We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great.”
Review of Hotel Grand Side

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Grand Side
Ranked #110 of 228 Hotels in Side
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good, but not great.”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I admit, I have never been a big fan of the all-inclusive, super-touristy type resorts, so perhaps it's just not my thing. Our time at the Grand Side had ups and downs. The staff are very friendly and helpful, but also quite pushy. We found ourselves dreading the walk to dinner because the nice but very persistent photographer was always there trying to get us to pay for a cheesy photo shoot in front of the pool at sunset. And he never gave up, no matter how many times we tried to explain that we were not interested.

Our room was not ready when we arrived, so we had to wait over 2 hours. This wasn't a big deal, and I wouldn't normally care except that I was pregnant and exhausted and really wanted to lie down. When we finally got a room, it was clearly one they don't normally use, and they said we would have to move the next day. This room was bizarre. Dark with low ceilings, and although it was on the ground floor facing out towards the beach, the windows had been completely frosted over so very little light got in, and the potentially very nice view was erased from sight. Why they would do this? My husband and I were completely baffled, and had to laugh at the ridiculousness of the situation. The room we were moved to the next day was much nicer and had real windows that one could actually see through!

Overall the food was fine, generally mediocre with a few quite good things, pretty monotonous. But I think that's to be expected with these all-inclusive buffets.

The beach was beautiful, though we got unlucky with the weather. It was only warm enough to go into the sea once, and the pool (which is small) was absolutely freezing. The water slides were off the whole time we were there. We ended up spending most of our time sitting on the beach (when it wasn't too cold and windy) or in bed reading. So it made for a relaxing but also somewhat boring trip.

We did have a very nice treatment in the Turkish bath/spa, with a body scrub and massage which was really nice.

All of that said, for the price, it's a good deal. The hotel is nice, clean and pretty modern. The staff are friendly, the food is decent enough and it's directly on the beautiful beach. You can walk (about 45 min-1 hour) or take a little local bus into the town of Side. The ancient ruins are well worth the trip, but don't expect an authentic Turkish experience, this town caters to tourists 100%.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dawa413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ISTANBUL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Very friendly staff and a special home atmosphere
The dolmuş made it very easy to travel to most destinations
Great beach, excellent food
Most fruits and cheese produced from their own farm very close by
It was an unforgettable stay for us

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinet7galin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

There are many better alternatives than HotelGrand Side if you are looking for reasonably priced accommodation in this partof Antalya.

The standard rooms are designed with a highly dated it is clear that the ownerhasn't spent any resources refurbishing the hotel for a very long time. Thephones were of very poor quality with disruptive background noise, most likelyas a result of old wiring that hasn’t been replaced.

The breakfast “buffet” is quite terrible and very limited, and brings backsuppressed memories of food served at one of those terrible roadside Hotels. Bettergo elsewhere if you value your health.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank calamati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Was dumped on the edge of the property in the middle of the night as the tour operator bus was not allowed onto the property. Was told at the front desk they did not know we were coming and they did not have the room we reserved available. Food was mediocre and you could not even get a turkish coffee.

The water park was fine but for some reason my kids were not really interested. The kids club is in a room and has no outside areas for the kids to play.

We moved to a much better hotel in Antalya (at the same price) after payng an extortinate fee to this hotel to leave early.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Side
0.2 mi away
Thalia Beach Resort
Thalia Beach Resort
#87 of 228 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Side Bella Luna
Hotel Side Bella Luna
#68 of 228 in Side
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corolla Hotel
Corolla Hotel
#91 of 228 in Side
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Iz Flower Side Beach
3.3 mi away
Club Grand Side
Club Grand Side
#8 of 41 in Colakli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Febeach Hotel Side
Febeach Hotel Side
#71 of 228 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Side

Property: Hotel Grand Side
Address: Kumkoy Mevkii, Side, Manavgat, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Side 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Grand Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Side Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing