We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Hotel”
Review of Kervan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kervan Hotel
Ranked #138 of 229 Hotels in Side
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and Ihave just returned from a fortnights stay at the Side Kervan Hotel and thought we would share our views.
When booking this accomodation we knew that it would not be 5 star and as other reviews have noted, that the food would not be great. Upon arriving just before midnight, we were met in reeception by a friendly enough guy who spoke reasonable English. After checking our paper work he informed us that he would take us to, in his words, "Our economy room" We were then led to the basement level of the hotel and shown a tiny gloomy room containing three single beds and little else. It had no view and a tiny balcomy. Now as at the time of booking I had requested an upper floor room, with a sea view, I was very disapointed. This chap then said he would shoiw us another three vacant rooms. We were then shown rooms on the upper level all with sea and pool views and containing either twin beds or a double. He then said we could upgrade for only 140 Turkish Lira. We haggled him down to 100 Lira and selected a top floor (4th) room with a nice view. Not a good start but at least the air con was included in the price.
The next morning we went down for breakfast, we had booked half board and as expected it was the usual cereal, dried fruit, boiled eggs and a hot selection of omlettes etc. Not too bad. There was no fresh orange juice, you had to pay for that and the coffee was almost undrinkable.
We quickly established that there was not nearly enough sunbeds around the pool which didn't really matter to us as we spend most of our time on the beach. The pool itself was a reasonable size and very clean. There is a poolside bar but prices were we thought a little high, it also closed at 11.00 pm at night and there was no hotel entertainment at all.
We then spent the day onthe beach (seperate review of Side to follow)
The evening meal was a selection of spaghetti (every day) turkey stew (every day) grilled turkey (most days) minced turkey with potatoes and a selection of vegetables. The menu very rarely varied and we soon got fed up with it there was no tea or coffee provided with thge evening meal and if you wanted a drink you had to pay for it.. One evening there was lasagne but that quickly went, so we ended up eating out at least 50% of the time.
The hotel had an in house Hammam (Turkish bath) and the guy that ran it was a real pain, pestering guests on a daily basis, my wife finaly succumbed to him on the last dayand apparently enjoyed it.
The beach was a 5 - 10 minute walk away as were the the nearest shops. bars and restaurants.
Old Side was a 25 - 35 minute walk away.
Our room was cleaned every day most days with fresh linen and towels so no complaints there.
Check out time was 12.00 noon and as we werenot flying untill 23.30 we asked if we could pay extra to keep the room untill 6.00pm. we were told we could for 60 Lira which we thought reasonable. When we went back to pay we were told we couldnt as the room was required. The "helpfull" receptionist suggested we just stayed on the beach untill it was time to go.! The day before we were due toleave we asked again if there was a room we could have and were told we could keep our room after all. so who knows what was going on.
So, would we recommend this hotel ? Ihave to say no. It caters for mainly Russian and Scandinavian guests as the food reflected, we felt that at every oppertunity they were trying to get money out ofyou. I suppose at the end oftheday you get what you pay for but taking everything into account we would not return to either this hotel or to Side itself.

Room Tip: Definately request either a third or fourth floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 111 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Kervan. Not sure to expect as this holiday was so cheap. - however we loved it. Ok it's not 5 stars but it was comfortable - spotless and friendly. My wife loved the spa and received 3 treatments. I loved the room with a small balcony. The food was fine I've had less varied in higher rated hotels. The staff were always happy to help. The location is excellent - quiet and near all the attractions. The free bus to the east beach was great. In my opinion this is by far the best beach. Loved the antiquities - all in all loved the resort and hotel and hopefully will return next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZAMPANOBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed AT kervan from10th-17th june 2013. Great quiet location with its own turkish bath and massage room. friendly staff. Free bus to the beach in the morning from 915am EVERY HALF AN HOUR TILL 1045AM and bus bk 4pm this was free!! walking distance to side town centre with ruins shops, restaurants and pretty harbour. for a 3star hotel very good value for money,drinks at bar a little dear and also have to use a card system instead of cash. 1 COMPLAINT A HAVE IS THAT U DONT GET JUICE TEA OR COFFEE WITH EVENING MEAL BUT U DO AT BREAKFAST HMMM? Buffet style meals soups fish chicken rice veg puddings etc only chips once. no childrens menu:-(( towels changed everyday and pool area cleaned every morning. weather was ace. all in all a pleasant weeks stay in the kervan hotel SIDE IS FAB!!

Room Tip: book a room at back off hotel with a pool view as rooms at front have noise till 4am from neighbouri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Didn't really have great expectations when booking this hotel. I got a good deal (€23/night, half-board) and was pleasantly surprised what excellent value you get for the money!

Hotel was ideally located: within walking distance to Old Town (20min), new town (10min) and beach boulevard (10min). I would not recommend staying in a hotel in the Old Town, it's too busy and full of tourists all day long. All the sights can be seen in 1 day, so stay somewhere else and go there for a daytrip.

Rooms were cleaned every day, towels changed and general ambiance was nice. Staff was friendly ans smiling. Some of the younger boys don't speak German or English, but there was always someone to help. Most of the staff speak German and reception staff also speaks English.

Food was adequate, not very varied but nobody was left hungry. At €23/night you won't even feel bad if you miss dinner and eat out.

Pool area was nice, but had a "German-feel" to it: people put out towels on sunbeds and thus reserved them for the whole day even though they only sat there in the morning. Pool bar music was the typical eurodance music, but not too loud and finished by 11pm. All-in-all the location was quiet, pool well-kept and clean.

I can definately recommend this place. I don't necessarily agree with some of the negative comments from previous guests.

Rooms were tidy, functional, balconies facing the sunset. Bathrooms on the smaller side and showers old. Decor is a bit 80's, I'm sure new bed spreads and curtains would fix this. The only complaint that I have is the wifi. It works only in the lobby area and was painfully slow at times.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hotel is small, but friendly and very clean. Towels are changed daily which is great and rooms are cleaned daily which is another plus. The food is ok, not much variety but it fills the gap, the homemade soups are brilliant. The hotel is slightly out of town, so be prepared to walk to to shops. Side itself is a beautiful place, but be aware you do get pestered to go into shops and restaurants, which can be a pain. We had a Turkish Massage whilst we were there and it is well worth the money, very relaxing takes about 80 mins but worth it

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Basic but very functional accomodation, close to everything in Side. Around 50 Euros for a three-bed room 4 nights incl half-board in late October. Wi-Fi in lobby, breakfast and dining area OK, especially the outside section. Daily cleaning and change of towels. Staff unusually quiet for Turkish. Seaview and view towards old town from hotel room, if facing that side. "Pool view" probably best option. Stay clear of the hotel room telephone as the true charge is well over the 1 TL/minute they told us, we paid 17 TL for a total of around 3 minutes of local landline calls.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view as this is towards sea and old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JohnSkondal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed 25th September til 9th October very nice hotel clean towels and linen every day very well situated for both beach and old town not too far to walk to either. Our room was on 4th floor lovely view over the sea and good sized room. The hotel seemed to cater more for the european visitors no information for English guests but we met some lovely people who tried to communicate. The staff were fine but don't ask for a cocktail in the bar god knows what you will get. The turkish bath and masssage in the hotel is very good. Lovely pool area well kept. Food good but repetative but salads really good and plenty of choice. I would not hesiste to recommend this hotel if you can cope with the lack of English would return there. Great holiday

Room Tip: our room on 4th floor at teh back was good but |I did not hear many complaints about any of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mitch083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.9 mi away
Side Hill Hotel
Side Hill Hotel
#105 of 229 in Side
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Safari Suit Hotel
Safari Suit Hotel
#83 of 229 in Side
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Begonville Apart Hotel
Begonville Apart Hotel
#90 of 229 in Side
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cats Catty Garden
Hotel Cats Catty Garden
#126 of 229 in Side
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Irem Garden Hotel & Apartments
1.2 mi away
Lemas Suite Hotel
Lemas Suite Hotel
#35 of 229 in Side
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kervan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kervan Hotel

Address: Ataturk Bulv. No:1, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 229 Hotels in Side
Price Range: $24 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kervan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kervan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kervan Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing