We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS HOTEL IS NOT 5* IT IS 3* AT THE MOST”
Review of Melas Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melas Resort Hotel
Ranked #8 of 227 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“THIS HOTEL IS NOT 5* IT IS 3* AT THE MOST”
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed here for a week in a apartment room on our arrival we were shown too our room which stank of damp and mildew it was filthy dirty with a black ring around the bath where it had not been cleaned at all, there were hairs in our bed and dirty marks all over the sheets.We told reception and they said they couldnt move us till the next day as they were full and the cleaner then said she wasnt going too clean our dirty bath as we were moving rooms tomorrow anyway.Rooms are small and very dark with large air conditioning units on the balcony taking up most of the room ,The next day they moved us to a room that was simular but a lot cleaner and didnt smell so bad although the carpet in the bed room was soaking as the air conditioning had been pouring out water all over it we had pots collecting the water till they came out and fixed it We opened the mini bar too discover that the door would not close properly and a bath towel had been stuffed in it to soak up the water mmm very 5*. There are not many english people in this hotel i would say only about 10% are english there are mainly germans which the hotel staff seem too favour and give better service too.On a good note the food is very good and the weather was excellent.The all inclusive dosnt cover everything if you want fresh orange juice in the morning you have to pay a euro, if you want to change your pool towel you have to pay a euro, you have to pay for your room safe but you do get it back at the end and also some of the cocktails and international brand drinks there is alot of hidden extras . The pool is nice but dosnt have many sunbeds and umbrellas you need to get up early , there are two glass lifts that take you down to the beach which is nice and sandy but as you go into the sea there is quite a few rocks in the water but once you get over these there is sand and the water is warm and there are lots of fish.Out side the hotel there are shops, bars and resturants right outside and also taxis if you want to go into Side town .Our holiday got off to a bad start but in the end we did enjoy it and the resort but the rooms really let the place down its a shame.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blacktulip2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    117
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
170
194
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Spent 2 weeks at the Melas resort hotel in one of the family apartments. The hotel and grounds were faultless. the food was varied and the entertainment in the evening was very enjoyable and was done in all the languages of those staying at the hotel. everywhere accepts either euro or Lira. A must on your stay must be the boat trip, via the beach sellers (1/3 price of the holiday reps !) and the white water rafting, this was a great day and gets you out into the local mountains. All in all this holiday was perfect, could not fault the hotel or locals. the hotel is mainly germans, French, Belgians and Austrians but dont let this deter you. we preferrred not to hear english as it helps you relax !! Such a good stay we are booking again next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chips28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Visited Melas through thomas cook, as a sole female traveller. The Hotel is spotless and my double room in the main hotel was very good. The food was middle of the road and aimed at the german tastes, with not a great variety. The staff speak very little english but excellent german. This will be a frustrating problem if your trying to find your way around the resort or need assistance. Unfortunately i had a bad experience during mid first week...the bell boy who greeted me on my arrival at the melas made entry to my room whilst i slept in an attempt to have a sexual relationship with me there. I ordered him out of the room and after dressing (yes i was naked) i reported it to the night reception who spoke no english. Very upsetting and very frustrating. I had to wait days to see rep . Luckily i did not see bell boy again. This was the behaviour of 1 individual and i wouldn;t want it to reflect on the hotel. If you are female blond and alone be prepared and ensure you put your dead lock on your door. I didn't let this incident spoil my holiday and spent more time away from the hotel. I would not return to melas again only for the most wonderful turkish bath and massages in the well-being clinic. As a beauty therapist i can assure you it is ultra professional.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diorsunshine67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed in the melas resort hotel for two weeks at the beginning of July with thomas cook. As a family of four, parents and two older teenage girls, the hotel catered for everybody. We had a fantastic holiday.

The hotel was spotlessly clean.

We stayed in one of the hotel's suite rooms for 4 people, it was huge, with two separate sleeping areas (one double bed and two single beds) plenty of wardrobe space, two televisions, a sofa, dining table, a large balcony overlooking the beach (beautiful view!), a large bathroom with a whirlpool bath (lovely after a day in the sun!) and a separate shower. All the decor was lovely, even carpet on the floor :)

Rooms were cleaned everyday, you could have clean, fluffly towels everyday if you wished or hang them up if you wanted to use them again. Maids sometimes made swans on bed with the towels and rosepetals, a nice added touch.
The minibar was replenished daily with bottles of water, coke, fanta, cans of beer.

There were loads of facilities on offer. There's 3 pools to choose from, all clean and spacious. It is a bit difficult to get sunbeds though, like it is everywhere these days, so you do have to get up early! The aquapark was awsome, open for 2 hours in the morning and 2 hours in the afternoon. The slides were lots of fun and there was an adjoining pool and a bar for all-inclusive drinks and ice-creams. Ice-creams were available from 12-5pm, lots of flavours available. There aren't any ice lollies. There's a few shops in the hotel, a photographer who takes photos around the pool in the day and then you can have a little photo shoot down on the beach at sunset (wasn't cheap really but the photos we bought were gorgeous!), an outdoor and indoor gym, giant chess, table tennis (deposit of 10 euros), internet facilities, pool table etc etc

The food was of really good quality. For breakfast you could have eggs in any style! boiled, omlettes, crepes with nutella, scrambled. cereals, pasteries, fruit, toast etc No bacon and sausage.
In the restaurant at lunch and dinner time you could find mainly grilled meats, meats in sauces, fish, salads, pasta and sauces, potatos, vegetables, rice, soups, bread, deserts, fruit, yoghurt etc
It's lovely to eat out on the terrace in the evening, it's not hard to find a table as we ate out there every night for 2 weeks :)

This hotel has a perfect location right on the beachfront. The beach is long with golden sands, clear water and lot's of watersports available. We tried the parasailing which was not too expensive and a great experience. We also went on the boattrip to the manvagat market which i would recommend. You take swimstops, have lunch on the boat and get to do a spot of shopping, good bargains if you haggle. There's plenty of sunbeds on the beach with shelter for shade so no need to worry about umbrellas. The beach bar is near by for snacks and drinks including a salad bar, burgers, chips, fresh pizzas (delicious), ice-cream, fruit etc. Also, there's a hut for juices and water and a lady often making fresh turkish bread with different fillings.

The entertainment is good in the evening, sometimes it finished a bit early though. The shows take place in the ampitheatre over in the holiday village and afterwards they have the party dance, kareoke or a disco outdoors. There was an indoor disco in the hotel which stayed open until 2pm but it was rarely that busy. The bar queue wasn't long really, only annoying thing was the staff often made the alcoholic drinks too strong and mixed whatever they fancied in the cocktails so it's a bit of trial and error until you find something you like. not really a problem though! There's also entertainment in the hotel some nights, relaxing live music from a band or fashion show etc for a bit of a change.

Day entertainment was good, loads on offer for all ages. The hotel have a mini-club and a teenage club for older children. Other activities include aqua aerobics, football, darts, volleyball, pool gae etc mostly taking place on the beach or the holiday village pool which has a livelier atmosphere, the hotel pool was quite chilled out :)

The gala evening on our last night was certainly a highlight! It was set out like a wedding with big round tables with bows on the backs of the chairs. The food was amazing, like something you would find on a cruise! The entertainent that night was really good, turkish folk dancing and a live music band, got everyone dancing.

All in all this was the nicest hotel we have stayed in. It's very international, not many english people, but this didn't bother us. Side is a nice area, lots of shops in the town, a pretty harbour and bars and restaurants. You could also pop over the road from the hotel for a wander in the evening as there's a few shops etc Staff were friendly. Would return in the future :)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlemisssunshine17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2009

just got back from a week at the Melas and ive got to say a week just wasnt enough! Both me and my girlfriend were sad to leave. Food was a little bit sammey but it was really good everynight so no complains there!
Amazing view & location, nice pool and staff were really friendly.
only downer on the whole place was the entertainment, were a young couple ( late teens) and the hotel was prity dead after 10 if im honest. But thew clubs of Side were only a 5 minute bus ride away and for only 60p each it wasnt too much inconvieience.

thomas cook and there so called " REP" proved to be a waste of space though would go again but not through them. definatly go Manavgat Market its a great day out

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

We have just returned from our first visit to the Melas Hotel and had a great time. The staff were all excellent and friendly, from the receptionists to maids. The food was excellent even though it was a little bit predictable. The waiting staff were friendly and helpful but not always very fluent in English.
Only about ten percent of the guests were English, with Germans being in the majority and quite a few Russians, but we had no problem getting sunbeds beside the pool!
Had a spa treatment which was really good.
The entertainment is acceptable but not the best but that did not matter to us. During our stay there was a Grand Gala Dinner for guests in the grounds of the adjoining Melas Village. The food for this was outstanding.
The hotel is convenient for local shops and also the local buses which will take you to Side itself in just a few minutes. You can also walk to Side along the beach, and this takes aobut 40 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GymmanMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We have just returned from two wonderful weeks at the Melas Hotel. We had 6 in the party ranging from 10 up to the age of 73. It was everyones favourite holiday for a long time. The staff, food, drinks were excellant. We stayed in two rooms which were called junior suites they were great, only thing they didn't have was a balcony. Animation team work very hard and are all good at there jobs. You didn't have to go to the bar the waiters came to you. I can honestly say we were totally spoilt. Weather was also a bonus averaged about 25c most of the time, but a couple of days were scorching. Side town is a couple of miles walk along the beach, which has bars most of the way along. Usual shops once you get into the town, with the usual Turkish humour trying to get you to buy.
There is a bar outside the hotel called the Golden Fizz, it shows most Premiership footy even on Sat afternoons live. Ali and the other guys were very good. Brilliant time and hope to go back once i've saved some more pennies.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Melas Holiday Village
Melas Holiday Village
#33 of 227 in Side
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
2.5 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#5 of 227 in Side
1,265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barut Hemera
Barut Hemera
#6 of 227 in Side
1,972 reviews
2.8 mi away
Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melas Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melas Resort Hotel

Property: Melas Resort Hotel
Address: Side Mah. Suleyman Demirel Bulv.No:5, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#6 Romantic Hotel in Side
#7 Luxury Hotel in Side
#7 Spa Hotel in Side
#16 Family Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melas Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Melas Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melas Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing