We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MASSIVE IMPROVEMENTS. WELL DONE.”
Review of Melas Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melas Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 229 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have reported on the Melas Resorted twice before and feel that all I need to do is update you on the facts. Over the last year the management and owners have carried out major alterations to further improve the hotel. Massive amounts of money have been spent on improving what was a brilliant hotel. On arrival the reception has been moved to a more convenient position which makes it easier to book yourselves in. Having been shown to our room 1805 (top floor) and being early hours in the morning we were not sure where we had been placed. As the sun rose and we opened the balcony doors we found ourselves on the top floor over the main entrance with a beautiful view overlooking the mountains. The whole area is spectacular. There has been a major renovation to the rooms and all the carpets have been removed and replaced with laminate flooring. Walls completely repainted and fixtures and fittings greatly improved. The old shower units have been replaced with wet floor showers and power shower. All new carpets in all the corridors and access lighting improved.
Now to the staff. Most of those that we knew from our last two visits had unfortunately gone and where replaced by others. Needless to say, they were impeccable in their appearance and the standard of service was second to none. We soon made friends with many of them who after a couple of days looked after us well and attended to our every need. It was soon apparent that they wanted to make our stay the best ever, and we were not to be disappointed. Room service is excellent and the room maid works extremely hard to ensure your rooms are kept to a high standard. Mini bare is topped up every day and if you require more than what s supplied just ask.
The pool area has not changed, nor has the beach. There are plenty of sun beds at both locations. A word of caution! At the pool area there is a temperature reading displaying time, humidity and of course the temperature. The temperature reading is well out to where it may show 30 degrees in fact we were able to show that the real temperature at the poolside was 37 degrees, this is important if you are a new arrival.
July and August is the time when many Russians and of course the Germans take their holidays so be prepared for some ignorance from some people but generally most of the Germans are polite. Russians do not queue, so be firm and point hem in the right direction and they will get the message.
There are several places to visit and I will be completing a trip advisor report on the following shops, restaurants and places. OTTOMAN RESTAURANT, NAR JEWELLERY, LEATHERGOODS FROM LEHRER TASCHE and APLLO’S TEMPLE so take a look it will be to your advantage.
Well I will sum up by saying that the Hotel was excellent, food excellent, staff excellent, facilities excellent. Well done Thomas Cook please keep this hotel on the books as it is well worth the money we spent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor above the main entrance 1805/1807. Rooms with a view every morning and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cornwall08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 495 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Spent two weeks at the Melas and could have stayed longer, everthing was just perfect from the room to the beach,the meals and don't let us forget the staff. The first week was just the right temperature for us about 29c and just kept rising until the day of departure it was 40c. The entertainment team are the best we have seen and we have seen many they were just like semi pro's.The staff were excellent never had to queue for a drink and never had to wait they would not let you attend the bar yourself if they could help it.The first week there was not may british there but the second week there was many not that it mattered we spent our second week with guests from Holland.We have been to Turkey many times and especially Side and stayed in plenty of good hotels but this took some beating ,we certainly would recommend it .....enjoy your holiday where ever you go

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daleviewWhiteox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at Melas resort one week in june.
We arrrived late together with ten other companions. This seemed like an surprise to the never smiling reception. After unnecessary long time we could sleep in a very nice and clean room.
I'll say it at once. Nor the staff in reception, neither anywhere else in the hotel, speak simple english.This is a problem for most of the world, except the germans, which is majority of the guests.
The whole hotel were clean and tidy with no creeping or flying things. A large staff of gardeners, security, barkeepers and other made this an effective but not especially charming place to enjoy your holiday.
The food at the restaurant and in the beach bar was just amazing, with a large variety of main courses , fruit, vegetables , yoghurt and whatever you want.
To sit and enjoy good food and excellent turkish rose wine on the balcony at the restaurant area,at the pool or beach bar, enjoying the beautiful sight were the highlights of our holiday.
The service was also very good, especially if you tip the waiters.
Watch out for white "doctorlookalikes" in the SPA/Wellnes center tricking you into "treatment".
We enjoyed the hammam and the quality massage by the smiling girls, but nor the unpleasant pushing you into further "treatment" neither the pay in advance policy.
We left in the evening at departure day and were "homeless" from 12 til 20. There were no good system for luggage/where to stay/chance clothing.
Therefore we will not go back to this hotel or noisy city.

Room Tip: Beautiful sight oriented toward bay and Side city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Børge V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We found this hotel to be far superior to other 5* hotels we have stayed in. The hotel is very nice and very clean, not a creepy crawly in site and well maintained. The activities on offer and the entertainment were also good. However when booking our holiday we were told by Thomas cook that we would also have full use of the facilities at the melas village resort only to be told by our rep in turkey that this was not the case and we could only use the aqua park which was a little disappointing and misleading. As someone else has already commented the staff can be very grumpy and slow however the German customers didn't seem to encounter these problems. Whilst we waited over 30 minutes in the restaurant for our late night food to arrive a German group came in and their food was given served to them within 5 minutes. The staff are also heavily driven by tips, if you expect service with a smile your going to have to pay for it. Our our last day the mini bar service operator used his key to barge into our room in the early hours of the morning looking for a tip! More shockingly whilst taking money out of my purse to give to my fiancee a waiter put his hand " jokingly" over the cash and refused to let go for an uncomfortable period of time, we would have tipped him if his service hadn't been the worst we'd experienced. Having paid so much for our holiday we decide to make one big tip at the end of the week into a box which was for all the staff but in the end we made the decision to give it to one specific waitress as we felt she was the only one deserving of a tip. Us Brits aren't always the best of tourist and me and my fiancé consider ourselves quite laid back however the overall customer service really let the hotel down and we almost were almost made to feel like second class seconds compared to their cash cow the Germans

Room Tip: If British chose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Had a brilliant time at the melas resort hotel, we were a group of 11 from ages 2 - 50 and they couldn't have been more helpful and made you feel comfortable.
The only downfall to the hotel was the top floor ala carte restaurant, very hyped up for what it is.. Apart from that the holiday/hotel was brilliant. Lovely and clean and lovely pool area. There was always food about at any part of the day.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hollie2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our second visit to this hotel. It has just recently been refurnished and is absolutely beautiful. All staff in the hotel are attentive and friendly, and rooms and food are first class. Would highly recommend so much so we are going back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dlati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

this was my first visit to turkey i found the melas was a brilliant choice very clean and well set out and the rooms were lovely but the highlight was the staff at the melas they were amazing very friendly and very helpful cant rate them highly enough,will be going back to this hotel overall an amazing holiday with a massive thanks to all the staff for making it so special.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 190919John_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.1 mi away
Melas Holiday Village
Melas Holiday Village
#30 of 229 in Side
337 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
0.3 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#6 of 229 in Side
1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barut Hemera
Barut Hemera
#5 of 229 in Side
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melas Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melas Resort Hotel

Address: Side Mah. Suleyman Demirel Bulv.No:5, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Side
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#10 Spa Hotel in Side
#10 Luxury Hotel in Side
#13 Family Hotel in Side
Price Range: $71 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melas Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Melas Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melas Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing