We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over promised, under delivered.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Over promised, under delivered.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our first experience with Exclusive Escapes and it wasn't a good one. Travel documents didn't arrive in the post. Travel booking details were wrong 3 times. So a bad start and didn't instill confidence before we even began our holiday.

The transfer is 2 hrs, (nearly 3hrs on the way back if you have a pick-up at Kalkan). Faultless and very comfortable transport.

The hotel is as described. Pool is unheated yet the setting by the sea is very good and mostly clean and very well presented. The turkish staff are all excellent and genuine. Sure there are lots of steps but if you want the views you obviously have to be on a hill so this is perfectly reasonable.

The Gulet cruise was average and could very easily be improved. Despite being a lovely, good sized boat and a flat calm day the boat simply went around the bay! Why?? After 10 minutes from leaving Kas harbour it dropped anchor and did the same 3 times. It is a lovely coastline so why stay within 20 minutes off the harbour! Crazy. There were only 2 masks and goggles on board. The lunch is good and relaxing but was not helped by an Exclusive Escapes sales rep talking about other places in their portfolio. Both ourselves and the other guests felt it was embarrassing. We were on holiday, not a sales pitch.

Breakfast is very repetitive after a few days. We ate at the hotel twice but found it was very similar food both evenings despite different themes. Quite expensive and nothing to write home about. Kas has hundreds of good restaurants so I'd recommend going there most nights. (Don't ask the hotel staff for recommendations, they aren't allowed to give any!)

Our biggest aggrievance is in regards to the room. We originally tried to book the Kalkan Regency but were told by the Exclusive Escapes Sales Representative on the phone that it was not a good room yet instead assured there was a very good room at the Deniz Feneri Lighthouse. We always stipulate on a FULL SEAVIEW and a BALCONY wherever we go on holiday before we book anywhere. We were PROMISED this was the case. On arrival this was not the case whatsoever. There is no balcony and the 'terrace' is adjacent to the main walkway, not exactly private! As for the 'FULL seaview' it is mostly of the buildings opposite! A more accurate description from there sales staff would be a 'Partial seaview' once you go round the side of the room.
The room is also cramped and badly designed considering the price you are paying. Tepid water temperature in the shower. (You also have to pay £10 for the water for the week! Sorry but water in a hotel room is a basic right not something you pay extra for. In conversation most guests complain about this, not the actual monetary amount but the niggling annoyance that it should simply be included).
We complained to Steve (the rep) to move us into a room like WE WERE SOLD ON THE PHONE and he said they were all occupied. When a room became available on the Saturday we were told we would have to pay a £50 admin fee! Shocking and instantly reflects badly on the company.

I have contacted them prior to writing this review and they simply say that we 'should have checked their website pictures after the sales team sold us the holiday'. They refuse to even slightly acknowledge we were clearly oversold by one of their Sales Team. No doubt they may try and respond to this review but I'm sure people will see through this as a company run by management that evidently don't put their customers FIRST.

You could argue we were unlucky to get that Sales representative but they are only a small team and I don't believe anyone should be 'unlucky' when you are paying thousands of pounds for a holiday!

I have no confidence in Exclusive Escapes and will not use them again.

Over sold and under delivered. Be aware.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank shortonfunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    46
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
137
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Wow, reading the previous reviews leaves little left to say! The company (exclusive escapes), the hotel, the room, the town, the people, absolutely everything was perfect. Yes it's a long transfer, but it keeps away the masses, and the vehicle is comfortable. The hotel is very tranquil, all rooms with outside space and all facing the sea. They include a hamam and a days cruise on a yacht, both superb. The staff are a joy, and we must mention both Steve and Kasim who went above and beyond to make our trip perfect. We don't usually go for package tours, and we don't ever go back to the same place twice but for this place we would break both those rules.

Room Tip: Watch the steps - it's around 180 from sea to the highest room. Around 100 from pool/bar to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mancopolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for a week in August 2012 and it was simply amazing! We have stayed in some very special places in the world and this ranks in the top ten for us. I did a lot of research before booking this property (as I always do!) and nothing whatsoever disappointed! It exceeded my expectations. It was a 2 hour drive from the airport, which was very comfortable in an luxury air conditioned people carrier, and I think this distance from the airport is what is keeping Kas a bit more upmarket and special. I guess the transfer time is stopping developers from building big hotels there. The best places are off the beaten track sometimes! Booking through Exclusive Escapes ensured we were looked after in style through our transfers.

The location was spectacular - the way the hotel is designed, perched on a steep hillside, might not be suitable for those who cannot manage lots of steps, but it really does maximise the views. Most of the rooms (I think all of them actually) face the ocean in a westerly direction, so the sunsets are absolutely amazing - every evening we timed everything around either being on the balcony or in the bar - which overlooked the ocean - just so we could gaze at the sun going down! The rooms are built to look like little stone cottages and are very pretty, with lots of Bougainvillea flowers everywhere (the petals were sprinkled on the bed and in the bathroom when we arrived, which was a lovely, romantic touch!).

So much was right about this hotel, it's hard not to write too much. Gillian and Ozan are just the perfect hosts - very friendly and charming, there when you need them and to mingle during a pre-dinner drink, but discrete at all other times. Lovely people. They have 2 gorgeous dogs that I would have been happy to have by my side all holiday long, but again, they are around for just part of the day - checking over the guests, making sure we are all there! Amazingly, they know who are guests and who is not - they can spot people who are not booked in and will alert Gillian and Ozan by barking (such as people who call in and try to use the poolside bar) it's the only time they bark, not a problem at all but quite reassuring.

The restaurant was superb - especially breakfasts on the terrace - very relaxing. The staff are really great - great fun on Turkish evenings and really friendly all through the holiday. Every single member of staff we met was friendly and very efficient. The hotel is small - around 24 rooms only - and as such has an intimate boutique style which we really loved. In a major contrast to some of the huge hotels we have stayed in, which I don't think I ever want to stay in again after staying here!

Our room was very comfortable, very clean and very spacious, with lots of storage space and mirrors. The bathroom was also spacious and beautifully tiled in natural stone and a huge plate glass window above the bath with the same amazing view of the ocean as the bedroom. The bedroom had almost a wall of windows facing the ocean with the balcony there, in the morning it was wonderful to wake up to the amazing sea view - I'll never forget that.

The pool was lovely, nice and quiet, with very few children, so it was peaceful. Great poolside drinks service. You could walk down through the lovely gardens to a bar and restaurant just above sea level, which served gorgeous lunches and drinks. There are areas carved out of the rock for sunbathing on comfortable sun loungers with umbrellas and we never had a problem finding beds available either there or round the pool. You could climb down steps to swim in the ocean and out to a pontoon, which was wonderful - particularly as the sea was incredibly warm! There are canoes to use but we didn't use them.

They have a courtesy bus to take you to the local town of Kas - too far to walk but just a few minutes in the minibus. Kas is SO beautiful, we totally fell in love with it! Not a bit like the commercialised areas in other parts of Turkey, it was relatively compact and the shops, bars and restaurants all of a really good standard, all lovely quality things to buy, great dining and of course the wonderful Turkish hospitality - serving Turkish tea in all the shops - was a real treat! We soaked it all up and can't wait to return! The town was lovely to wander around on an evening - a great atmosphere - and during the day it was equally nice, with a different atmosphere and the weekly local market was very colourful and fun!

Included in the holiday was a Gulet boat trip which was FAR far better than we ever could have expected! Nothing like the usual boat trips. We ended up going on another one before the holiday ended as it was SO good. A large yacht with only a small party, few enough to ensure there was plenty of space on board, but enough to make a good group for socialising. I think there was 9 of us in total on a huge boat! The food served on board was absolutely amazing - a Turkish banquet! The boat stopped at various beautiful bays for swimming from the boat, which was wonderful in the warm sea and we saw some turtles swimming near us. The scenery was beautiful.

Steve, the tour rep, was a really nice guy and very helpful in making sure we made the most of our stay in Kas. He was at the hotel every day and was so friendly, clearly part of the community and well liked by everyone there.

We only had one very, minor issue when we were there, in that the aircon in our room wasn't working so well after a couple of days, I'm sure we could have managed with it and wasn't even going to mention it, but while chatting to Ozan I did and he fixed it literally immediately! I'm pleased in a way that it went wrong, as it demonstrated how incredibly attentive Ozan was in fixing the problem so promptly, so I know if anything wasn't right anywhere on site, I'm sure he would sort it out swiftly.

If you have the opportunity to stay at this amazing place, don't pass it up - you will not be disappointed!

If you're reading this Gillian and Ozan - thank you SO much for a very special holiday! We are the family from the North East who surprised you!

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms nearer the centre of the hotel, as the views are amazing from any level, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Denez Feneri Lighthouse in Kas was simply amazing. What a setting! The staff was amazing and the all inclusive breakfast was so healthy and enjoyable every morning. The access to the quaint town of Kas every evening for dinner was another unexpected highlight and experience. Great variety of restaurants and shops to browse in. I booked this vacation via Exclusive Escapes in Great Britain. We followed up our 1 week stay in Kas with one of their gullet cruises up the Turkey coast for 7 days. Impeccable service and attention to detail! One of my best vacations ever!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FactChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Spent a week here in July but just got round to doing a review. Gillian and Ozan are great hosts making you feel very welcome as soon as you arrive. What can I say if you want a relaxing holiday with great views and food come here. Steve is absolutely fantastic making sure you are happy. Went down to Kas town a couple of times and it is absolutely great atmosphere good little restaurants etc. I must say Exclusive Escapes go one step further with their hospitality from the minute you get to Stanstead in the beautiful lounge onto the great plane food etc better than Ive ever had on any airline. The two hour drive from the airport is a bit of a pain but well worth it with the views and when you reach the destination. The rooms are magnificent overlooking the sea and absolutely spotless. We were given two beach towels to take home and they are not cheap and a lovely bottle of olive oil. These little touches make all the difference and I wouldnot hesitate recommending this hotel. One thing if you cannot do steps this is not the place for you but otherwise book and go!!

Room Tip: We had a room just by the restaurant the higher ones would be great but lots of steps so you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shirmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 and had a magnificent time at the hotel - the place was beautiful, the staff attentive and the food excellent! We loved our stay and couldn't fault it. The excellent night-time activities were greatly appreciated, especially the magical sea-side dining (although bring mosquito repellent!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We travelled here back in July and onyl just got around to writing the review.

About a 2 hour trip by minibus from Dalaman airport which was just about the limit.

The hotel is split into several little stone buildings built into the hillside. The whole build quality is excellent and it looks like its kept in first class condition. The photos on TA are spot on and reflect an incredbily relaxing and scenic place. Staff very friendly and always helpful. Food, whether lunch time snacks or evening meals superb!

We felt like it was a 5* experience for 4* money - fab job and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riverhouse95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kas hotels
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Gardens Hotel
0.5 mi away
Lukka Exclusive Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 44 in Kas
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mavilim Hotel
Mavilim Hotel
#4 of 44 in Kas
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#6 of 44 in Kas
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deniz Feneri Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deniz Feneri Lighthouse

Property: Deniz Feneri Lighthouse
Address: Andifli Mahallesi, Metin Toker Sokak, No:9, Kas 07580, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kas
#6 Family Hotel in Kas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary waterfront hotel has sweeping coastal views and awe-inspiring sunsets which reflect off the water. It has an intricate design of natural stone buildings with paths leading from the reception area through a series of pretty terraces - past several pools, garden terraces and impressive palm trees - to either the Waterfront Suites above or to the extensive private waterfront below. At a glance, the cool combination of natural stone with red roof tiles creates the impression of a mediaeval-style village - but Deniz Feneri is rather more up to the minute than that. Thanks to the considerable efforts of owners, Gillian and Ozan, the contemporary boutique hotel offers one of the finest places to relax and unwind in coastal Turkey. With a quality of service to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Deniz Feneri Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse Kas
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse Hotel Kas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing