We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not bad!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cats Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cats Garden
Ranked #143 of 229 Hotels in Side
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not bad!”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

After all the negative reviews I was worried about this one but needn't have been. We booked a 1bed aptmt but ended up in a studio with a double & single bed. As 2 women that was great so we didn't complain (prev experience in Turkey - 1bed aptmt = double bed only!). A couple of ladies we met confirmed that their 1bed did only have a double in it but easily got moved after speaking to the hotel.
We were in 1 of the more modern blocks & slightly below ground level. There was a little damp but nothing major. Was really impressed with the bathroom - good shower with a proper cubicle. Towels changed every day. The self catering facilites were limited but the fridge & 2ring cooker worked. But out SC holiday isn't about cooking meals in, it's more about breakfast & snacks in, meals out. Thanks to previous reviews I took a travel kettle with me which I waa glad about. The view from the balcony wasn't great. We looked out onto the hotel's washing line, which was full of sheets most days, but soon got used to that!
No problems with the pool & garden area where we ended up spending most of our sunbathing time because the main beach area was something else! Big enough beach, easy to get into the water - but so many sunbeds! We couldn't move the umbrellas and lost the shade at the hottest part of the day! One day we got a free dolmus from the hotel opposite (Elit) to another beach, which was slightly less busy but if you go make sure you know the time of the last bus back - we nearly missed ours!
All in all a good holiday. I'm not one for making recommendations but if I were to go back to Side I would consider using the Cats again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juttab43_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    52
    53
    22
    25
See reviews for
68
70
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

The gardens and pool area were clean and well tended.Some rooms were APPALLING! Our friends had a studio which was sub-standard,bare live wires coming out of the wall,no shower curtain, a tap which was loose and rotated around,lights with bare bulbs.It was up in the roof space which was so hot, when they mentioned this to the night manager he agreed the room was appalling!The management (i use the term loosely) were not interested all they wanted was money for everything!! Now we booked self catering(and we've been going abroad for years) so we know what to expect,but no kettle,which we were told 40lira per wk to hire! one pot literally and a small teapot.how they can call this self catering? it is a joke!The housekeepers however were FANASTIC!!!! the rooms cleaned and bed linen changed every day. fresh towels and toilet rolls everyday they are worth their weight in gold.As for the CAT'S GARDENS APARTMENTS/STUDIOS stay well away I would not recommend unless the management had courses on how to treat people!dreadful attitude!!!!

Room Tip: Book an apartment NOT A STUDIO (choose elsewhere)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Side hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My boyfriend and I arrived at Cats Garden at about 3am to be told that there was a "technical difficulty" with our room and they were taking us to a sister hotel for the night, we were so tired we didn't argue as it was just for one night and they would pick us up in the morning.... the hotel we got taken to was called Paradise - and that it was far from. The sheets were stained and the place was far from clean, we were meant to be self catering but we didn't even have a cup or a glass between us. We were on the 6th floor and there wasn't a lift. The next morning we were ready to go, to be told that we had to stay there another night but we could use Cats Garden facilities through the day. This then turned to 3 nights in Paradise. I tried to take up the issue with the guy on reception who was very rude and claimed not to speak to english and had to get the bar staff to translate and they didn't understand what our problem was but we were offered 5 percent off food and drink at cats garden.. ha. There were 3 other couples staying at Paradise who were all meant to stay at Cats Garden, and we all decided that they had definitely just overbooked. One of the couples we met at paradise had an argument with the manager at cats (who we tried to meet with but he just left us waiting around and never turned up) - the manager told them that the english never spent money in the hotel which is why it was only english staying at paradise.
When we finally got moved to cats garden, I can happily say it was lovely, the rooms are basic but clean, the pool area is nice, plenty of sunbeds and the bar staff are all very friendly. I was worried after reading reviews about staying there, but I think the people who are wining about it just have too much time - for the amount of money you are paying, its great. I'm sure other people staying there the week we were had a great time and I'm sure we would have had too if we weren't put in paradise for half our holiday. The only advice I can give is to stand your ground there and then if they try to move you.

Room Tip: Try get in the new block, we did look out onto a brick wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storfors, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The rooms are very different in standard. Some of the rooms are at a 2 star standard and some of the rooms are 3 or 4 star standard. Ofcourse we got the 2 star standard room.
The room that we stayed in was very small, but the rooms that our friends where staying in was big and airy. The pool was filthy, and you couldn't see the bottom of the pool. They should clean that more often=( But overall it was a hotell that I could stay at again, IF I could be guaranteed that I would get one of the bigger and better rooms, and that the pool was clean. But I have to say that the cleaning was exellent!! You can eat on the floors in the bathroom if you would like=p The staff is friendly and as I wrote, if I could be guaranteed to have one of the better rooms, I would go there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christinas85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

If you are a person like me (& my family) you are going to hate it there but many people do enjoy holidays in both cat's gardens and side.
We go on holidays to relax, recharge sun batteries, meet local people & taste local food and to see the country's unique sights. Out of the above only recharging the sun batteries is guaranteed in side and cat' gardens.
The good things:
The accommodation quality does match the price paid and the rooms are basic but clean (big thanks to cleaning ladies - we left our tip on the last day so they efforts were genuine).
Now the bad bits in the most to least annoying order:
- S**t and loud cheesy disco hits were played outside on a full blast untill 12PM every night so forget about relaxing. You could hear it inide your head even with a windows closed (plus it were the same tracks every night in a style of " I just want to make you sweat..."umpf...umpf...umpf....)
- We went to turkish night not expecting much but both food and entertainment were beyond bad. We were told there will be 3 local dishes but the school diner type of buffet served roasted chicken, boiled potato and overcooked brocoli (edible but not nice and definitely not turkish). Entertainment consited of belly dancer who had a big boobs but not much of belly dancing skills and folk group out of which only one person seemed to have some folk dance knowledge and the rest being a bunch of bored looking 15 year olds...
- You will be harrased by staff to buy overpriced food and drinks at the hotel as you will to use their overpriced hamam (please do go to the original historic hamam in the old town of Antalya if you get a chance - it was the only unique and true hamam experience that cannot be match elsewhere). They are charming when you do spend your money there (loads of people seem to fall for it and not leave the hotel for days)
- Beaches in side are overcrowded and the sea is not the cleanest/clearest . We ended up going out of town to Relax beach using their free shuttle (ask arpund for directions) as it was so much better
- you will have to look hard to find true taste of turkish cusine in side (forget hotel). places on the beach will serve you kebab with chips and mayo/ketchap rather than their tasty youghurt or tomato and chilli sauce, tomato and chopped greens salad and oven baked bread. The butchers retaurant opposite the mosque is best for the grilled stuff. Mehmet in the ruins (on the way to antique side) wasn't to bad for pide or kebap. Please do avoid the kingfisher on the way to the beach as it served shocking food that tasted as it was microwave reheated leaftovers from the day before
- When you go to the bazar opposite the mosque on saturday you will need to know the prices of the stuff you want to buy beforehand. It is common for the sellers to try to sell you stuff at 3-4 times the price you can buy it from the shops elsewhere and they are so convincing when they do that...

Overall it was our first visit to Turkey and only because we left side for a week to see other places (cappadocia, west mediterenian coast, pamukalle) we came back praising the landscapes, people and food of turkey. Otherwise i would only think of package holiday on sea cheap type of resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lukas g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Just returned from turkey stayed at cats gardens we were a party of 22 must say hotel was great all rooms were very clean had some in old and new block no complaints from anyone pool was good plenty of sun beds must say sorry for putting towels on sun beds nearest pool but we did have small children with us so needed to be there the only downside was prices in the hotel restaurant and shop some of which were double compared with shops and nearby restaurants must recommend the red lion great staff and service mehmets in the ruins was fantastic value and great food both just 5 mins from hotel so if anyone from cats gardens reads this drop your food prices and put things on for your guests ie maybe a tv room with sports on and your hotel would have got 10 out of 10 but I would definitely return oh any trips you take see Tom cruise just to the right of the hotel great man and quality trips and prices so saying all that its a 9 out of 10 from me

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mojo2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed here on the 28th july for a week this year(my husband and i) and would never return.We were in the old block which was in desperate need of a good decorate and modernisation, crumbling walls, very old tatty bed, ancient shower and a balcony which looked out on to a brick wall....which i had paid an upgrade to look at!!!LOL.If your lucky enough to be placed in the newer block then we heard from other guests that it was much better.On the plus side there are clean sheets and towels daily and the pool area is nice with plenty of sun beds. Its a good 10 minutes walk away from the shops bars etc and be very aware Turkey is not cheap anymore!!!! they are charging as much for a cocktail as rhey are for a spag bol( around 20 lira).Weather brill as always which was a saving grace.At the end of the day we got what we paid for....cheap low budget accommodation....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beck8306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.4 mi away
Hanay Suit Hotel
Hanay Suit Hotel
#40 of 229 in Side
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sun City Apartments
Sun City Apartments
#59 of 229 in Side
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gazipasa Star Hotel
Gazipasa Star Hotel
#26 of 229 in Side
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Begonville Apart Hotel
Begonville Apart Hotel
#87 of 229 in Side
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmiye Garden Hotel
Palmiye Garden Hotel
#152 of 229 in Side
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Side Su
Hotel Side Su
#45 of 229 in Side
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cats Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cats Garden

Property: Hotel Cats Garden
Address: 1008 Sokak no 1, Yali Mah, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Spa Hotel in Side
#90 On the Beach Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cats Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cats Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cats Garden Aparthotel Side
Cats Garden Aparthotel Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing