We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay if your on a budget”
Review of Selge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Selge Hotel
Ranked #196 of 229 Hotels in Side
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have stayed at Selge several times over the past four or five years and it's a good place to stay for the price. Over the past two years though all the original staff have moved on, and it doesn't have the atmosphere it used to, which is a shame.The rooms are basic, but clean, towels and sheets changed regularly If you are on the pool side though be warned, the lads play very loud boom boom music day & night and it can keep you awake. Also traffic noise all night long is a pain, this is a drawback of being on a busy road. The main problem about Selge is the location. Kemer Rd is in the red light area and as a woman alone if you are coming back to the hotel after midnight cars slow down and you may get followed. They seem to think any woman out that late without a man is a prostitute. They move on when you tell them you are tourist, but it can be scary if you havn't been in that area before. Adem, his dad and Aysa on reception are very helpful and friendly. The best place to eat around there is Mesur , over the road. It's authentic and fresh Turkish food at great prices. Also the fish restaurant on the main road opposite the graveyard. is excellent. I avoid The Flying Horse at all costs. cheap British food that tastes awful. Side centrum is lovely and the ruins are amazing, for history lovers It's fantastic. .

Room Tip: Probably better to have a room on the back, you get traffic noise and people up and down the alley w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josephine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 200 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Warning! Please read before you book this hotel.

I have returned back after staying a week at this dump. When we arrived at the hotel there were no staff to help us with our luggage. There are 3 floors and my room was on the third floor. There are NO LIFTS in this hotel. It's a mission climbing up those spiral stairs especially when you have kids. The rooms are very basic with old furniture. I had to pay extra for the AC which I thought was ridiculous. Even with the AC we could'nt feel the cold. We had to have a cold shower as no hot water available. However Rooms were clean and towels are changed every 3 days. Breakfast was very basic. Not much of a choice. All I had was bread, tea and watermelon. Only 1 cereal for kids so I ended up buying my own even though I paid for breakfast.
You are not allowed to bring food or drinks from outside into the hotel(the manager only allowed me to bring in cereal only). Everything is so expensive from food to drinks. eg a 0.5litre of water cost 2TL. I bought a case of water(12 x 0.5litre) from local store few doors away for 3TL(yes three TL). If you want choice of food for lunch and dinner then I would go to the resturants all nearby. The staff are only friendly if you spend in this hotel. Otherwise they don't want to know. I must say the night time receptionist was friendly. The music is very loud at night and unless your room is not facing the pool side you may have problems sleeping. I was really shocked to see PROSTITUTES outside the hotel. This is where they stand for business(right outside Selge Hotel from around 9pm). I was here for 7 nights and they were there on every night. And as many as 5 standing on 3 occasions. It was embarrassing to walk pass them with my children. A free return bus ride is provided to the beach and again your not allowed to take your own food or drinks. The bazaar is 2km away. Even the local taxi drivers/shop owners said this hotel is rubbish. The only time I was excited in this hotel is when I was loading my luggage to go home.

Won't be coming here again. Good luck to anyone who books at Selge Hotel.

Room Tip: Not facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Adam_ai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

All the good reviews on here cannot be true. This hotel is a nightmare. The staff are rude, the breakfast was abysmal and the cost of food and drinks was a rip off. On top of that you weren't allowed food or drinks into your room. The AC you had to pay for, who pays for AC?? Madness. The Germans were treated far better than the Brits. The pool was never cleaned and dirty. There was no kids breakfast and we had to buy cereal from the local supermarket. The shower was cold and the electricity went off for 5 hours and if you complained the staff didn't talk to you again. The music was loud and horrendous until the early hours of the morning. The place was crawling with prostitutes. If you are German, single, have no taste in music or food and like paying for sex this is the best place to be!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Yes it's away from the beach area, yes the rooms are basic, and yes it may not suit those expecting opulence and luxury. However, The Selge offers remarkable value for money, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are basic but clean and after all how much time does one spend inside. The pool is large and is cleaned daily. The poolside bar is very reasonably priced compared to the bars and restaurants near the beach, your Lire will go a long way here. The kitchen is excellent and it is well worth dining poolside in the evenings.

There are several bars nearby, but the walk into town is a most pleasant stroll along the shoreline.

Side has some magnificent ruins that are free to explore where ancient stones lie crumbling on the beach.

A reduced government sponsored tour will take you on a 3-4 day tour to Cappadocia to see the most unique landscape in Turkey. It's a breathtaking experience and highly recommended. Ask about it at travel agency's in town.

Overview. The Selge is a good choice for a very economical hotel and a good place to base oneself to either relax or explore all that Side and it's surroundings have to offer.

I shall post some photographs to this site in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HARMONICA-JON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Well, it is cheap. That's it. But you should still get much more than there!

The room was not ready when we arrived, staff is strange and male staff behaves respectless towards female guests, shower is cold, room is daily cleaned but you never knew when, if morning or afternoon.

Do not book halfboard! There is no buffet, you can select from chicken in six variations - the only difference is whether it is fried in one, two or more pieces or alternatively fatty pizza. Breakfast is very basic, too.

They do offer menu a la carte which has to be paid separatly.

Staff is harrassing guests to come and pay for evening events with special food. On these occasions food is a nuisance, too. Staff became increasingly unfriendly when joining these events was rejected.

Air condition has to be paid extra. Room is very loud, main street in front and loud music at the pool side all night long.

Once and never again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tooourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have also just returned from a 9 day holiday here and i was really worried after reading reviews. We were placed in a room not overlooking the pool however when we asked to be moved this was actioned swiftly the following morning for us. The rooms are basic but clean and the pool is great.There is a free return bus to beach on your doorstep and you pay nothing for the sun-beds. Pick up times in morn are 9 ,10 and 11 every day. Fab service .The food onsite is excellent. You are only a 15 min walk away from the lovely Side prom and a load of restaurants and shops. En-route to the Side prom front there are various restaurants to choose from. We would recommend the Flying Horse and Red Lion. We enjoyed the Turkish night and all the staff worked so hard to make your holiday a good one. The only downside for us was the breakfast as there was no hot food available .This is not a 5 star hotel but it is VALUE FOR MONEY.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are best- rooms to back of hotel look on to a street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElderlsieRenfrewshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I read the reviews of the Selge before i went and was worried!
We arrived at hotel late at night and was greeted by friendly staff and helped with our bags.
The hotel is basic but very clean.
The staff couldnt do enough for me and my fella (i feel that the ppl that called the staff for being rude where probably rude them selves!!) They couldnt do enough... always smiling, having a laugh and conversation!
The food was amazing.....the Chef was very friendly and we made friends with the him and he cooked the food exactly how we asked!
The main staff member Fernado spoke very good english and when we had a problem with our transfer he was straight on it helping us!!
As for the comments moaning about the loud music... we was on the 2nd floor facing the bar and pool.... we wasnt kept awake any nights and some nights we had early nights.... i just wonder did they shut there DOUBLE glazed patio.
I dont normally bother with reviews but i feel this hotel isnt half as bad as ppl made out!!
The only thing i could call it for is, it has no lifts haha!
Had a brillant time with my boyfriend and wouldny hesitate to go back!!
:)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goteammanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunbird Hotel
Sunbird Hotel
#159 of 229 in Side
170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Side Tuana Hotel
Side Tuana Hotel
#170 of 229 in Side
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanay Suit Hotel
Hanay Suit Hotel
#53 of 229 in Side
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gazipasa Star Hotel
Gazipasa Star Hotel
#29 of 229 in Side
590 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lemas Suite Hotel
Lemas Suite Hotel
#33 of 229 in Side
534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Irem Garden Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selge Hotel

Address: Side Mah. Kazim Karabekir Cad. No:51, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 229 Hotels in Side
Price Range: $14 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Selge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delicious buffet, all inclusive hotel, Located just under 1 km from the magnificent Graeco-Roman ruins in the village of Side, on the Mediterranean coast, the 49-room Selge Hotel offers pleasant accommodation within easy walking distance of the beach and the centre of resort. Cafes, bars and shops can be found in the immediate vicinity of the hotel which is on one of the roads leading into the resort. Features of the hotel include an outdoor pool and snack bar restaurant with both covered and outdoor seating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Selge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing