We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY AT THE 2* PALM D'OR.”
Review of Palm d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm d'Or
Ranked #201 of 229 Hotels in Side
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Myself and 5 friends landed at Antalya airport where we pre-booked a taxi with suntranfers.com to the resort of 'Side' which is realistically a 45 minute drive.

We drove past so many lovely hotels and then we arrived at the so called 4 star Palm D'Or which was definitely NOT 4 star and was in the middle of a dirt track out in the ghetto.

We checked in and we're informed by staff that the 3 rooms we had booked were not available so 4 people out of our 6 would have to share a family room.

The family room consisted of 3 beds and shockingly a fold up camping bed!!

Staff are rude, arrogant and very unhelpful.

The room safes are €2 a day hire and they dont even work properly.

Do not go all inclusive as it's the biggest waste of money.

Hot buffet breakfast consists of chips, potato wedges with runny boiled eggs. Selection of cold meats which are warm oh and a choice of cereal.

Lunch is very limited and repetative as is dinner.

No snacks during the day

The bar closes at 10pm and the only alcoholic all inclusive drinks available are Gin, Vodka, Raki, house red, house white wine and draught beer (but don't expect a full glass). For some reason the staff refuse to fill the glass full.

All inclusive soft drinks included are filtered water, apple juice, orange juice, Fanta, Coke and Coke Light.

The only positive point is that the rooms are clean.

My advice is do not stay at the Palm D'Or as it's a dump and a mere 2 Star Hotel. You must go 5* in Turkey for a nice hotel.

Opt to stay in the Old Town of 'Side' by the harbour as the people are friendly, great atmosphere, lots of fantastic restaurants and great for shopping.








  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonsmith73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 120 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

shuttle late turning up at airport ( 2 hours) driver didnt know where to go. Reception not helpful. No room, told to change next day, by 2pm still no room ready. Food very repetative, does not cater for English, drinks terrible, wine like cooking wine. Entertainment for 1 hour 1 night per week. Music around pool dreadful. Sauna not working, fitness room a joke. More like a 2 star than a 4 star.

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

there were 5 adults + 1 child in our party, we had booked 3 twin rooms when we arrived at the hotel reception we were told they only had 2 rooms,we would have to share for the entire holiday? we tried to explain we had already paid for 3 twin rooms we were told if we didnt like it we should leave? talk about unfriendly staff### we had to take the 2 rooms then asked for something to eat and drink, unfortunately they told us we were to late for anything to eat or drink? we had to walk to the shops to buy food after traveling all day? food in the hotel was very poor, same cold food every day,only 3 meals per day,breakfast, lunch, dinner, no ice creams or snacks in between unless you paid for them, all inclusive bar closed at 10.00pm on the dot, you had to pay for drinks after that. while at the pool i spoke to some other guests,english,germans,dutch all of who complained about the staff,food, and conditions at the hotel,one german couple and dutch couple had been going to this hotel for the past 8yrs,said it had gone down hill that much they would not be back,they still had 12days to go and were looking for other accomadation, im putting in a rating of 1 star for this hotel as there isnt any lower.

Room Tip: find alternate accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

To begin with, the hotel was not at all what we had been led to expect from brochure. The pictures, are very old. When we arrived we could see the different interior and the hotel was in very bad condition.It is not up to standard of 4 stars hotel. And Receptionist on arrival informed us that this not a holiday Hotel, this is a city Hotel.

Next very disappointing thing was that when we arrived the Receptionist didn’t pay any attention to us.
So we arrived to the hotel late at 10.15 p.m. and we were quite tired and hungry, especially our five years old child, and when we asked to eat something (because we paid for that day) the Receptionist said that we are not going to get anything because we arrived late (but it was not our fault that we had a late flight). So we wanted to have at least a glass of water and there were not even cups for the water.

The food was extremely bad throughout the whole stay. Every next day we had heated food from previous day. And diversity of food was very poor.
Flooring in the restaurant and front entrance to the hotel was always wet, so we slipped over few times.

The room was in a very bad condition, i.e. blanket had holes. We asked for replacement immediately, but we had it only in 2 days.

Staff of the hotel was not helpful and friendly and the barely could understand and speak English.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSvetlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were in this hotel in August 2012.Staff and hotel was very nice and on high level. The rooms were very clean and tidy up every day, but the most negative thing was the food and very dirty around the hotel. Distance to the beach was very far (about 800m) you have to pass very busy main road without any traffic lights or even zebra crossing same like to the city centre the distance was 3 km. On the way to the beach you can see all treat away rubbish from the different hotels. From the balcony or windows you get view only for the constructions. In my opinion for this hotel I can only recommend 3 stars, but still I am never gonna be visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Me_and_my_family_were_in_Turkey_in_this_hotel_just_2_weeks_ago_I_liked_the_hotel_was_nice_and_clean_everyday,_the_food_was_fresh_cooked_everyday.The_staff_there_was_very_frendly_kind_helpful_the_most_generous_person_was_the_manager_he_always_make_sure_people_are_happy.I-would_like_to_go_there_again.

Thank_you_from_family_Lami

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lami136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were in this hotel in May 2012 a family of 4 persons. staff served us at the highest level. many claims to the nearby hotel, which is building its new building nearby. noise and dust of the hotel's bothering us all the 20 days of our vacation. The hotel staff did everything possible to eliminate the dust problem. Meals we really enjoyed it. Yet there is clean and new hamam. The recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Ildar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cats Catty Garden
Hotel Cats Catty Garden
#121 of 229 in Side
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanay Suit Hotel
Hanay Suit Hotel
#56 of 229 in Side
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cinar Family Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dosi Hotel
Dosi Hotel
#23 of 229 in Side
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lemas Suite Hotel
Lemas Suite Hotel
#34 of 229 in Side
534 reviews
4.2 mi away
LABRANDA Excelsior Side
LABRANDA Excelsior Side
#110 of 229 in Side
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm d'Or

Address: Demirel Bulvari 1127 Sok, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Side
#113 On the Beach Hotel in Side
Price Range: $45 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm d`Or Hotel Side
Palm d Or Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing