We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Week All Inclusive at Barut Arum”
Review of Barut Arum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barut Arum
Ranked #6 of 229 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Myself, my husband and 2 children (aged 8 and 6) have just returned from a week's stay at the Barut Arum. I will put this quite simply:

Good:
The family room we stayed in was located on the 4th floor. It was spacious and the children had their own bedroom. We were also sent up a bottle of bubbly when we mentioned to the staff we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, which was a nice surprise. The hotel was full but never felt overcrowded. The pool and garden areas were lovely and well kept. The hotel itself was clean and spacious. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. The variety of food on offer was great, the hotel also had theme nights and BBQ's as well as 3 Al a Carte restaurants ( we ate in 2 of them and the food and wine was lovely). The children enjoyed their time at the kids club and we made friends with a couple of families which made the stay more enjoyable for all of us. The Lobby Bar had a nice atmosphere in the evenings with plenty of space and some lovely cocktails. The hotel was in a good location, near to local town of Side and there were also a variety of local shops.

Not so good:
I asked for an iron upon arrival at the hotel as there was not one available in the room, but had to go through 3 people from the reception desk before being told that irons were not available to hotel guests and that I would have to pay the Laundry service if I required anything to be ironed. There was no bath in our family room, it would have been useful especially with the children. There was sometimes a lot of noise coming through from other rooms above and either side of our room. Unfortunately on the second day I got food poisoning! I still can't pinpoint exactly what it was I ate or drank but thankfully the rest of the family was unaffected, but this did somewhat ruin the holiday for me as I was ill for the duration. Some of the restaurant and bar staff were rude and spoke very limited English and often did not understand what we were saying. The kids buffet was quite poor with the same food being served most evenings. The kids club activities were not very well organised and the club itself was not exactly secure as my kids were able to walk in and out as they pleased. The sunbeds around the pools were virtually taken up at the break of dawn and we were lucky to ever get a couple of sunbeds together. The evening entertainment was average, the hotel would benefit from hiring more outside acts. I booked a couple of spa treatments but it was not explained to me exactly what was going on throughout the treatments which led to some confusion and the spa staff tried the "hard sell" afterwards.

All in all though it was a good family holiday and the children really enjoyed themselves. It was well worth going all inclusive especially with all the drinks and ice creams the children consumed as well as the adults!

Room Tip: Choose upper floors away from lifts and exits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MKS26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear MKS26,
We highly appreciate your time you have taken to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you very much for your kind words about your spacious room, our well-kept gardens and pools, the varied food and the kids club. We have passed your comments about entertainment stage shows, some staff's attitude and the kids buffet on to the relevant departments. Your feedback is valuable for making improvements on our service. It makes us so proud to know that we were able to provide you with a good family holiday. We hope to see you among our guests again in the very near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked a family holiday for one week, and we requested a pool view and high floor, on arrival we were placed at the front of the hotel and we're not disappointed, what a fantastic view and room we had. with arriving so late it was also lovely that we were informed that we could go into the main restaurant and that soup and sandwiches had been made. First impressions was that the Hotel was very well presented and they could not do enough for you. All staff were welcoming and friendly throughout our stay. Plenty of activities for children, entertainment good different each night. Food was world class plenty of choice excellently presented, bonsai restaurant was lovely to eat in overlooking the sea. Beach bar and pool bar relaxing to have a drink. Overall we had fantastic family holiday and would return to this resort and hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peelys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear peelys,
We are so pleased to hear you had such a fantastic time during your stay! Thank you for your positive feedback on your overall experience at the Barut Arum. We appreciate your time and look forward to the opportunity to host you again on your next travels to Side-Antalya.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We booked this holiday to Turkey with Thomsons for 7 nights, after reading all the fabulous reviews of the hotel Barut Arum . I travelled with my husband, and two children aged 8 and 3. We had booked a private taxi for our transfer from the airport to the hotel, as in the past we have encountered a long journey before getting to your own hotel. When we were shown to the taxi we were amazed as it was a shuttle bus and we had it all to ourselves. The transfer time was approx 45 minutes. Once we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the doorman, who was friendly and took our luggage. We checked in, but our room was not ready, so we checked out the hotel, and first impressions were brilliant, it was clean and had lovely swimming pools with amazing gardens. We had some lunch as they served food 24 hours of the day! once our room was ready we went straight there, we booked a family room and were allocated this on the 4th floor in the main building with pool and sea view, I must say it was lovely. the kids had their own room with bunk beds and there was so much space. In the bathroom we only had a shower, which was a little disappointing as my 3 year old likes her baths!
The hotel was full, but we did not feel over crowded at all. The buffet restuarant was great, I am a vegetarian but there was a huge choice. The kids buffet was boring, it had the same type of food everyday, so both my children used to choose from the larger sections. I felt that the waiters were not very friendly and most of them did not speak much English. But as few days went past we found some friendly staff. The food did get boring on day 3, but we managed to find something to eat. The desserts were delicious, and boy you feel the weight piling on! I and my husband ate in one of the Al a Carte restuarants and the food was lovely. Our holiday was brilliant as we met some friends from London, and we all got on really well, so kids were all happy. I must say the beach was clean, slightly pebbley though. The poolside was spotless, however you would have to get up early to get sunbeds as most people had the same idea, so by 10am there would be no sunbeds available. This is something the hotel needs to look into especially in high season. I would recommend that if you are travelling with young children then try and book a room in the quieter part of the hotel, as we found that it was quite noisy by 7am, with people walking and cleaners hoovering. Although the view is great from the room, there is not much peace. The kids club was quiet, although my son enjoyed it. They also had fun at the kids disco every night. We watched the entertainment most nights, but the hotel really needs to review this as it was at times mediocre. All this used to take place in the Ampitheatre, this is was really nice as the weather was so warm in the evenings. I would definitely go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Serenabid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Serenabid,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your kind review of the Barut Arum. We are so glad to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your holiday with us. We appreciate your comments regarding our comfortable accommodation options, well-maintained pools and gardens, delicious desserts and the kids club. Please know that we have taken into consideration all your concerns. Your feedback will be used to reconsider improvements needed. Again, thank you for your time. We look forward to meeting your expectations again soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Arum for a week in August. On arrival we were given room 1301, which we found to be noisy due to being over the main air con unit, after speaking to Reception we were moved to room 1292 overlooking the garden/spa. Our move was dealt with very efficiently by Emir. This is our 3rd visit to the Arum and as always, the food, service and accomodation was first class.

Room Tip: Book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Jonathan,
Thank you very much for taking the time to offer a review based on your Barut Arum experience. It is so nice to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and we were able to deliver the 5-star services. We are pleased to hear that your room change request was able to be met and handled courteously and professionally. We would love to have another opportunity to host you at our hotel in the future.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a week half-board at this brilliant hotel at the end of August. The hotel staff were all amazing and the food was plentiful and delicious. The hotel is clean and spacious and even though it was full most of the time we were there it never felt overcrowded. There were no queues and the 24hr lobby bar was an oasis of air-conditioned calm. The pool bar was always well-staffed and well-stocked, as was the beach bar. Imported spirits were extra but still much cheaper than in the UK. There's a good wine list in all four restuarants and we particularly enjoyed the fish and traditional turkish venues. The beach was never crowded even though there was an early morning scrabble for sunbeds around the many pools. Who goes to a beach hotel and sits around the pool anyway!? In short, a wonderful family hotel with good staff and nice clean, modern rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main dining hall if you can, before you travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Keith,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your first time at the Barut Arum. Your lovely comments regarding every aspect of your vacation are greatly appreciated. Our team strives to deliver consistently high quality service to every guest, therefore your opinion is very important to us. We are pleased to learn that your stays at the Barut Arum met your expectations and look forward to your next visit to our hotel in the near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at the Barut Arum for 2weeks in August. We were all inclusive & it was definitely worth it. Food in all restaurants was great. Plenty to choose from in the buffet restaurant. Tried all 3 al a carte restaurants,with the best being the international restaurant. Booking the al a carte restaurants can be difficult through the computer system as they are always fully booked. Go to customer relations at the start of your holiday,they will book the restaurants for you. Service is really good in all areas. The staff all work really hard & are nice & friendly.
We had a limited sea view room, worth the extra money as the other side faces over the entrance road to the hotel.
If your not at the pool before 8am forget about getting a sunbed. Didn't bother us too much as we went to the beach everyday where there are plenty of sunbeds to choose from. Beach is lovely,only disappointment is that the sea is rocky.
Hotel, rooms, pool area & grounds are all really clean & well maintained.
We didn't use the hotel spa(it is lovely inside)as it was a bit pricey,instead we opted for a trip which took us to a Turkish bath in Side. Great experience & would recommend trying this.
We had a great holiday & would definitely recommend this hotel......

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacq25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Jacq25,
We appreciate that you took the time to share your Barut Arum experience with us. We are happy to know that you had a chance to enjoy our services and facilities and especially that you had a great vacation with us. We hope to be able to host you many more times in the future.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the Arum for 2 weeks all inclusive at the beginning of August with our 2 sons aged 7 and 4. We were slightly apprehensive given that this was our first 'package' holiday (we have tailored our own holidays in the past) but on our arrival it was clear we had nothing to worry about. We paid an upgrade at the time of booking so we could have a family suite - this consisted of two bedrooms, a bathroom and a lounge area plus an outside terrace (we were ground floor). The charge was minimal compared to the overall cost of the holiday so well worth it in our eyes to have the extra space. The food was amazing - we ate in all 3 a la carte restaurants (booked them the day after we arrived). They were all lovely - perhaps the International restaurant being our favourite purely because the kids menu had a lot of choice as opposed to only 2 dishes on the kids menu in the Seafood and Turkish restaurants. The sunbed situation was frustrating (although we expected it after reading reviews on here!!). We joined in and got up early to reserve sunbeds outside the Kids Club - our boys loved it in there but it wasn't as secure as we may have liked and they could wander in and out freely - hence the reason we wanted to be near. Having said that there were loungers available at any time of day - if you don't mind where you sunbathe then you won't have a problem. Both the pools / hotels / rooms were spotlessy clean and well maintained and we encountered no issues at all with any staff- they all work very hard and were very friendly - the evening entertainment was variable in quality but the kids loved the mini disco and the amphitheatre is a lovely setting to enjoy a few evening drinks. If you are an avid reader, seek out the hotel library. We only ventured once into Side by taxi - didn't stay long as got fed up of shopkeepers trying to sell us things we had no interest in. We also did the turtle spotting boat trip which runs from the beach outside the hotel - it was an hour long, we did see some turtles and it was a great way to see Side and it's ruins. All in all a fantastic holiday - well worth the money. Would certainly recommend!

Room Tip: Family suite is well worth paying the upgrade for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank surreycharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Surrey,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post such a detailed review of the Barut Arum. Guest comfort and satisfaction is very important concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. We are delighted to know that we were able to met your expectations. We hope that you will consider us again on your next travel to Turkey.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.9 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
0.3 mi away
Barut Hemera
Barut Hemera
#5 of 229 in Side
2,107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
3.1 mi away
Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Paloma Oceana Resort
Paloma Oceana Resort
#11 of 229 in Side
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Arum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Arum

Address: Kumkoy Yolu PK.78, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Side
#5 Family Hotel in Side
#5 Luxury Hotel in Side
Price Range: $75 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Arum 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barut Arum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Hotels Arum Hotel Side
Barut Hotel Side
Barut Hotel Arum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing