We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel and Excellent Staff”
Review of Barut Arum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barut Arum
Ranked #5 of 227 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel and Excellent Staff”
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We cannot fault this hotel. It was exceptionally clean (including the pool and beach areas). The food was fantastic and lots of choice. If you want traditional English food then this hotel is not for you. We, however, like to try different foods and found them all to be excellent. The fish al la carte restaurant, again was very good quality and served in lovely surroundings.

The staff go out of their way to be friendly and very helpful. I am amazed when people have said that they favour the Germans or the Russians. We did not find this at all and we quite liked the mix of nationalities and found everyone to be friendly and respectful of each other.

The rooms are very nice and very modern, we never encountered any noise from the adjoining rooms. The power shower in the bathroom was amazing and again spotlessly clean.

The hotel grounds again are really lovely, the beach bar, pool bar, snack bar and the inside bar are all very nice and relaxing. There is a guitarist at the beach bar late at night and pianoist and singer around the pool bar. This was lovely as you don't really need to go out if you didn't want to. They played nice relaxing music and we thought it was wonderful.

It is a nice walk on the beach side to Side, it takes about 45 minutes. Side is lovely just what we imagined Turkey to be like. Unspoilt. Although, we were not impressed with the shops and their goods. The shop keepers did pester you but a polite NO THANK YOU did the trick and they left you alone. At the end of the day they are trying to make a living.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone as it was superb and we will be returning for another wonderful holiday to the Arum.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HonestWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    219
    69
    23
    8
See reviews for
518
474
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

wouldlike to share my impressions from my stay at the Barut Hotels Arum – Side, Antalya.My visit at the hotel was from September, 12 2010 until September 19, 2010. Thehotel is clean, with good infrastructure. The stuff is very hospitable and kind.The rooms we stayed in were very spacious, comfortable and regularly cleanedup. The beach is very nice, with a wide cost line and a beach bar. The food wasvery good and plentiful. Everything would be perfect if there wasn’t an eventwhich spoiled the whole good impression. As seen onthe pictures there were several cats living on territory of the hotel and werea big tourist attraction. One of them was the proud mother of four sweet cubs.She proudly presented them to the inhabitants of the hotel at a lawn beside thepool. They were vulnerable, playful and adorable. To my biggest surprise andhorror the hotel guards arranged a campaign against the poor creatures, signingtheir death sentence. I do not approve of violence against defenseless creatures;as well I would never forget the look in the mother’s eyes while she waslooking for her children. The campaign was arranged during the night in aviolent and criminal ways. Thus I amconvinced I’m telling the whole truth and may everyone judge for himself.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank vinsantool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Just come back from a great holiday at the Arum. This was our third time to stay at the Arum after a break of 3 years. If any thing the Hotel has improved with some substantial upgrades to the hotel having been made. I am suprised by some of the criticisms I have seen by a minority on this sight. Yes its true that we Brits are the minority here, however I have never experienced any thing but good friendly service. (Incidentally the Pools are fresh water and cleaned every night).
If you are looking for a relaxing break at a good quality hotel with decent food, friendly and efficient staff, and a nice beach you will struggle to do better than this.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris1954_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Our first time in Turkey and I do not think we could have chosen a much better hotel, certainly for the money.
On arrival we were greeted and in our room within a few minutes. We had what I think was described as a family room. It was much better than we anticipated. Separate bedrooms and bathroom area all spotlessly clean and well maintained.
The grounds are quite extensive and beautifully kept as well and even though this is one of the largest hotels I have stayed in you never got the feeling that you were cramped.
The guests were predominantly German and I am afraid the old cliche is true and by the time you came down for breakfast there were towels on most of the beds. To be fair we did see a few English families doing the same.
However, there are a number of pools, you could generally find a sunbed somewhere and you could always find one on the beach.
We were on half board and the food was excellent with a huge variety of salads and desserts available every night. I have seen comments that they only varied a few dishes each night. However, the hot meals were different every night and it would be impossible for even fussy teenagers to go hungry.
We had one "A La Carte" evening included. This is the only criticism I would have on the food front as their idea of service is not what we would expect in Britain. Although the food was nice enough it was a bit of a disappointment.
As indicated in other contributions the "Animation Team" did try hard, laying on a number of activities during the day. However, their "shows" in the evening were truly awful, their "Crazy Show" in particular defies description. Their idea of a show seemed to be the men dressing up as women and performing a number of dance routines to a backing track. After sitting through a couple just to see if they got any better we, the parents, gave up. Our teenage daughters stayed for some of them just to take part in the Arum Hotel dance. Yes, the hotel has it's own dance to a cheesy europop number which the Germans all stand up and join in with enthusiastically! I do not think the staff realised that our daughters were doing it because they found it so incredibly funny! To be fair I think the Germans seemed to like the shows and having walked along the sea front most of the other hotels were providing exactly the same sort of shows, one even having bingo (in German) every night!
The final word on the entertainment is that the disco was absolutely dead when we tried it - even late at night when the other bars were shut.
The sea front has a very nice walkway all the way into Side (I would assume) although we never got there by foot as it was just too far. If we had not had our daughters with us we would probably have walked in. Location is probably the only failing for this hotel - it is just a bit too far from Side. However, the walkway is well lit and there are security guards at almost every hotel so you do feel very safe.
We caught a Taxi into Side a couple of times which cost 15 or 16 TL. The Roman ruins are amazing. I think the "Time Team" would have coronnaries if they were let loose on them! The Roman Amphitheatre is well worth the 10TL entry fee.
A word of warning - if you start to wander around the ruins you are very likely to be approached by a "friendly" local who proceeds to give you a guided tour and expects to be paid. It was actually a little unsettling when you had four of them hanging around.
The biggest downside to coming to Turkey was being accosted by the shop keepers and restaurant owners all the time. Our two teenage daughters were very intimidated by this when they were alone in Side whilst we went to the Roman amphitheatre. They just would not take no thank you for an answer and we did find it quite difficult not to be blunt with them sometimes. I appreciate that it is their custom but it is not pleasant.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Arum and would recommend it to anybody wanting a beach and sun holiday. However, if you are after culture you probably need to be a bit closer to it and do not go in August/September. It is just too hot!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianWitney1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent,
Level Contributor
202 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We got back from the Arum on the 27th August. Sadly I do have to agree with other travellers in that it is not a 5 star hotel. It lacks the final touches and attention to detail that 5 stars have e.g. plastic flowers in the reception, the food is good, but not that good to name a few things.

The staff are friendly and attentive. Russians and Germans do appear to be the main guests and so the staff do communicate well in those languages. However, we had absolutely no problem in making ourselves understood and all were friendly and helpful. The managers genuinely seem to want you to have a good stay.

I have scored this hotel down as my whole family picked up a stomach bug of some sort. I am not sure if it was the food as we all didn't come down with it at the same time nor all eat the same each night. Some 9 days after returning we are not fully over it. We reported it to the Thomson rep who filled in the forms and advised us to see a doc, but I didn't really get a sense that she was that bothered or interested. Many people came down with whatever it was and some are pointing towards the pools as the cause. It wouldn't surprise me as I never getting ear infections on holidays but I did here. Having paid so much for half board and 5 star this was a let down and did ultimately spoil our break.

The dining hall has plenty of baby chairs, the hotel supplies big towels for the beach and pool, taking your own is a waste of time in my opinion as you can change the towels twice a day if so inclined.

As everyone comments, pool side sun chairs really are gone by 7am. W noticed a drop in Germans and increase in UK holiday makers in the second week and sun chair availability increased accordingly. However, there was never a day when we couldn't get a sun chair and the grassy areas beside the pool were more quiet. If asked the hotel would put out more sun chairs.

Drinks are a little expensive at around 2 euros each but the hotel shows 5 stars and so no one should be surprised. A short walk up the road and you'll find twice the measures in local bars although all spirits inc local ones are expensive. We also bought bottles of coke in the shops and put them in our room fridges.

The health centre is good but expensive. 40 euros for a Turkish bath compared to one we did via Thomson's which was £23 and over twice as long.

The fitness centre has some treadmills, steppers, and free weights. All were a bit old and worn. The air con barely kept up so exercise was very hot and hard work.

The biggest complaint I have about the hotel is that there were only two small lifts, meaning you had to wait for them a lot only to find they were full. Ok when you are on lower floors but worse up top.

The hotel also has family rooms, suites and apartments. I am not sure all the travel firms advertise these.

This is a purpose built resort (in fact the whole area is). Side is about 40 min walk away along the prom. There is the Amphitheatre and temple in Side but it is dominated (as everywhere is) by fake good shops.

In all we had an OK time but were getting a bit stir crazy towards the end. This is really a holiday for pool and beach lovers. If this isn't you book a car. Good deals can be had in advance via the net.

We went to the fire of Antalya dance which was interesting but hugely overbooked. All the aisles and steps were blocked by people sitting on them. if you go to this do it via your tour operator as you should be allowed in via a side entrance and ahead of the rush.

We rented a car and headed down to Alanya. The fort is a must to see and a nice drive. We also went to the Manavgat waterfalls which were small but nice. Head to the hills from the falls and you'll come to a dam after about 20 mins. It is worth a look and is a nice drive with some OK restaurants at the reservoir. The Antalya falls are much better to see and can easily be done in a day with Aspendos and Perge.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Needmoreholdiays!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We arrived at the Arum hotel in the early hours of the morning, having travelled with Cosmos Holidays. We are two families with 3 children of 10, 13 and 14 years old. Check in was quick and efficient and the reception staff and bell boy were polite and helpful. Unfortunately we were given the wrong accommodation, however this was rectified and we were in our correct accommodation by 1pm that day.

We stayed in the self catering apartments in the Arum. They are beautifully decorated and very clean. Bed linen is changed every two days and the cleaners work incredibly hard. The bathrooms are lovely and the shower is huge and very powerful. All in all we could not fault our accommodation.

The Cosmos rep was a lovely lady called Andrea. She was very helpful and informed us of the trips available in the resort. There was no hard sell and it was left to us to decide if we wanted to sign up for any trips. She made us aware of contact numbers in case we needed her throughout our stay, which we didn't!

Having stayed in Side before we knew what to expect of the resort, and were aware that Side town is either a bus ride or taxi ride away from this hotel. There are a number of restaurants close to the hotel. They are a bit hit and miss with regard to quality. In our opinion one to avoid is The Brothers which is on the main road in to Side, the table cloths were grubby, cutlery was grubby and the waiting staff were not great to say the least, however this is just our opinion, but we couldn't wait to get out!

The Deniz restaurant is fantastic. They offer a pick up and drop off service which is free. The staff are all lovely, the food is very good and the steak gorgonzola is delicious. It is very reasonable to eat there, on average for a family of four including beer and wine the bill was £50. The hotel reception staff will call the restaurant and make a booking for you, alternatively if you fancy a walk along the beach promenade come out of the hotel, turn left and walk up to the Barut Acanthus hotel. There is a path which runs up the side of the hotel which brings you to a road with shops and restaurants. The Deniz is located on this road to the right of the Acanthus.

The Arum hotel is exceptionally clean, the staff are lovely. There is a good mix of German, English and Scandinavian holiday makers which we preferred. Our kids made so many friends, we didn't see them for two weeks! They enjoyed the disco in the evening, and using the computers in the lobby to stay in touch with friends at home. The activities organised by the Animation team were good, we joined in with the archery and the kids played water polo. Some events became very competitive especially the adult water polo which on occasions reminded me of the dads screaming at their kids from the touchline during the saturday morning league games in our local park. It's good to remember its just a game!!!

The water sports people on the beach directly by the hotel were very good. They allow an adult in the speed boat for free when the children are on the banana boats or fly fish, which allowed us to get some fantastic photos. The jet ski's are great fun and hold up to three people, but 15 minutes at a time is enough, as it gets a bit boring otherwise.

There were a few problems with ear infections at the hotel. Our daughter always gets an ear infection when we go on holiday, as she spends so much time under the water. As soon as she got pain in her ear, we went to the local pharmacy and got some Amoxiklav (which is the same as Amoxicillin given at home) her ear had cleared up within 2 days and we had no other problems. The pool was cleaned every day, but when hundreds of people use a pool every day and swim underwater for prolonged periods of time there are bound to be a few ear infections. If you are worried about this take good ear plugs with you and the problem is solved.

Our holiday was perfect, we tried very hard to find fault and the only thing that was a complete pain was getting up early to get sunbeds. However, I have never stayed anywhere abroad where there have not been the same issues apart from the Maldives, but that holiday cost double the one at the Arum!

I am phoning the travel agent on Monday to book our self catering apartment at the Arum for next year. Fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Last year we holidayed in the Arum’s sister hotel in Lara beach, which was exceptional and decided due to the great reviews to book the Arum, we can only assume that something has drastically changed this year. Starting with the positives the hotel is immaculately clean and the accommodation is of a high standard in a reasonable location. It is a 40 minute walk along a nice promenade to Side, but due to the very high temperatures and humidity in August this is a challenge, so best pay 10 Euro’s each way by taxi. The pool area is spacious with well kept gardens and lots of sunbeds under natural shady palm trees. The pool is walk in and shallow, which is good for kids.

However; comparing this hotel with its sister hotel it is unbelievable to think they are part of the same chain of hotels. This is not a bad hotel but it is just a good 4 star hotel pretending to be a 5 star. The staff and service is geared towards the German guests, some of the animation team could only speak German. The animation was average, they work really hard, water gym in the morning, beach volleyball, water polo, archery, but they didn’t always announce what was going on, and they didn’t go out of their way to drum up interest in activities. But it was the evening entertainment that was simply awful, 14 nights of the animation team, working really hard doing dancing and sketch shows but not a professional show to be seen. Our second night had a show of snow white and the seven dwarfs, and the next night wild west! A previous review states the issue with the sunbeds and we can confirm that unless you were up by 6.30 there are no sunbeds left around the pool, if this didn’t bother you then there were always beds available in the lawn areas behind the row in front of the pool, I would assume that this issue is mainly due to it being August.

The food initially seems plentiful and varied but you quickly realise that they vary just a few of the dishes each night and on a couple of occasions we saw cats in the restaurants being fed by guests and the staff just smiled. I didn’t think there was a lot of choice for children. The hotel seems to be obsessed with saving energy, staff turn off any unnecessary lights and the air-conditioning in the public areas was not the coolest, resulting in a lounge bar that was uncomfortably warm, dull and unappealing. The hotel also charges for the use of the internet 5TL per hour, this was a surprise as its sister hotel the previous year didn’t charge, with bored teenagers this added up to nearly £50 over the 2 weeks.

The drinks did seem on the high side 5TL for a small beer, we upgraded to Ultra All Inclusive as the amount of drinks our kids went through this seemed to be a good deal, however, be warned that if you upgrade you can’t use the snack bar at lunch time until 2.30 in the afternoon (we tried to go in at 2 and got told we were not allowed) so you either wait or you go back to the room change out of your swimwear and use the main restaurant in the hotel. All inclusive guests also couldn’t have a pancake after 4pm unless they paid. There were too many rules and times that seemed just unnecessary for an all inclusive hotel. The hotel also charges for the pool table at 3TL per 15 minutes.

Finally 4 out of 5 of us were ill for 9 days with stomach problems and ear infections, plus my Son and I ended up in hospital for 2 days. We have tried to be objective as possible writing this review, it is not a bad hotel, but in our opinion it’s not a great hotel which is what you expect when you pay the premium of a 5 star hotel. I would not recommend this hotel, if you want this level of service save yourself some money and book a 4 star hotel, but if you want a 5 Star look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSTAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
2.2 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
0.9 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
0.3 mi away
Barut Hemera
Barut Hemera
#6 of 227 in Side
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
3.1 mi away
Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Commodore Elite Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Arum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Arum

Property: Barut Arum
Address: Kumkoy Yolu PK.78, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Side
#4 Luxury Hotel in Side
#5 Family Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Arum 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barut Arum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Hotels Arum Hotel Side
Barut Hotel Side
Barut Hotel Arum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing