We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IF YOU ARE GERMAN”
Review of Royal Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Dragon Hotel
Ranked #20 of 228 Hotels in Side
Reviewed August 31, 2013

It looks that all from hotel staff prefer the germans, staff is speaking good german and poor english, waiters keeps occupied best tables (on the terrace ) for "special guests", germans received best rooms . At gust relations nobody speak english.
About the hotel: clean, good food and many varieties , entertainment is very , very ,poor (the team look bored and tired). Internet for free works only in the lobby and is low speed.
.If you will have a complain nobody will take care . If you want to be treated as 5 star hotel guest you have to give money ( tips) to everybody .

Room Tip: avoid rooms on the 6 th floor.They have thin walls
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noxyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,357)
There are newer reviews for Royal Dragon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent 10 days in August in the Royal Dragon Hotel. It is not too much to say about this hotel as everything was exactly as expected when paying a lot in order to get a "no problem" vacation. Our two kids (8 and 12) enjoyed a lot the aquapark where we were spending every morning and also the beach that was perfect: clean, sandy, shallow water 20-30 m from entrance etc. Food was very good and they were so many varieties that it was imposible even to taste 20% from what was offered every evening. One night we tryied the asian restaurant that was so and so, we order from all the options in the menu and half were ok, half not. We were told that we can go only once in the a la carte restaurants as you get only one invitation for a 7 day stay. We stayed 10 days, but they told us this is not enough in order to get the second free invitation...not very nice.
They were a lot of shops in the hotel selling fake bags, electronics etc. and like everywhere in Turkey they were no listed prices, everything was open for negotiations (that happened to us also in the Airport in Antalya). They were offering good coktails in the hotel bar, but the quality was very different from one day to another, probably dependent on the bar tender on the shift.
Rooms big enough, well equiped and clean.
I guess the rating for the hotel can be also 5, but we are a little bit biased by the experiences outside the resort where we were considered in all our trips only a bag of money that need to go at any price in the locals pockets. It is not relevant for the hotel description, but this made our decision to not return for holiday in Turkey. But if you are the type of turist that do not leave the resort, the Royal Dragon is probably a very good choice as nothing will disapoint you.

Room Tip: Family room with communication door are OK for 2+2, but try to get one (if you paid for side view to...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanAlex1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our family booked a vacation in this hotel because we saw many positive reviews. After a week spent there, this is what we realized:

FOOD is nothing special. It is evident that they go by rule "quantity is more important than quality". The only highlight was when they served fresh Ahi Tuna. Even that was over-grilled and dry.

SERVICE was simply unacceptable. I didn't believe that this was a 5 star hotel.
1) When we arrived at the reception, a receptionist with poor English forgot to give us armbands. As a result of that, we were not able to return back to the hotel area once we walked to the beach.
2) I used their dry cleaning service. After 5 days, I found out that they lost it. Fortunately, they found it on the last day.
3) Internet access costs €8 per 3 days. I couldn't get internet on any of my devices. I talked to the hotel manager, even their IT manager and no one could fix it. They charged me €8 for internet I didn't use. I refused to pay. The receptionist insisted and called a manager. They didn't allow me to leave until I paid.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dborovka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here in March with my fiancee. The staff are so rude and unless you are German they are not interested. It claims to be a 5 star hotel, we were so disappointed we moved to a 4 star just to get out. The food looks fabulous but is the same thing every night.

Please do not waste your money on this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrsHP_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 2 week stay at royal dragon.
We stayed in a twin room which didn't get off to a great start.
As the mattress on the fold out bed was about a mm thin,Like sleeping on sinking sand.Which meant my two daughters had to share a bed, one being 16 an the other being 11 so not the best night sleep but told the staff an bed was change the next morning wardrobe door in other room did not open so me an my husband had to put our arm through to get clothes out the room was also full of ants even in the fridge .which I've never seen before all though the maids can't be faulted room was spotless every day. The pool an gardens surrounding the hotel are really lovely the water slides are great fun for the kids as is the fun fair just be aware the pirate ship attendant says how high the ride goes and how long you are on it for. Twice my husband had to ask him to stop the ride so me and our daughter could get off which. The ride is an accident waiting to happen.The beach party is really fantastic we have three children aged 16,14, and 11 and we all enjoyed that. Day time entertainment was ok darts and football. Annimation team very friendly and good with everyone. Best place to eat of a day was the beach bar. There was issues with excrement in pool that was scooped out with a net an put in nearby bushes, didn't do a clean up of the pool until a number of families complained and refused
to allow our children in the pool.
Other than that we found poolside and beach where ok.
We found all staff where polite and friendly and happy to help.
The food was generally good and caters for all nationalities. All bars close at 12but there is a night club on site for those who would like to drink more and dance but we found the bars closing early good as it's one hotel that you can get a good nights sleep.
Overall we enjoyed our stay there

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel and I am shocked at the things we encountered.
Having been to other hotels in Turkey the last few years ,this one has major problems, which unfortunately override what is structurally a lovely hotel.
The hygiene in all of the public areas was appalling. Repeated incidents of poo in the pools left for days and once finally removed just lifted with a net and dumped by the side of the pool! Vomit in multiple places, again not cleaned up for long periods of time. The spectacular vomit by the side of one pool bar produced by a staff member and still there as we left a week later. Toilets were often unclean and not cleaned regularly. At the time of our stay ,there were multiple complaints from guests about hygiene to the hotel but these were not addressed until there was an all out guest mutiny.
Secondly the majority of the staff range from unhelpful to downright rude and aggressive. There were notable exceptions to this especially the entertainment team.This was a huge difference from our experience of staff in other Turkish hotels and the locals in shops etc around the resort.
The food is abundant but the taste and quality are generally poor.Again a negative contrast to other places.
The hotel has good facilities but is let down by serious flaws.
There are so many wonderful hotels in Side now ,that this one needs to seriously rethink its customer service and health and safety if it wants any guests. We certainly will never go back here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SASI222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I went to the Royal Dragon in July 2013 along with my teenage daughters and boyfriend. The majority of the staff were friendly but not very sociable e.g. it was the same people who went over to the same families which was rather unfair.

The food was very well presented but the taste of the food didn't have the same affect. Many of the deserts including the fruit were put onto some eye catching displays but when it came to biting into it, it was either over-ripened or nothing like what it looked like. Not only this but there wasn't enough choice of basic foods like pasta or pizza it was all instead Turkish food.

The day time throughout my stay was reasonably ok -just chilling by the pool was enough for me with a few drinks. Lunch was very simple like we had quick snacks instead of having to follow the dress code to enter the main restaurant. So instead myself and small family had kebabs around the pool (nothing too special.)

If you have any teenage children then i strongly advise you to not go to this hotel as there was nothing to do for them at night. All other children spoke other languages and sempt to be doing their own thing without interacting with anyone else. They were also extremely rude e.g. people would just walk into you as though they had not seen you without apologizing. The majority of people there were young families with small children but no teenagers or any attractions/entertainment for them either. My two teenage girls were very bored and fed up throughout their stay due to the lack of entertainment. There was a few bars but all shut at 12am and children below 18 had to wear separate bands to adults. After 12 the only place that was open was your bedroom.

Bedrooms had very loud air conditioning but was indeed very spacious. The maids at first were very helpful at keeping our room neat and tidy but then started to leave bulks of bed sheets behind which was rather annoying.

The hotel is way too dark and very hard to feel at home when it is that big. The hotel staff stare at my daughters and even stop what they are doing to watch them walk by in their bikinis-quite disrespectful to say that they are guests. Overall the hotel doesn't provide enough for guests-needs more activities for teenagers and places for them to mingle.

The positives for this hotel is that you are able to connect to the WiFi all around the complex (excluding aquapark and beach.) There are plenty of sunbeds for everyone as long as you can get up early enough to reserve good seats. Staff members like Ronaldo and Oscar are very friendly and make you feel as though you could approach them easily for a good chat whenever.

I wouldn't advise this hotel to many people at all because of the lack of entertainment and the poor selection of international food tastes. If you're up for a holiday with simple lunch seletion and no entertainment for teenagers and rude people then be sure to go ahead and book but otherwise keep looking for other stone hotel resorts like the Royal Alhambra Palace or the Royal Wings as they are the places to be.

Room Tip: We were given a beach view but overlooked some other hotel and was very loud due to their night life...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa_Elshore_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
2.2 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.1 mi away
Royal Taj Mahal Hotel
Royal Taj Mahal Hotel
#50 of 228 in Side
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Nashira Resort Hotel & Aqua-Spa
11.5 mi away
Club Hotel Turan Prince World
2.9 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Dragon Hotel

Address: Evrenseki Mevkii, Side, Manavgat, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Side
#14 Family Hotel in Side
#16 Spa Hotel in Side
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#19 Luxury Hotel in Side
Price Range: $131 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Dragon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 568
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Dragon
Royal Dragon Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing