We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel, nice location on beach, RUDE STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sensimar Kemer Marina & Spa
Ranked #120 of 284 Hotels in Kemer
Reviewed April 30, 2010

I stayed here for a week with my girlfriend at the beginning of September '09. We arrived later at night, tired after a transfer from Antalya airport. We were told that we werent booked to stay here but rather we had booked the apartments of the hotel. This was true and It wasn't our fault as the website 1800hotels.ie had messed our booking up. Anyway we stayed there that night and left to the apartments because we werent given any option at all.We were basically told to leave or pay extra. The lady at reception was completely rude and very unflexible.
I have never felt so un welcome in my life. I wanted to complain there and then but the manager wasnt available.
Anyway after 2 days in the apartments(bad location away from the beach, not well taken care of) we eventually sorted everything out and moved back to the hotel. We were offered no apologies and everytime I went to reception I felt as if they were doing me a favour by talking to me.

As for the hotel - well it is nice but design and decor is fairly dated. inside in the corridors is fairly dark. rooms are nice and have good views if you are facing the sea.
hotel located right on the beach and beside the park(cant remember the name, has lots of bars, restaurants and other hotels). Breakfast was fairly basic but nice. Although after a few days it becomes bland.
Nice big pool
beachs is stoney and the water wasnt very clean.
Not worth the money

I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brionnotbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Sensimar Kemer Marina & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 142 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2009

I cannot recommend this hotel. It’s not all bad though, and in the interests of balance I will start with the positives. It has a great position right in front of the sea, and it is very central so you can easily go for a walk around town. It has its own bit of beach complete with umbrellas and loungers. Part of the beach is sandy, but when you go to the water it is pebbled.

Rooms are a good size and sea view rooms have a nice view of the sea, marina and mountains surrounding the bay. The garden view rooms are more like road view as there is very little garden on the front of the hotel, however it is a fairly quiet road.

The lounge downstairs is quite pleasant to hang out when the weather is not so good. There is free internet in the public areas. There is also a nice view from the rooftop restaurant where we had breakfast, but I think in peak season they serve breakfast downstairs.

For me, these things couldn’t really make up for the rest. They asked us to pay for our stay when we checked in and if we hadn’t paid in advance I would have seriously thought about moving to another hotel. The hotel has a 5 star rating. I haven’t stayed in a five star hotel in other parts of Europe but compared to European 4 star hotels this would be at the bottom end of the category.

I agree with the reviewer who said the rooms are shabby. The hotel was last refurbished in 2000 and you can tell. The room was not dirty in a superficial way – surfaces etc were clean, but there were a lot of fabrics (headboard, bed coverings, armchair, carpet) and these were dirty in a greasy, ingrained, haven’t-been-cleaned-for-years kind of way. They were full of dust as well.

As we visited out of peak season they were serving all meals in the rooftop restaurant. Our room was directly underneath the restaurant so from 6am onwards we were treated to footsteps, scraping chairs and other noises from above as they prepared and served breakfast. When the hotel was not full I don’t know why they needed to use those particular rooms.

The food is an absolute disgrace. A hotel in this part of Turkey has no excuse for not serving fresh, local food. The food was low quality (as in, they used the cheapest ingredients) and definitely not fresh. Yes it was off-season, but this is not a good reason to serve the same plate of sliced tomatoes for 3 days running. One day we were served a bowl of olives containing the stone of one which had been eaten by somebody else.

(To all you future reviewers who are about to write that the food was fresh enough, go to the kebab shop down the road, eat their salad and then redefine your definition of fresh)

When you check in you get a coupon which you can redeem for a beach towel (so they can check that you give it back when you check out). You can only get your towel during certain times so if you want to go for an early swim make sure you get your towel in advance.

We were given a coupon to try the Thalasso centre when we checked in, which would have been nice except the centre would only book us in at 10.30am. It seems to be a thinly-disguised attempt to get you to pay for a massage.

I also tried to use the sauna (at 6pm) but it had closed early. No-one was even slightly apologetic about this. (As comparison, in all other hotels I stayed in these kind of facilities stay open until 10pm)

I could go on but you get the picture. They are all small things on their own, but there are so many of them that they start to add up to the feeling that you are an inconvenience that they are putting up with so they can get your money. Basically the high standards of service and can-do attitude that is characteristic of Turkish service industry is totally missing here.

Maybe the food is better in the peak season. I don’t know, but I’m guessing they still reuse the olive bowls (and who knows what else?). For the service, if you don’t ask anything out of the ordinary and are just looking for somewhere to sleep then you will probably enjoy yourself here. Me, I would not go back

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MemberTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Great hotel, maybe not of a 5 star according to Western European standards but overall experience was really good. Location is its main asset, by the marina, and very close to bars, restaurants and shops. Fantastic hotel beach and outdoor pool. Spacious rooms with large balconies, very pleasant lobby, nice breakfast area. Breakfast itself was good with plenty of differentt kinds of food however sometimes a bit tasteless. Staff was generally helpful and nice. They had no issues with bringing your own drinks to the hotel beach, although try the bar as well - it is not overpriced at all. Food in particular seemed even cheap as for Kemer. Also, there's an absolutely amazing roof top restaurant... a must if you fancy a romantic dinner... beautiful views! If you want to relax, visit Thalasso spa at the hotel, which has a sea water hydro pool, saunas etc.

There's plenty to do in Kemer, great watersports, boat trips, jeep and quad safaris (beaware of the cheper options as you'll get what you pay for... quads falling apart into pieces and breaking down every 5 mins... ), nightclubs (try the one in Moonlight Park - Rai - it's good and as a Turkiz guest you get in for free. We didn't realise it the first time and they wanted to charge us quite a lot plus the boys wore trainers and the doormen would only let them in if they paid them 100 turkish lira!!

Kemer is a first class resort, although you will not experiece there traditional Turkey (if this is what you're after, better go to Lycian Coast and visit places like Fethyie). It has all you need to make your holiday relaxing while doing something different everyday. The only thing that was a bit annoying was that we were talked to in Russian whenever we went... only when we replied back in English we didn't understand they would switch to English... the language was never a problem. The majority of Kemer's visitors are Russian so that's why but they're not popular amongst the Turks at all. They are regarded as very arrogant and just not nice in general... but they leave a lot of money over there so there you go... Turks keep smiling and help them spend their money in their shops, bars and restaurants...and to make the Russians even happier they happily accept US dollars (also euro and turkish lira is accepted and these options are normally cheaper than the dollar but the Russians don't seem to mind or realise they are being overcharged).

Another thing worth mentioning is that once a week there's a market in Kemer where you can grab yourself a really good deal from shoes, clothes thru to watches and bags!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taysiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

My partner and myself just recently returned from an excellent , relaxing stay at this top class hotel. The staff's English was better than our Turkish,rooms were roomy and clean,fantastic balcony view overlooking Beach,Marina and Gardens ...fantastic buffet breakfast, therapy pool and free towel service for the nearby private beach. Daily passes to the nearby Aquapark were included..location very close to main town,could not fault it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OZZLEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Don’t normally write reviews but after reading some of the reviews before I went I wasn’t sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised and thought I would comment on some of the previous reviews. We also arrived early hours of the morning and check in was quick – the drive from Antalya airport was about 1.5hrs. Had a twin room, but in the morning the maid moved the beds and bed side table which was an easy job and took her all of about 2mins for her to do. A lot of the waiters in the restaurant don’t speak very good English but didn’t really find this to be a problem as all the staff on reception desk spoke good English. The main restaurant was ok but the environment was a bit like being in a cafeteria, there were a few tables outside in the open which were great but were difficult to get unless you got there as soon as the restaurant opened as everyone wanted to sit outside.

Our room was very clean and spacious, and the towels were changed everyday if you wanted to them to be – there was a sign saying about helping the environment and not having them changed every day , but if you wanted to, this was not a problem. There was also one small dark towel, which was by a sign requesting you use this if you had dyed hair – all the other towels were white.

If you are looking for evening entertainment this is not the hotel to stay at – the only evening entertainment we saw was a man playing a piano and another one the flute.

All in a all a nice hotel if you are looking for a relaxing break. I would agree it probably isn’t a 5 star hotel compared to other 5 star hotels in the world and probably more of a 4 star.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicolaLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We arrived late at night and it was relatively easy to get the key in the reception and hope for some rest. But we have booked double room and got twin room. There was no assistance with moving beds and bed side tables from the hotel staff and we had to struggle ourselves. The staff generally did not speak english, even those with name badge that indicated languages they speak. This was very frustrating, as Turkish is not the easiest to master. Due to this we were locked out of our room as reception did not understand our request for late check out.
Room was spacious with the great sea view, and nice balcony but was not kept clean enough. Bedding was not changed every day. Air con was great, worked very well. The bathroom was small, and bath chipped. Also did not expect to find a request to use black towel for hair in 5* hotel! The towels were not always changed.
Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, great cakes, good selection of fruits, nuts and cereal. Also some hot items. But same stuff every day.
Ground floor restaurant for dinner(=breakfast room) was ok, just like all inclusive buffet...
Hotel has it's own beach, clean with comfortable deck chairs and umbrellas. You get the towel from the hotel. Hotel swimming pool was small but very clean. Thalasso centre is something you must try! Good marks for this. You should receive your free treatment voucher on arrival, we didn't, and had to ask the reception for it for few days.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1HappyHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Nice hotel, quiet, good location, clean rooms, good food, nice beach.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fakeskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kemer hotels
0.5 mi away
Ozkaymak Marina Hotel
Ozkaymak Marina Hotel
#45 of 284 in Kemer
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#103 of 284 in Kemer
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Lotus Hotel
Golden Lotus Hotel
#59 of 284 in Kemer
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kara Family Apart
Kara Family Apart
#13 of 94 in Kemer
4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cekmen Boutique  Hotel
Cekmen Boutique Hotel
#36 of 94 in Kemer
8 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kemer Pansiyon
Kemer Pansiyon
#8 of 76 in Kemer
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Kemer Marina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Kemer Marina & Spa

Address: Yali Caddessi No 3, Kemer 07980, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kemer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#75 Spa Hotel in Kemer
Price Range: $100 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sensimar Kemer Marina & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turkiz Hotel Thalasso Centre And Marina
Turkiz Hotel Kemer
Turkiz Hotel Thalasso Centre Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing