We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year 2014”
Review of Melas Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melas Resort Hotel
Ranked #8 of 227 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“New Year 2014”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Melas Resort Hotel

WARNING VERY LONG AND DETAILED REVIEW

This is our 12th time travelling to Turkey and the second time saying at Melas, we stayed here last time in April 2011 before they renovated the hotel.
We stayed for 2 weeks over 29th December - 12th January 2014 for the New Year.

The hotel is about an hour coach transfer away from the airport and we arrived about 9:45pm. Check in took around 30mins we were given a free 15 minutes back massage voucher to use at the hotel spa during our stay. The porter took our luggage to our rooms after first taking us to the wrong floor so this waisted some time. By the time we got to the room it was after 10pm and the main buffet restaurant had closed. We were all tired and hungry but decided to wait until the late night snack had opened at 11:30pm. The staff where very friendly and welcoming but the food was awful, they served really cheap hamburgers with overcooked chips which must have been reheated from dinner. So far not the best start to the holiday.

Rooms
The room we stayed in was 1205 (family room sleep up to 3) which had a perfect sea view and a good couple of hours of sunshine in the balcony. The rooms had 2 single beds plus a sofa bed and the rooms felt spacious.
The rooms were cleaned daily. The mini bar was re stocked daily with still water, sparkling water, beer, coca cola and fanta. The room had tea and coffee making facilities.
The safe in the room is not free and is charged at €1 per day.
The rooms have plenty of storage space and I counted over 15 removable wooden hangers which i think is unusual to find in hotels.
The rooms are modern, with a flat screen TV, plenty of mirrors and very good lighting. The bathroom included a bathtub / jacuzzii and a shower with a rain shower head fitted. Did not like the glass window between the bathroom and bedroom just because it let light in the room if somebody was using the bathroom in the middle of the night. Plus the fan in the bathroom was very noisy.
The heating in the room was really good and warmed up the room within minutes.

Hotel
The hotel has a very cosy inviting feel to it, marble floors and it is so clean I would be happy to eat of the floor.
Since the hotel is built on a steep hill the reception is on level 4, rooms 1500-1800 are above and rooms 1100-1400 are all below.
I would say that this hotel is not wheelchair or pushchair friendly as there are countless amount of stairs to get anywhere, however I saw 2 wheelchair users plus a lot of very elderly people walking around with zimmer frames. Even using the lifts would be a problem since they open between stairs.
The hotel has a souvenir shop, jewellery shop and an optition.
The indoor pool, spa, hairdressers and gym are open daily between 8am - 7pm. The gym is fully equipped with treadmills, rowing machine, bicycle, elliptical and weight lifting equipment.
The spa had excellent facilities and offered a wide range of massages and spa treatments at negotiable prices.
There is one billiard table which requires a €20 deposit to use.
I was disappointed to find out that the hotel does not offer any free wi-fi. If you wanted to use the internet you would have to log in with your room number and date of birth and then select the amount of time you want to spend using the internet.
1 hour = €2
2 hours = €3
5 hours = €6
10 hours = €10
20 hours = €15
40 hours = €25
60 hours = €35
You are then given a username and password to log in with. Once logged into the internet the speed was fairly quick and was accessible anywhere in or outside the hotel including the beach.
The hotel is directly on a beach, with a lovely walk on the promenade all the way to the local town of Side. You must stop at a orange / pomegranate juice bar where they will prepare a fresh juice for a €1.

Weather
Apart from 2 days of rain, the weather was amazing and reached over 20 degrees during the day, nights were colder at 9 degrees apart from a few warm nights reaching 14 degrees.

Food & Drink
Honestly I don't know where to begin when it comes to food and drink.
There is one restaurant in the hotel that serves breakfast, late breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night snack all buffet style.
The breakfast includes a wide selection of bread, cheese, cereals, jams, fruit, yogurts plus hot food like eggs, pancakes, crepes and waffles.
Lunch and dinner were fairy similar and somewhat repetitive which included a wide selection of salad, cheese, olives, fruit and the hotel for included rice, vegetables and then a selection of freshly grilled food including fish, chicken, lamb and turkey.
Desserts needed to be mentioned on a separate note since they were that good and not just available at lunch and dinner but also between 11-5pm in the patisserie.
During our stay 3 of the al la carte restaurants were open including Western, Chinese and Fish which were all free to dine in. Our waiter Oscar made the nights at the al la carte unforgettable. The mushroom soup from the fish al la carte, the ice cream soufflé also from the fish al la carte and the fried ice cream from the chinese al la carte were the dishes that stood out.
The lobby bar is open all day until midnight serving drinks, we don't drink alcohol but we made the most of the non alcoholic cocktails which were really good and not overly sweet as in other hotel we have stayed in.
The pool bar is great to sit during the day as well as serving drinks all day they serve ice cream between 1-4pm.
The beach bar is yet another bar where you can enjoy a drink and on one lunch there was a barbecue party which was a nice change from eating at the restaurant.

New Year's Eve Celebration
The night started at 6pm in the lobby with cocktails and canapés. At 7pm we were seated in a large dinner room, food was good not as good as the al la carter. The service was incredible and the entertainment by the hotel's animation team was spectacular. Live music was played for the rest of the evening with a raffle ticket and a second dance show by the animation team.
At 11:45pm we all went to the pool bar for New Year's countdown which was followed by a good 10 minutes of non stop fireworks.

Entertainment
Some of the animation team were friendly and did make the holiday more enjoyable. Daytime activities included Air rifle with Emily, Darts with Lorenzo and Boccia with Oto. Emily, Lorenzo and Oto were all really friendly and will be missed.
Overall the evening entertainment wasn't great since it was off season, but staying at Sunrise Queen which is right next door 2 years ago at the same time of year put on incredible evening shows every night of our stay. In my opinion being off season shouldn't be an excuse for not putting on good shows.
Sunday - Animation Day Off
Monday - Hit Parade
Tuesday - New Year's Eve Gala Show (very good)
Wednesday - Music Quiz Night
Thursday - Africa Dance Show (very good)
Friday - Comedy Show
Saturday - Live Music
Sunday - Animation Day Off
Monday - Abba Show
Tuesday - Live Music
Wednesday - Just Dance (very good)
Thursday - Hit Parade
Friday - Bingo & Quiz Night
Saturday - Live Music

Overall I would rate the hotel 4 out of 5 and would not return during this time of the year but maybe during April as we did before as it was much better.

Room Tip: If booking with Thomas Cook and given the option to upgrade to a sea view do it as it is worth the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Xx_PRINCESS87_xX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2015
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    117
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
170
194
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sutton coldfield, england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel is built onto the hillside so you arrive at the rear with room floors above, then the bar lounge and main restaurant are at the front and side, you then go down at the front to the pool then down again where there are room floors leading to the promenade and beach.
Consequently you are always changing floors and whilst there are lifts some are on half floors leaving you to use stairs.
It is not therefore advisable for the very young or old.
Food was good especially the special restaurants.
Service was excellent.
Evening entertainment average.
Hotel is realistically 4*
Beach was always crowded and the hotel reserved area of the beach is too small for the hotel.The pool however always had spaces.
The only negative for the holiday was the very cramped cattle class seats on the Thomas Cook flights!

Room Tip: More expensive rooms overlook the sea at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0121golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2015
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We have just returned from a week staying at the Melas Resort Hotel. Put it this way, we did not want to come home. The staff are absolutely fantastic. They work so hard and always helpful and very friendly they really know how to look after you. The food is delicious. The variety is endless. I think we ate something different every evening. But I thought the sea bass and all the meat dishes were yummy. An extensive salad bar always nice and fresh and beautifully presented. Our room was immaculately clean, very comfortable beds, clean towels every day and lovely bathrobes. The mini bar was stocked every day with water, soft drinks and beer. What more can you ask for. They have a very nice spa and indoor pool and an outdoor pool, a bit too cold at this time of the year. This hotel is in a great location as it is right on the seafront with your own private beach. You can have nice walks along to the main town of Side and its ancient ruins and museum this is well worth a visit. I would highly recommend this hotel. We are definitely returning next year.

Room Tip: From what I could see all of the rooms are nice and spacious with a sitting area and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JaneandBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2015
Dear Jane & Bobby,
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My friend and I returned to the Meals for a third time because we had enjoyed our previous stays very much. However this time we had her three year old daughter with us and found nothing cold friendly. The lift/stairs layout is a nightmare with a pushchair, beach bags and a child. We struggled every time we went to a different part of the hotel. Disabled would not have access to most of the grounds, pool or beach. Previously we found the staff pleasant and helpful but this time hardly any of them were. The women on the reception desk were the least helpful and welcoming of any I have come across in 13 visits to Turkey. On the plus side the rooms are beautiful, spotlessly clean, with great showers and free mini-bar. The food is excellent and some of the waiters who had been there for a few years were very efficient and pleasant. Large areas of the hotel had been upgraded since or last stay, but it still had the warm atmosphere that we remembered.

Room Tip: You usually are allocated a room before you arrive. Not sure you could change if you weren't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2015
Dear Vivien,
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We went to this hotel in May with my wife and our two children and couldn't speak highly enough of it. The hotel was always very clean and the food was as good as anywhere that we have eaten. The best night to eat is the gala night which happens every two weeks, this is outside and offers as wide selection of display cooked food and is all nicely presented.
The location of the hotel is good as its straight on the beach with a nice promenade to walk along. It is about 20 minutes walk to the centre of Side where there is a nice shopping area and harbour.
The rooms had just been refurbished when we went and my son loved sitting in the Jacuzzi and watching the TV through the window in the bathroom

All in the best hotel we have stayed as so far

Room Tip: Sea view if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WishIcoulddothismore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2015
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We arrived at midnight to check in. I asked the receptionist to assure me we were getting the larger side sea view room which we had paid a supplement for. He told me all the double rooms were the same size. We were put on the top floor (8th), these rooms are a bit like attic rooms with very enclosed balconies which was a bit claustrophobic. We did not unpack and decided to wait to speak to the Rep in the morning. I asked another receptionist if they could move us but she said they were full and we would have to wait until the next day to move. I spoke to the Rep who told me that we should have a double or twin beds with either a chaise longue or a bed settee which we didn't have. I was then give a key for a different room but as it overlooked a dump for broken sunbeds, furniture etc I declined it. Another key was given which was an ideal room but the receptionist then said it had a plumbing problem. Third key was given and we we moved. The room was twice the size of the original one. Amazing how they can conjure up 3 different rooms when the hotel is full.
I would not pay a supplement for a side sea view room as about75% of the rooms have a seaview .
The rooms are lovely and kept spotlessly clean, the mini bar we restocked every day, only a couple of English news channels on the TV, great to have tea and coffee making facilities.
The pool area is lovely with mattresses provided for the loungers, pool was very cold and very few people used it. I can't comment on the beach area ad we did not go there. Pool towels are provided but you have to pay €1 each time you wanted to change it!
The food was varied and plentiful and we were able to eat in 3 of the a la carte restaurants which was a nice break from the buffet. We thought the Eastern International restaurant was the best.
Wine was very drinkable and the spirits were strong (not watered down as in some hotels).
Tip boxes everywhere! Staff are so much more attentive if you give them some euro or lira early on in your stay. On the 1st day our maid told me she was off the next day and stood waiting obviously for a tip to spend! The majority of the staff were pleasant with a few exceptions, especially some of the reception staff, I really don't like being lied to.
Side town is just 10 mins in a dolmus and they stop just outside the hotel. There is also a promenade walk which takes about 40mins. The ruins of the old town are very interesting.
There is a market on Thursday at Manavgat and a smaller one in Side on Saturday, Same dolmus will take you to either. There is also a small tourist bus which takes you from the dolmus station in to the town for 45 cents or 1 Turkish lira. There are also a number of shops just outside the hotel. Most things are priced in Euros although they will take any currency. We found it easier with Euros rather than having to convert the Turkish lira.
The Animation team worked very hard and the evening entertainment was very good.
I know this hotel is advertised as a 5 star and certainly some aspects of it are indeed 5 star but comparing it with other 5star hotels we have stayed at in the Antalya region it falls very short of the mark. The hotel advertises a Patisserie, in the hotel we stayed at in April the Patisserie was a proper coffee shop with salads, fresh rolls, sandwiches and heavenly pastries. In the Melas it was a room with some tables and chairs, at the top table you had a few plates with cheese rolls, biscuits and some pastries with a coffee machine to help yourself, rather disappointing!
In other 5 star hotels I have never had to pay for the safety deposit box, the wi-fi or to change the pool towels. In other in the area they serve sparkling wine in the evening and Irish coffees after dinner included in the all incThese are small details that I believe make the guests feel the hotel is a bit more special.
The hotel guests here are predominantly German and Dutch with some Eastern Europeans. We were a party of 3 and there was only 2 other English people there. This was in no way a problem for us. I speak a little German which helped as the staff usually spoke to us in German first and also to speak with other guests. Occasionally we found some people who didn't follow the aspect of queuing!
All in all we had a lovely week at the Melas, 7days of cloudless skies was a bonus.
Would I go back to the hotel? No I don't think so unless they had a really good deal on offer. There are too many similarly priced 5 star hotels in the region that have so much more to offer.

Room Tip: Not the 8th floor! Try asking for a pool view room as you also get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbarobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Melas for the 3 time at the end of September. Transfer from Antalya Airport to Side only took 40 minutes and we were the second drop off. When we got to reception first impressions of the hotel were good. The reception staff, Petra in guest relations and porters were all very helpful to ensure that you had a lovely stay.

ROOMS – The rooms are absolutely fantastic and have been recently been refurbished. All have very modern decor, wooden flooring and it was spotlessly clean. We had a good sized bathroom, power shower and plenty of toiletries and nice fluffy towels. The mini-fridge is restocked daily with still and sparkling water, beer, fanta and coke free of charge. There is a safe in the room which has a small daily charge which worked out to be less than £1 per day.

RESTAURANT- The main restaurant is buffet style and what a fantastic selection of salads, meats, fish, pasta and desserts. There is definitely something for everyone. The quality of wine and beers was very good and these were served by friendly waiters. Murat the manager was superb and had everything to a tee.The same applies at lunch time.

There are 3 themed restaurants, Turkish, Eastern and the Western. The International restaurant is a new feature and great addition to the hotel. We tried the Western night and the food was excellent. It had a lovely salad starter, and a European theme of Pasta and Schnitzel. As it is very popular a top tip is to book at guest relations as soon as you can. We really enjoyed the faultless service from our waiter.

BEACH BAR - Great for salad, pizza, burgers, chicken kebab and fresh fruit. Pizza Melas was my particular favourite! The waiters take your order and the service was efficient and friendly. Nicely shaded in parts with lovely views of the sea. The beach had plenty of loungers and umbrellas.

POOL- The pool is a good size and we had no problem getting sun loungers. Mehmet was always keen to oblige and a nice touch was for him to get the blue mats which were put over the loungers for comfort. It is a minor irritation that you have to pay to change pool towels at the indoor pool at the cost of €1 per towel.

BAR - Good selection of coffee, teas, beer, wines and cocktails. Plenty of seating and all waiter service. There is an additional charge for the international brands which can be expensive.

The hotel is still receiving awards and overall we were once again well impressed. Great weather, good food, excellent service, friendly staff and we would go back again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2015
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Melas Holiday Village
Melas Holiday Village
#33 of 227 in Side
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
2.5 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#5 of 227 in Side
1,267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barut Hemera
Barut Hemera
#6 of 227 in Side
1,976 reviews
2.8 mi away
Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melas Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melas Resort Hotel

Property: Melas Resort Hotel
Address: Side Mah. Suleyman Demirel Bulv.No:5, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#6 Romantic Hotel in Side
#7 Luxury Hotel in Side
#7 Spa Hotel in Side
#16 Family Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melas Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Melas Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melas Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing