We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with fabulous views, great food and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2009

This was my 3rd trip with Exclusive Escapes along with my girlfriend and I have to say that they have again delivered. Although its a fairly long drive (2.5hrs from Dalaman) its worth the journey.

The hotel is located on a peninsula a 10 minute drive outside of Kas. The benefit of this is that the hotel is in a peaceful spot, on the side of a hill with lovely views over the sea. The downside is you have to rely on a mini bus to get out if you fancy a change of scene.

I would recommend hiring a car for the full week as I think its a real shame not to get out and explore what this region has to offer.

I went in May when the hotel was not full and the prices were on special. Given what we paid I would say this really was a bargain for what we got.

We had room 102 which is at the very top of the hotel. Yes, its a steep climb up from breakfast (120 odd steps!) and about double that from the sea. This room would not be appropriate for anyone physically impaired. However, thinking positively it helped to burn the calories from all the great meals! ;) You could also park on the road above the room, which was useful to have.

The room was clean and well kept, with a balcony with clear views of the sea. The bathroom (shower) was adequate if a little small, with a slight design fault that meant that the shower leaked onto the floor a bit. (This really was a minor quibble).

The food at the hotel is very good. A decent breakfast in the main restaurant, a good lunch menu in the seaside 'hut' and excellent meals in the evening. Its not cheap. Expect more or less UK prices, but it is very good.

The staff were superb. Really relaxed and friendly service, good fun with a couple of jokers but always doing there utmost to ensure everything is to your liking.

Some people may be disappointed about there being no beach. I however, liked the rocky outcrops and the landscaped 'platforms'. The water, while initially bracing in May, was crystal clear, excellent for snorkling around. In fact, I never used the pool once, the sea was so nice.

Best thing about the hotel? My girlfriend and I pretty much liked everything, including a perverse enjoyment of slogging up the stairs.

I would definitely recommend a car though to give you some flexibility and make the most of your own excursions!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mpmickhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Deniz Feneri Lighthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 224 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2009

We booked this as a treat to ourselves. Some good photography makes it look very appealing on the website.

To be fair, we found the rooms were finished to a high standard - unobtrusive cleaning service, comfortable bed, hot shower, Molton Brown bathroom smellies (more to my girlfriends excitement than mine!). For me the USP had to be the bathroom's large window (with a fine mosquito screen across it) with opened fully, giving a fantastic view across the bay as the sun set behind the mountains opposite. As we weren't overlooked it meant one could stand in the shower before dinner, watching the sunset!

The set-out of the hotel mean you could potentially be hiking up a lot of steps to get to your rooms. Ours was easily accessible, but some of the more mature guests were trekking up and down for quite some distance. On the up side I expect their view over the sea was better than ours. That said, we still had a good view, with the hotel in the immediate foreground, but good panoramas over the mountains and bay below.

The hotel is certainly in a quiet area. The transfer takes 2-3 hours in the minibus, but they furnish you with a chilled bottle of water and refresher wipe for the journey. Little things like that make the difference! What it means though, is that once there, it's no mean feat to "pop in" to the village of Kas and it feels very isolated. They provide a free minibus shuttle service about 4 times throughout the day, which includes into the late evening, but of course this gets booked up, so you need to plan ahead and book your spaces. Any spur of the moment trips will need a taxi. The up side of this remoteness is that it is very quiet - no loud nightclubs next door. I think this is why it qualifies as an exclusive escape.

The remote location meant we found that we were getting a bit bored. With nowhere to just wander down to for a walk (see the location issue, above) we resorted to spa treatments for her (££££) and a couple of days diving for me. The local dive company they use was fine, and much the same in terms of price and service as anywhere else in the world I've dived. It's a quiet dive location though - the up side is that if your boat isn't full we just hop on their neighbouring firm's boat and go with them, and vice versa the next day. Be warned, The Red Sea this ain't. If pretty looking fish and coral is your thing, you'll be disappointed. However, they have some really really old wrecks, a great wall dive, and I sat and watched a couple of sea turtles digging around in the sand about 2m away from me which was great.

Part of the package included a free gulet cruise, which was an excellent day out. Plenty of opportunities to swim the in sea and relax in the sunshine.

The food at the hotel was excellent. In my opinion the evening menus were the equivalent of the best restaurants in my home city of Liverpool. However, they charge an equivalent price. If like us you treat yourselves to dinner out at the most expensive restaurants at home once in a blue moon, to have to do it every night soon racks up on the credit card. Of course, you have the option to get the free minibus into the village and eat at a local restaurant, and there's some excellent seafood to be had, apparently. But it does mean getting the minibus and therefore adhering to their pickup and return times. Once or twice a week they effectively relocated the restaurant down to the waterfront so you could eat by the sea, which was a very nice touch. However, mosquito repellent was the order of the day, as was covering your drinks to stop the bugs getting in!

The staff were very friendly. Porters carry your bags up to your rooms for you and back again. The bar man considered himself a bit of a legend, but he was always very professional in his work. The owners made a point of coming to say hello each day, and ask if everything was OK and if there was anything they could do. They remembered if you'd been on any trips and asked how they were etc. I know that sounds like they were harrassing and nosey, but they weren't, and I got the feeling that they were quite genuine about wanting to make sure you were enjoying your stay. Similarly, the ExclusiveEscapes representative was available on a daily basis to arrange excursions etc.

The coastal aspect of the hotel's location I had mixed feeling about. The reason is that although technically you are by the sea, it's very rocky - there's no beach. Access to the water is via a metal ladder, and I felt you need to be a very confident swimmer to venture out there really. If I had kids, I'd be worried I think (although it's not the type of place I would ever take my kids). Being one the side of a bay meant that the sun set behind a mountain/hill, and I'm a bit fussy - when I'm on holiday I like to watch the sun set over the sea! See the attached photos to see what I mean.

Overall very relaxing, high quality accommodation and service, but make sure you take plenty of reading material, or you'll come back very bored or very broke after paying for extra excursions!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jet-set_Playboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

We thought this place was absolutely fantastic. If you work hard and need somewhere to completely chill out and relax then this place will be perfect for you. A beautiful location, comfortable accommodation and great staff. The view is stunning and the facilities next to the sea are excellent - this is ideal for people who like to snorkel or go for an open water swim. The staff are well trained and professional - they are extremely friendly with a good sense of humour, but also retain their distance if you prefer some privacy. The owner takes a personal interest in the satisfaction of his guests. Volkan makes excellent cocktails - we tried most of his list and his Gin Fizz, Mojitos and Caipirinhas are brilliant! Overall, we can't recommend this place enough

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Booner76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

The Deniz Feneri is largely the province of Exclusive Escapes and so everything is understandably orientated to UK guests. The young staff are friendly and laid-back but one gets the impression that there's a fair amount of micro- management at work behind the scenes, hence the rather over- present manager and the resident 'Exclusive Assistant'.

We stayed in one of three waterfront suites, which are pretty much la creme de la creme of what Kas hotels have to offer. And they are very nice, but they also seemed just a little unfinished, with a tad more design than substance. The basic design is circular with two floors and a wooden domed ceiling above the bedroom. Waking up in the morning with the light coming through the floor to ceiling windows was a real delight. Less of a delight was negotiating the treacherous marble stairs down to the mezzanine bathroom in the middle of the night.

The downstairs part of the suite is essentially a circular room with a pillar in the middle. Not an easy sort of room to decorate, and in the case of the Deniz Feneri, their deigners plumped for a few small, taupe-coloured chairs, a coffee table and a convertible sofa bed. This was sort of ok but didn't create a particularly inviting space. It was also curious that such a high-spec hotel decided not to include CD/DVD players or a TV in any of the rooms. Wi-Fi was available but this was fairly unreliable.

The entrance into the suite is into what looked like a kitchen area. Although this does have numerous kitchen units, there is no sink and nothing in any of the cupboards or drawers apart from a small fridge which struggles to do anything meaningful as it's effectively in a sealed box. The hotel also perpetuates the thoroughly irritating mini bar policy of overcharging for miniscule bottles of wine. Milk for the 'complimentary' tea and coffee is also, unbelievably, charged for. Not surprisingly, the instruction "we would appreciate guests not bringing in food and beverages" was unappreciated.

The waterfront suites have a couple of balconies: one a small Juliet-type reached by an unusual walkway from the sleeping area; the other, a really large wrap-around balcony on the lower floor which ensures plenty of sun from first thing to sunset. The suite we stayed in (#3) is probably best for both sun and privacy as it's the furthest around of the three.

Food at the Deniz Feneri was actually surprisingly good although expensive (up to 27 YTL for mains and up to 16 YTL for starters). In fact, prices seemed par for the course for Kas restaurants but the inventiveness and presentation of the food was a cut above the more traditional fare of local restaurants.

All in all, the Deniz Feneri was an excellent place to stay for a week and we'd recommend spending a bit more for a waterfront suite.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

My friend and I have just returned from the Deniz Feneri Lighthouse in Kas. We'd travelled with Exclusive Escapes before, wanted a really nice hotel for a lazy week in the sun and found the perfect place. The hotel is lovely, with simply furnished rooms and the best views. We enjoyed watching for George the turtle in the sea below, lying in the sun and the gulet trip.
The food in the hotel was very good, and Volkan's cocktails were great. We had a really good time.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank amh2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Just returned from a relaxing stay at the Deniz Feneri Lighthouse. Not quite what we expected from a boutique hotel. On arrival we were greeted by the hotel manager who was very gracious and charming, he informed us that there was a complimentary buffet after we had been shown to our room. We stayed in one of the higher rooms No 202, which had spectacular views.
The buffet breakfast was very good, eggs cooked as required. Every member of staff was extremely helpful and every request was carried out with a smile. The waterfront area is a great place to sunbathe and have a dip in the sea (if you can avoid being dashed onto the rocks on your way in and out of the water). Clean towels on the sunbeds every day. Steve our rep was on hand everyday to give help and advice. Nothing was too much trouble. Best rep ever!!
Now for the bad points. The rooms are advertised as being minimalist in style? In these case minimalism means without those little finishing touches and luxuries that are normally associated with a boutique hotel. No TV in the room, our curtains when closed across the main balcony windows left the side windows uncovered. No goodies in the bathroom, ie showercap, shoeshine, moisturiser. Not even a box of tissues in the room. The cushions on the window seat were covered in a hideous velour type fabric. The bathroom was poorly finished, with one widow wedged in place by a raw plug!
The hotel bar expensive (Bacardi and Coke about £7.50)needed some artwork and object d'art to give it a welcoming feeling and the restaraunt area seemed more like a canteen.
The free shuttle bus into town is always fully booked in the evening if you don't get to reception before 8.30am.
However Kas town has some very good restaurants and I would advise anyone to take the local dolmus from outside the hotel into town and sample its delights. Ikbal is a very good restaurant. The blue house has great views and is very small and intimate. A lively bar if you can find it is the Hideaway, just off the main square.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paulo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

Stayed at the Deniz Feneri in September 2008 in a Waterfront Villa (No3). This is the ultimate in relaxation, low-key but attentive service, beautiful views, and absolute peace and quiet (they ask you to turn your phone to vibrate in public areas, and don't even think about playing music by your sunbed - bliss).
The waterfront suites are pricey but very special, best bit has to be the huge window by the jacuzi.
The only slight complaint from me would be the food - I found the evening menu just a little bit over-done, and would sometimes have like the option of a more simple meal. That said, it would be a great shame to miss out on the restaurants in Kas anyway - there is a huge selection. Our favourtie by far was the Restaurant Ikbal on the street just above the Sarcophagus. It is opposite the Blue House Restaurant - which is often recommended - but Ikbal is vastly better in terms of both quality and value, and owners and staff are charming.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank PappleManchester_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kas hotels
0.5 mi away
Lukka Exclusive Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
0.6 mi away
Club Capa Hotel
Club Capa Hotel
#37 of 48 in Kas
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#9 of 48 in Kas
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Hotel Tamara
Villa Hotel Tamara
#33 of 48 in Kas
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lycia Hotel
Lycia Hotel
#34 of 48 in Kas
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deniz Feneri Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deniz Feneri Lighthouse

Address: Andifli Mahallesi, Metin Toker Sokak, No:9, Kas 07580, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kas
#6 Family Hotel in Kas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Kas
Price Range: $128 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary waterfront hotel has sweeping coastal views and awe-inspiring sunsets which reflect off the water. It has an intricate design of natural stone buildings with paths leading from the reception area through a series of pretty terraces - past several pools, garden terraces and impressive palm trees - to either the Waterfront Suites above or to the extensive private waterfront below. At a glance, the cool combination of natural stone with red roof tiles creates the impression of a mediaeval-style village - but Deniz Feneri is rather more up to the minute than that. Thanks to the considerable efforts of owners, Gillian and Ozan, the contemporary boutique hotel offers one of the finest places to relax and unwind in coastal Turkey. With a quality of service to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Deniz Feneri Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse Kas
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse Hotel Kas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing