We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice holiday but a few things to note.”
Review of Royal Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Dragon Hotel
Ranked #20 of 228 Hotels in Side
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We are currently at the Royal Dragon resort in Side. It's our first time in Turkey and the resort appears nice and well appointed but Thomas Cook failed to fill us in on a couple of points when we booked over the phone:

First, they didn't state that around 95% of the people that come here are German. Whilst this in itself isn't a major problem (although we have found many of them to be somewhat ignorant), everything here is geared up for Germans. The food is German biased, the staff greet us in German, the entertainment is in German etc etc.

Second, they didn't tell us that the aqua park and Luna park don't open until Wednesday which is the 5th day of our 8 day stay.

Aside from these points, the hotel is very comfortable, the duplex room we are in is spacious, stylish and clean.

We have come here on an all inclusive package which is a first for us as we usually go bed and breakfast. The food is plentiful with breakfast, lunch and dinner laid on with unlimited drinks and snacks available throughout the day although you are best advised to make a mental note of the times that the snack bars are open as they aren't open all day.

The shops here on site include;

A drug store which appears to be a general store selling a range of goods including toys.

There is a leather jacket shop with a nice range of jackets but beware in here, the chap "Thomas" needed a firm "no" before allowing us to leave the shop. He did come down from 650 Euros to 200 Euros on a jacket that I tried on but I wasn't going to buy it even at that price.

A watch shop selling copies of many of the big brands. They actually appear to be very good copies although rather pricey.

A clothes store also selling copies of big brands and once again they do seem to be very good quality copies and reasonably priced.

The local town Side has a range of shops selling copies of clothes, electrical goods, toys, watches and so on. Here is where the shop keepers try the hard sell and once again a firm "no" is often required. We found that the copied items here are not as good quality as the ones in the hotel shops although we did buy our daughter a copy of an ICE watch for around £7.

So far we have enjoyed ourselves and are looking forward to the rest of our stay.

A quick note about the wifi. If you are thinking about bringing iPads etc, the wifi is practically useless, requiring you to connect and then authenticate via a web page. Most times it won't connect and when it does, it's slow and drops out after two minutes. Very frustrating.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavster12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,358)
There are newer reviews for Royal Dragon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Looked amazing on the brochure and uop checking in we were certainley impressed . However as the days go by your realise that its a typical average standard resort. Food was large in choice but very bland and the whole eating time experince feelt like a meat market. With hordes of russians filling thier plates. English was only spoken by the staff in the entertainment group. The beach was pleasant and the pools were well run however not happy to see the staff alowing small kids with regular nappys to bathe as this is poisenous to other children. I strongly reccomend to skip this hotel as the total experince is not worth the money you pay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simonkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the first time. It was great. Service, staff and varity was great. The food was very good and too much to pick from. The only down side that we found was we went to use the spa and paid for a turkish bath package. After we had our treatment we were asked to wait as the manager of the spa wanted to speak to us & we were offered some apple tea. We waited and the manager came and told us that he thought we should come back as we had some serious problems and they could treat them. We said no and we were left sitting waiting for our tea. After 10min we decided that we should just go as we never got our tea. It felt like a sales pitch the manager had given us.
As other people have said there is a lot of German & Dutch at the hotel, but we found them very friendly.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank campbell_g9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Third time in Turkey and it keeps getting better . Travelled on the 16th March and stayed for a week. Although its off season it suited us as there were few kids there running around. I'll start with the room , it was exceptional , large , had mini bar , well set out and had a good sized balcony. A small complaint though not the fault of the hotel is traffic in the morning. Buses delivery lorries etc are very loud combined with building work means no long lies. We were on the fourth floor and i was still wakened at six ish. Take ear plugs to solve this.
As the previous reviewer has said the choice for all meals is overwhelming so much choice it has to be seen. The standard and quality is top class so much so that i preferred it to the oriental ala carte we tried.
Can't comment on the pool area or bed availability as it was being refurbished when we were there but it looks like there could be a shortage of beds in peak times.
Entertainment goes on all day join in if you want no pressure. Night time shows in the main hall not my preference but people enjoyed it. Live music in the main bar was quite good a mixture of Turkish and Western music. Again we were off season so no problems getting seating for our party of four , would imagine it would be pandemonium in high season.
The visitors are mainly German so things are slanted towards them , not a problem to us.
Another earlier reviewer mentioned poor and unhelpful staff , we found the opposite to this , they were only too glad to help in any way from reception staff to the animation team to the many many waiting staff. We don't normally tip but did here quite a lot.
All in all a great off season break that i can't recommend too highly , the Royal Dragon is the best hotel we have ever been in.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the next hotel ( Seamelia ) has a road running the full length of the hotel try to...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poiuytrewq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Before I actually booked this holiday, I actually checked on the reviews on this website and everyone has very good things

to say about it, therefore there was no hesitation to book this holiday. The holiday was chosen based on the quality of the

hotel as I didn't have a preference in where to go.

When me and my partner landed, we were picked up by Thomas cook and it was about an hour away. It was late at night, and

there was not much to see. When arrived at the hotel, I can see how beautiful it was. As I entered, I can see how big the

place. The lobby was massive! we went to the reception to check-in. Was all sorted out by a very hard working guy called

Mustafa, and then we were given the keys to our room, while the bell boy took our luggages.

Our rooms were very nice and clean.
There wasn't much english TV channel, except the new.

After freshened up, we went to dinner. I got to say that the restaurant is area is massive. There are so many variety to choose from. There was so much things to try , that my plate was so full. The food were in excellent quality. I was pessimistic as it is a buffet. However, this is no ordinary buffet. Everything here is fresh. The chef's there know what they are doing. Waiters served us drinks fine as we sat on a table.

The hotel also has 3 al-carte restaurants which you can eat there once per week during your stay. The restaurant is very nice and food is served with presentation, however I would've been happy just eating the buffet.

Food is served 24 hours. Breakfast, Late Breakfast, Lunch, Pattiserie, Amphibar ( This was not open during our stay, Opens in April). Dinner, then late night snack.

There are bars situated in almost area. You can always get a drink anywhere you go.

Facilities here includes. Spa (include Turkish Bath), Games room, gym area. See website for full list.

Excursion we booked.

Purge Aspendos Kunsunla. This cost £45. This is great if you want to learn a bit of history. You will see the Ruins, and waterfalls and the amphitheatre. Lunch is included. The tour guide named HILMI was very funny. Best tour guide. His english was excellent and will definitely make you laugh.

Magnavat Cruise cost £30. This trip is for anyone who was to do a bit shopping. The things you see at the magnavat market are counterfeit goodds which we werent interested in. The cruise I didn't find very entertaining. Nothing to see except boats. So was very looking forward to get back to the hotel. Lunch is included.

Booked Quad Biking with Bugra Tours at a shop outside of the hotel. Cost £30 Euros. It was average. Just nice to do some outdoor activities.


During our stay, I don't think any of our group at the hotel actually been anywhere outside of the hotel. The hotel has plenty of things to do. Plenty of activities that you can take part in.


Antalya is mainly for people who wants a quieter holiday. This place is not for people who is out drinking and going to the clubs every night. The tourist are usually married couples of families. Majority of the tourist are German.


We had no issues with anyone at the hotel. All staff and guest were very pleasant.

Would definitely recommend this holiday to anyone!!

One thing wasn't working was the AirCon, but we didn't really need it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Chi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Fantastic hotel, impressed by almost everything. Fantastic food, with huge variety of choice catering for everybody's needs. The only problem was that sometimes you were overwhelmed with choice that it was difficult to choose, couldn't possibly try everything as they were way too much. There is food available 24/7 as one eatery closes another opens. My husband enjoyed the lunches in the Turkish tent, which served pastries, salad, pizzas and Turkish bread with a variety if sweet and savoury filings.

Additionally you can visit one of the al a cart restaurants during your stay, we opted for Zeb the Chinese restaurant, the food was lovely, However the service in their wasn't very good.

Rooms were lovely, very comfortable and cleaned well by maid daily. The room also contained a fridge with soft drinks, water and beer that was topped up daily . We stayed in a duplex room on the 6th floor, which had a nice view. It consisted of a downstairs bedroom with twin beds, shower and toilet, upstairs was a double with another bathroom also containing a shower.

The hotel has a very large outdoor pool which we didn't use as it was too cold, but we did bathe in the sun by it. We did make good use of the indoor pool, which was nice. You do not need to travel with towels as you receive a ticket each for beach towels when you arrive and can exchange for clean ones during your stay.

The entertainment team worked hard day and night and although I have been to hotels where the entertainment has been better, it was acceptable and we did have some laughs.

The majority of holiday makers staying at the hotel were German with English being a very small minority, hence the entertainment was mainly geared for those holiday makers. We did not feel like second class citizens like others have said though. The entertainers and other staff were generally pleasant towards us and although at times they did forget to translate in English, it didn't spoil our enjoyment.

The only tips I could give to the hotel is to do more for the children, the play area needs refurbishing and the hotel kids club was a bit hit and miss, sometimes not opening and others the kids entertainer turning up late. My daughter did enjoy the mini disco each evening, despite being the only English child going to it.

Also be warned the shops in the hotel were very expensive, I would make a short trip up the road to buy anything you want, a roll on deodorant cost €4.50 in the hotel shop, which I consider extortionate. For t-shirts, belts and other leather/fake stuff go to the market at manavagat which is really cheap, so long as you remember to haggle and you get things cheaper if you walk away.

All in all, an excellent holiday in an excellent hotel. We would definitely go back, but next time would probably choose a summer stay, some of the facilities and eateries are closed during winter months.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel was lovely. Having stayed in many all inclusive hotels we thought we could not be surprised but the variety and quality of food was amazing. Dining was not something to be undertaken quickly as it took too long to wander around the food on offer to decide what to have. On one evening the chefs were cooking a huge shark. The shark was on display and steaks were being cut and cooked as requested.
Overall the holiday exceeded our expectations although if you have booked with Thomas Cook, don't expect the rep on site to be of any use. We asked her to recommend an excursion that would let us see a bit of the surroundings as none of us had been to Turkey before. Her reply? There's not much to see so none of the excursions would be any use to you!! How to sell an area to tourists!
The hotel guests comprise mainly Germans. Many of them were very rude which I found surprising as any time I've visited Germany the locals have been very friendly. The hotel staff all speak German and some have limited English but this in no way detracts from the service.
Spa facilities in the hotel are excellent and we had a Turkish Bath which we all loved.
Hotel is in the Evrenseki area outside Side. The whole area is being developed and before long will be full of huge hotels and I imagine very touristy.
Final word: the local bus service is frequent, cheap and the drivers helpful.
Would we go back? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Try for one facing the pool
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynniethepooh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
2.2 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.1 mi away
Royal Taj Mahal Hotel
Royal Taj Mahal Hotel
#50 of 228 in Side
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Nashira Resort Hotel & Aqua-Spa
11.5 mi away
Club Hotel Turan Prince World
2.9 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Dragon Hotel

Address: Evrenseki Mevkii, Side, Manavgat, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Side
#14 Romantic Hotel in Side
#16 Spa Hotel in Side
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#19 Luxury Hotel in Side
Price Range: $118 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Dragon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 568
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Dragon
Royal Dragon Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing