We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barut Acanthus & Cennet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
Ranked #7 of 228 Hotels in Side
Stornoway, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Arrived back yesterday from the Cennet. Allocated a table in dining room for duration of the holiday and the waiters could not have been more friendly or courteous. Fantastic selection of foods on offer and glass never empty at dinner. Hotel, grounds and beach are kept spotless, added bonus of beach bag and towels to use for your stay so no need to pack a bulky beach towel in suitcase. I would definately go back and highly recommend a stay at the Cennet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kags331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    117
    33
    15
    5
See reviews for
126
165
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burton Latimer, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

just come back from weeks in the cennet (pronounced Jennet ) and all i can say is how soon can i go back there.
Arrived late due to a delay at birmingham and was expecting the usual drawn out booking in process,But on arrival at the reception we were greeted by pleasent staff who quickly sorted our room key and charge card out for us (the card allows you to purchase food and drink throughout the hotel and is paid for at the end of your stay (we just put the money away every night for what we had spent on the card that day and paid it all to the reception when we checked out))
On arrival to our room we found plates of salad,Cheese,Meat and fruits waiting for us.
we were also pleased to find that the fridge,safe and aircon were all free.also beach towels and beachbag
Breakfast is served from 7.00am untill 10.30 so it is ideal for those that like a lay in.
the food is excellent with a huge choice for all meals including freshly cooked omlets and a vast sellection of cereals and meats and cheeses.
on your first day you are given a table and this is the same seats you have for the rest of your stay.
the evening meals are some of the best i have ever had with a vast array of meat and vegetables on offer and every night there is a different bbq and stirfry with meats ranging from salmon to rump steak.
The rooms are cleaned every day with the beds changed whenever you want.The staff are all realy friendly and will help you in any way thay can.Now for the location: all i can say is it cant get much better than this!! 5 paces from the hotel and you are on the beach with free sunbeds free parasols and a sea that you can walk out for about 100mtrs and still be only up to your waist in.
The beer is good and not watered down and the soft drinks are genuine (not the sort of cola that tastes like a aldi copy)
There are 2 pools that also have free sunbeds and parasols the childrens pool is inly 40cm deep and the adult is approx 2 mtr so if you dont swim the childrens pool is the place to go.
all in all i cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: go for a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vince O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

just got back from cennet hotel.couldnt fault a thing.staff at breakfast and dinner very friendly.our waiter in the evening was ready with a refill of our drinks every time we had finished one.food was amazing.couldnt move some nights cos ate so much,so much choice.room lovely,overlooked sea.cleaned daily.grounds kept immaculate,always cleaning and sweeping.pool lovely,quiet and plenty of room.walked out of hotel ,3 steps across path and your on the beach.free sunbeds and umbrella.cant understand the bad reviews but everyone has different tastes i suppose.will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nita09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were told this place was heaven on earth and spontaneously booked a 10-day ‘All-Inclusive’ holiday through HOTELPLAN/BENTOUR for the end of July. But boy, were we ever far removed from paradise. The flight was delayed – so much so that the gate to the hotel grounds was closed when we arrived at 3 in the morning. The shuttle bus dropped us off and we had to walk the rest of the way. Checking in, I first needed to have a lengthy argument with the sleepy night clerk about our ‘Full-board’ reservation and not, as he arrogantly kept insisting, ‘Half-board’. Opening the door to our room seemed like entering the hotel’s Hammam; the air-conditioning didn’t work. Outside it was 45° and humidity was above 80%. Even the water in the pool was 38°. In the open-air restaurant, the hotel assigned us to a table; smack in the middle of everybody, without any air circulating… and without the possibility to move elsewhere to one of the (many) empty places along the side. Plus, the head-waiter insisted that men wear trousers in the restaurant. What is this? I’m on vacation… must eat in a Sauna… surrounded by palm trees… next to the beach… with all the ladies wearing shorts or little dresses.

If you didn’t make it to the beach by 7 am, forget about finding a decent spot for your sun-bed and umbrella. Everything was occupied… by a towel! And speaking of Germans, the place seems to cater to them exclusively – right up to the evening’s animation program featuring that bloody song: ‘Einen Stern der Deinen Namen trägt’. Our vacation's high-point was departure time. We were picked up at 2 o’clock in the morning (having to haul our luggage in the dark back to the gate because it wouldn’t open for the shuttle bus at this late hour). When we arrived at the airport shortly before 3, the registration desk was still closed. When it finally opened at 4:30 we had to wait until 6 to get on the plane – which then departed well after 8. And to make things worse, next to us the flight to Geneva was about to board – which would have dropped us at our door-step. When we complained to the agency why they booked us through Zürich, they said they weren’t aware of direct Geneva flight connections.

As for the Good, the hotel is next to the town of Side where there’s lots to see, plenty of shops and many great restaurants. The beach is clean and the hotel grounds are well kept. The buildings are nice, although humidity and years of service left their toll (Cennet was built in 1971 and Acanthus opened in 1987). Staff is genuinely friendly – especially if you speak German. The food is okay but lacks variety. There is plenty of space everywhere and despite the hundreds of people staying here, there are no long lines on food stations and never does one feel crowded.

There is, of course, a lesson to be learned from all this. KNOW WHAT YOU BOOK! I could have found out beforehand about the annoying rules of ‘table assignment’, ‘dress-code’ and sun-bed ‘reservation’ – although this doesn’t mean there can’t be flexibility, nor must hotel management accept this practice. Learning in advance about places and countries favored by which nationals and what period is also not difficult in case you don’t want to hear the same familiar language spoken in a far away land. Temperature and humidity records can also be consulted ahead of booking. The same applies to travel times, distances and time-zone changes. As for being ‘forced’ to fly out of one city instead of the other, not much can be done – except to reserve our next vacation elsewhere… and publishing this comment on Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: One with A/C working
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank restaurant71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I am originally from Istanbul/Turkey and have been living in UK for 17years.We stayed in this place for 3 days in mid June 12 with my sister, aunt, nice and my 4yrs old boy.The manager and the staff at reception was great so helpfull, friendly and nice.They also gives us a extra discount which they will give it to people travelling through travel agencies.We liked it a lot as it isn't a very big resort and mostly occupied by slightly older german people but they were the friendliest people ever as anyone passing by us said hello and they were very tolerant with my active 4yrs old boy and giving him smiles on the beach when they were playing the games etc. I would say the swimming pool not that big like other resorts and have no waterslides etc but the beach itself is lovely.You get out of your hotel at the back of the resort and here is the sea with plenty of sunlongers.We did get up early to put the towels on but we wanted to front to watch for my little boy. The beach is sandy and the sea as well and don't get deep quickly which is perfect for young kids and me as not much of a swimmer.The rooms were nice but again perhaps need a little modernisation but it was clean and comfortable. Done the job. I think the repeat customers makes this hotel special and nice.Food also was nice and varied. We stayed as half board so we did try the beach side bar for lunch time snacks/food etc extra charge which were delicious.Yes lot of german people but are the nice and friendly kind which I am happy with anybody as long as they are nice, friendly and have manners.Great place and I would recommend to all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Y E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks staying at the Barut Cennet and Acanthus in Side. The rooms are bright, fresh and very clean,we arrived early on a Friday morning due to flight delays and we were met by friendly staff and a bell boy who insisted on carrying our luggage for us. It was a lovely surprise to find a salad, bread and a plate of fresh fruit waiting for us.
We found the staff friendly, helpful and eager to please. The food was fantastic a wide range of salads and lovely freshly baked bread. A variety of meats cooked in the dinning room. The puddings were delicious.The hotel is cleaned to a high standard and ideally placed a 20 minute walk into the old town and a stroll down to the beach which is sandy and clean the sea is warm, plenty of sunbeds no need to put towels down the evening before or in the early hours of the morning.
There are a range of travel agencies to chose from for excursions, we used n-Keskin which was just place outside the hotel we went on 3 trips. The Cabrio bus safari which is well worth the 20E up in to the mountains to get a true picture of Turkey. We went on the Dolphin Island trip and lucky enough to see dolphins The green canyon is worth a visit if you want to see nature at it's best, on all the trips we had a lovely fresh salad for lunch.
A visit into side in the evenings is a lovely photo opportunity with the ruins all lit up.
To get the dolmus you need get onto the main road to flag them down to get into Side alto a walk along the beach in the evening is well worth it..
Take plenty of sun cream it is extremely hot
This hotel is a gem the garden is kept lovely you can sit in the shade under the trees, the pool is great for children with a bar serving refreshments.
A fab hotel providing fab service just relax and have a great holiday.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor in the cennet the A/C is provided and a must. The hotel very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palmtrees_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the cennet hotel in Side from 3rd to13th July. We were very impressed. We arrived early hours of the morning and were surprised to find a lovely salad,fresh bread and fruit in our room. The location of the hotel is perfect, near enough to the old town to take a stroll in but far enough away to be peaceful. The large gardens are beautifully kept and a real pleasure to sit in. The beach is sandy and very safe. The food was very good with a fantastic choice, and we found the staff all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.8 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
3.0 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
4.3 mi away
Nashira Resort Hotel & Aqua-Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Commodore Elite Suites & Spa
2.2 mi away
Paloma Oceana Resort
1.8 mi away
Sueno Hotels Beach Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Acanthus & Cennet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Acanthus & Cennet

Property: Barut Acanthus & Cennet
Address: Turgut Ozal Cad, Side, Manavgat 07600, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#6 Luxury Hotel in Side
#6 Spa Hotel in Side
#41 Family Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barut Acanthus & Cennet 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Barut Acanthus & Cennet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cennet Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing