We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing & enjoyable stay”
Review of Barut Hemera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barut Hemera
Ranked #6 of 229 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We have just returned from 14 nights and can thoroughly recommend the whole experience. The hotel is very well located, very clean and the staff we found were VERY happy, were pleased to have us there and were excellent. As always in life, if you treat people with respect and are friendly towards them, this will be reciprocated. Some excellent staff, especially Tunahan in the Restaurant and the two ywin sisters in the Patisserie. They just installed a new Jetty on the beach, before we left, in response to previous comments re some rocks in the sea. This really is an all inclusive resort and you can certainly have what you want, when you want it. The walkway to Side is great. Watersports were quite pricey and it is a cartel as they all have fixed the prices the same. We took Lira and found with the current exchange rate that it was certainly best value.
The Thomson trips are totally overpriced - there are locally organised identical trips you can do at a fraction of the price.
We really enjoyed the whole Turkish Hemera experience, were very well looked after & can thoroughly recommend the hotel - you'll love it too.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elcot17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,071)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,115 - 1,121 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is our second trip to stay in a Barut hotel having stayed at the Lara Beach Hotel & Spa in Antalya a couple of years ago. We decided to visit the Barut Hemera in Side as we knew the Barut chain as after staying (disappointingly) in a hotel last year (Baia Bodrum) near Bodrum which was meant to be a 5* hotel but it wasn't a patch on the Barut Hotels. We were not disappointed. The Barut Hemera is in every way a 5* hotel and not a 4* as listed in the Cosmos brochure.

The food in the hotel is excellent and caters for everyone with loads of different choices. The service is also excellent with everyone working very hard to make sure all your needs are met and nothing is too much trouble. Our waiter Ali Domez and the rest of his team were really friendly and welcoming at every mealtime and their English was good too so you could chat to them sometimes. The entertainment team work tirelessly to make sure that everyone has a good time and they always keep the kids happy with their non-stop entertainment and activities. Our 11 year old spent most of the time in the pool but there was always something to do if he got bored with that (not that he ever got bored). The rooms are kept very clean as the cleaning staff work very hard. All parts of the hotel are also kept very clean and the gardens also.

The only downside I would say is if you want beds by the pool then you have to be up at 5 (yes seriously!) in the morning to put your towels out. Alternatively, there are beds available just a little way from the pool where there is shade under the palm trees which is where we spent most of our time and actually not as busy which we preferred. Also, there are plenty of beds on the beach if you prefer that location.

We hired a taxi from the taxi rank in the hotel grounds to take us to see the Waterfalls in Manavgat which were a spectacular site and the driver also offered to take us up to the big Dam in the mountains not far from there (can't remember the name) which was fantastic as we could see all the panoramic views for miles which were amazing. He then took us to the Paradise Restaurant where we had a meal and we could swim in the reservoir or you could go fishing if you wanted to. We thought it worked out much cheaper than booking an excursion on a coach and we literally had our own chauffeur driven car for almost a day for 140 Turkish Lira (about £60 not including food) for three of us. Definitely worth checking out the local taxis for excursions before you book on any through the hotel. If you don't want to go on a camel and pay a fortune then if you go anywhere and see camels keep well away as before you know it, the owner has your child, or you, on the camel for a ride and the next thing he is trying to charge you loads of Euros for the privilege. We learnt this to out detriment last year and so were able to avoid it this year. They can get a bit aggressive if you don't want to pay for it after you have had the ride as they somehow manage to hide the price list before you get on the camel and you think it is free!

We heard of a few people getting ear infections due probably to spending too much time in the pool and this included my son and husband so instead of paying 80 Euros each for a doctors consultation plus medication, we just went to the chemist across the road from the hotel and he gave us some antibiotics which did the trick in no time so it is worth trying that first if you want to save a lot of money. Also, the same for upset stomachs as the pharmacist seemed to know his stuff.

A trip to Side old town to see the old ruins (Temples of Apollo and Athena) is worth a trip but it is probably best to go early in the morning if you want to walk along the promenade by the beach to avoid the heat of the day. We left at 8.30 in the morning and it was very hot then. All in all, it took about 45 minutes to walk in but it was well worth it to see them. We went into Side one evening to look at the shops and if you like complete commercialism with everything fake then thats the place to go. It was heaving with people and the shopkeepers are a bit overwhelming as they all try to get you into the shops to buy stuff so be prepared just to say "no thanks".

A Turkish bath and massage in the Spa early on in the holiday is a must - very relaxing; I had two!

The shops in the hotel are competitively priced with very little difference in price to the shops outside the hotel and less hassle as no-one bothers you with trying to make you buy things. We took Turkish Lira with us which seemed to go further than the Euros and worked out a bit cheaper.

All in all, we had a thoroughly great holiday and if you want to get away and get some sun with lots of relaxation, good food and really good service then the Barut Hemera is for you. Really great also for all ages of children especially teenagers and 11/12 year olds.

Definitely go again to a Barut Hotel.

Room Tip: Poolside view is a great location and not noisy at all with doors closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CambridgeOver21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Hotel was fine.food was excellent however the staff were very rude unless you gave them a tip.this was common at the bars,reception and restaurants.there attitude was unacceptable
and because of this we will not be going back.The location and the beach were excellent ,

Room Tip: a room near the lift if not thers a lot of walking involved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelseanugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Just returned two weeks, we had a party of 11 & the age group ranged from 4 through to 70. ALL of us felt catered for,service was good & all staff were friendly. The rooms were clean & the mini bar always topped up & if what you wanted wasn't in it then your all inclusive so go & get what you want from one of the many bars. Food was good & there was always something for everyone. It was my 4year olds birthday whilst staying & the hotel baked a cake for her with sparklers on top , dimmed the lights in the restaurant & got everyone to sing "Happy Birthday" All on all a great holiday!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonBham47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Great resort. Great food. Don't bother with the a la carte restaurants, the choice of food in the main restaurant is amazing. Close to historic sites and the village of Side is very interesting with Roman ruins. The trip to the waterfalls was very good. Coffee wasn't great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfaRomeaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed at Hemera from 26th july for two weeks and loved every minute! Right on the beach and short walk from side. Staff amazing , entertainment team work extremely hard and everyone is very welcoming and nothing is ever too much trouble.
Try to book restaurants early as they get quite busy, we went to the sandals fish restaurant twice and the international resturant once. Both very yummy but fish restaurant is a must yum yum!
It was VERY HOT! Could not wear a lot of the clothes we took because at night time it is boiling so very loose fitted clothes needed.
Did jet skiing and parasailing from hut on the beach which was much cheaper than anywhere we've been before and saw a turtle when parasailing!
Sea is very stoney to the right of the hotel but if you go to the left it is just sand and nice on your feet:)
Went on a VIP boat trip who we booked with thomson and it wasnt really what we expected. Literally just floated out along the coast and didnt see anything new.
Taxi's outside the hotel offer cheap personalised trips where they are your tour guide and they are very lovely.
Handbag shop over the road is a lot cheaper than in Side, we ended up buying three!
Overall amazing holiday, food was delicious,drinks lovely, staff amazing and will not hesitate to return! Very good value for money and the best all inclusive we've ever had!

Room Tip: Email hotel to request pool or sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ella g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This was our first holiday in a while. On arrival we were abit overwhelmed by its size but we soon felt at home. Room was disappointing as disabled (not required) and small. However we were offered an exchange but decided against it as our location was good. On the positive side, room was clean and the maid changed towels and made beds daily, she also brushed throughout, so it was immaculate on our return from the pool.
Pools were clean, however there was two incidents of someone having their bowels opened in the large and smaller pool. We were evacuated from the pool but wasn't very impressed with the pool man carrying a net full of faecal matter across the entire pool area to dispose of it in the toilets ! The sunbed issue was also very prevalent, not enough sunbeds for residents by far, I am afraid to say we eventually succumbed and set our alarms for 6am to reserve beds otherwise we would never have got one. In the contrary to other reviews i was very impressed with the Aquagym, my children loved the instructor and he was incredibly pleasing on the eye ! I didn't find them at all pushy and if u didn't want to go, u just don't go !
The photographer was lovely whilst he was taking pictures but i have to agree that it is a hard sell when purchasing, however for 120euros we got an album of twenty five pictures, a large print of our favourite picture and the disc of all the original photos, so all in all not bad value.
The shop at the resort is expensive and prices change daily ! The young boy who works there is very pleasant but the older man not as friendly. There is a shop opposite the resort and is alot more reasonable, and the pharmacist opposite is run by a very pleasant man who sells suntan lotion at around ten pounds compared to twenty five pounds in the resort shop !!!!
The food is outstanding, choice and quality 10/10, I am vegetarian and was never stuck for choice, also childrens section available. Lunchtime there is the snack bar which does chicken, baguettes,baps,chips, all fresh and tasty and the beachbar is exceptional, providing a varied pasta buffet,pizzas, burgers etc and turkish flatbread, delicious
Entertainment team were alright, sometimes evening entertainment good, especially Grease, some nights were awful, but my children loved them all, so if they are happy, i am happy !
The only real dissapointment for me was the kids club, kids were allowed to freely wander in and out, gate didn't shut and there was another gate the other side by where there was archery and air gun practice ! My youngest was four and under no circumstances would i have allowed him in there not supervised by myself or my husband. The two entertainment girls seemed bored and disinterested and the head of kids entertainment spent the time on the internet looking at cars on the internet! A real disappointment because we were hoping for a safe kids club where we register them in and out.
Overall we had an excellent holiday, hotel exceptionally clean and well run, my children cried when leaving so that in itself speaks volumes. In fact if the kids club was better run this whole resort would be exceptional, so if that not a priority the Hemera is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.6 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
0.3 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#5 of 229 in Side
1,325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
2.8 mi away
Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Paloma Oceana Resort
Paloma Oceana Resort
#12 of 229 in Side
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Hemera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Hemera

Address: Bingesik Mevki | Selimiye Mahallesi,Süleyman Demirel Blv. No: 1, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#5 Spa Hotel in Side
#5 Luxury Hotel in Side
#8 Family Hotel in Side
#10 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range: $106 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Hemera 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"UNFORGETTABLE HOLIDAYS" ENJOY YOUR HOLIDAY AT BARUT HOTELS IN HARMONY WITH MOTHER NATURE WHERE SUN, SEA AND FUN MEET QUALITY AND EXCELLENCE. If you want to enjoy entertainment to the full, engage in sports and endlessly dive into the sea or pool, then the Barut Hemera is just the right place for you! Enjoy the "Mediterranean entertainment" you have been dreaming of all year long. Barut Hemera offers you activities and shows starting early and lasting the whole day such as water sports and motorised water sports by the beach, water games in the pool, competitions where adrenalin levels rise, beach volleyball, mini golf, darts, boccia, tennis, table tennis, and snooker. We provide free Wi-fi for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Barut Hemera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Hemera Resort And Spa
Barut Hemera Hotel Side
Barut Hemera Side
Hemera Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing