We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make this resort 5 star”
Review of Barut Hemera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barut Hemera
Ranked #5 of 229 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to the Hemera, returning after a great experience 4 years ago. What makes this resort special is the staff who cannot do enough for you. Barmen Simon and Mehstan, waiters Mehmet-Ali and Seyfulla, Animation Team Anna and Ozzy were just some of the people that made our stay memorable. We couldn't fault the hotel grounds and amenities. The hotel seems to be one of the nicer ones in Side - not too big and not too small.

Although probably not five-star standard, the sheer choice of food available throughout the day is fantastic. We generally ate outside during meal times as the dining room did have a bit of a canteen feel (perhaps some better lighting would help).

The main downside we experienced this time round was our room. On our first visit we had a lovely pool view. This year we faced out the back and were woken every morning at 7am by the binmen. We had asked to change rooms but were told this would cost over 100euros for our stay which in retrospect wasn't really acceptable.

Nevertheless, I'm sure we'll return to the Hemera for the great staff, food and amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xina1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear xina1981,
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the great amenities the Barut Hemera offers. Our staff will be recognized for the great service you experienced while you were our guest. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 2,109 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Yet again a wonderful holiday. The staff are very friendly and helpful and apart from one days rain this was a very good holiday. The hotel however is in need of an update and I believe it is being closed down in December for exactly this purpose. Will this then price a lot of people out of this holiday - probably.

Room Tip: Rooms with a poolside view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colinca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Colinca,
Thank you for taking the time to share regarding your experience at the Barut Hemera! We appreciate your kind words in regards to your staff interactions. We are thrilled to announce that our hotel will be undergoing a full renovation this upcoming winter expanding many of our public spaces. We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to Antalya!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our first visit to Turkey and would say it will not be our last. We looked at several places before choosing the Hemera. On arrival at the hotel was a late one around 3 am. We where checked in swiftly then off to our room. The bar in the lobby was still open this was later found to be open 24hrs. Our room was of a good size but not much of a view.
Next morning we went down to breakfast to the buffet. There was plenty of choice with the usual things on offer the porridge was great.
We never eat at the Ala cart because we always like to have a good variety. The lunch times was good you could eat at the pool bar or beach bar or main buffet.
The pools are good with plenty sun-loungers never had to reserve one. bar service was very good with all staff at the hotel very pleasant and efficient.
The only disappointment was not with the hotel but with the shops in the town all prices where in euros and had to convert to lira. This i thought was very poor.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to people and is due for a refurbish i would think prices will rise to pay for this.

Room Tip: Room 1709 not good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueboy1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Blueboy1905,
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to read that you found your first stay with us comfortable and enjoyable. We will definitely share your comments with our entire staff regarding the guest service you received. We appreciate your positive thoughts towards our general facilities and dining options. Thank you so much for your time. We look forward to welcoming you back in a future for another wonderful holiday.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Rarely does a hotel live up to the hype, this one does and then some.A great location , unseen from the beach and with only a gate house and barrier to show from the main road, how a place this size fits into its surroundings is amazing, all the grounds are kept to a very high standard, this follows into the main building which is spotless. Following on to the pool and pool bar area, again spotless and spacious with more seating and pool beds than you could wish for, this a big hotel but it never felt cramped, and it was ,i am told, full . There was a multitude of nationalities here, but never any problems with pushing in or queue jumping, at the bars or restaraunts, the whole atmosphere was very relaxed
The service from all the staff,cleaners,reception ,guest relations,waiters,bar staff were excellent, but the entertainment team were up there with the best, they had a knack of not pestering you to join in ,but they were like good friends that you wanted to spend time with ,and would always stop and have a chat with you, even on there day off.
Food in the main restaraunt was varied and fresh,no two days were the same, again staff in here were quick at clearing tables/setting up and served drinks to your table with no fuss , the choice of food was pretty impressive, from starters right through to sweets and a vast array of cheeses, towards the end of the dining times the chef's would come out and select food from the many choices and eat in a corner of the restaraunt, thats good enough for us!!!!!!!!!
Rooms were very comfy and spotless, allthough a word of warning, do not ask for a room above the terrace bar as it does not close until midnight and can be a little loud when groups of people are talking below, if you are an early sleeper you may struggle here?
If there was a negative it would have to be the international a la carte restaraunt, this is one of four which you can book at no extra charge, however having used such establishments in various locations ,including criuses, this was the thing that failed to hit the spot, it could have been just a bad night, but the whole service from start to finish was lousy,rushed in, virtually no time to choose what to order, wine list thrust at you and a decision required within twenty seconds, the main course steak was actually two small miniburgers sat on a small breadbun, the sweet was a choice of the item on the trolley or nothing, and thirty five minutes after entering the room the door was left open and the staff disappeared, no coffee offered no how was the meal and no finesse at all . total time for the whole meal, one hour five minutes, and to top it all a twenty pound charge for the wine (which was exactly the same that was free around the whole of the complex), in fairness this was removed from our bill after bringing it to the attention of the guest relations staff.
So all in all a fantastic hotel with very friendly and attentive staff ,kept spotlessly clean, with a great choice of food, If you dont like this hotel you may be hard to please!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: avoid rooms around the reception terrace area overlooking the pool, if you are an early sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gsmt47471015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear gsmt47471015,
Thank you for your stay at the Barut Hemera and your time you have taken to post this review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with your accommodations, of your positive experience with our extensive facilities and your staff interactions. Still, we sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We have followed up with our food&beverage department to review our service standards at the restaurant you mentioned and taken steps to ensure that future guests do not have the same experience. Thank you again for your time. We hope you will consider us again the next time you're in the area.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Another holiday over, Hemera does it again, pulls out all the stops to make everything just brill.
From the moment you walk into the reception right through the hotel all the staff are polite, smiling and ready to help.
First class food, drink and swimming pools you just cannot fault this hotel.
This was our 20th visit, we have seen changes and there are more to come later this year, but all changes have been for the good.
Well done to all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whippitDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear whippitDorset,
We are thrilled to have you as a returning guest and read a review about your brilliant holiday with the Barut Hemera! Our team does everything to ensure that our guests leave our hotel happy and we are extremely pleased we were able to succeed once again. We truly appreciate your time, your continued loyalty and we will all be looking forward to your next vacation here.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

returned from the barut on 17th sept after 2 weeks holiday. hotel was spotless, grounds were extremely well kept with the advantage of many trees offering shade if needed. Food was varied and offered so much choice. of the 3 a la carte restaurants we preferred the international. the pool bar offered lunch time food of chicken and chips, baked potatoes and filled rolls. the beach bar was great offering omelettes, pizzas and salad and fruit bar. never had any problems with sun beds by pool or on the beach. The entertainment team of Serge, Karina, Anna and Oxan and the rest were brilliant, always friendly and totally dedicated. Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Colinlye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Colinlye,
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your holiday to the fullest. It is a great pleasure to hear praising words about our staff. Your feedback is a real reward for everybody who works here and we are very grateful for that. We would be honoured to have you as our guests again in a future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just returned from 10 days at the Hemera, the hotel, rooms, and grounds are spotlessly clean and tidy. The Staff are very polite and friendly and cannot do enough for you,
We tried 3 of the themed resturants Turkish, International and Turkish breakfast, to which we really enjoyed, we also enjoyed the snack bars at lunchtimes and enjoyed the chicken, jacket potato, hot beef bap, pizza ,and burgers. main resturant has a good choice of food.
The patisserie has a fantastic selection of cakes and ice creams and not to mention the hazelnut and caramel coffee. No problems with getting a sunbed by the pool or on the beach, The animation team are very friendly and put on some excellent shows, A lovely walk into Side along the promenade, leading to the ancient roman walled city , its well worth a visit, ~We had a very relaxing hoiday and would strongly reccomend the Hemera.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 299maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear 299maureen,
Thank you very much for staying with us. We appreciate your amazing review of the Barut Hemera. We are pleased to read that we were able to deliver a wonderful and relaxing holiday. Thank you for your positive feedback and recommendation. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again in a future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.3 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#6 of 229 in Side
1,337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
0.3 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
4.5 mi away
Otium Eco Club Side
0.3 mi away
Side Star Elegance
Side Star Elegance
#36 of 229 in Side
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Hemera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Hemera

Address: Bingesik Mevki | Selimiye Mahallesi,Süleyman Demirel Blv. No: 1, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#4 Luxury Hotel in Side
#5 Spa Hotel in Side
#8 Family Hotel in Side
#10 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range: $78 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Hemera 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"UNFORGETTABLE HOLIDAYS" ENJOY YOUR HOLIDAY AT BARUT HOTELS IN HARMONY WITH MOTHER NATURE WHERE SUN, SEA AND FUN MEET QUALITY AND EXCELLENCE. If you want to enjoy entertainment to the full, engage in sports and endlessly dive into the sea or pool, then the Barut Hemera is just the right place for you! Enjoy the "Mediterranean entertainment" you have been dreaming of all year long. Barut Hemera offers you activities and shows starting early and lasting the whole day such as water sports and motorised water sports by the beach, water games in the pool, competitions where adrenalin levels rise, beach volleyball, mini golf, darts, boccia, tennis, table tennis, and snooker. We provide free Wi-fi for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Barut Hemera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Hemera Resort And Spa
Barut Hemera Hotel Side
Barut Hemera Side
Hemera Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing