We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melas Resort Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$161
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Side Resort Hotel(Side)(Great Value!)
$80
$54
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lemas Suite Hotel(Side)(Great Value!)
$54
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$291
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$200
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveler rating
348
128
30
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
128
30
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barmini barholiday villageside sea viewturkeythomas cookmain restaurant is buffet stylesaladindoor poolgreat holidayfish nightevening entertainmentgreat choice of fooda la cartealcoholic drinksspa staffsomething for everyone
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 521 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived late, in the early hours of Sunday morning due to our flight being delayed. We were dealt with by the 'Night porter' whose English wasn't brilliant but we managed! We were dealt with very efficiently & were soon in Our room.

The room was fantastic, nice big beds, very clean & modern with a bathroom to die for. We had a sea view which also overlooked the sea & restaurant, as we were one floor up from the restaurant the outside sitting guests could be heard but didn't cause undue hassle.

We had issues with our air con, which when working correctly was only just passable as an air con system due to the fact that when on full fan & turned onto lowest setting sent out a cool air & was also quite noisy. The reception staff 'fobbed us off' to start with saying that there was an overall technical problem with the air con which was being fixed, it turned out that the problem was to do with a faulty room key, they use the plastic credit type keys, & this problem was solved by myself!

If you want to get a sun bed you need to be putting your towels down by 0800 at the latest as the German / Dutch guest's are at it from 0600! We even saw some Germans putting towels on loungers at 10.30PM the night before!
This is a crazy carry on & one which the Hotel needs to address. The pool attendant has to be the hardest working guy in the Hotel, always with a smile on his face, even when he was being hassled by some of the guest's.

The restaurant's & food were both excellent, extremely clean & the choice of food was good at all 3 sittings. That said, after 5 days it does begin to get a little repetitive, but as we were only staying for 7 nights this was fine, I would suggest that if you were staying longer you would probably be seeking other restaurants even if fully inclusive!

We found the staff throughout the Hotel a little grumpy & slow to serve to start with, but as with the pool towels, we soon learnt from our German friends that if you gave a small tip they became extremely helpful, which shouldn't be, but hey-ho.

What Thomas Cook didn't tell us when we were booking was the fact that Side is the preferred destination of the German's & Dutch & that the Hotel preferred to take the Euro for payment such as things like safety deposit boxes etc. We went equipped with our Turkish Lira, bought at a good rate, only to have it converted into Lira at a very poor rate! Even the on site shops had to convert there prices from the Euro into there own currency so that we could pay for our goods.

The above 'glitches' took our first time visit to Turkey from that of being excellent to a very good holiday, but with the excellent weather we had in mid September, we would not hesitate to return.

I will leave you with this one last foot note, what is with our male German colleagues & there Speedo's?

Room Tip: Book a sea view room, the others have, in the main, a poor out look
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Julian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

They have thought of everything in the bedrooms clothes dryer on the balcony, really powerful shower plus a hand rail.very clean,air conditioning good not too loud to keep you awake.Plenty of
choice for meals something for everyone.water,coke and beer is relpenished everyday in your fridge(included) which we thought was very nice. the waiters work very hard and are very attentive. The beach was lovely, beds not too close together,can not comment on the pool as we like the sea. Turkish restaurant not to be missed but allow about 2hrs with several courses.
About the comments on German visitors I don't see what the problem is,the trouble with the British is: They think they are the only ones entitled to be in the holiday resorts I would much prefer to get to know people from other countries it is interesting. My advice is to holiday in Britain if you want to meet other Brits!! Side is a very pretty resort, very easy to get the bus into town with plenty of shops.we couldn't find any nightclubs though.

Room Tip: ask for a seaview or side sea view which is lovely
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Susie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Arrived very late on Monday27th/Tuesday 28th August but was welcomed very warmly by english speaking receptionist and bell boy to help if needed. Queried room was sea facing as requested and was assured it was and it was. We were nervous after a bad experience previous year at a different hotel - not Thomas Cook but all worries were dealt with due to staff. Hotel was very clean, spacious and had a modern feel to it. The room on 6th floor was the same - spacious, modern and clean. Due to late arrival missed breakfast but caught lunch. A large choice was available and plenty of help at hand from smiley staff. Food all round was great. Spoke to guest relations person who gave us lots of info on hotel amenities and advised us to book A la carte( 1 visit a week included in our package) early so not to miss - we did and this is vital to ensure you get the chance. A la carte restaurants are one Fish and one Turkish - the fish was far superior to the Turkish which had I missed I wouldn't have missed out on anything! Beware pool attendant ( my wife nick named - Cat weasel) who reserves sun beds for favourites at a cost I am sure. Beach beautiful but was too hot for us compared to the pool which was higher and caught any breeze. The beach bar has a snack menu with salad a fruit available if you fancy a change from buffet - "Melas pizza" was great and flat dreads delicious. This hotel was everything we had hoped for and the staff were brilliant apart from one receptionist would was a bit grumpy looking and had limited English ( male members of staff seemed to speak better english????) Location of Hotel is as stated, very well situated to go into Side without being right on top of it. Experienced the Turkish bath and massages in Hotel and got a really good price after a bit of bartering - don't except first price - which was great. All in all a fab holiday as always you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Rooms from 6 and above have a better view, we looked onto court yard which was lovely and quiet but still had sea view away from pool and entertainment area but air conditioning units are below so the higher you are the better
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Having stayed in the Barut Hemera (next door) in 2010, the Melas had a lot to live up to, but I'm pleased to say it can hold its own.

Upon arrival I was initially of the opinion, 'wished we'd gone back to the Hemera' as the welcome wasn't brilliant and we were left wondering what was happening for a few minutes, but that said once we were shown to our room I was very happy!. Lovely modern bedroom, and the best shower I have ever had in a hotel room, and good quality white towels (sad to mention it but it does matter to me!). Everything was thought of in the room, ie toiletries, sewing kits, tissues, kettle etc.

By the time we got settled in we were quite hungry and could only find a few biscuits in the pattiserie, would have been nice to have been told that at 4.30pm there was lovely cakes at the pool bar!. this was stated on a card we received however with just arriving we never really noticed!

The dining room is find an empty table and sit at it, at first we didn't really know what to do, and wandered around but a manager directed us to a table, and we tried to stick to the same one most of the holiday, that way the staff get used to you and are more likely to be sociable.

Nice lounge bar with friendly staff. We had lunch in the beach bar most days, choice of salad, spag bog, burgers, chips, pide, pizza, drinks and the staff here were lovely. On the odd day we ate in the dining room it seemed to be similar food to the night time, plenty of choice.

Yes there is a problem with sunbeds, they are not meant to be taken till 7.30, but if you waited til then you would struggle to get one. We sat in the shade but generally if we hadn't picked a bed by 6.30 - 7.00am we probably wouldn't get one!.

Turkey is extremely hot at this time of year and I don't think our air con was working to full capacity, however having reported it several times and nothing changing we gave in.!

I would say that there is a good choice of food served during the day and the secret is knowing whats where, we didn't realise until about day 11 that pancakes and chocolate were served along the walkway to the right of the beach bar on the way to the appartment side.! yummy!. It was also nice to see mats around the slide area, which helped prevent slipping.

The Saturday Gala night is a lovely event, which starts getting prepared on the Friday, and its an awful lot of work for the staff, but lovely for the guests, be prepared to queue. Lovely atmosphere and a credit to the Melas.! The ice cream is delicious and they slice it like a piece of meat, amazing!

Didn't visit the Turkish restaurant but the fish restaurant was superb. The menu was a bit confusing and we also chose something from the alternative menu, and a bottle of wine and as we received so much I must admit I was expecting money to be added to my bill!! There was a number of starters, fish, salad, soup, main course and a lovely choc pudding and ice cream. Very nice and well impressed if we had paid for this in a restaurant is Side, goodness knows what it would have cost!

Didn't see any of the entertainment as it was very hot and didn't seem to be enough seats. Husband normally complains about gym areas in hotels, but this year he didn't so the gym must be pretty good!

In all a lovely holiday and we would return, personally not being a sun worshipper I would enjoy it better at a cooler time of year, but I already knew this, and still went back peak time!.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weloveholidays1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a great time in Turkey at Melas Resort Hotel. Highlights included a la carte meals at Turkish Restaurant and Fish Restaurant. Biggest delight however was the Gala Evening Dinner on our last night - a Saturday. A grassy field filled with decorated chairs and tables surrounded by a fantastic buffet - very artistically arranged. A floodlit stage provided great entertainemt of a high quality. Attentive waiters promptly filled wine glasses. Towards the end of the meal "The Melas Ice-Cream Parade" provided great excitement - chefs led the way with flaming torches and music added a suitable fanfare as it was paraded around the field. A truly delightful evening.
The heat in Turkey was sometimes oppressive but our hotel room had the best and most effective air-conditioning system I have ever experienced. An icy blast welcomed us into our room after a day on the beach! The room was very spacious and always clean. Fantastic sea views although we never sat on the balcony due to the heat.
Every day was spent on the beach as sunloungers were very scarce around the pool. Sunbeds were very plentiful and wll-shaded on the sandy beach. The sea was like a warm bath and we swam 4 or 5 times a day. There are cold drinks available all day. The beach bar is close by and we enjoyed daily lunches by the water (although the menu is a bit limited)
I can thoroughly recommend this hotel for a relaxing week. We did nothing but swim, read, relax, drink cocktails etc etc.
One hour transfer from the airport in air-conditioned coach.
We paid about £750 all-inclusive for a week through Co-op Travel. & hour flight delay at the start spoilt the start of the holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chadwood77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2015

Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews