We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coped with big party admirably”
Review of Britannia

Britannia
Ranked #54 of 193 Restaurants in Side
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Restaurant is very different from others as it is an old whitewashed building. Outside it is covered in green trees with grapes growing,plants and lovely flowers. At night it is lit with fairy lights in the trees. The food is all home made not bought in and freshly cooked food with home made chips not frozen. We have English style Fish and Chips, Pies, etc. etc. and desserts that you will only find here Sticky toffee Pudding, Apple Crumble and Birds Custard. Sticky Toffee Pudding Ice Cream all home made. English Breakfast consisting of English Bacon and Sausages, and black pudding is served freshly cooked every day. Sunday Roast served in the evening, with Yorkshire pudding roast potatoes mash and fresh veg.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coped with big party admirably”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We turned up to the Britannia on the last evening in Side - 17 in all - without pre-booking! The waiters took it in their stride - re-arranging the tables outside under the grape vines so we could all sit together. We were made to feel very welcome.
Everyone ordered different things - some English - some Turkish cuisine. While we were waiting for it all to be cooked, they brought out some bread and local wine which was a nice touch.
Just before the food was delivered, there was a power-cut (one of many in the Side area that week). I was worried that the staff might come and say the food's off. Instead they came rushing out with oil lamps to light our table, which actually added to the atmosphere! Shortly after, the food arrived - piping hot and cooked to perfection. They even apologised for the slight delay in the chips as they had to move the oil from the electric heater to the gas burners.

All in all, very impressive, and delicious food.

We plan to re-visit Side next year, and this is definitely on our list of restaurants to eat at.

Thank you for such good memories of our last day in Side.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
englishluckylady, Owner at Britannia, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thankyou so much for the good review for the Britannia Restaurant, and look forward to you visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    9
    1
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a wonderful experience!!! Really lovely home cooked food that your mom would cook you at home in England!!!!

It's so good that when we found it last night, we came back tonight!!! My girls are fussy eaters and I am thrilled we have found a place that keeps my kids happy but also keeps my hub happy for trying the local Turkish food!!!!

Linda ( the owner) is lovely and would bend over backwards to make you welcome!!!!

If your in side, turkey then visit here!!!!!! They even do Sunday lunch and big English breakfasts!!!!!! Brilliant Britannia!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsmack77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A welcome escape from the other pushy restaurants”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

after a day of being pestered by all the other bars it was great to settle in a place where they are genuinely pleased to see you and not just your wallet.
If your longing for some home cooked food you couldn't eat in a better place the fish and chips are great also the gammon comes with both pineapple and egg
no language barriers with Linda speaking English and Turkish also the waiters have a good grasp of English
all in all a great place to eat with a great atmosphere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KieronandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“little bit of england”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

friendly staff good home cooked food loads of local info can cater for your special dietry needs
well worth a visit

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank cazzyCornwallUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“chris d”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

one of the best restaurants i have been to in Turkey and i have been going there for 12 years.The food was great lovely home made pies everything cooked from fresh no microwave rubbish.The staff are lovely.Try the full English breakfast real bacon and sausage. My wife and I felt right at home .Highly recomended.Linda the owner makes everyone welcome

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britannia also viewed

 

Been to Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing