We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does what it says on the tin”
Review of Barut Arum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barut Arum
Ranked #5 of 227 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Me and my girlfriend decided that we needed a nice relaxing holiday that involved sun, beach and something to lay on! After my last visit to turkey I was not expecting too much, so after an hours coach journey through what seems like an area which is half desert / half building site, I was pleasantly surprised when the coach pulled up at the hotel and we walked into the lobby.

Most of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was clean, modern, and had a great view of the ocean / hotel. The hotel itself is of a decent size, with a large pool, large restaurants, a few bars and a decent beach. All in all its was great, however if i was to give any tips to you guys, it would be these;

- GO ALL INCLUSIVE! We did, and that included everything and anything in the resort (- the odd ice cream) If you don't I could see it being quite an expensive trip, and seeing as the nearest town is a 50 min walk away its worth the investment when booking.

- YOU SNOOZE, YOU LOSE: Without being a stereotypical brit, but there are no rules on putting towels on loungers. So the Germans and French will be up at 5am to claim there spot. In fairness the German and French Reps actually tell they're customers to get up at 6am to get one, So they do.... It is very frustrating, so expect an early start if you want a bed.

- GO TO THE BEACH: If that becomes annoying.. just go to the beach! theres plenty of loungers there, plus theres a bit of a breeze so you don't get too hot!

- GO TO OLD SIDE (IN THE EVENING): Its a town built in old roman ruins, and is well worth a trip into town (especially if you like to haggle for some fake gear)

- WOMEN BEWARE - Ok not every man in turkey will try to grab your girlfriend, daughter ect... but it did happen to us, and they do like to flirt so just have your whits about you.

- ENJOY THE BUFFET: The main restaurant has probably one of the largest and varied buffets ive ever seen. There is 3 a-la-carte restaurants there, however they really wern't much better than the main restaurant, And seeing as you have to book way in advance for the a-la-carte ones its sometimes not worth the effort!

Hope that helps :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank djobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear djobs,
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to post a review of our hotel. We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the Barut Arum experience.
We appreciate your positive review in relation to our service and facilities and all the useful tips for future guests. We would be more than happy to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    229
    72
    24
    8
See reviews for
557
493
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We were here for 2 weeks all inclusive, on arrival we were stunned to see how beautiful this hotel was. Check in was fast and our cases were taken to our room for us. Our room was the 2 bedroomed family suite in the garden area, we were delighted with our accommodation, our 11 year old daughter was over the moon to have a flat screen tv in her own bedroom. We saw it more as an apartment as it had kitchen area, living room, bathroom (separate toilet are to shower area, which was great for the 3 of us), and 2 bedrooms, our balcony went right out into the grass area and had fantastic views. We were ground floor and a stone throw away from sunbed and pool area. Apartment was cleaned every day to a high standard, clean towels every day (if required), clean pool towels every day, mini bar was replenished every day with beer, coka cola, water and fresh fruit juice. Fruit bowl in room on arrival. Every room in apartment had its own air conditioning unit and was great.
Cleanliness was fantastic, pools cleaned every day, gardeners were always busy planting new plants and keeping gardens spotless.
Pool was like going into a warm bath, swim up pool bar was great, pool so clean and refreshing.
Pool bar served sandwiches or toasties during the day 11-4 then it was serving baked potatoes with numerous fillings from 4-5.30.
Bonsai restaurant was open all day to get snacks or lunch. Ice cream parlour was open for ice cream cones, crepes, milkshakes and ice cream drinks. This was great with weather being so hot.
A la carte restaurants were very good, best time to book one is first thing in the morning as they book up really fast.
Main restaurant was just amazing, the food was fantastic, we ate very well at every meal and most times we were stuffed from eating so much, the choice is just wonderful, both inside and outside. Puddings were gorgeous, the chefs certainly work very hard every day and the service was super, plates cleared very fast after you were finished, the waiters looked after us.
Beach bar is also lovely and nice to sit and look at the gorgeous views of the beach. The beach always had sun beds available although the beach had seaweed the jetty was lovely to walk along and just sit at the end to watch all the water sports. Good choice of water sports although they are not included and do cost extra. My husband and daughter went out on the jet ski 3 times and loved it.
The shows up at the theatre every night were good, entertainment team worked very hard but we really enjoyed the nights when an outside entertainment team were there. The sunbed issue was the worst, we had to get up very early as the Germans were early risers and had towels out on the sunbed s at 5/6 am, if you leave it till 8 am you will find it difficult to find a sunbed anywhere, the rule of no towels before 8am is not adhered to at all.
We never went hungry or thirsty at all for the whole 2 weeks, had a fantastic holiday, would certainly recommend this hotel and we would go back, maybe not July as it was extremely hot.
A huge thank you to all the staff at the Barut Arum, you made our holiday fantastic and worth every penny.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank peteandangmcomish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear peteandangmcomish,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review of our hotel. We are truly happy that you fully enjoyed your stay at the Barut Arum and found our food, staff, cleanliness, beach and gardens praiseworthy.
Thank you very much for mentioning that we are able to provide a good value given our service and extensive facilities.
Please know that we do take the steps to prevent the sunbeds reservation by requesting our guests not reserve them, however some instances beyond our control prevent this from occurring. We regret that this situation impacted your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is highly appreciated.
We would be more than happy to welcome your again for another fantastic holiday in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Arum Hotel, Side from 12-23 July, 2013 and we enjoyed every minute of our stay.
The hotel- We were told at point of booking we had 'partial sea view' in fact we had a lovely clear view of the sea and the beach from our room on the left side of the building. Our room was a twin and it was clean and the beds were changed frequently during our stay, the towels were changed every day. The mini bar provided us with beer, juice, still and sparkling water which was replenished every day. The main restaurant which is buffet style was lovely. The food choice at all meals was varied and appetising. The restaurant also had theme nights i.e., Black and white night in which guest were invited to wear clothes in these two colours. The restaurant manager was on a mission at meal times to find a seat for my friend and myself as close to the buffet as possible, this was likely due to the crutch used by my friend to aid her mobility. The three a la carte restaurants are available for guests to pre-book and we went to the Turkish and the International restaurants. The food in both was outstanding, my only gripe would be that in the international venue the meal was rather rushed and not enough time was given to guests between courses. The pool area is lovely and we took full advantage of the three main pools by bagging sun loungers in different areas during our stay. I see from other reviews that the ritual of getting up early to reserve a sun lounger is a cause of irritation for some people. however, I am afraid to admit that my friend and I rather enjoyed getting into the spirit of the 5am rush down to the poolside to reserve a spot. Some of the entertainment at the beautiful amphitheatre was very professional and entertaining and I particularly enjoyed the Turkish folk dancing and the highly energetic African/Caribbean/South America dance troupe. However, the in-house team were not so professional and it was a source of amusement to us both that in some of their shows the female dance lead was in fact performed by a male? He was also rather too self indulgent in the time he gave himself on-stage compared to his co-performers but despite this we found ourselves looking forward to the shows. We found the staff to be professional, courteous, and for the most part, they seemed happy to be doing their jobs. The standard of service was very good and this extends to reception, guest services, waiting staff, bar staff and the housekeeping staff, it was certainly streets ahead of what we seem to have settled for from those working in the 'hospitality trade' in the UK. We had a problem with a stuck bathroom door, from when I phoned to the door being fixed no more than 5-6 minutes passed.. and this was at 5am in the morning!! outstanding. I read a review in which the person writing it felt they had been judged in a homophobic way during their stay. My friend and I were perhaps the only same-sex pair staying at the hotel at this particular time, we are both middle aged females but we are just friends and have been for over 40 years. There were a couple of times I noticed other guests discussing us in the dining room and on a trip to the local shops one Turkish shop keeper asked me if my friend was my wife ! all of this caused us much amusement. At no time during our stay did we detect anything other than courtesy from any staff member despite the fact they may have mistakenly thought we were actually in a partnership, indeed, the housekeeper insisted on pushing our twin beds together every day despite the fact that we pushed them apart each night. Our holiday was only let down by Thomson's staff, the hotel rep was late for her own welcome meeting, we were (in our opinion) miss-sold excursions and when we tried to cancel one it turned into a nightmare of texting the 24/7 hotline and being assured Jess would contact us when in fact she never did. We eventually got our refund on the excursion but it took 5 days and no apology for any inconvenience caused. In summary, we had a really enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel, perhaps we will get a chance to revisit it when/if we win the prize draw for a week's stay in the hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jeanSussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear jeanSussexEngland,
We are thrilled to have you and you friend as guests of ours and read such an amazing detailed review about your fantastic holiday at the Barut Arum! Our staff does everything to ensure that our guests leave our hotel happy and we are extremely pleased we were able to succeed.
We truly appreciate your time, your recommending us and we will all be looking forward to your next vacation here.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in late June'13. Our 2.5-year old daughter loved it! The animation team was great, kids club brilliant, nice playground. Fantastic swimming pools, short stroll to a private sandy beach which was never over-crowded. Rooms were clean and comfortable, most (if not all) with a great view. Food was exceptional, plenty of choices every day. There were snack available throughout the day (Turkish pizza, jacket potatoes, sandwiches, ice cream etc.) and they have 24 hour lobby bar so you'll never go thirsty! The only minus of the holiday was service! It really isn't what you would expect in a 5* hotel. Honestly. For example, I asked reception to call us a taxi and they charge this to my room! Getting a coffee at breakfast was challenging too - you really have to be patient. Dinner service was a bit better. There was one waiter called Gurcan - he was amazing. I suggest you check which tables he serves and try to sit there every night. He will look after you very well!

All in all, great holiday. Would I go back? Yes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaggsCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear MaggsCC,
Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write a wonderful review of your stay with us. We are delighted to know that we were able to meet all of your expectations and you have enjoyed every aspect of your fabulous holiday at the Barut Arum: animation team, Kids club, pools, food and accommodations.
Thank you for recognizing and praising our staff's work and efforts in providing hotel guests with the exceptional services.
Also we have taken note of your valuable comments about the service and will pass them on to our food&beverage and front office managers to continually improve the quality and services we offer.
Thank you again for your time. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

MY WIFE & I.
Not an extremely gigantic hotel, but wonderful dining area's. Very good buffet's, Food to please for all + brilliant waiting staff. There were also three a la carte restaurants, free to all inclusive guests. The pools that weave through the hotel grounds are perfectly clean, and are ideal for adults and children alike. The beach is a few minutes away, through the grounds from the hotel, past the pool-bar and down the path onto the beach,where there is another bar !!!
My wife and I are well travelled,and this was only our second time in Turkey, but we thoroughly enjoyed the trip to the point that we have returned home and have just booked another two weeks with our children and grandchildren. IT SUITS ME BRUV. And thanks to Thomsons!

Room Tip: Main hotel, higher floors better view & good balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JEFFREY_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear JEFFREY_J and Family,
We are so delighted to read your kind words about your wonderful stay with us. It is really a great honour that we managed to win you back as our guest. Our team members exert every effort in providing a superior guest service and ensure everything is at its best down to the smallest details. It's customers like you that make what we do so enjoyable!
If you have any requests, please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival.
We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family soon to the Barut Arum.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

l lovely hotel clean and smart we stayed in room 1303 view a building site noise was terrible from the units on the roof smell from the kitchen bins and yes we did ask for a room change but none available food very basic for a five star hotel we stayed in the noa in hisaranou a 4 star last year and the food was better far better

Room Tip: stay in the rooms over looking the pools less noise than the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anthony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Anthony,
We are disappointed to read your review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Barut Arum.
We are so sorry that you found your stay anything less than comfortable and enjoyable, that you were not happy with your food and accommodations.
We strive to provide excellent guest service and accommodations to each of our guests and we are sorry that we failed you. Please know that we took your comments very seriously and will share them with the management team.
We would love the opportunity to have you stay with us again so that you can experience our high level of service.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at Barat Arum. We had originally booked the Riu Kaya Palazzo but had a call from Thomson 5 days before we left that the hotel wasn't ready so was given almost no time to make a decision. This was deemed as a 5* Platinum hotel so we took it.
How wrong can the ratings be?? We have stayed at 5* Thomson Platimum hotels in Mexico and Greece and this hotel comes no where near.

Positives
Good rooms, clean and very modern & comfortable.
Well kept pool area
Great Spa & massages

Negatives
1. We booked a sea view room but didn't get it. We went to reception to ask for one and their stock answer was 'we are full it's not possible'. We offered to pay extra, even wait for a suite later in the week and were told we would go on a waiting list and would be informed. We were never informed. In fact the hotel reception team couldn't care less about the customers and their customer service is really poor. On 3 occasions they failed to get back to us when they promised they would. However we know some Germans had upgrades so why couldn't we?

2. Room toiletries - for a 3 person family we we given 1 shampoo and shower gel to last 5days. When I requested more from reception we were given 1 more. We eventually had to but some from the local shop as we got fed up asking.

3. Sun beds - if you are not up by 5.30am and reserve your sun lounger by the pool, forget it!

4. One rule for one and one for others - on our first visit into the buffet restaurant my husband was stopped and told he had to go and change his shoes. He was wearing leather wide strapped flip flops and jeans. He asked why and was pointed towards a notice board with pictures showing men only allowed to wear shoes, long trousers and no sleepless tops. He did as they requested and changed his shoes. However when he got back and sat down and on every night since there were loads of men in shorts, flip flops etc - if you are going to impose rules then they need to be followed FOR ALL!!!

5. Entertainment - OMG this has got to be the worst entertainment in a 5* resort I have ever experienced. I would urge the management to seriously improve this.

6. Staff service - I agree with some other posts on here - the staff seem disinterested, lacking in energy and happiness and it all seems a 'but much' to engage with the tourists.

7. Food - if you are German/Scandinavian you have a better chance of getting a place in the 3 a la carte restaurants. We tried and tried but only managed 1 each in our trip as they were booked up. The a la cartes are better quality (better wine too) than the buffet so I strongly recommend you book them (how I don't know!!!).
The buffet got repetitive, the food doesn't change much and there's not a great deal of 'main course meat' choices every evening. That said the quality of their Turkish desserts was superb.

8. Holiday rep - We didn't go to the welcome meeting but did need the help of the rep on the last day. We thought initially Jess was helpful as we wanted a late checkout (as it had been booked) and she confimed infront of the management that Thomson had messed up our booking & would pay for it and we got moved to another room to use until 8pm. However later in the day we received a note in our door asking to call Jess urgently. We went to reception and spent over an hour trying to get hold of Jess but to no avail. The management at the hotel would not let us go until we paid for the late checkout fee (even though our booking stated we had it) and the whole situation took so long to sort ( with no help fromThomson) that we ended up having to pay £75 to leave the hotel!!! None of the management team were interested at all in helping with the situation and just kept saying they would charge us an extra €10 euro for every extra hour we took to sort the situation out!!!! What an end to an already disappointing Thomson holiday...

So if you want a 3* experience in a Benidorm style resort then choose this one, but if you want a proper 5* customer service experience like you get in Greece/Mexico then don't choose this resort as you will be disappointed. We certainly were and we won't be returning to Turkey again.

You should have a look at how Grecotel in Greece do 5*- now that's how you offer fantastic customer experience and gain repeat business.

Room Tip: If you book a sea view - make sure you get clarification at check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AISLING K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Ms / Mrs. AISLING,
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Barut Arum. We are glad that you found your room, pool areas and spa good enough for your needs.
At the same time, we were disappointed to learn that your recent stay was less than expected and please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting up to your expectations.
We were sorry to read your comments regarding the hotel rating level. Our hotel has been graded by the Ministry of Culture & Tourism of the Republic of Turkey and follows the international standards of 5-star quality and services. Also we have earned a lot of recognitions for achieving and maintaining the highest level of hospitality standard by the international organizations such as TUI, Thomson, Thomas Cook, Tripadvisor, HolidayCheck and many others. We offer a very different concept in design and hotel landscape, comparing to the Kaya Palazzo Hotel, but the real 5-star selection of facilities and amenities.
Our number one priority is to provide a warm and welcoming environment, and serving whatever needs our guests may have, without regard to their country of origin. Please know that we value your feedback and do not shy away from honest criticism regarding areas we need to improve. Therefore, we will forward all your concerns to the management team.
While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
2.2 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
0.3 mi away
Barut Hemera
Barut Hemera
#6 of 227 in Side
1,978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Commodore Elite Suites & Spa
5.2 mi away
Nashira Resort Hotel & Aqua-Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Arum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Arum

Property: Barut Arum
Address: Kumkoy Yolu PK.78, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Side
#4 Luxury Hotel in Side
#5 Family Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Arum 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Barut Arum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Hotels Arum Hotel Side
Barut Hotel Side
Barut Hotel Arum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing