We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melas Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
Palm d'Or(Side)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveler rating
342
125
30
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
125
30
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barmini barholiday villageside sea viewturkeythomas cookmain restaurant is buffet stylesaladindoor poolgreat holidayfish nightevening entertainmentgreat choice of fooda la cartealcoholic drinksspa staffsomething for everyone
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 512 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the melas hotel for two weeks,with my husband and two children,9 and 2.Hotel is spotless we stayed in a family room which was lovely and big,bathroom Had a separate shower and Jacuzzi bath,fridge stocked daily,maid service everyday.staff friendly.Pools very clean.I have stayed in better all-inclusive hotels before for food and drink..they do not have white or dark rum,or coffee liquor, if you like vodka and whisky then your OK.My only real negative with this hotel is that it is too up and down,to get to the pool and the beach,when the lift stops on the floor to reception you still have to walk up a flight of stairs and walk down to the pool,same with the beach,not good if you have a pushchair,or if you have any walking difficulties. Promenade is lovely and clean to walk along to get to side.Overall we had a good time,would definitely stay in side again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sar0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I went to Melas Resort with a group of nine and none of us will ever go back. I am shocked that the last review was so good. The facility is nice, food is great and entertainment is good but the service is disgusting. The hotel considers itself 5 Stars; I would give it about a 3.5 for facilities and 1 for service.

I must also say, this area in particular is predominately German speaking vacationers. The attitudes towards English speaking guests seemed to be fairly common around not only the hotel staff but Side as well. I would highly recommend going to Alanya instead. Also, after talking to several other groups that spoke English or Swedish, we discovered we weren’t the only ones that were disappointed with the service.

SERVICE

When we first arrived our room wasn’t ready and we were told to wait. We asked that our 4 rooms be close to each other and 2 of them were and the other 2 were on opposite ends of different floors. There was mold in one room and long dark hair on the floor in another. The mini fridge wasn’t stocked and I had to call reception 4 times. They kept sending 2 maids that spoke no English but they were able to understand what I wanted and sent the right person to fill the fridge.

We paid for an extra bed in one of our rooms and when we arrived the bed that was in the room looked like an army cot and had one thin sheet and no blankets. When we tried to request a thicker blanket the front desk staff didn’t understand what we wanted. When we asked for a different bed the front desk said there were no other beds available because they were at capacity. After arguing for about 30 minutes I suggested the people in our group be given a room with two beds instead at the same prices and was told that they couldn’t do that because it cost more. I was told to go away from the front desk and they’d look for a bed. About 30 minutes later a different bed arrived that was comfortable but we missed the night show and were upset with the lack of service. When we asked a few days later if they could fill the mini fridge with 3 of each beverage we were just told no, they wouldn’t do that.

The majority of the front desk staff was rude and very unaccommodating. We found that the staff in general was rude to English speaking guests and after talking to several other English and Swedish guests we found that they felt the same way.

One of our group called at 6pm to have their sink fixed as it wouldn’t drained. Later that night when they were in bed there was one knock at the door and then it opened and the man said he was there to fix the sink.

Any time a problem came up and we went to the front desk the rest of the staff would laugh and roll their eyes at each other. One time I asked for a phone number and the man called someone and was laughing and rolling his eyes while I stood their right in front of him.



FACILITIES

Melas Resort and Melas Village are beside each other. The facilities are some-what shared but not as described on their website. Guests can only get food and drink at their own hotel. In other words, you can use the waterpark and tennis courts but you can’t get lunch their or water and it is a fair walk back.

DINING
The dining room isn’t big enough to fit everyone and one of the buffet tables was actually removed while we were there to accommodate more tables. The food was very good and varied daily and there were lots of choices. The staff in the dining room did not speak any English and the servers were very rude and arrogant and seemed to try and avoid us. The dining room says it’s air-conditioned but the doors are open to a balcony all day and it gets pretty warm.

There is only one Al a Carte and it is at the beach bar. There is another one at the Melas Village but that means that both hotels share two so all guests have to be accommodated between them.


POOL
Unless you get up at 7:30am to put a towel on a sun chair by the pool, you have to go to the beach. There isn’t enough pool space or sun beds to accommodate the number of people.


ENTERTAINMENT
The entertainment team was awesome. They were really friendly and always having a great time. Few spoke English well but enough to communicate. The shows were well done.

One complaint was that there wasn’t enough room to accommodate all the guests that wanted to watch the show. Since it was in the pool area, about 30% of the guests watching were sitting on beach/sun chairs and others just left when they saw there was no space. At Melas Village the stage was much larger and an amphitheatre style. Even this theatre didn’t have capacity for everyone that wanted to watch but it was bigger and the rows made it easier for everyone to see.

WIFI

Wifi didn’t work in our room, only the lobby and was 3 Euro’s per hour. It wouldn’t work the first few days so I went down to the front desk and they assured me that they would remove the charges from our room. When we went to check out the charges were not removed and were told that we had to pay.


Extras: Safe, Wifi, New Beach Towel (1 Euro)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amesaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel is amazing. Loads of food - great variety and a lot is cooked in front of you. Lots of steps but also lifts to accompany many of them, but still almost unavoidable at least to a small degree. Bring your own beach towels as it costs to change them, although it is cheap to do so (a euro per change) but you get one set for free (no change though). Staff are incredible - friendly, efficient, attentive. If you sit in the same area, they remember what you want to drink after a couple of nights and bring it over immediately. If you go here, make sure you seek out Orhan (pronounced O-han) and tell him how awesome he is!! Fridge was re-stocked everyday for free and maid cleaned well. Always hot and sunny, though tended to be a nice breeze which made it bearable. Sea is wonderful - a couple of stones/rocks dotted about but they are not much trouble at all, especially once you know where they are to avoid them for next time! We asked for a quiet room and got one, so I recommend this to avoid the noise from the evening entertainment if you/kids want to get to sleep before 11. Entertainment was very good though so you may be tempted to stay up - the Grease and Abba musical nights were especially good!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one, so I recommend this to avoid the noise from the evening entertainment if you/kids want to get to sleep before 11. These tend to be slightly further from the pool/beach/restaurant though, but not a noticable amount really
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ksabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel august 2010, the rooms were very clean, drinks were put in our room fridge everyday,clean towels etc.
There was a wide selection of food available any time of the day, however as we stayed for 2 weeks you did notice it got a little bit repetitive.

The location was very close to the beach, a nice walk down to where the shops, bars etc was.
Also if you wanted to stay around the pool there wasnt many sunbeds and people 'reserved' them with their towels every morning but i suppose you get that at other hotels.

Overall it was lovely:) id deffo reccomend & go again!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed with my family for seven nights all inclusive. The room was spacious, bright and had been serviced and cleaned well. The maid service was every day and we got a change of towels on the third day. The restaurant food was great, good choice and the Turkish night was the most enjoyable, music, dancing and authentic dishes. Friendly staff with most of the other guests being German there was a nice atmosphere around the hotel. Side is a small town, beach was close and mostly empty early on, the ampitheatre is a must with lots of friendly bars and cafes selling apple tea in the centre. We always find Turkey a family friendly place and Side is no different. Would revisit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews