We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay at the Deniz Feneri Lighthouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deniz Feneri Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at the Deniz Feneri Lighthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

This was our first stay at the Deniz Feneri, and indeed Turkey. We booked having read the reviews on Trip Advisor and the hotel and Kas lived up to our expectations.

The Exclusive Escapes team ensured that our flight and transfer to the hotel ran smoothly. We stayed in room 201, it had fantastic views and was kept very clean by the hardworking staff. We had very little contact with our representative, however the staff at the hotel were more than helpful. We found the waiters very attentive, particularly Musa and Hashim who made every effort to make sure that we were enjoying our stay. Special mention should be made to Volkan the Bar Manager who was charming, and made our stay even more enjoyable (his cocktails are also fab - but very strong!)

The hotel is in a fantastic location, the views are spectacular, in particular the sunsets which can be enjoyed from the bar and restaurant. The restaurant food was very good, however the portions were small, making them poor value for money compared to other restaurants found in Kas. In addition, the Waterfront restaurant was not in operation.

We made full use of the facilities provided by the hotel including the mountain bikes and Kyacks which were free of charge. We were dissapointed to discover that the gym is no longer in use.

The town of Kas is beautiful, a peaceful harbour with winding streets and a wide variety of restaurants. The Turkish people are very laid back and welcomed us warmly wherever we went.

We would have loved to have returned to the hotel but are dissapointed to discover that the price has doubled since we booked our holiday. We have many happy memories of our time in Turkey.

  • Liked — Views, waiters and bar staff
  • Disliked — All the steps
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Worldtravellerz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    46
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
137
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

We stayed at the Deniz Feneri for a week in May 2008 and it was a brilliant relaxing break.

The hotel had changed management that year but you would not know it - everything ran very smoothly and the staff were just brilliant, so sweet and helpful and so willing to learn English, which puts me to shame with my Turkish!

The hotel was full of English people which was unusually helpful as everyone (bar one rude couple) was very sweet and willing to exchange recommendations for places to eat in town, which lead us to discover Natural -el. A charming little place which had apparently been mentioned in the Lonely Planet guide - all Turkish food and very good value for money! You will not go wrong eating here or in the hotel!

All in all I would really recommend this hotel - although the stairs could be a problem for older people!

  • Liked — The view, the food, the sun, the people - very very friendly
  • Disliked — The scary drive into the hotel!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank victoriag_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2008

Following our fantastic holiday at this hotel in May 2007 - see our FIRST VISITORS review - we have just returned from our second stay at the Deniz Feneri. This was the first time that we have re-visited the same holiday location twice.

There have been a few changes during the year. We were surprised to discover that Alex and Burhan, the previous managers, have now moved on but were greeted warmly by new managers Nazim and LInda. There were some familar faces however and we were recognised immediately by several members of staff. The garden area is flourishing, the waterfront platform area has been extended to allow more guests sun-bathing spots and the previously uneven steps have been improved.

HIghlights of our week included - THAT view! We never tired of it.
The visit to the hamman - very relaxing.
The gulet trip - just 14 guests out on the huge gulet for a day of swimming, sun-bathing, fishing and eating.
Using the dolmus - for the uninitiated, this is the local bus that seats around 16 passengers but regulary picks up a very cosy 30 or more!
The jeep safari - we travelled over 2000 metres up into the Taurus Mountains for lunch at the Yediburunlar Lighthouse and then into the Saklikent Gorge before visiting the carpet-weavers.

The hotel was as excellent as before and it was soon obvious that the change in management has not altered the hotel ethos of providing a first class service. We could not fault the staff in their efforts to accomodate every request, Nazim is a delight and spent a lot of time with guests, Linda organised everyone very efficiently, Musa kept a close eye on the resturant and ensured that everyone was happy and Volkan's cocktails are truly a work-of-art.

Niggles? Well, the numerous steps continue to be a surprise to some guests.
More information about the safari trip would have been useful - its very cold up in the mountains in May, sweatshirts are required and if you go into the water at the gorge, you will get very wet!
Beware the cost of food and drinks etc at Dalaman airport. The food outlets are generally empty and if you check out the prices, you will soon see why!
We had a brilliant holiday and cannot be at all sure that we won't be standing on that balcony outside room 204 again next year!

  • Liked — Location and fantastic staff
  • Disliked — Steps - Scary hill to the hotel!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunscreen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2008

Visited with a friend lat July and stayed in room 302.

Highlights: the view, restaurant food, boat trip, spa treatments, turkish bath, service, Molton Brown goodies, relaxed vibe of the hotel.

Not negatives, but good to be aware of: entrance into sea is via steps and water is therefroe very deep, some rooms have lots of steps to reach them. The beauty of the hotel is its views and location, but because of this you will need to catch the complimentary mini bus or hire a car if you want to exlpore further afield.

Would highly recommend if you are looking for somewhere with fantastic views and great turkish food. On my recommendation my parents and one of my other friends are visiting this summer.
Every single person I spoke to staying at the hotel couldn't say enough about how happy they were with their choice and the service they were receiving.

We ate in Kas a couple of nights (caught complimnetary shuttle bus which was great) and hotel arranged a taxi for a group of us to visit Kalkan another night which worked out fine and was very reasonable.

If you are thinking about booking this hotel, do it now, you will be very glad you did!

  • Liked — views and the relaxed vibe
  • Disliked — couldn't walk to anything else nearby
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonomous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2008

We had a lovely week here at the end of the season in October. Whilst there were a few glitches with our room (things kept falling off the wall in the bathroom, mirror was leaning precariously against the wall and wasn't fixed anywhere), we think this was due to it being end of season and Alex told us they were due to go through every room and fix them up in time for next season. The transfer was long but worth it - Kas is quite stunning and unspoilt, unlike its more pushier sister town, Kalkan!

The dog Daisy was a delight (we missed ours so adopted her for the week!), and the staff were absolutely lovely and helpful.

Our main problem was with Exclusive Escapes who messed up some of our spa treatments and had us booked in on the wrong days and times, as well as giving us completely incorrect information on our flights and check-in times so we nearly missed the plane.

Also, we did find that they were pushing their own trips to Kalkan, jeep safari etc - when really it is just as easy, and much cheaper, to do it on your own. Word of warning on the jeep safari - it's great but if you go out of season take something warm to wear and take a towel and a pair of shorts for when you wade across the gorge or you'll end up soaked!! We weren't told this and ended up freezing for most of the trip which did ruin it (it is also a very long day so be prepared, although it is very good value and most interesting). You do also get taken to a carpet factory on the jeep safari where they try and sell carpets and it is hard sell, but Mel warned us of that before we set off.

The gulet trip was amazing, well recommend it.

All in all, a lovely lovely stay and we hope to go back again this year.

  • Liked — very comfortable room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jaspas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2007

Just got back from a really lovely stay at the Deniz Feneri. Firstly lets get the negatives out of the way. There was a couple of wasps. That really is it!
When we arrived at the airport we were greeted by Steve who is the rep. It is not like a normal holiday rep as he is always around and doesn't try to sell you loads of stuff but actually helps around the hotel and points out places of interest etc.
When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by Alex who runs the place and we were instantly surprised by the lovely atmosphere and friendly service. The rooms were superb, great view and a good size, comfy bed, good aircon. How anyone can complain as someone has I have no idea whatsoever, by far the best room I have had on a holiday. There are a lot of great things about the hotel but by far the best is the atmosphere. yes the platforms by the sea are great, its lovely for swimming, the views are wonderful, the location is great, but the staff, management, and people you meet make it such a lovely place.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Wasps
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kernewek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2007

My husband and I stayed for only one week at the Lighthouse in September. We travelled with Exclusive Escapes and the whole experience lives upto it's name. We travelled to the Kalkan Regency previously but the Lighthouse was even better. The intimacy of the hotel, the whole customer experinece were exceptional. We were cared for by all the staff including Alex, Mel and one of the sweetest and funniest reps ever - Steve.
The food at the Lighthouse is very good but we always like to venture out to eat and Kas is a quaint, authentic town with a few good restaurants. We particularly recomend 'Saffron'. The food is international and beautifully presented.
I know that we will travel with Exclusive Escapes next year but I really do not think that there will be anywhere better than the Lighthouse. It will not in my view, appeal to parents with young children and to be fair I sincerely hope it remains a tranquil, high standard, beautiful place to unwind for like minded people.

  • Liked — View from the room
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kas hotels
0.4 mi away
Lukka Hotel
Lukka Hotel
#2 of 44 in Kas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Gardens Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 44 in Kas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mavilim Hotel
Mavilim Hotel
#4 of 44 in Kas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hideaway Hotel
Hideaway Hotel
#3 of 44 in Kas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deniz Feneri Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deniz Feneri Lighthouse

Property: Deniz Feneri Lighthouse
Address: Andifli Mahallesi, Metin Toker Sokak, No:9, Kas 07580, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kas
#6 Family Hotel in Kas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary waterfront hotel has sweeping coastal views and awe-inspiring sunsets which reflect off the water. It has an intricate design of natural stone buildings with paths leading from the reception area through a series of pretty terraces - past several pools, garden terraces and impressive palm trees - to either the Waterfront Suites above or to the extensive private waterfront below. At a glance, the cool combination of natural stone with red roof tiles creates the impression of a mediaeval-style village - but Deniz Feneri is rather more up to the minute than that. Thanks to the considerable efforts of owners, Gillian and Ozan, the contemporary boutique hotel offers one of the finest places to relax and unwind in coastal Turkey. With a quality of service to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Deniz Feneri Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse Kas
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse Hotel Kas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing