We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful holiday”
Review of Barut Hemera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barut Hemera
Ranked #5 of 229 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I have always said never go to the same place twice. I'm just back from my ?9th visit to the Hemera. I've already booked for next summer. I find it hard to pinpoint the magnet that pulls us back but the friends I have met each year, the friendships forged with the staff, the atmosphere, comfort and service all contribute. I was disappointed that the old animation team had left, but Artyom, Karina and Anna more than deserve a special mention amongst others in the team. Such lovely people. I'm worried I will mention other staff names and forget some but special thanks also to waiter Halil, bar men extraordinaire Selami, Suleyman and Sinan. To me the Hemera really does feel like home from home. Yes I'm lucky enough to be able to visit other places during the year, but for my main holiday the Hemera draws me back. With such a large repeat guest percentage it's the place you meet people one year, and go back as friends the next

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claireh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Claire,
Thank you very much for staying with us again. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your holiday to the fullest. It is a great pleasure to hear praising words about our staff. Your feedback is a real reward for everybody who works here and we are very grateful for that. We would be honoured to have you as our guests again next summer.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

875 - 881 of 2,115 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Yet another holiday over
We have been to the Hemera 15 times now .....I know !! never go back to the same place .... too many other places to try !! But when the Hemera magic gets you theres only one place for our july holiday. Staff are great, I know some can be ignorant some times but hey if you treat them with the respect they deserve and chat to them you will find that they are good..... food ... some say great ... but being a very fussy english man aboard I can always find different things plus kilos were put on this time so cant be that bad .... grounds - beach 1st class .... refurbisment over the winter ....so the tired reception and dinning area will be no more .... an additional swimming pool new bar and a third restaurant plus a new pool around some of the rooms will add to the excitement for next years visit .... the new booking system this year for the restaurants does need looking at ... dont like it ...... are we going back ? Of course .... already booked July 2014 .... cant wait

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank summerfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear summerfruit,
Thank you very much for your review full of positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your encouraging words and continued loyalty to the Barut Hemera. Thank you for your mention of our upcoming renovation by the end of the year. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again after the refurbishment. Roll on July 2014!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have jut arrived home from the Hemera (15th-25th July). We went as a family with an 11 and 7 year old. The kids totally loved the hotel, food & especially the kids club.
The kids animation staff ( especially Ever, Sasha & Edo) were amazing and totally deserve a mention. They loved my kids and always made time for them even sitting with them at dinner on some evenings! The mini disco in the evening is great for the kids aswell.
We only found a few staff to be friendly and pleasant. The bar & reception staff weren't particularly helpful and friendly.
The patisserie with non stop ice cream was also a real hit!
We found the food to be of good standard and the a la carte restaurants were fabulous. Lunch at the beach bar was also very good and really can't be faulted.
We found some of the staff rude and arrogant including the photo guy (NOT Gino!), the hotel doctor and Dahlia the guest relations woman. If you have a problem, don't bother seeing her as she is more than unhelpful. And also very rude. clearly used to dealing with russian guests!!!
Regarding the doctor, our son was stung by a jellyfish in the sea (quite rare apparently) but we took him to the hotel doctor to get it cleaned. The doctor wasn't there originally and the nurse put some cream on it and said come back at 4pm. We went back and the doctor looked at it for about 5 seconds and handed me some piriton. Then charged me 100 euros!!!!! There is no scale of charges. He just works out if your british or not then wacks the charges up. We refused to pay the 100 euros and told him that he had inflated the price and would be happy to pay 50 euros. After some very rude, loud words from the doctor in reception and after he told us that all British were a problem (!) we finally gave him the 50 euros and told him that was all we were paying. The guest relations manager was useless and didn't help at all!
Sunbeds: We had to get up at 6am (!!!!) every morning to get a bed around the pool and even then some beds were already taken ! Ridiculous considering they have a rule about no bed reserving until 8am. This rule was completely ignored.
The beach was lovely and the jetty is fun.
Don't bother with excursions as they are overpriced and never do what they advertise. They overcharge you fro drinks and generally take you to where they like!!!!!
Evening entertainment is fun but not great. But then you don't go to Turkey for a west end show!!!!!
Yusuf's spa across the road is much cheaper and better than the hotel spa so visit there for your turkish massage.
We met alot of people who were on their 4th or 5th visit to the hotel so they must be doing something right. We heard that the hotel is turning into a Sensatori hotel in October but not sure if this is 100% correct info.
Definitely worth a visit considering the cost of the holiday. It's not 5 star but we would give it a strong 4 star!!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms with their back to the road can be very noisy as there are nightclubs directly opposite th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Beebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Beebug,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Barut Hemera. Whilst we are delighted that you have found our kids club activities, food and some staff's approach to your liking, we are concerned to learn that you did not enjoy your overall stay with us. We do take our guests feedback very seriously and will share your concerns with the management team.
Please know that hotel management cannot intervene in the doctor's pricing as the doctor is never a hotel employee, and the spa pricing at the hotel is in fact on par with that of other five star properties in Side.
Also we would like to inform you that we do take the steps to prevent the sunbeds reservation by requesting our guests not reserve them, however some instances beyond our control prevent this from occurring. We regret that this situation impacted your experience at our hotel.
We would really appreciate if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here from 30th June - 11th July 2013. This was our first visit to Turkey. I went with my Husband, Daughter (19) Son (16) & Daughters boyfriend (19)
We arrived about 3pm after a 50min transfer from the airport, we had asked for rooms next to each other so were disappointed to find we had been allocated rooms on different floors. We had to just go with that for the first night & were able to swap things around & be fairly close to each other the next day - it was kind of annoying as we just wanted to unpack & get on with doing nothing, instead we had to unpack what we needed only to repack & move the next day. I think this was more the fault of Thomas Cook than the hotel & Ahmet on reception was very apologetic & helpful & continued to be helpful with various things throughout our stay.
We were very pleased with our room, plenty of space, clean, TV with some English channels including a great film channel, we didn't watch alot of telly but it was nice to have when you were getting ready to go out in the evening etc.
The hotel is huge but doesnt really feel it as the pool is also very big with loads of sun beds, you would have to get up early to get a bed by the pool but there were always beds if you went a few steps away from the pool & there were always beds available on the beach. There was a parasol every 2 sunbeds so you could pretty much get shade anywhere if you wanted it.
The main pool is lovely & where we spent most of our time, its so big! quite cool but just right to help you cool off. The animation team all had the day off on a Sunday but every other day there was loads of stuff going on at the pool. Big thank you to Anna for her enthusiastic aqua gym (& sea gym!) Volley ball on the beach twice a day was great for the boys - they wouldnt miss a game despite the heat! I don't know the names of many of the animation team but will single out Sonic, water poloooooooooo man (you'll understand when you go there) & also the crazy guy who played Danny in Grease. The whole animation team worked so hard all the time, they were always friendly weather you wanted to get involved or not & even the shows they put on in the evening were worth watching. They are the hotels biggest asset.
The dining room was a bit dated & for us we didnt feel the food was anywhere near 5star (hence only rated 4/5), we always found something that was ok (obviously) but compared to other 5 stars weve been to the food was not good, it just lacked flavour a bit. Dining room staff were great, we sat in the same area for the first 2 night & when we did the same on the 3rd night the waiter (Musa) arrived with our drinks before we'd ordered them so we were very impressed that he'd remembered us & our drinks order, its such a big hotel we would never of expected this.
We walked into the town of Side a few times, its about a 30-40 min walk which was quite pleasant, we also caught the bus there one evening which wasn't quite so good as the bus driver packed us in like sardines, even when there was no room left he was still letting people on board to the point where the door wouldn't shut!
We found the shops to be full of fakes, some of the bags were nice & made of leather but so expensive! We didn't want fake bags anyway so didn't barter but saw people buying fakes for as much as £100!
If you're wondering what currency to take then take Euros, most things are priced in euros & you'll use them on a future holiday somewhere if you dont spend them. They are happy to take turkish lire too & alot of shops will also take English money.
Some people have complained about the cats making it sound like the place is overrun with them, there are a few cats around but not loads & they didnt bother us at all.
Tea & coffee making facilities in the room were great to have & the fridge was restocked daily.
The hairdryer in our room broke on the first day, I reported it before we went to dinner & it was mended by the time we'd eaten.
The patisserie was a real treat for cakes & ice cream. Good choice of food at lunchtime, salads, pizza, baguettes, chips, burgers - lunch was better than dinner!
We did go in one of the restaurants, the international one & the food in here was 5star!
All in all a really wonderfull holiday, we really hope to go back there one day & would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Wifi wasnt great in the room but the closer you got to reception the better it got. Also you do have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kath08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Kath08,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your first time at the Barut Hemera. Your lovely comments regarding every aspect of your vacation are greatly appreciated. Our team strives to deliver consistently high quality service to every guest, therefore your opinion is very important to us.
We are pleased to learn that your stays at our hotel met your expectations and look forward to your next visit to our hotel in the near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is not 5 star , food is nice but a bit repetitive , rooms are dated although it is due a refurb during winter months , pool is clean , if you want a sunbed you have to get up early morning to reserve one , after 7.30 am you won't get one . Lots of cats around the grounds which mither you for food , the spa staff who come round selling every day all day can be rude , the spa is expensive compared to YUSUF spa that is across the road , which was very good clean and friendly staff , so please before you book anything go have a look save yourself a LOT of money ,

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrsph1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear mrsph1968,
Thank you for staying at the Barut Hemera and sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community. We are concerned to learn that you did not enjoy your overall stay with us, particularly that you found the spa staff to be obtrusive. Our management team is taking this seriously as it is definitely not our training standard.
Please know that the spa pricing at the hotel is in fact on par with that of other five star properties in Side.
We hope you and your family will give us another opportunity to welcome you again to the refurbished Barut Hemera in a future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just back from our 4th visit to the Hemera and not disappointed, we all had a great time once more.
Great to see familiar faces again both staff and guests, we met other guests who have also visited this hotel numerous times as well.
The staff are so customer focused and so eager to make your stay special.
The bar staff amaze me how they can take orders in a multitude of languages and get it right most of the time.
Also a mention to the unsung heroes who keep the grounds immaculate.
We e mailed before our holiday asking if it was possible to get the same apartment we were in on our last visit and we had a reply saying they would try their best.
Suffice to say when we checked in this was the room we were given for which we were grateful and a great customer relations action.
The food was first class and we all gained weight due to being unable to resist the goodies on offer.
The new floating platform is fun and a great addition at the beach.
Only negative is that the original chairs at the Side Lounge are starting to look a bit jaded and could do with being recovered or replaced but I have heard that a refurbishment is in the planning.
All in all this Hotel has a family feel about it and all the staff try hard to make your holiday special.

Room Tip: Apartments in the grounds are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Dave,
We appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences with us and the Tripadvisor community. We are happy to know that you had a chance to enjoy our services and facilities and that you had one more great vacation with us.
We were delighted to read your positive feedback regarding our staff members, their attentiveness and helpfulness. We will definitely share your motivating review with our team.
Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Barut Hemera. We hope to be able to host you many more times in the future.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just back from our first visit to Turkey. Can't really fault the hotel, food a little repetitive it is a little tired in places, but this is being addressed in winter.

Our main problem was with the SPA people, I was recommended to try a cheaper spa YUSAF 200 meters over the road, the lady who did had tried both & preferred YUSAF'S. She found the masseurs got a little to close for comfort in private area's! I informed a family or 2 as you can save a good chunk of cash, avg saving £90 for a family of 3 !!!

This resulted in the 2 Male SPA people constantly being being rude and eventually came to a head with a full blown row in the pool bar area, where my wife was told to SHUT UP WOMAN!!

Customer relations useless and Dahlia can be really rude, so wasting your time trying to deal with her! Heavily geared towards German/ Russian guest.

Sunbeds, gone by 7am, which resulted in a 6 o'clock club to ensure we got bed's.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Rob,
Thank you for staying at the Barut Hemera and sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community. We are concerned to learn that you did not enjoy your overall stay with us, particularly that you found the spa staff to be obtrusive and guest relations rep unhelpful. Our management team is taking this seriously as it is definitely not our training standard.
Please know that the spa pricing at the hotel is in fact on par with that of other five star properties in Side.
We hope you and your family will give us another opportunity to welcome you again to Barut Hemera in a future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.3 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#6 of 229 in Side
1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
0.3 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
0.3 mi away
Side Star Elegance
Side Star Elegance
#34 of 229 in Side
720 reviews
4.5 mi away
Otium Eco Club Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Hemera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Hemera

Address: Bingesik Mevki | Selimiye Mahallesi,Süleyman Demirel Blv. No: 1, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#4 Luxury Hotel in Side
#5 Spa Hotel in Side
#6 Family Hotel in Side
#10 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range: $105 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Hemera 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"UNFORGETTABLE HOLIDAYS" ENJOY YOUR HOLIDAY AT BARUT HOTELS IN HARMONY WITH MOTHER NATURE WHERE SUN, SEA AND FUN MEET QUALITY AND EXCELLENCE. If you want to enjoy entertainment to the full, engage in sports and endlessly dive into the sea or pool, then the Barut Hemera is just the right place for you! Enjoy the "Mediterranean entertainment" you have been dreaming of all year long. Barut Hemera offers you activities and shows starting early and lasting the whole day such as water sports and motorised water sports by the beach, water games in the pool, competitions where adrenalin levels rise, beach volleyball, mini golf, darts, boccia, tennis, table tennis, and snooker. We provide free Wi-fi for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Otel and Cancelon so you can book your Barut Hemera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Hemera Resort And Spa
Barut Hemera Hotel Side
Barut Hemera Side
Hemera Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing