We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Animation staff were brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melas Holiday Village
Ranked #35 of 227 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Animation staff were brilliant”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just got back from a 9 night holiday with my husband and three children,11, 9 & 8 and I have to say it was amazing, the holiday village is immaculate and the rooms lovely, the best thing is the animation team who work so hard to entertain everyone and make you feel so welcome, Nigo & Sasha were absolutely brilliant and a credit to the melas village. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolam2476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this review, May 20, 2015
Dear Nicolam,
thank you for choosing Melas Holiday Village and your comment.
We are glad to hear that your visit in our hotel was such a success and that you were
satisfied with our service especially the animationteam.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again.

Best regards from Side,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    91
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
194
55
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here for a week at the start of May as part of a large group. We were the only people from the UK. The hotel caters mainly for Germans and people from Denmark, Norway and Baltic states. The food was typical all inclusive fayre but there was always plenty of choice. The food was always hot and freshly cooked. There is a waiter bar service in the dining room. It was a bit slow when the place was busy but the waiters were quick once the drinks were ordered. Plenty of sun beds and lots of places to sunbathe. Despite it being the start of the season the hotel was almost full but it never felt over crowded. 3 pools and a small water park gave plenty of choice. The bars were well stocked and well staffed. We visited the al la carte Turkish restaurant - you get a visit to one of the 3 on site - and the food was superb. We would have loved to go back again ! The room was well furnished and spotlessly clean. Large wardrobes with plenty of hangers ( a novelty in most hotels). The bathrooms had a shower over the bath. The room had a mini bar in the room with water, juice and beer which was restocked every other day. There was entertainment but we didn't go to any of the shows, etc. The hotel is right on the beach with sunbeds and parasols for guests use on the beach. You must try the Turkish wraps that are cooked in front of you down at the beach bar, They were delicious. A promenade at the beach takes you into Side town. A lovely walk. All flat and for pedestrians only so great for prams, kids or anyone who likes to have a stroll. All in all a lovely hotel with good facilities and beutiful gardens. I would happily go back

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank slavetolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this review, May 20, 2015
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Melas Holiday Village and your comment.
We are glad to hear that your first visit in our hotel was such a success and that you were satisfied with our service, the food and all the rest.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again.

Best regards from Side,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just got back from a 1 week stay (2014 April 26 - May 3) with the extended family (2 adults and 4 children). We stayed in the family rooms which are more like a bungalow.

Our check-in was very very bad. We arrived around 330 in the morning and something was wrong with our reservation as one child was "missing". It took the rather unhelpful person working the night shift 45 minutes to complete the checkin. Of course, when we got to the kids room (we had two rooms), the third bed was not made and it took them another 30-40 minutes to get that settled. Bad start on our vacation....

The food has a acceptable variation over the week we stayed there but no really fancy dishes. All the sallads etc were the same from day to day and there was about 15-20 warm dishes to choose from each dinner. The main dining hall was very noise and on our last evening there we tried the Turkish a la carte restaurant where we got to choose the main dish but the rest was fixed. OK food but even worse sound level, even with only about 40 guest we could hardly hear each other talk over the table.

The beach in Side is really great and from the Melas you can walk into side in about 25-30 minutes. The beach extends in the other direction for several kilometers more making it suitable for long nice walks. Just next to the hotels beach (or included in it) there is a small natural pool where exotic fishes gathered. I stood in the water while they tried to eat my legs which was a bit funny.

The only really downside was the announced free sauna and haman which was really really in need of an refurbishment. It was below the main pool bar and it felt really creepy and old down there. Note that the neighbouring Melas Hotel has its own SPA with indoor pool, several saunas etc but that is not included in the price of the Melas Holiday Village.

The sport facilities were above average with basketball, mini-golf, two tennis courts, all free of charge to use even though they could buy some new tennis rackets.

The evening entertainment was just as bad as it always is in these hotels ;) but rather annoying as the sound was really loud all over the hotel and went on until around 2300. There was no real sound isolation in the windows to talk about so that meat that you had to listen to the music if you went to bed "early".

There are several pools on the grounds but only one was heated. The water-park pool was really cold so you could only use it for a short while.

Overall, a great experience and much better than many of the other all-inclusive hotels I have tried over the years. Highly recommended for families that just want to relax and a great value for the money (or as good value as you get for overpaying for all-inclusive ;)).

Room Tip: The family rooms in the lower row have a great view over the lawn, pools and see. We had rooms 612 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterMParnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this review, May 19, 2015
Dear Peter,
thank you for choosing Melas Holiday Village and your comment.We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and you enjoyed most of it after your bad start for which we are deeply sorry. Our hotel and the whole staff are trying every day to improve the service for our guest so we are thankful for your remarks which we will pass on to the concerend departments.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards from Side,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed here on a family holiday (grandparents, toddler and wife) in one of the apartments (two bedrooms, living room). The room appeared brand new with a modern bathroom and modern furniture. The room size was ideal for our party.
Staff were always very friendly and the food in the main restaurant was very good for the type of hotel (I am not a fan of large hotels that offer all inclusive deals, but here I was proven wrong; plenty of choice, hot, fresh, very few queues, decent wine). A must is the turkish a la carte restaurant. The gym and heated indoor pool in the Melas hotel next door can be used, but the pools and beach in the village offer plenty of choice and fun. The beach is not overcrowded and there is space between the sunbeds (look down the beach a bit and you will see the opposite). The village as such consists of a number of small-ish buildings that each have (I think) 12 rooms and the main building with the restaurant and more rooms. There is plenty of open space between the buildings so it has a nice and bright feel to it.
I would go back on holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FranzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this review, May 20, 2015
Dear Franz,
thank you for taking a little bit of your time and writing us a comment.
We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and we were able to convince you with the service and the food, especially the turkish a'la carte restaurant.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you and your family again.

Best regards from Side,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We are just back from a week at the Melas Holiday Village in Side staying from 14/04/14 to 21/04/14 on an all inclusive package. The food here is amazing plus there are plenty snacks to be had in between regular meal times. Our 11 year old daughter had a great time as one of the animation team - Emily - was especially nice to her and took her under her wing in the teenage club. Mini bar in the room is free - stocked with water, soft drinks and two beers. Refilled daily but hardly ever used it as the bars are open all day and late into the evening. The Melas hotel next door offers free access to the fitness area, saunas and steam rooms. Massage can also be booked here. The grounds are quite secure but still offer direct access to the promenade, excellent for jogging and walking, and to the beach. We stayed in one of the older apartments but found it quite acceptable. Very layed back atmosphere and friendly staff. One word of warning - the trip offered by all the tour guides to Pumakale is run by the local Turkish operator Diana travel. Pumakale is indeed worth a visit but this company had us up at 5am and we didn't get back until midnight after spending only 2,5 hours at the site - not enough. Visits to carpet shops, out of the way restaurants and petrol stations for coffee were planned into their itinerary which we knew nothing about beforehand. We didn't arrive to Pumakale until 2pm - after 9 hours on the road. Try another operator or hire a car. The centre of Side is historically quite interesting. There is also a nice port area with lots of restaurants. You have to haggle for most things in the small shops and markets - the main market at Manavgat every Thursday is quite big and prices are always exaggerated. Even if you get them down to half price you still have a feeling you're being done. A friend shopped in a local commercial centre and said prices were quite good with no haggling and no one bothering you as you looked around. So depends what you want really. Bottom line - nice family hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JerryC358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this review, May 20, 2015
Dear Jerry,
thank you for choosing Melas Holiday Village and we value your comments.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and that you were satisfied with our service.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards from Side
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just back from a week with my wife ,son and daughter and had a great time at this resort. The setting of the accommodation is ideal as you are right on the promenade that leads into Side about 25 minute walk . The hotels swimming pools deck overlooks the promenade and beach which had fantastic views into Side. The apartment was spacious and very clean and everything that was needed. The food at the buffet was plentiful and of good quality. We used all three of the a l a carte restaurants which were superb ,Great food and superb service especially in the western and eastern from the head waiter. The animation team work very hard and are a great bunch. Many people complain that the brits are in the minority and this is true as I did not speak to anyone else that was british but we did speak to a mixture of Germans, Swiss ,Dutch and Bosnians who were all very nice . There was plenty of loungers at both pools and on the beach .The only very small gripe was that at previous all inclusive hotels we had the safe and free internet but they charge 1.25 euro for the safe and 2.euro an hour for wifi. I would recommend this place with no problems

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank scotEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this review, May 20, 2015
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Melas Holiday Village and that you took your time to write a comment.
We are glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised and satisfied with our hotel.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again.

Best regards from Side,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were a little unsure after reading the reviews on the holiday village but we were very impressed. Ok so we stayed in the room 732 which looked one of the more older apartments but it was fine could do with being a little more modern but I believe this is going to happen soon. Bonus the fridges are filled every other day and towels are changed as you want. Beach towels are provided and changed at a small price. The hotel and grounds were spotless I've not been to a cleaner pool area. The staff really do a good job of keeping it looking lovely.
Ok the food hmmmm it was ok very repetitive but I am a vegetarian and not a great lover of salad so I did live off carbs the 10 days we were there and it would help if they stated what was in the food but there was enough my boyfriend managed fine as he eats meat. We didn't try the other the other restaurants but heard they were nice if you book with Thomas cook you can go to all three. What they say about tipping is true, if you tip you do get treated better and they aren't on great money so really appreciate it they will take anything other there. The hotel is full of stray cats we often took food out with us for them, but they were fine. Our favourite waitor is ozgur aldemir, thank you for being so friendly.
The hotel is full of every nationality except British well we met 3 other couples while we were there but we got chatting to everyone and didn't really have a problem with them. As for Sun lounges there are loads but we did get up around 8 ish to get our favourite spot. We had a couple of trips to side which was worth seeing and if you want to get some gifts there are loads of shops. Few bars and restaurants too, it takes about 45minutes to walk but taxis are out the front of the hotel. We also had a Turkish bath but not in the resort, we booked with Thomas cook it was amazing so relaxing I would recommend it.
The bar staff were lovely both at the pool bar and reception, tip them and they will look after you. You are also allowed to use the melas hotel but it's not all inclusive so your have to buy drinks if you decide to wonder over there and try the pancakes that are made by the lady at the beach bar,very yummy.
This leads me to the entertainment staff. You guys are amazing so friendly, fun and made us feel very welcome. Special thank you to Otar, Emel, Ozkan and Lorenzo but you all were great but they were our favourite. They try to get you involved and the games are fun and its a good way to mix with others. I miss you guys can't wait to come back to see you. The entertainment was ok they work hard and its not as crap as everyone makes it out to be. The acrobatics were great and worth watching.
Overall the resort is in a great location, majority of the staff are very friendly and welcoming. Whole resort is spotless and the food is average. Forgot to mention the beach was lovely too and again spotless. I would 100% recommend this resort and I plan on going back very soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinkjoy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this review, May 31, 2015
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Melas Holiday Village and your comment.We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. The Melas Holiday Village staff are always trying to deliver excellent customer service at all times, we appreciate your feedback about the food for vegetarians and this wil be passed to the relevant department.
We would be glad to welcome you again.

Best regards from Side,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Melas Resort Hotel
Melas Resort Hotel
#14 of 227 in Side
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.6 mi away
Side Prenses Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Maya World Hotel
Maya World Hotel
#23 of 227 in Side
1,151 reviews
9.2 mi away
Club Hotel Turan Prince World
2.4 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melas Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melas Holiday Village

Property: Melas Holiday Village
Address: Selimiye Mah. Suleyman Demirel Bul. No:5 | 07330 Side / Manavgat, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Side
#26 Spa Hotel in Side
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#31 Luxury Hotel in Side
#31 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melas Holiday Village 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melas Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melas Holiday Village Side
Melas Holiday Village Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing