We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The magnificent Deniz Feneri Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2008

We stayed for 2 fabulous weeks in this wonderful hotel situated out on the Kas penninsular about 5k from Kas town.

The staff were terrific, the facilities second to non, the rooms superb and the food wonderful.

We stayed in room 102 which is right at the top of the many, many steps but the view is something else!! It's only a few steps up to the road though where the local dolmus passes on it's way into Kas town [3.5 lire for 2].

A visit by dolmus to the magnificent beach at Patara is a must, as the bus follows the scenic coastal road via Kalkan.

This was a return visit to Kas having visited the town for the day in 1996 when staying in Kalkan and, fortunatly, there has been very little change unlike much of the rest of coastalTurkey.

The Turkish bath was fun and a spa is a must for the ladies as is a visit to the barber [ the barman,Volcan has a mate in Kas who gives you the works for about a tenner].

I would suggest that this is one of the finest hotels in the med!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BLUEBOY87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Deniz Feneri Lighthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 224 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2008

What a fantastic holiday. We went for two weeks from mid June to end of June, hotel was great, amazingly clean and the staff really can't do enough for you. Volkan (barman) really is the nicest guy and so great to joke with, the hardest working man ever! First class service. Pool was gorgeous as was the restaurant, especially dinners on the seafront platform. I have never been to a hotel where every single guest was so friendly. The gulet day out is amazing, dolphins in the sea, great food and swimming. Kas town is easily accessible and tonnes of restaurants to chose from.

The only warning is there are a lot of steps at the hotel so not suitable if you have walking difficulties or young children.

Could not faul the holiday though, fantastic.

x

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

This hotel offers beautiful views and a bit of luxury in Kas. The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially the head barman, Volkan, who was always on hand with his friendly and cheery smile. Anyone visiting this hotel must try his amazing cocktails and coffees. There were just not enough days to experience them all!

Whilst the drinks were wonderful, the menu was very limited. We found more choice and better value for money in the town, with its array of restaurants and cafes to choose from.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank relaxed08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

This was our first stay at the Deniz Feneri, and indeed Turkey. We booked having read the reviews on Trip Advisor and the hotel and Kas lived up to our expectations.

The Exclusive Escapes team ensured that our flight and transfer to the hotel ran smoothly. We stayed in room 201, it had fantastic views and was kept very clean by the hardworking staff. We had very little contact with our representative, however the staff at the hotel were more than helpful. We found the waiters very attentive, particularly Musa and Hashim who made every effort to make sure that we were enjoying our stay. Special mention should be made to Volkan the Bar Manager who was charming, and made our stay even more enjoyable (his cocktails are also fab - but very strong!)

The hotel is in a fantastic location, the views are spectacular, in particular the sunsets which can be enjoyed from the bar and restaurant. The restaurant food was very good, however the portions were small, making them poor value for money compared to other restaurants found in Kas. In addition, the Waterfront restaurant was not in operation.

We made full use of the facilities provided by the hotel including the mountain bikes and Kyacks which were free of charge. We were dissapointed to discover that the gym is no longer in use.

The town of Kas is beautiful, a peaceful harbour with winding streets and a wide variety of restaurants. The Turkish people are very laid back and welcomed us warmly wherever we went.

We would have loved to have returned to the hotel but are dissapointed to discover that the price has doubled since we booked our holiday. We have many happy memories of our time in Turkey.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Worldtravellerz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

We stayed at the Deniz Feneri for a week in May 2008 and it was a brilliant relaxing break.

The hotel had changed management that year but you would not know it - everything ran very smoothly and the staff were just brilliant, so sweet and helpful and so willing to learn English, which puts me to shame with my Turkish!

The hotel was full of English people which was unusually helpful as everyone (bar one rude couple) was very sweet and willing to exchange recommendations for places to eat in town, which lead us to discover Natural -el. A charming little place which had apparently been mentioned in the Lonely Planet guide - all Turkish food and very good value for money! You will not go wrong eating here or in the hotel!

All in all I would really recommend this hotel - although the stairs could be a problem for older people!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank victoriag_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Following our fantastic holiday at this hotel in May 2007 - see our FIRST VISITORS review - we have just returned from our second stay at the Deniz Feneri. This was the first time that we have re-visited the same holiday location twice.

There have been a few changes during the year. We were surprised to discover that Alex and Burhan, the previous managers, have now moved on but were greeted warmly by new managers Nazim and LInda. There were some familar faces however and we were recognised immediately by several members of staff. The garden area is flourishing, the waterfront platform area has been extended to allow more guests sun-bathing spots and the previously uneven steps have been improved.

HIghlights of our week included - THAT view! We never tired of it.
The visit to the hamman - very relaxing.
The gulet trip - just 14 guests out on the huge gulet for a day of swimming, sun-bathing, fishing and eating.
Using the dolmus - for the uninitiated, this is the local bus that seats around 16 passengers but regulary picks up a very cosy 30 or more!
The jeep safari - we travelled over 2000 metres up into the Taurus Mountains for lunch at the Yediburunlar Lighthouse and then into the Saklikent Gorge before visiting the carpet-weavers.

The hotel was as excellent as before and it was soon obvious that the change in management has not altered the hotel ethos of providing a first class service. We could not fault the staff in their efforts to accomodate every request, Nazim is a delight and spent a lot of time with guests, Linda organised everyone very efficiently, Musa kept a close eye on the resturant and ensured that everyone was happy and Volkan's cocktails are truly a work-of-art.

Niggles? Well, the numerous steps continue to be a surprise to some guests.
More information about the safari trip would have been useful - its very cold up in the mountains in May, sweatshirts are required and if you go into the water at the gorge, you will get very wet!
Beware the cost of food and drinks etc at Dalaman airport. The food outlets are generally empty and if you check out the prices, you will soon see why!
We had a brilliant holiday and cannot be at all sure that we won't be standing on that balcony outside room 204 again next year!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sunscreen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

Visited with a friend lat July and stayed in room 302.

Highlights: the view, restaurant food, boat trip, spa treatments, turkish bath, service, Molton Brown goodies, relaxed vibe of the hotel.

Not negatives, but good to be aware of: entrance into sea is via steps and water is therefroe very deep, some rooms have lots of steps to reach them. The beauty of the hotel is its views and location, but because of this you will need to catch the complimentary mini bus or hire a car if you want to exlpore further afield.

Would highly recommend if you are looking for somewhere with fantastic views and great turkish food. On my recommendation my parents and one of my other friends are visiting this summer.
Every single person I spoke to staying at the hotel couldn't say enough about how happy they were with their choice and the service they were receiving.

We ate in Kas a couple of nights (caught complimnetary shuttle bus which was great) and hotel arranged a taxi for a group of us to visit Kalkan another night which worked out fine and was very reasonable.

If you are thinking about booking this hotel, do it now, you will be very glad you did!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anonomous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kas hotels
0.5 mi away
Lukka Exclusive Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
0.6 mi away
Club Capa Hotel
Club Capa Hotel
#38 of 48 in Kas
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#8 of 48 in Kas
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Hotel Tamara
Villa Hotel Tamara
#31 of 48 in Kas
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lycia Hotel
Lycia Hotel
#34 of 48 in Kas
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deniz Feneri Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deniz Feneri Lighthouse

Address: Andifli Mahallesi, Metin Toker Sokak, No:9, Kas 07580, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kas
#6 Family Hotel in Kas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Kas
Price Range: $128 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary waterfront hotel has sweeping coastal views and awe-inspiring sunsets which reflect off the water. It has an intricate design of natural stone buildings with paths leading from the reception area through a series of pretty terraces - past several pools, garden terraces and impressive palm trees - to either the Waterfront Suites above or to the extensive private waterfront below. At a glance, the cool combination of natural stone with red roof tiles creates the impression of a mediaeval-style village - but Deniz Feneri is rather more up to the minute than that. Thanks to the considerable efforts of owners, Gillian and Ozan, the contemporary boutique hotel offers one of the finest places to relax and unwind in coastal Turkey. With a quality of service to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Deniz Feneri Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse Kas
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse Hotel Kas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing