We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“full board with a few drinks included”
Review of Hotel Sunberk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sunberk
Ranked #31 of 87 Side B&B and Inns
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“full board with a few drinks included”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

just got back
when we arrived we were shown to our room which was basic but nice, the hotel is open plan so everything is together, the pool, bar and the dining room .
so what do you get for your all inclusive.
boiled eggs for breakfast.
lunch
evening meal
if your lucky you might get a cake in the afternoon.
the all inclusive drinks include vodka, gin, (both watered down to a point it was actually water) you have to tell them you want the other bottles with the plastic top inside, after a tantrum by the staff they will give you a drop then the rest coke or watever you asked for, you can also get soft drinks and also there is a water cooler but i advise not to drink out of it as they fill it up with a hose pipe we got our water from the supermarket 2 min walk, you can also get coffee when the machine is working.
there is no entertainment at all not even a turkish night you have to be silent after 9 if your English and you are allowed to get 1 drink at a time even tho the other nationalities got trays full, the bar shuts at 11 (10.45 sunberk time) the bar man is a complete joke he ruined our evenings with his cant be bothered to serve you attitude, you might say why not go out and have a drink somewhere else well we did but side isnt the cheapest at 7-10 lira for a beer £3 soon mounts up
the free beach is a 5 min bus ride or 20 min walk threw dusty terrain but if you want just a couple of hours there you need to walk back as the last bus to the beach is 10.45 and the first 1 back is 3.30 so if you struggle walking forget it. there is a bar there but very expensive even for water, we found a nice spot on the beach near the hotel, you need to buy a drink but you get a sunlounger we just got a bottle of water at 2 lira (copper jacks) it is also true your all inclusive finishes at 12 noon the day of return and is 25 euro each also your luggage is just left in the lobby area and not in a secured area, we found a couple of bars 2 min walk away who looked after us and even took the time out to learn our names (gerrard was amazing at the cafe bar opposite the supermarket made a lovely kebab for 5 lira) also the surf bar was friendly playing all sorts of music and even letting you be the dj for a bit, so this is the reason i said full board with a few drinks as you dont feel welcome at the hotel so you just need to get out everynight .
would i go back NO NOT EVEN IF IT WAS FREE

Room Tip: dont ask for a garden room its a shed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratty209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    26
    25
    12
    20
See reviews for
35
39
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gainsborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Sunberk Hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was quite nice, although lunch and evening meal were always some form of chicken dish. Breakfast was basic and mainly salad and boiled egg. Although there was fresh bread every morning. As the premises are all open plan there was a problem with people smoking at meal times as the smoke drifted into the main eating area, although there were 'No Smoking' signs in the restaurant they were generally ignored by both staff and customers alike. Our main complaint is that when you check out of your room at 12 noon there is no notification that the all inclusive facilities also stop at this time. The Manager charged us 25 Euro each for lunch and drinks consumed after the noon deadline. Not sure if it is even more if you have an evening meal as well. If we had been aware of this charge we would have eaten out as it was cheaper. The extra charges came as a shock which spoilt an otherwise enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loril B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived at the sunberk on 21st aug and were a bit worried after reading the reviews.The hotel was very clean and clean towels everyday we had a room for four people and only had 3 coat hangers and 2 small draws so that was a bit crap.The bar serves beer gin and vodka thats all and maybe wine if they have any.We went with my mum and dad and we found that if you are a woman the staff give you a smile and say hello but if you are a man things are different.We are a very friendly family and like to have a laugh but this wasnt allowed in this hotel lol.My husband asked for a raki and they didnt know what this was it is a local drink .And they didnt know what a beer was i mean ok they dont understand english but come on they are not totally stupid.Breakfast was tomatoes and boiled eggs for 2 weeks so we went out a few times.Evening meal is good always potatoes meat and salad but i thought the choice of desserts was rubbish but they are never much good when abroad anyway.Also this hotel is full of Germans i would say if your English dont bother.I wont be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
epworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

After reading some of the negative reviews about this hotel we were sceptical before arriving. However, when we got there we need not have worried. The hotel is lovely and we were lucky enough to be given a room that was only about 12ft away from the pool. The pool is wonderful and my family spent hours cooling off in it every day. The food is fantastic, there was not one meal that we didn't enjoy and the deserts are really very tasty. There was always plenty for everyone and because it was so nice - we often had seconds. The soup was also very good and the bread was fresh every day. The beach is about an 8 minute walk away and the sea was warm enough to just walk into with no shock to the tummy. We were the only English family in the hotel until the day we left but this did not spoil our time at Sun Berk. All the other guests were very nice and friendly and there was a lovely atmosphere whilst we were there. The staff were all fantastic and they all worked so hard. Some of the reviews moaned that the staff were unfriendly - well this is NOT true at all. Perhaps if people use manners and are friendly themselves they will get the same response. We are back home now and missing the company of the bar people. We also made friends with the owner Ahmet. He was very gracious and hospitable and we liked him a lot. We were let down one day when we booked a boat trip with a German lady with blonde hair who sold this to us. The bus did not turn up for us in the morning so Ahmet took us all in his car to a part of the beach that has many water sports so the kids could enjoy themselves. Buy your boat trips from the gentleman that resides at the Sun Berk hotel - not the German lady.
Back in England and feeling cold - we all wish we were back at the Sun Berk enjoying the sun and lovely food. Thank you to the staff for making this a special holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms near the pool are excellent - straight out and onto a sunbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kardamenakazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hi there stayed at the sun berk 1st week in July with mum ,sister and friend the rooms are sufficient but could be cleaner but not to bad . The pool area is small and sun beds crammed together lots of young children about but that never bothered me I block that out its not me that's. Looking after them .The food is crap but what i expected U will not get an English breakfast so be prepared for boiled eggs ,fruit cheese and ham and dinners as bad.The staff are nice lovely young waitress .If you're not fond of Germans than do not go to this hotel the place is swarming with them intact so is the whole of side! We went out every night meet some lovely people not forgetting those we met at hotel i hope this review has helped you somewhat i would not go back again but hay i had a good time and it was an experience! Not to repeat lol lesson learned never go 3 star ai in turkey .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellygreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Definately for families with very young children, if happy to swim all day in the pool or take the free bus-ride to the beach where you will need money for drinks etc., they like euros personally I believe your lira will go further. Okay thats the kids sorted. Not much though for adults if your looking for entertainment there is 'kebab night' on a Sunday- that's it. On our first day we had a turkish(haman) bath @ the Miami Beach hotel which was totally relaxing after our arrival (turn left at the bottom of the track passed the supermarket). Directly opposite is a traditional family run bar ask for Jamal he pours a wicked cocktail. Just pass here on the same side is the most wonderful kebab shop you must visit 'food is glorious' looks very small from outside like a take-away but there's seating area outside in its quaint garden and just opposite you can have burger and chips- I think everyone will be happy. If getting the boat to Manavagat bazaar shop for your souvenier's at the top of the stairs by the bridge you will find something for everyone

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patricia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have just arrived back from the Sunberk Hotel.
We have been to turkey 10 times (This holiday + marmaris/icmeler x 3 /lara beach/sarigerme x3 /olu deniz) and this was by far the worst hotel and area.
The staff are miserable, and really dont make any effort apart from trying to sell you watersports, there is no entertainment apart from the turkish dancing night.
The food is very poor, breakfast consists of boiled eggs and the rest continental.
Only drinks on all inclusive are beer, vodka gin. Pepsi and 7up (not on draught out of a bottle)
Anything else expect to pay.
If you ask for ice expect the barman/maid to dig their hands into the ice machine and fill your glass up this way.
The evening meal food is left lying from 5.30pm until it opens at 7pm with all the flies buzzing round it.
The pool is small, there is a lack of sunbeds
The hotel is down a dusty track that is dangerous at night.
There is a horrible stench coming from the birds and rabbits they keep captive in the hotel grounds.
As English expect to be in the minority in this hotel and the rest of Side.
Side as a resort is much more expensive than the Marmaris/Icmeler areas.
Back to Marmaris for me next year...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Side hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.2 mi away
Side Miami Beach Hotel
Side Miami Beach Hotel
#88 of 228 in Side
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunbird Hotel
Sunbird Hotel
#97 of 228 in Side
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Side Temple Hotel
Side Temple Hotel
#102 of 228 in Side
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cinar Family Suite Hotel
0.0 mi away
Palmiye Garden Hotel
Palmiye Garden Hotel
#153 of 228 in Side
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainbow Castle Hotel
Rainbow Castle Hotel
#125 of 228 in Side
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunberk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunberk

Property: Hotel Sunberk
Address: Selimiye Mh. Begonya Sk. No:5, Side, Manavgat, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sunberk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing