We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The positives far outweighed the negatives”
Review of Grand Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Viking Hotel
Ranked #104 of 288 Hotels in Kemer
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I want to just start with the transfers side of things... In a word or two - don't book with A2B Transfers! We arrived in Antayla Airport at 10.30pm (Turkey time) and were kept waiting for an hour and 40mins before our transfer arrived to take us to the Grand Viking. To say the least we were well miffed after the already long journey & were not feeling very confident about our return journey back to the airport being on time. The transfer took approximately an hour and a half before arriving at our hotel (we should explain that we had one other hotel drop off so timings would be longer if you book a coach multi drop off).

When we eventually arrived at the Grand Viking Hotel we were happy to see it was just like the pictures we had seen previously. The man on reception was curt but efficient, checking us in quickly and telling us where to leave our bags after mentioning that we were very hungry. He showed us into the restaurant area where he found a number of plates covered in foil with various savoury and dessert foods. He heated up our food and I must say we thought if thats the best they have to offer we would be losing alot of weight during our week holiday! We are glad to report though that things did get better in this department (maybe the hotel reception worker just microwaved it to death). Note: English egg n chip fans - do not use this hotel! In fact why don't you guys just stay at home or visit Blackpool!!!!!! Reading moans about no CHIPS on the menu get a tad bit boring on sites like this.

Anyway..... Lets start with breakfast. This was geared to those that live in mainland Europe and you will not find full english breakfasts in this hotel. Breakfast consists of salads, olives, cheeses, spam, frankfurter type sausages - not our kind of thing at all. However they always had fresh bread, boiled eggs, cereals, natural yoghurt, preserves and honey. They also had freshly made pancakes, fried eggs, and a lovely rice pudding on occasion (rice pudding for breakfast?- a bit weird I know but you should try it at least once). The coffees, particulary the cappacino were delicious and you could have the option of having freshly squeezed orange juice (at an extra charge).

Lunches - much better than breakfast! Still geared to those from mainland Europe, consisting of salads, olives, cheeses, spam, frankfurter type sausages. On top of that there was always meat, vegetables, rice & pasta or potato dishes. One thing we did notice was their heavy handed use of dill - from meat, vegetables to even the salads! The benefit to this however is it acts like gripe water, sooo useful after a long flight & an empty, windy stomach!!! Dinner was very much the same thing, with the exception of two nights where there was a bbq by the pool. On the one night it was mackerel & on the other it was seasoned turkey kebaps & assorted grilled vegetables - such a nice refreshing change. There is also a lovely woman who makes chappatti type flat breads filled with either potatoe & herb or cheese & herb. As we are not fussy eaters and enjoy trying new foods this was more than acceptable to us though the menu did become a lilttle repetative.

As Grand Viking is all inclusive the local drinks were also free. These seem to include vodka, gin, raki, efes lager and a variety of soft drinks. As a couple who do not drink much, this was totally fine but can imagine if alcohol figures largely in your idea of a good time, this may not be acceptable to you.

Hotel & Staff - The hotel is rather small (as many hotels in Kemer are) but well maintained. Reading some earlier reviews, there seems to have been some improvements made to the indoor & outdoor pool areas. The 'artificial grass' areas around the outside pool have now been removed and replaced with nice wood decking-like tiles, and the indoor pool area has been freshened up in a contempoary style geared more to appeal to adults rather than kids.

As has been mentioned on other reviews here, there is a shuttle service to and from the beach (sandy), & centre throughout the day and evening, with the last shuttle leaving the centre at 11pm. As my partner had just gotten her leg out of plaster shortly before going on holiday, this shuttle sevice proved invaluable. The main driver (who happens to be the husband of the lovely lady making the chappattis) was always welcoming, friendly, polite, and smiling no matter what time of day your met him. The cleaning crew were always busy cleaning... not on the surface cleaning but REALLY, thoroughly cleaning. They took such pride in their work cleaning the ledges on the balconys, the tops of picture frames, and polishing the lifts twice a day. They clearly worked hard and also always had a smile for the guests.

Some staff, though a minority, were not quite up to scratch in this regard. Being an inter-racial, gay couple, we always get noticed (good & bad) but they made their views known in such an obvious manner it was often bordering on rude! Having thick skins and LOTS of experience with idiots like this it did not spoil our holiday. We must also state that these attitudes and behaviours were not shared by all staff. We were treated with respect & regarded in the same manner as other 'straight' guests by staff, particularly those working in reception, (& who were completely aware that we were a gay couple). To this end we want to say a BIG thanks to Semso nicknamed 'Sunshine' - you are a lovely man and they should give you a rise in pay! You always went above and beyond your duties to make our stay as comfortable as possible & treated us with the greatest of respect at all times! & to you Husein - my wife got you laughing with her quick witted comments didn't she?! ;-) Thank you for cracking a smile & not being so moody during our stay at the hotel.

Would we go again? - probably not as there's so much to see in the world. Kemer has natural beauty. Where else can you find great weather, a palm tree lined sandy beach surrounded by mature forrest with the Taurus Mountains as a dramatic backdrop??? Its definetly worth a visit and would recommend this hotel if you like quiet chilled out holidays by the beach & staying in a clean, friendly hotel, (and you don't mind being in the minority - you know, being the only gay... oooppps -.... I mean, being the only Brit in the village lol).

Room Tip: if you can get a suite on the highest floor, preferably over the pool you'll get the best sunshi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 215 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

We've came to Grand Viking Hotel in September. It was nice weather, so most of our time we spent on the beach. It's located quite far away, if You want to go by foot, but there is transfer bus which is going quite often (about every 0,5h). Food is good, although quite the same every day, so at the end - I was fed up :/
Still, I'd recommend this hotel to people, who is looking something nice and cheap!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank szymon_gdynia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Booked a cheap last minute deal and as stated you get what you pay for.

Arrived and staff were very friendly however this was not consistent, the majority of the time they were pleasant however at times I got the impression they were talking about you behind your back. The language barrier also was a problem. It is fair to say that if you are German, Russian or Dutch you will be made to feel very welcome.

Food was poor and I lived off of soup and bread, what was offered never looked appealing or tasted very pleasant, salads including those with mayonnaise were not in a chilled cabinet and I suspect whet from restaurant to fridge and back to restaurant, that said food is a personal preference however the constant rushing to the toilet by my partner was not his preference.

Entertainment mmmm was there any ok I'm being harsh a man and his keyboard and Turkish night but that's it.

Hotel was quite a walk from anywhere and the complimentary bus never seemed to appear at the times stated so with the lack of eating and the miles of walking I probably returned back to the uk - a dress size and the fittest I have ever been so not all bad.

On the whole we paid peanuts so expectations were not high, which was probably just as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Litlebink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Me and my wife booked this online, and apart from feeling a bit hesitant driving up a dirt track to the hotel (the minibus took a shortcut) we arrived late at night and were offered a hot meal after check in which was appreciated.
The hotel was clean, and with it being small (93 rooms) wasn't crowded. The kemer/antalya area of Turkey caters far more for eastern European visitors so English is relatively poor. We never found any problems with the staff though.
The hotel entertainment is pretty non-existent apart from Turkish Night, with 40 minutes of dancing and truly awful singer. This "singer" also makes an appearance on a Thursday night and he is akin to a dying cat. Drunk Russians love it though. Other than these 2 nights there is no entertainment at the hotel, which didn;t bother us - we just walked into town most nights.
The food was ok - repetative but edible. Only main gripe is.... you get 5 hot options per lunch/dinner (apart from a varying BBQ option at dinner) and about 30 salad options.... and the processed meat was truly horrendous!!! But we ate well, and I love salad, so had no issues with the food. Some of the BBQ options were brilliant...
The bar staff were all friendly enough, and the pool was, well, a pool. You can go for a Turkish bath/massage within the hotel. My advice is don;t bother, as it doesn't compare to a proper massage. But make use of the sauna as its all included. If you want a sun lounger, grab one in the morning... part of the terrace around the pool doesn;t get sun until afternoon so you need to be early to avoid missing out.
In summary, we enjoyed our stay but would book elsewhere in future, it didn't cater too well for UK visitors and the food was salad heavy. But we got good value for money, and if you want some down time in friendly, clean, safe surroundings, then don;t be put off.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade as soon as possible - our room was on ground floor with no view (it didn't bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beelzebozo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is brilliant.

If you would like a relaxing, quiet break with picturesque views and warm weather in a spotlessly clean hotel with great staff, book this place without hesitation.

However, if all you want to do is whine that they don't do a full English and there aren't any chips, then may I recommend Blackpool?

We booked this hotel due to its reviews and were not disappointed. We arrived late after our flight was delayed and our transfer took a long time (if we return we would book a private transfer). We were greeted by our names as we were the last guests to arrive. We were given a huge plate of food and a glass of beer, which was amazing, especially after travelling for so long and the delays etc.

We got up to our room and were amazed at how spotless the place is. I mean SPOTLESS. Every surface was clean and dust free, the rooms are well kept and spacious unless for some reason you need room to hold some kind of conference or line dance or whatever. Towels, hair dryer and soap are all provided and the bed sheets are arranged into pretty patterns.

We went for breakfast on the first day and were greeted with lots of choice (the same goes for lunch and dinner) I will say that there was no fried breakfast option but as I don't eat that everyday at home I don't expect it everyday on holiday. There were plenty of things to eat such as toast, cereal, rice pudding (tasted awesome) and lots of bread/pastry and salads. The Turkish bread is wonderful. I cannot recommend it enough (although make sure you pick up the butter and not the rose jam as I did...)

We caught the free bus into town to investigate. the town is a pleasant area of shops and cafes, nothing to complain about - everything you can possibly need. We saw the marina and booked a very reasonable trip to the aqua park (it's worth a visit)

Back at the hotel we were greeted by more food and drink!

We spent most days by the pool which was lovely and relaxing, the staff cleaned constantly around us, the bar staff were polite and smiling (it's amazing what a please and thank you can do)

The Turkish night and the live music nights were good. People did mention a lack of entertainment, however as we made friends we didn't need it - evenings were great without it and its a wonder what a seemingly endless supply of very strong gin and tonics can do for international relations.

Other guests - the only issue we had was that the Russians as a whole didn't speak (although we did get them dancing) but we did have a small issue with some British guests who felt that this was not their type of place. But we had gone on holiday to enjoy ourselves so we soon gravitated towards other guests with a similar mindset, be they British, Dutch, German or Norwegian.

Evening meals are also good, there are good selections of hot and cold foods as well as a grill option cooked by the chef at poolside. One of the highlights of the week were chili and garlic vegetable noodles which were absolutely amazing. Again if you need everything to be compatible with chips, you might be disappointed, but if like myself you like Mediterranean and middle eastern cuisine you'll be more than happy with everything available. We only ate out once (other than when on trips) and that was because we were already out in town and wouldn't make it back for lunch. I think that is testament to how good the food is, as on previous all inclusive holidays we have often gotten bored with the selection/quality and resorted to eating out.

Wi-fi is available, as are pool towels all free of charge.

One thing to say is that we would probably not return to Kemer, simply because it doesn't have enough to do for us, however if we could move this hotel to other areas we would be very happy people.

Overall, a great holiday - good hotel, good food, good staff and met some great people.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lourich30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our wonderful haven.

My husband and I searched high and low for our 1st holiday ever in turkey. We were very apprehensive of most of the hotels that we saw on trip advisor due to the photos of electric wiring hanging loose and bad reviews, but we made up our mind Turkey it was. After 3 weeks (evenings) searching for a hotel which would have all the attributes that we wanted from a holiday we came across The Grand Viking Hotel in Kemer, so we booked it… and off we went.

Transfer: We flew in to Turkey and met our mini bus which was to transfer us to our hotel. I was glad it was a mini bus and not a coach, I knew then we would not have too many drop offs. We dropped off people at grand hotels which were on a complex type holiday, large grand and unwelcoming with security guards on. Then we arrived at ours, we knew it would be a long journey as we went out of busy Turkey for a more relaxing holiday, we choose it because of this, it took about 2 hours to get to our destination. We were greeted by a friendly guy on reception at 3am in the morning; we were shown to our room and gave us a bottle of water. Nice enough welcome.

The room, room number 410, was pleasantly surprising it was clean and a patio door leading on to our balcony with chairs and tables… oh and a useful drying airier for your clothes, we also had a fridge, and a hairdryer and clean shower room. All very adequate .We overlooked the swimming pool area and of course the wonderful Taurus Mountains. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels. The air conditioning was free and worked very well. There was plenty of room for us two, as it was a large bedroom, not a living room. We couldn’t see much outside that night as it was dark. On wakening up on our first morning I threw open the patio door… The stunning views of the mountains were the first I saw. The heat was another factor at 28c reaching over the days to 30c in late October and the large pool area.

Food: We went for breakfast as a newbie… and saw the massive array of different foods for breakfast, a man making fresh omelettes or fried eggs, lots of cereals, salads, fruit, meat, cheeses, there was something there for everyone. They actually had a rice pudding for breakfast which I tried and loved and hoped it would be there every day. We tried everything, as you should when you are experiencing different cultures in a different country, why on earth would you expect English food in turkey!!! again lots of different choice. You had after noon tea and cookies at about 5pm and dinner at 7pm. There was a wonderful pancake lady who made fresh pancakes all day long at your request, sweet or savoury. My husband liked the potato cheese and chilli ones. Dinner you can dress up or not up to you. There was always something being cooked outside, in the evening on a grill, fish, stir fry, curry or kebabs, burgers plus a massive selection inside. We never got tired of the menu. There was also coffee, hot chocolate and a very wide selection of different teas on tap all day. Oh the staff and owners all had the same food as we ate… doesn’t that say something!

Pool: yes people put towels on their pool loungers, but as it is not an over crowded hotel, and not everyone was in the hotel grounds as they were on excursions or out there is enough for everyone. I read a whole book in the 10 days I was there, bliss. I swam in the un crowded pool everyday to keep cool, and to work off all those beautiful cakes and puddings and pancakes that I had eaten, we basked in the sun chatting to people, reading, listening to the very relaxing music that was playing.

Town: We walked to the town which was about a 15 minute walk through some beautiful houses with gorgeous colour flowers, and scenery. Someone mentioned that you walked through a housing estate, actually the majority are smart rented holiday apartments situated in the most scenic of areas, very well kept and we noticed how very nice and clean the area was. The town was typical of any holiday resort, restaurants, and shops with so many bargains to be had. We booked a boat trip in town from a tour operator, which stopped at 3 destinations. Which was out of this world and I will remark on this separately.

Russians, Germans, Dutch: Yes we were in the minority as there was Russians, Germans and Dutch, if you smile people they will smile back and as much as Russians can be rather sombre, it is a great achievement when you get smiles back and them trying to converse with you. Even if it is just a smile you get when you walk pass, or a nod of the head acknowledgement that is something. We had a great time with our fellow guests from all nations. We hadn’t come to turkey to moan, we had come to enjoy.

Staff: was fabulous and couldn’t do enough for us, we had a lot of friendly banter with them, and they gave it back. They work long hours in the heat and they all did a wonderful job. Well done to each and every one of you!

There are free excursions to the beach and market from the hotel (check the time table) although you could walk there. The beach was clean and not over crowded, crystal clear waters that you could see little fish, although we were told that it was not inclusive there, but we didn’t mind at all. We had had a massive breakfast, so we weren’t going to starve. If we wanted something we would have paid for it, everything is very cheap in comparrisment to countries in the EU. There are markets on two specific days and the clothes market is not too be missed, bargains to be had, and very good quality material. Just check the stitching on some garments though.

Evening entertainment was twice a week and was very good, we made our own entertainment the other nights, playing cards drinking a lot of G&T also laughing, dancing and talking with all nations there. We even had a few Russians up dancing!!

We climbed a mountain 6km there and 6km back, but I would recommend it as the views from the top are spectacular and worth taking your camera up.

We got speaking the manager of this family run hotel and we asked him questions about culture and the founder of turkey, and you could see his delight that we were taking interest. We had good conversations with him, his mobile kept ringing in his pocket, but he just ignored it to continuing speaking with us. Very polite, courteous man (Ali) I could have spoken to him for days, so interesting.

The massage, sauna and Turkish bath is an experience you have to do. We had this at the hotel and highly recommend being pampered from head to toe for such a reasonable fee. It can be quite intimate, but it is all part of the experience.

Over all everything was above our expectations, the only people that moaned were unfortunately some of the British. My word of advice is, don’t go to another country

Room Tip: The room we had was number 410 was facing the swimming pool on the 4th floor and looking straight ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank val T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Sorry about the title but i do find this hotel hard to explain. We travelled out on the 29th September for two weeks. The Grand Viking is a very nice clean hotel. It has good staff, good food and reasonable facilities. The view from our room (302) was very nice looking up at the Taurus mountains and the balcony was quite large. It was cleaned daily and had the usual TV, Air Con, hair drier, and fridge etc. The all-inclusive package was the normal for Turkey with drinks being very limited in the spirits range(Gin Vodka Raki and beer) The food was the normal buffet style but it did have quite a good range to cater for its varied guests. Its location however isn’t brilliant it’s as though it’s on a housing estate of apartments about a twenty minute walk into the town centre. That said the hotel provides a free bus service to and from the beach and the town centre (check times though) so you don’t have to walk so they have also covered that base.The Hotel has its own private beach but you do have to buy your drinks and food their which was made clear so no problem. The problems i had weren’t really the hotels fault as it was the guests from Russia and some of the Balkan countries who i found objectionable (Bad manners to be polite) the other guests from Germany, Denmark, Belgium, Holland etc. were all fine and did have the same problems as myself. It’s a shame really as I liked the hotel package with the exception of location and the guests I encountered. I have to say I wouldn’t go back here but at the same time I wouldn’t either put anyone off from going, or argue with those that loved the place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank HonestBobWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kemer hotels
1.7 mi away
Lims Bona Dea Beach Hotel
Lims Bona Dea Beach Hotel
#146 of 288 in Kemer
122 reviews
1.7 mi away
Armas Beach
Armas Beach
#123 of 288 in Kemer
246 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Ancora Beach Hotel
L'Ancora Beach Hotel
#40 of 288 in Kemer
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Havana
Hotel Havana
#134 of 288 in Kemer
75 reviews
2.9 mi away
Simena Hotel
Simena Hotel
#4 of 23 in Camyuva
434 reviews
9.1 mi away
Larissa Mare Beach
Larissa Mare Beach
#27 of 64 in Beldibi
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Viking Hotel

Address: Ataturk Cad. No:117 Kemer Merkez, Kemer 07980, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kemer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Kemer
Price Range: $49 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Viking Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Viking Kemer
Hotel Grand Viking

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing