We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”
Review of Viking Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viking Star Hotel
Ranked #53 of 288 Hotels in Kemer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Just arrived back from a week at the Viking Star, Kemer. Flight was good just under 4 hours, then an hour transfer to the hotel. Really good value for money, the Hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. Rooms are cleaned every day and bedding changed twice a week, the views of the mountains from our room were lovely. The season hadn't really started so it was fairly quite, although the hotel was full, not really a great lot to do especially with 2 teenagers, however they were happy just relaxing by the pool. The Animation Team were great and the evenings entertainment was good especially the 'Secretary' at the Cabaret evening. The food was OK for an AI hotel, the salads were excellent but the hot food was a bit repetative, the local drinks were fine, although the AI was from 10am to 11pm. The food in the A La Carte Restaurant was good but you had to pay for your drinks, strange concept for an AI hotel. The pool area was nice but overcrowded at times and the hotels beach was good, however no AI there, but the sunloungers are free, so is the transport to the beach, although it was only a 15 minute walk through the town, to a lovely Marina. The hotel has it's own Spa and Gym, with an indoor swimming pool and sauna, the treatments are extra but well worth the money, the Turkish Bath and Massage were great. There is a games room for kids, with PC games etc, there is a small charge for their use but no too expensive, they also have a Mini Club for the younger kids.
I would recommend this hotel to people who are looking for a good deal, you get what you pay for and this was better than we expected and I would definately go back. Thankyou to all the staff who made our week so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JB4183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 831 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2010

arrived at about 4am tired and hungry there was no food made up, sandwiches etc.we had to take our own bags to the room because there was no porter on duty,my partner ended up going out to get 2 kebabs. we woke for breakfast which was what we were expecting,decided to head for the beach,which was a bad move.after fighting for mini bus(although we were 2nd in Que,and the people in front of us never made it)we arrived at a stony gravel beach where the bar which supplied the food and drink was not included in the all inclusive,
i would say the hotel is a 4 star but the all inclusive is on par with a 3 star , you are allowed 1 small bottle of water on arrival only through out the whole stay .
the bar is only open till 11pm, Drinks on all inclusive are coffee, herbal tea, coke , sprite and fanta and squash which are poured from flagons (plastic bottles ) not draught , the Lager was draught efes which was good, local spirits which only included vodka, Bacardi and brandy . house red and white wine if you required any thing else you had to pay like cocktails ,orange juice,peanuts ice-cream ,ice lolly s and of course the brand spirits and bottled water .
the hotel had 1 out door pool and sun beds squashed together like sardines with no walking space in-between ,.there was one good spot in the sun which was taken by somebody s towels by 6'30am and the rest were taken with towels by 10am as it was shaded till the sun moved at lunch time .
there was a main restaurant where the hot food was generally tepid . the meat was either chicken or turkey , with the odd appearance of red meat in the form of a casserole . there was a large salad range and deserts looked nice ,or you could have an apple or orange with strawberry's twice a week .
There was also a Al a carte restaurant which you could eat in once free of charge but you were charged for all drinks .the basement had a well being center that looked lovely but was quite expensive although you could use the indoor pool and gym for free.
there was a massive games room with one computer pool tables,football tables etc but they were all at a cost . there was also a hair dressers and a disco which was charge able , i cannot say what they were like as i did not use them but the hair dressers looked reasonable.
the viking star hotel is the base for free holidays if you are viewing their real estate, apartments and villas, it is also used a lot for training football teams accommodation . in our week there we also had three female young football teams .

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank insania70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Arrived late at night and we were met with a courteous welcome.
No lock on the balcony door so the room was changed the next morning - to one with a view of the snow clad mountains behind an orange grove - wow.
Food delicious, so many occasions to eat ! Compliments were given to the chefs.
Hotel sparkling, hard working and very pleasant staff throughout the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frannymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

firstly what a holiday, turkey is lovely and so warm even out of season, the hotel itself is spotlessly clean and so is the pool, the staff are amazing the service was second to none and they were all very friendly and even made time for my son, the pool is massive and very clean, there is aso a childrens pool, the food on the all inclusive was of a good standard plenty of fresh salad, and a choice of meats, im a very fussy eater but i managed nearl every day to find something, but like all inclusive food it does get a bit boring but eating out is cheap in turkey anyways if u fancy a change, there is food nearly all day long the snack bar always had pizza and pasta in an afternoon. there is room service avalible at added cost. kemer itself has everything u need from dolphins, to camels, off road safaries and trips up the mountains, there is plenty of shops and a market on a monday outside the hotel. the entertainment was not as good as expected but i think maybe becoz it was a bit early in the year, there was still karaoke and quiz night in the english theme pub in the hotel and a nightclub/disco, there was also a good indoor pool and spa, the spa is extra, tho u can get the turkish baths in kemer itself, you do not need a bus into kemer, your literally 2 mins walk from everything, tho its a little further to get to a sand beach... about 20mins walk, or 5 mins in a taxi for about £4, all in all great value for money!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! thank you everyone at viking star... i woulddefinatly go back! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoehellowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Beautiful hotel, and friendly, serviceminded staff. Kemer is a place where you can relax and have fun. Sunny weather 20-23 C. and only 2 out of 8 days with rain. Can´t complain about that!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norwegiantourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Arrived early morning after a long transfer was offered food and drink, a good start that just got better. The food was to a high standard, the buffet style restaurant offered an amazing variety of choice, the complimentary meal in the al a carte restaurant was also excellent. The hotel is cleaned to the point that every surface sparkles, the staff were polite and very helpful. The rooms although were good were on the outside and the views were obscured by a development next door, a request to move was turned down because the hotel was full but the hotel manager no less tracked us down by the pool to inform us that an inside room was now available. The views from the inside rooms and the pool are stunning its like being in the alps. The hotel and Kemer are suitable for couples and families with young children it is not a place to take teenagers. I would recommend the Viking Star and intend to return this coming summer.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicesterBlueArmyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

After an awful, uncomfortable flight and long transfer minibus we immediately settled into the hotel, with friendly staff, clean room, lovely varied food on buffet to cater for all tastes. We were delighted to watch the sun set over the picturesque mountains.

Soner and the entertainments/"animation" team are very friendly and fun.

There is a great relaxing spa centre and pool within the hotel.

The only downside was that the entertainments didn't go on late enough and the "al a carte" restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dualharmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kemer hotels
0.4 mi away
Viking Nona Hotel
Viking Nona Hotel
#64 of 288 in Kemer
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Lotus Hotel
Golden Lotus Hotel
#60 of 288 in Kemer
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wassermann
Hotel Wassermann
#79 of 288 in Kemer
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Karmir Resort & Spa
Karmir Resort & Spa
#6 of 288 in Kemer
1,326 reviews
2.9 mi away
L'Oceanica Beach Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Haber Hotel
Grand Haber Hotel
#83 of 288 in Kemer
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Star Hotel

Address: Ataturk Bulvari Yeni Mah 4/1 | Yeni Mahalle 4, Kemer 07980, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kemer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Kemer
#29 Romantic Hotel in Kemer
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Kemer
#49 Luxury Hotel in Kemer
Price Range: $75 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Viking Star Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Viking Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Star Kemer
Hotel Viking Star

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing