You can also take boat trips from the harbour but shop around as the prices do vary for the same thing. We didn't do any exursions during our stay as we found so much to see just a bus ride away and the bus was only 2TL each.

Be aware that away from the hotel Lira is the only currency accepted in some areas, however the hotel and surrounding shops preferred to take Euros- all prices were shown in Euro but the staff would always give you the price in Lira if you ask. We learnt the hard way though not to get your Lira out before you have found out the price in Lira as they will rip you off- for example we had to but some medicine which came to 7euro which would have been around 15TL, however because he saw the 20TL note he told us that the price was 20TL and would only give us the medicine for 20TL.

I would definately recommend going to the Narcia hotel and we would definately go again!

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank heatherandleighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

After seeing many of the unfair reviews here I felt it important that myself and my husband wrote a detailed review of the Narcia. We had a netbook with us on holiday, so in fact I began writing it only a few days into our 2 week holiday. (3 June – 18 June 2011)
We booked our trip via Purple Holidays (who were generally useless so wouldn’t use them again or recommend them but I’ll touch on that later) and flew with Thomas Cook from Glasgow. With transfers, luggage but no inflight meals we paid £1,013 for us both so £506.50 per person for 2 weeks. The hotel booking part of the purple holidays deal was made through ‘holiday brokers’ and the promo room booked cost £546.66 of that £1013 total according to the info we received. Remember the promo room note for later in our review.
RECEPTION:
We arrived at reception and were swiftly booked in. They gave us a one page info sheet which explained the facilities available and also told us that our rep had left a message – which they passed on - and that we could have something to eat at the restaurant if we wished, explaining where it was. They told us straight away that we were in the annex building and having expected this might happen from previous reviews I had asked for an email from Purple Holidays to confirm we had a main hotel room as we had been told we had when we booked – and we did get a short email back saying YES – you have a main hotel room.
He looked at this and said I understand what the email says but your booking confirmation with holiday brokers is for a ‘promo room’ – which is a cheaper price and this is the annex unless we have no annex rooms left.
He said we should take this up with Purple Holidays or Holiday brokers directly or with our Rep (on check in they had given us a note to come to a welcome meeting the next day – I guess via holiday brokers - but we never went!)
I had had previous problems with Purple Holidays (they booked us on the wrong flight and then booked our transfers wrongly initially and this took a number of phone calls and emails to sort out) so when he said this to me I was like, ‘fair enough’ as clearly this issue was Purple Holidays and not them. I would have got in contact with Purple Holidays if I had needed to but circumstances changed and we ended up in the main hotel anyway – see later for details.
The person with the best spoken English is the female receptionist who is on during the day. All the receptionists can speak English to some degree but if you have any problems which may be difficult to communicate she may be the best option. Certainly we had no problems in communicating with the reception staff and we had fairly complicated requests at times.
ROOMS:
We were in the unique position that we saw and experienced both the ‘worst’ annex and the main hotel rooms. There are the annex rooms which were the original narcia hotel and then they have also taken over as – clearly as an overflow to the main building and annex buildings – the annex next to Narcia which used to be the ‘Sena Hotel’.
We stayed in the Sena Hotel annex rooms on the Friday evening we arrived and the nightclub was in full swing... it didn’t keep us awake. I thought the car noises from the main road were more noisy but perhaps we are heavy sleepers.
I would say that had I been in the Sena Hotel annex for the 2 whole weeks I probably would have got annoyed – it did feel like you were separate to the main hotel and other annex’s and if they are going to continue to use the Sena Hotel annex as an overflow they should a) knock down the wall between Narcia and the Sena Hotel annex, b) make the pool there useable or fill it in and c) take down the Sena Hotel signs. And maybe give the rooms a wee makeover.
Yes the main hotel rooms were much nicer and roomier (the photos on the narcia hotel website are exactly like the rooms in real life) but the Sena Hotel annex rooms weren’t terrible. Instead of flat screen tv you had a old big tv, instead of a double wardrobe you had a single wardrobe, instead of the bigger than kingside bed and another single bed, you had a double bed. The actual room and bathroom were much smaller in the Sena Hotel annex room as to the Main hotel room, but the balcony was much bigger in the Sena Hotel annex room.
The reason we did not stay in the Sena Hotel annex room for more than one night is because when we arrived and were shown to our room they guy showed us the balcony but then when I tried to lock the balcony room I couldn’t.. and neither could he. He got a handyman out within half an hour (giving us time to get something from the restaurant to eat) but the handyman couldn’t get it to work – telling us it was “KAPUT!” and calling the reception to get them to explain that he would need a part to be able to fix it which he would get tomorrow. I asked if we could be moved that night but the hotel was full, so we stayed the night in the room, and then the next morning when they couldn’t get the part by 8.30 am they told us they would move us into a new room – and were lucky enough to get the main building. So no need to complain to Purple Holidays.
FOOD/RESTAURANTS:
I have no complaints about the main restaurant. The food and variety was plentiful – even for a vegetarian like me. We had thought we might eat out a few nights if we got bored but in the end we didn’t eat out at night at all.
At breakfast they had pancakes, omelettes, variety of cereals, eggs (boiled fried and scrambled), variety of yogurts, variety of jams (inc honey nutella, peanut butter), a variety of breads, cheeses and salad choices, variety of pastries. This is not everything this is just what I can remember off the top of my head! Also tea coffee hot choc, water and fruit juices.
At lunch and dinner they had a variety of breads, cheeses and salad choices, soup, they had lots of little separate starter dishes which were lovely, lots of cooked vegetables and potatoes, veal, chicken, lamb, and even on some nights lovely pallet cleanser shot things.
For the fussy eaters there are plentiful chips pizza pasta (at least 2 types) and salad at both lunchtime and dinner. At lunchtime there is also hamburgers.
The food is certainly catered towards a more European market, but given the various choices, you always found something to eat!
The sweet selection was very very good. Cakes and fresh fruit galore!
If you are a couple, you may find that on some days you will have to share a 4 person table. This didn’t really bother us, but it seems to have bothered others who have put a review on here.
The waiters work tirelessly – there was one young guy that always seemed to be running from table to table – never saw him walk the whole time. They were very hard working and always trying to ensure that people got seats and tables quickly.
The a la carte is billed as an Italian, according to the arrival info you receive from reception. It is not always an Italian restaurant. Mon/Wed/Fri is Turkish, Tue/Thu is Italian and Sat/Sunday are closed. We tried the Turkish the first week and the Italian the second my husband enjoyed both very much but for me the Italian was great – really really lovely. In each choice, there are 5 courses served over the course of the evening. In two of the courses, (the third starter and main) you chose from 3 options.
Be warned though if you are a vegetarian, in the Turkish one of the starters plus the soup (which had chicken pieces in it) were not vegetarian. Also the main meal wasn’t either but they made me a veggie pizza which was yummy. In the Italian, the soup was minestrone - I wasn’t convinced it didn’t have meat stock but it certainly didn’t have meat pieces in it - and then the main meal was not vegetarian but you could either have one of the pastas from the starter as a main or a veggie pizza. I had a pasta as a mine which was yummy!
Every second Sunday evening is a barbeque theme and there is much of it set up outside. A huge tuna fish was hanging for fillets, a huge baked Alaska was brought out, a display of ornate carvings from melons, pumpkins etc, I think I saw a boar spit roast at one point too. I would advise you all to be seated in a table at 6.30 for this though! It was stowed out when we arrived at 7.30 and it took us ages to find a table (the only day that was really a problem).
If I had to suggest 2 improvements in the restaurant it would be to get some more 2 person tables and to increase the dinner time from 7-9 to 7-10. But honestly – these 2 things didn’t bother me too much but clearly bothered some other reviewers here.
On our first night, we arrived at 11.30pm and the reception staff said we could get some food at the main restaurant - I hadn’t expected that so that was great – they had soup, bread, some cold meat cheeses and some salad laid out for those late arriving guests.
Ice cream is served 7-9 in the patisserie. There is banana chocolate vanilla strawberry and pistachio available. The patisserie is nice with lots of choice of coffee tea cakes and biscuits and open 11am-10pm but I would quite have liked some savoury snacks also available between this time. I think the kids would have also liked ice cream available during the day. But the kids made up for it at night! I’m sure there must have been some that got sick from the huge and multiple cones they had!!
BARS:
I am suprised that tripadvisor members of the UK moaned about service here. The barmen worked tirelessly. They understood English almost perfectly (we have thick Scottish accents and they understood us – sometimes we had to repeat it once or twice but no more than that – just speak clearly) and did not favour German or Russian guests over British. They generally served you in the order you arrived at the bar. We did not tip during our stay (only at the very end of our stay) so the service we received was not due to tipping.
No measly measures and bottled water and filtered ice as well as a variety of different fruit juices were available. If they had had a Turkish version of baileys in the All Inclusive I would have been in heaven but alas no. But never mind, there was plenty of other alcoholic drinks to choose from. The beer was Efes and very nice.
The bar in the lobby area is quiet so if you ever want a bit of peace, that’s the place to go and no queues!
POOL:
• The main pool was lovely and wasn’t at all cold like others had written – perhaps by June the weather had warmed the weather up!
• Sometimes it was difficult to get a sunbed if you didn’t get your towel down by 10 but there are solutions to that... see below!
• The smaller pool, beside the original narcia annex is quieter with no music, no slides and no bar and there was always sun beds free here. (Its 30 secs walk to the pool bar so don’t worry about being without a drink for too long!!) Also there was about 15 sunbeds stacked up at the side which you could also use. So if you really wanted to be at the main pool I’m sure you could always take these sunbeds back over to the main pool.
• On our last day, we went for a final walk along the shops beside the hotel. On our way back we saw about 20 new sunbeds arriving at the back door which were the same style as the main pool sunbeds. So I guess they had taken on the comments and were buying some more before the season really took off.
• Also there is the inside pool which we never used and it didn’t look like anyone else did either! There was a sign saying it was out of order, but due to the weather, we never enquired about it.
BEACH:
• We’re not huge fans of the beach but we did go down there once. In the Narcia area, it was very busy and when we arrived at 11 I couldn’t get a sunlounger. My husband likes to sit and read in the shade and on our arrival he easily got a table which he kept all day. At 12.30 the loungers situation eased and I put my towel and book down and got a lounger for the rest of the day.
• The food at the beach bar runs from 12.30-3.30. Plenty of salad, pizza, pasta, hamburgers, breads and so on. Also there is a lady making traditional Turkish wraps all day. These are meat cheese or nutella.
• The bar is open from 10am and had everything the other bars had.
• The bus runs regularly – but really its so close there is no need. Just get it the first day so you know where to go!



ENTERTAINMENT:
The entertainment people – 3 women, 3 guys worked hard with what they had and with the fact they had to do entertainment in a number of different languages. During the day there was water polo, aqua gym, yoga/ morning gym, darts and so on.
At night the entertainment, it wasn’t brilliant but we weren’t there for that. They had the mini disco for the kids most nights and then on various nights they had:
• Sketch/Comedy show,
• Mr and Mrs Narcia,
• Miss Narcia / Mr Narcia
• Bingo
Also on the night of the barbeque they did a big Turkish show which was great.
One of the entertainment staff spotted us from a Dolmus in Side the day of the market. We had stopped at the side of the road as we were trying to work out what way was the way back to the bus station to catch a dolmus back to the hotel. He stopped the Dolmus and shouted NARCIA!!! SCOTLAND!! And waved at us. And we ran along and caught the bus. We thought that was really good of him as we hadn’t even spotted the Dolmus! And we also hadn’t really spoken to him much either so clearly they take notice of all the guests more than you would think!
OTHER FACILITIES:
• Spa is available onsite. Slightly overpriced compared to those offered by travel companies in the area (and actually there is spa (Kumkoy Wellness centre) just 20metres from the hotel back door which offers a Turkish bath/facial and massage for 18 euros) but this is a hotel spa so not unexpected.
• We had a Turkish bath only on the first day and this was 45lira each. They try and get you to buy with a massage package but when I asked if only the Turkish bath was available they immediately said yes and booked us in for just that no hassle. But the initial leaflets they will show you is the full works with facials etc! Also later in the week the spa guy was coming round the pool offering deals so in reflection perhaps we could have bartered the 45 lira price!
• I used the gym and was fairly well equipped with about eight machines (including a treadmill) and weights. Was never busy either.
• You can book the a la carte restaurant by using the little computer terminal in the reception. If it is broken you can book via the reception staff directly.
LOCATION:
When you arrive at the hotel using the front entrance you’ll realise that this area is up and coming and there are a lot of hotels being built and shops and restaurants popping up. The hotel sits at the edge of Kumkoy, about a 5 minute drive to Side. Clearly Kumkoy and Side are starting to merge into each other.
But if you go out the back entrance of the hotel, you’re right on the main street of Kumkoy with lots of shops and restaurants. You can walk in to the main bit of Kumkoy in less than 5 minutes by walking right when you get on the main road– you could walk into Side in about an hour. You can get dolmuses to Side and to Manvagat (for the Market and Waterfall) right outside the hotel back door. For Side on the main road get the buses going left, for, Manvagat get them going right.
OTHER THINGS I WANTED TO KNOW BUT NOBODY HAD MENTIONED:
• Beach towels are provided by the hotel. At the start of your stay you are given one beach towel card per person. You can swap this for towels at the spa area from 8.30 to (I believe) 3.30 every day. You can hand your towels in outwith this time (the spa is open 8-8 every day) and then you just get your towel cards back to swap for towels when you wish to.
• There is FREE internet in the lobby area of the hotel. It’s basically like a home wireless system so you lose the signal if you stray too far away from reception area but often my mobile phone did pick up the wireless at the poolside bar. You can get the key code from the reception. It is a little tetchy though and there was some days it would just not pick up an IP address, even though we were connected to the network. Perhaps because there was too many others using it. But if you really need the net and can’t get it free or wirelessly there is an internet cafe/computer game room and you can get on to the internet for 3 euro per hour.
• There is a shop, rug shop, hairdresser, clothes shop, jewellery shop all on site. The shop will sell you postcard stamps, phonecards and post the postcards for you. UK newspapers and magazines are available.
• Safes in the rooms (certainly in the main hotel and ‘sena hotel’ annex) are available to hire for 1.5 euro per day. We paid this at the end of our stay.
• You check out at midday. You can stay on in your room for 18 euros per person. We decided not to as we were being picked up at 6.30pm and it was only the two of us. You can easily have a shower and freshen up in the spa so I did that to save some £££s!
• Side market day – Saturday – beside the big Turkish flag about a 10 min walk from the Side bus station.
• Manvagat Market Days – Monday and Thursday – the Dolumus will drop you off right at it.
• Antalya is pretty – worth a look
• Waterpark at Antalya – is good fun. I’d say its worth the 20 euros we paid for entrance and bus ride there. Certainly not up to Spanish waterpark standards but good fun nonetheless.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank K_Shel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Arrived at this hotel at 3am on 23rd May. Check in was speedy and receptionist took us to our room - a club room, number 3106. It was on the ground floor and had a double bed, single bed, terrace with chairs & table. It was a little dated decor-wise but clean enough.
Nights were rather chilly at this time of year - we didn't have the air con on once (it is free though). The safes are 1.5 euro a day. Our room didn't have one but reception were very helpful in getting us one quickly the next day. Handwash and shampoo are provided in dispensers in bathroom which is handy.
You get free bottled water - sometimes the cleaners leave them in the fridge, sometimes we had to go to any of the bars to get them. Beach towels were also provided - collected at the spa on presentation of the towel cards.
Our room over looked the 'small pool' at the back of the hotel. It was easy to get sunbeds here in the mornings and there were plenty of parasols. The pool was cold, but was refreshing. The bigger pool was more for kiddies and busier.
The beach is a 5-10min walk away (downhill) but the free shuttle leaves every half an hour which is great. Be warned though, the beach is usually packed - it's hard to get a sunbed there and even harder to get a table if you want lunch at the snack bar there. Each hotel has their own 'private' stretch of beach, with snack bar, and loungers under cover. There's a woman who makes flatbreads while you wait too. All food and drink here is free. Narcia's loungers are right beside the watersports which is entertaining.
Food at the main restaurant is very good - good quality, quite hot and a very wide variety. There's a hot food section, cheese and salad section and dessert section, with smaller sections of bread, soup, pasta and freshly fried stuff. Every day there was chips and pizza for the picky eaters! It was sometimes hard to get a seat but you got to know the less busy times.
The newer main hotel is pretty plush - all marble and glass. The a-la cart restaurant is worth a visit - your first go is free. It's meant to be italian but they only serve kebab type mains. I wouldn't recommend children to go though as the food is quite fancy.
The entertainment isn't the greatest - Miss Hotel, Couples Night and a couple of comedy sketches, bingo and live music but it's ok. The children's disco kept the young ones occupied and there was even a popcorn, candy floss and corn-on-the-cob stand there every night.
There are plenty of shops surrounding the hotel. We used Tony's for booking our trips. We booked to go to the Kumkoy Wellness Centre for our saunas, Turkish Baths, massages, face masks and face massages. This package lasted over 2 hours and only cost us 18 euros each. It is busy, but cheaper than the hotel. We also booked the Manavgat 'Boot' Trip at 13 euros each. This consisted of getting a coach to Side (5km away) where we walked to the marina and got a big boat (about 100 people) to the Manavgat River where we stopped to get out on the beach and have lunch onboard. Then we headed up the river to Manavgat where we boarded a coach (if we wanted) to the waterfalls. We got 30mins there to stand in the rushing water (2.5 euros each) and then back to the town for 2 hours free time at the market before sailing back home.
Our third trip was the Unimog jeep safari at 25 euros each. We were taken up the Taurus mountains to see villagers in their homes, while we had water fights with the other jeep. We also stopped at a lost city in the forests for a look around. Lunch was over looking Green Canyon where we also had donkey rides. Then we were allowed a swimming opportunity in the canyon before heading to the other side of the Manavgat Waterfalls. Our last stop was to have a look inside the huge mosque in Manavgat. The jeep driving is pretty hectic - racing, up and down hills (also in reverse!), small bridges, an Aquaduct etc so it is not for the faint hearted but it is good craic.
We hopped on a dolmus ourselves one day to go into Side (1 euro each each way). Side is lovely, it has lots of ruins including a fountain at the city gate, houses, amphitheatre, and temples. There are signposts along the way to tell you what everything is so you don't need a guide.
All in all, Narcia was very good value for what we paid for it (just over £300 each). We would recommend it - even though Germans and Russians were in majority.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vickyham22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Side
5.1 mi away
Maya World Hotel
Maya World Hotel
#21 of 227 in Side
1,122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Side Alegria Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Oz Hotels Side Premium Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nova Park Hotel
Nova Park Hotel
#80 of 227 in Side
80 reviews
15.9 mi away
Cenger Beach Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Lake & River Side Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narcia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narcia Resort Hotel

Property: Narcia Resort Hotel
Address: Kumkoy Mevkii Sahil Cad. 24. Sk. No: 8, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#46 Spa Hotel in Side
#51 Luxury Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Narcia Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Narcia Resort Hotel in Kumkoy: Narcia Resort Hotel - The pomegranate of Kumkoy. The pomegranate, symbol of beauty and sensuality, it is considered one of the oldest cultural and healing cultures of mankind. The name Side is also of Anatolian origin and has the meaning "pomegranate". ... packed in modern and comfortable architecture ... the Narcia Resort Hotel of Kumkoy was created and named after the pomegranate. Narcia Resort Hotel Side is located in the center of Kumkoy/Side, which is the most famous tourism center of Turkey. Near by our hotel there are shopping centers, restaurants, bars and night clubs. Our hotel is 5 km far to Side, 8 km to Manavgat, about 55 km to Antalya Airport and 65 km to the center of Antalya. The distance to the international Golf places in Belek is 40 minutes.The sandy beach is 350 mt far to our Hotel. A shuttle service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Narcia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narcia Hotel Side
Vega Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing