We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel but not suitable for English families with young children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Side Star Beach
Ranked #39 of 229 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have just returned from the Side Star beach hotel. I cannot fault the hotel its self, though the rooms are small the other facilities are good. The pool area is lovely and kept very clean, and the hotel also has its own private beach with free sunbeds. I went with my sister and 16 year old son, and thats where we had a problem, not the fault of the hotel but we were the only English family there, and the hotel said they have very few English guests. My son was lucky that he befriended a young Dutch boy that spoke excellent English. So if you have younger children the hotel may be a problem as the kiddie disco is spoken in German, as many of the guests are German.The staff though are excellent and very attentive, and again i could not fault the food, which was varied and plentiful

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 252 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

beautiful hotel about 40 mins transfers from the airport . food plenty of choices un plenty of .staff very helpful , pool was lovely, weather was fantastic for this time of year. met some lovely english and welsh people but the hotel is mostly germans ,the maids like to wake you early in the mornings .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank walestomos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Side Star Beach hotel is a nice hotel located just in front of a sandy beach. It has a large and nice swimming pool with sunbeds, good food of enough variety and quantity (the festive dinner on Saturday is very good), clean rooms - not very large, but good enough for 2 people. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning and fridge that only work as long as you are in the room and activate electricity with your room card. The air conditioning stops from time to time even when you are present in the room, but this didn't bothered me.

Every evening except for Sundays (when the animation team takes a break), there is a show on the hotel's open-air stage consisting in dance and acrobatics or music played by a DJ.

You have 3 meals a day at the self-service restaurant where you can eat as much as you like. You are also served some snacks (fruit / donuts / pancakes) during the day and the drinks are unlimited throughout the day (coffee, water, beer, juice).

The stuff are friendly, but speak very little English, especially the restaurant and animation stuff. In fact, the only problem we experienced here was the specific target on German-speaking people (the vast majority of the guests here are Germans). The waiters speak in German, the daily activities with the animation team are in German (volleyball, water ball, etc.). If you aren't a German speaker, you might experience a feeling of isolation here. Also, it might be good to know that this region of Turkey is not for sightseeing (but for food and relaxation). Except for some ancient ruins in the town of Side, there isn't much to see.

Overall, I has a pleasant experience here. I wish the hotel were more cosmopolitan.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Asteracea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have just returned from a brilliant two week holiday at Side Star Beach. We had a great fun filled time there. The staff are so pleasant and obliging. The entertainment team are not pushy. Obviously they want you to join in the games but if you don't want to then that's fine. The food is smashing and the Saturday night Gala nights are unbelievable. Yes, we were the only Brits staying at the hotel. The majority of the guests were Dutch but everyone got on really well and the atmosphere was happy . There is a lovely beach bar where you can relax and have lunch and watch the activities on the beach. The room has its own refrigerator with soft drinks and beer and also tea making facilities. The hotel and the grounds are spotless. The great thing for me was being able to get in and out of the pool as I do have a mobility problem. As you will have gathered - we loved this hotel and can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pearlypips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel is well situated only a steady 15 nins walk into old side. Nice beach. The rooms are very small and no space at all for 3. They are though very clean and the (free) mini bar is stocked daily. The beach towel supplied is not changed unless you pay more - very poor, and not what we are used to. The pool area is small and the loungers are all reserved very early, you can though always get one on the beach.
The hotel is almost all German and Dutch and so no shows etc are in English, in fact there are almost no English to be found, and that includes the reps!
Standard AI food, nothing special.
Some staff are abrupt.
Good holiday but wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bosstrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just returned from a two-week vacation at Side Star Beach Hotel with my family.
The hotel has a great location on the beach and within a walking distance from the Roman ruins in Side. Very good all-inclusive offering - the buffet had enough of variety during the two-week stay - nice fish and chicken offering, good veal and vegetables as well, good salad incredients. Some of the hotel evening programs were nice (Turkish night, African show). The sunbeds around the pool were mostly reserved by 10 am, but there were still available sunbeds at the hotel beach at that time.

The biggest negative issue we encountered was that the hotel limits the hours of the air conditioning. Provided we were in the room (and had our room key inserted to a slot that turns on the electricity in the room), the system operated from about 10 pm to about 8 am and then also short stints during the day, around midday and before dinnertime, roughly 5:30 pm to 7 pm. We like to eat dinner at 7 and then retire to the room to read around 8:30-9 pm, and we found the wait for the aircon to come on at about 10 pm very sweaty and frustrating.

Another somewhat negative issue for us was that the hotel is very German/Dutch oriented. Many waiters spoke mainly German, but little or no English, and sometimes we did not get what we ordered (drinks were served to tables during lunch and dinner).

The hotel evening programs were very loud (and some of them too geared to the German/Dutch clientele) - so even if you do not wish to watch them, be prepared to listen to them every evening from 8:30 pm to 10:30 pm if you have a sea view room.

The family room we had was pretty small, with a sliding door between the two rooms. The second room was only big enough to accommodate two single beds (about 6 m2). With a family of four, it was adequate, but not quite meeting our expectations. The hotel has bigger family rooms available as well, based on the floor plan, but the number of those is smaller. Our view was great though from our fourth floor room that was facing the sea, and we could watch the evening programs from our windows and balcony when we did not want to stay down in the pool bar area to watch the shows.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I was visiting this nice hotel in august 2011. Very nice rooms and service. Perfect allinclusive restuarants, good service and nice clean beach

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank minus97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.6 mi away
Side Star Elegance
Side Star Elegance
#35 of 229 in Side
726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Side Star Park Hotel
Side Star Park Hotel
#52 of 229 in Side
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Side Prenses Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
3.3 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
0.3 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Side Star Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Side Star Beach

Address: Selimiye Mahallesi, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Side
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#34 Luxury Hotel in Side
#37 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range: $62 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Side Star Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Side Star Beach, Our 5 Star hotel with 266 rooms, situated directly at the own sandy beach and just 10 min. walking to the ancient city of Side. The sandy beach is certificated with the `Bleu Flag`. Ideal for those seeking a stylish setting for a relaxing Turkish holiday, our hotel comes complete with a great swimming pool, modern bars and a friendly atmosphere. It`s perfect for both couples and families. Hotel Side Star Beach is located at the historical town of Side, 30 km from the old roman amphitheatre of Aspendos, 65 km to the International Airport Antalya and 70 km from the city centre of Antalya. The hotel is situated directly at the sandy beach of Side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Side Star Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Star Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing