We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great staff but building could use some color !”
Review of Royal Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Dragon Hotel
Ranked #19 of 227 Hotels in Side
Limmen
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great food, Great staff but building could use some color !”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

On the upside:

* Very good food. Lot of variety and plenty of it.
* Very friendly staff. Even though it was the end of the season (thirth week of October) they were still smiling.
* Plenty of room at the beach and at the poolside (not sure what it will be like in summer, but for now it was great)
* Our room (6138) was large, had two bathrooms, a minibar and was clean.
* The Spa was great, although everybody was offered a special deal because everybody had a special problem ;)
* The aquapark for the kids is a lot of fun (even though the water was freezing)

On the downside:

* The must have had a special deal on the paint. Most of the hotel was painted in the same boring brownish color.
* There was not enough light in the corridors. Spooky and also dangerous with marble stairs and floors in the same color.
* One round, decarative window in our room did not have a curtain. Being on the side with morning sun, we woke up early.
* The airconditioning was loud and did not realy cool the room
* The bed was too hard for my taste

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    261
    94
    41
    36
See reviews for
778
276
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Having just returned from a weeks holiday hear, overall I was pleased with the hotel. The rooms were very clean and comfy, the food was excellent!! And most of the staff was nice, with a few exceptions.
This was my first trip to Turkey and I would definitely rebook this hotel. The Water Park and fun fair for the kids was excellent, not to mention the beach front location.
If I had a complaint to make it would be the way in which the entertainment team and staff cater for the German visitors. Each night the majority of the entertainment was spoken in German, with the odd piece of English thrown in. I could not put my son in the kids club as again it was geared up for the German kids. I was getting a little frustrated when I approached the bar as they automatically assume you are German and address you. I spoke to someone about my issue and I was told the week we were at the hotel it was occupied by 75% German residents. I was advised to come back in September where a lot more English guests arrive.
At night the entertainment was not very good, that aside most of the entertainment team were excellent.
If you do not mind rude German people this hotel is the one to book.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My girlfriend, my 2 kids and I stayed in the Royal Dragon after having stayed at a couple of similar resorts in Turkey in the past (Likia World and Aquafantasy) and we all agreed this was a great hotel with a decent water park and lots of things to keep us entertained but not quite 5 star. On the plus side the food was very good for the buffet style restaurant, the drinks were of an above average standard, our duplex room was very nice, very comfortable and very quiet, the fair ground is a nice touch and the hotel is overall well run and organised. Also the beach area is well looked after and it is huge so no problems with sun loungers there! Sun loungers around the pool are not so easy to come by though unless you are prepared to get up very early which although not uncommon at hotels is still annoying. The hotel could also do with a few more activities I felt such as mini golf an/or tennis and in certain areas could do with a little tiding up. Some of the evening entertainment is a little naff as well, but I appreciate this is very subjective. The magic show was surprisingly really very good so make sure you see that. I probably wouldn't go back to the RD but that is not because there are so many similar hotels. This is still a well above average one.

Room Tip: Duplex rooms are the best for families as you feel like you have the extra room and don't have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charliefromworthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogart, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned for a weeks holiday with the family, must say I was a bit worried after having read some of the reviews prior to leaving, but after an initial couple of hick ups on arrival we had a really enjoyable fun holiday with the 4 kids (13-15yrs), The room was excellent with the upstairs/downstairs layout and 2 bathrooms and the housekeepers kept them clean and tidy and were also very friendly. The water slides were great fun and a fab pool, never had a problem in obtaining sun beads (6 together), kids loved the special juice man that came round towards the end of each day. For a big hotel you did not feel over crowded, there was more than enough food, although a bit repetative was of a good standard and always something for everyone, even the fussy eaters. Evening entertainment was good and majority of staff were polite and made the effort to talk to you even if they struggled with their english. Overall and very good holiday

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just got back from 2 weeks in the Royal Dragon (31sept-14Sept 2013). This really is a fabulous hotel which has everything for everyone. The Beach is amazing and the Pool are is really spectacular with plenty of sunbeds for everyone and plenty of places to relax. The food in the buffet is really really good (we have been doing ALL INC for over 10 years and this is the best buffet food by far). We ate in the Italian and the Chinese A la Carte and both were gorgeous - just a shame your only allowed 1 visit to an a la carte per week - more should be included - although for 12 euros per adult (kids free) you can book extra. There is a food court for lunch time serving snacks or a restaurant on the beach. Theres plenty of bars for the evening the loby bar, pool bar, ampi theatre bar, beach bar - the place is so vast you can vary your evening each night. The beach party held each Thursday is brilliant with a great lights show and tasteful podium dancers. Our kids are 6 and 9 and they loved it and found plenty to do with the Aqua park and the Fairground rides.

Room Tip: We got a free upgrade to a duplex room which was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galati, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Everything Was Good: food, beach, aqua park and luna park.

We had some problem with locking the door, they didn't fixed and the room was opened all this time.

The guy from reception was VERY annoying with tip, I regret that I forget his name.

You have nothing to do after 22.00

Good hotel for family but not for a couple.

All in one it was the best stay in Turkey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ignore all the bad reviews about this hotel because it is nothing short of fantastic, let me start by saying that the food is absolutely brilliant . Hotel itself is just out of this world, no trouble with the air con,rooms lovely with king size beds .the kids club is great the pool is great ( MASSIVE), the beach is really clean . I could go on and on and on, do yourselves a favour and visit this hotel. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED, we went as a family of three(9) year old boy and we all felt like crying when we had to come home, we will definitely be going back. Money well spent. Pete, Tracey and Kristian from Eccleston

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peterbrucehaslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
2.2 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.1 mi away
Royal Taj Mahal Hotel
Royal Taj Mahal Hotel
#49 of 227 in Side
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Nashira Resort Hotel & Aqua-Spa
0.3 mi away
Commodore Elite Suites & Spa
0.8 mi away
Paloma Oceana Resort
Paloma Oceana Resort
#10 of 227 in Side
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Dragon Hotel

Property: Royal Dragon Hotel
Address: Evrenseki Mevkii, Side, Manavgat, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Side
#14 Romantic Hotel in Side
#15 Spa Hotel in Side
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#18 Luxury Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Dragon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 568
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Dragon
Royal Dragon Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing