We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for those on a budget”
Review of Hotel Guven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Guven
Ranked #116 of 229 Hotels in Side
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Initially we were horrified by this hotel. Our beds were very hard, we couldn't open our windows as they opened big enough for a person to easily enter and we were on the ground floor, and the air was stifling. There is no hot water here until the solar panles have heated up enough to heat the tank on the roof, which means no showers till at least midday, which was a problem for us - we like to be up, showered, breakfasted then be out all day, and after a very hot night any shower taken in the evening seesm to have rather lost its effects! We soon go round this though, showering before dinner in hot water, but taking a very fast and very cold shower first thing in the morning!
The couple who own the hotel are very nice, the lady especially so - her English is good enough to make requests heard, and she is very smiley and friendly. Her husband is also lovely, but we were slightly put off one night... the night before, we'hd had a lovely, and relatively cheap bottle of wine at the hotel. We asked for the same the next night, only to be shown a different bottle and to be told it was much nicer. Daftly, we agreed to it without asking the price - turns out it was £20 as opposed to £6 the night before! We were a little put out by this...
The hotel location is second to none, right by the sea and just a few minutes walk to No Name beach. End of June, the sea was like getting into a giant bath, but a little choppy for my tastes. Roman ruins are very close to the hotel, and it's just 5 minutes to the Amphitheatre. Going right out of the hotel along the seafront takes you past many nice restuarants where you can sit with a sea view. It's about 10 minutes to the Apollo Temple, and 5 minutes to the start of the shops proper. All in, a great location.
Breakfasts were lovely - cheese, bread, usually watermelon, usually a boiled egg, some dates, cucumber, and occasionally some unidentified cooked omelette type thing. Filled the gap. However, we were offered tea or coffee - as I don't drink hot drinks, I asked if i could possible have orange juice. This was freshly squeezed for me and lovely, and my husband asked for the same each morning too. Unfortunately, just as we were leaving the hotel, i was told that this was extra, and was charged 40 lire! I was too flustered to really compute this until too late, and I was left fuming. It's little things like this that can ruin your perception of a place - if I'd been told of the cost at the beginning, at least I could have made my own mind up! Also, air conditioning is approx £4 a day, and at this time of year is a neccesity!
I'd return to Side, but not to this hotel, and I have learned my lesson this time - ask the price of EVERYTHING in advance!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was a very cheap holiday so we expected basic accommodation. The room was a good size the bedding and towels were changed every third day. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was more like a wet room which meant there was plenty of room in the shower. The breakfasts were lovely and the location brilliant. We found the owners friendly and helpful and as previous reviewers have said, their English isn't great but we got by. We would definitely return to this hotel and we're seriously considering returning next year. There is a little more pressure to eat there in the evening as they now employ a man to try to draw guests in, just like all the other restaurants but we did eat out as many times as we stayed at the hotel. The food is all quite similar and priced about the same so we found it made little difference. We were surprised at how expensive this area is for shopping and eating but still came back home longing to be back there. No Name Beach is gorgeous, out of the hotel and turn left, walk through the roman ruins and you're almost there. Goodness, I wish I were back there now!

Room Tip: There are only 2 balcony rooms, we were moved to one after having been there for 3 days but to be ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had 7 days at the Guven at the end of May, a basic hotel but very clean & comfy,with clean linen when you want,our ensuite was a marble wet room with a heated shower. The owners very friendly & helpfull but with little english Ali the waiter had more, Turkish breakfast good, bread fantastic, each day the eggs came differently, the restaurant food is basic & we found better elsewhere & there is plenty to choose from, the owners do not expect you to eat there so no pressure. Location brilliant, overlooking the sea and only yards from the Amphitheatre & sites, beach very near with free sunbeds. For a budget holiday we recommend this hotel why pay more when you are only there to sleep in it, sadly for the whole week we were the only people in the Hotel

Room Tip: room 21 looks out over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We were pointed at Side by a friend as being a pleasant holiday resort. We found the hotel on a web search for Side hotels.
We read the TripAdvisor reviews of the Guven, (pronounced gooven) before we booked and decided on balance that it has been generally improving over the past 4 years so we would try it. It met our budget for a late summer holiday to a country we've never visited before.

So what was it like?
We arrived at the hotel at about 01:30. Murat, the owner had stayed up to welcome us and had with him a good English speaker so we could understand one another. My wife and I have no Turkish and Murat has little spoken English, (we learned he understands far more than he can speak). During the week guests were arriving at all hours of the night. The only time Murat was not up to welcome them was when a couples flight was delayed two hours and the taxi driver couldn't find the hotel - none of which can be blamed on the hotel.

We had the last available room in the week we were there. The light didn't work when we first went in but Murat fixed that in a couple of minutes. Other guests we spoke to over the course of the week had variously no problems at all to leaky taps and air con - mostly fixed when pointed out to Murat.
The room was small - just enough space for the twin beds with a single drawer table on each side and a dresser and wardrobe at the foot of the bed. The en-suite was small but adequate - sink, loo, shower. All worked fine.

The aircon worked - 10 TL per day. Absolutely essential as daytime temperatures were in the mid thirties C and at night the white noise of the airflow successfully drowned out most of the outside noise.

There is at least one room with a small balcony and chairs, but most were like ours.

The Guven is in a quiet part of Side, but people don't go to bed 'till after midnight so there is always some background chatter from the surrounding restaurants. We live down a dead-end track in the wilds of Norfolk and are used to absolute quiet after 09:00 at night so found it hard to sleep. Others probably would not be disturbed.

Breakfast is always sliced tomato, sliced cucumber, 2 kinds of cheese, olives, a slice of melon and an egg variant, with bread, butter and honey to help it along. Despite the advertised times for breakfast being 08:30 - 10:30, if you bump into Murat anytime before 12:00 and you haven't had breakfast he'll offer to get it for you.

The bar is always open for beers, wine and soft drinks. Spirits are available but Murat keeps them someplace else. Freshly squeezed orange juice is 2 TL and coffe and black tea are always there.

As others have said the Guven's location is superb. It was delightful sitting on the terrace beneath the flowering tree that shades the whole area, either eating breakfast or sheltering from the noon day sun with a cool beer. Across the road, (15ft wide at best) is a larger dining area with umbrellas that stretches down to the edge of the low cliff below which the waves break. There are views of the commercial beaches to both the left and right.

If you want your room cleaned either speak to Emine, who has much better English than Murat, or leave your key at reception. If you want another loo roll, ask for it.

Emine and Murat are always approachable and keen to please as evidenced her offer that if our return taxi did not turn up, she would drive us to the airport herself. How much more helpful could a hotelier be?


The Guven also has a restaurant and we ate there several times. There are lots of restaurants in Side - only outnumbered by the clothes shops selling fake branded goods at original label prices.
The food at the Guven was better than some and worse than others, cheaper than some and more expensive than others. My recommendation would be to take advantage of the variety that Side has to offer, and find the place that best suits you.
Overall, would I stay at the Guven again? Absolutely.

Would I stay in Side again? No. It's far too touristy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B3nj1b0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

we had a fantastic holiday here,side is a beautiful place and so was the hotel Guven. The couple that run the place were fantastic and so helpful and friendly.It was so homely,while we were there it was my mum's birthday and their chef at the hotel made my mum a beautiful birthday cake, they made her feel very special.the hotel and the area made me think of the movie mama mia, we would sit having breakfast by the sea...stunning views,side is a very un touch area.......and the beach is just there 20yards away....perfect holiday place...i will be going back!!!!! fantastic .......we loved Guven Hotel!!! thank you Emine & Murat(the couple that owned the hotel) you have a beautiful place there...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 week trip to Side. We stayed at the hotel Guven. The couple who run this place are really friendly & welcoming. Esme & Murat are a lovely couple & will do anything they can to help whatever you ask for. Although they speak very little English & we spoke very little Turkish, with the help of a phrase book and a little imagination you can get through most situations! What a wonderful location! We sat eating our Turkish breakfast watching the little boats bobbing up & down on the sea, which was literally across the road! The service was excellent! Was't a problem arriving at the table any time between 8-9am, when we were promptly waited on by friendly staff and bid 'Gun-hiden' by murat. This hotel is small and friendly. If you want the 'All-inclusive' holiday experience, with a 'Rep' at your beck-and-call 24/7, don't use this place. But if you want to experience Turkey for yourself at a very cheep rate, we would strongly recomend the hotel Guven. The typical English tourist is rare here and if you speak a little Turkish you can get a long way on a little money. Stay off the fronts though! Unless you want to pay top price and be touted out of your head all the time! Go and have a look down the back streets in town to pick up very cheap, good food & drinks! The rooms in the hotel do not have balconies but this is no detriment as there is very good air conditioning to keep the rooms cool. They are clean & serviced regularly and if you need anything e.g. more toilet roll. just ask! Remember though, the Turkish sewerage systems are NOT like ours! Put your paper in the bin! If you flush it down the loo, be warned, it WILL re-appear eventually somewhere else! A lovely quiet spot, you will be free to come & go as you please! There was a great little tour shop about 3 doors up from hotel called 'Traum tours' where we got a great deal on a 3 day trip to Capodoccia! (60 euros each) although you would be advised to take extra money for added meals & extras! No trouble sleeping as its quiet in this area of town! We did go back to the room to sleep for a few hours in the afternoon as we did have some late nights talking to the locals & learning more about Turkish life! if you like your spices there's a fantastic shop on mosque street called 'the Antique spices house', young chap by the name of Hakan runs it, he is so helpful and has a lovely laid back approach. No touting! Just a lovely man selling the most wonderful array of spices & teas that i have ever seen! If you want a sea front drink or meal try the Baracuda bar & tell 'Ali-G' we sent you! All round a fantastic trip and we will go again! Suited us as we felt more like 'back-packers' than English tourists! Thanks again to everyone who made this a birthday treat we will never forget!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shaney42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Rooms are clean and tidy, Very peaceful location 2 mins from beach. Always kept guessing what egg dish would be served for breakfast. Owners very nice people there English may be poor but its better than my Turkish. Had a couple of meals in the evening at the hotel and they were fantastic siting overlooking the beach. Drinks cheap overall great value for money. I am hoping to return this year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worzelGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
4.1 mi away
Palmiye Garden Hotel
Palmiye Garden Hotel
#149 of 229 in Side
80 reviews
3.9 mi away
Nar Apart Hotel
Nar Apart Hotel
#136 of 229 in Side
47 reviews
3.2 mi away
Irem Garden Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Side Miami Beach Hotel
Side Miami Beach Hotel
#108 of 229 in Side
266 reviews
51.4 mi away
Beach House Hotel
Beach House Hotel
#55 of 229 in Side
218 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lemas Suite Hotel
Lemas Suite Hotel
#33 of 229 in Side
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guven

Address: Barbaros Cad. Plaj Yolu, Side, Manavgat 07600, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 229 Hotels in Side
Price Range: $15 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Guven 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Guven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing