We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even Better The Second Time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Even Better The Second Time!”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our second year running at Deniz Feneri Lighthouse and despite some reservations about going back so soon, we were not disappointed.

Firstly, the travel company Exclusive Escapes are beyond compare!
When we arrived at the check-in desk at Heathrow Airport we were greeted by their representative, which was a lovely touch. We were checked in and through security in record time, to board the Exclusive Escapes own BMI flight. As usual, upon arrival at Dalaman Airport in Turkey you straight away see the Exclusive Escapes staff, all on hand to quickly and efficiently direct you to the relevant bus for transfer.

I cannot overstate what a great start to a holiday this in, Exclusive Escapes make everything so easy, you relaxed from the moment you arrive at the airport. Also the local rep is on hand every morning to ensure everything is going well and is happy to deal with any issues that you might have. He is approachable, friendly and you feel like nothing is too much trouble.

The resort itself was actually better then we remembered, over the winter they had made several improvements, including a new sunset bar which was fabulous. As we found before, all the staff were very friendly and efficient, the rooms cleaned daily to a very high standard and the service in the restaurants excellent.

The beach are is fantastic, lots of space to move around, you do not feel like everybody is on top of each other.

This is a fantastic destination if you want to relax by the pool or beach. There are of course many options available for those more sporty types and the complimentary cruise is a wonderful day out.

The only downside for me is the food in the restaurant, there is not a lot of choice for those wanting just a snack and the price is excessive for Turkey, comparable to the UK. We however went into the local town, Kas, almost every night, using the free shuttle service from the hotel. There you will find countless restaurants all very reasonably priced. My advice, split you time eating in the hotel and in Kas. Certainly try on of the meals the hotel provides in the beach side restaurant, very romantic.

To summarize, a fantastic location with a great travel company, you should go!

Room Tip: Book a room in one of lighthouses
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    46
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
138
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We were looking for a nice place to relax and get away from it all, so booked a stay here after seeing it on Exclusive Escapes, who we also booked through. We'd never booked through an operator before so didn't know what to expect, but after our experience we would recommend them to anyone. It was a smooth and thoroughly enjoyable experience, from the helpful staff here in London to the friendly staff in Turkey.

Highlights:

- Thoughtful care package of travel guide, beach towel, etc.
- Easy transfer to the hotel.
- Room was pleasant, bed comfortable, pillows good.
- Good range of activities on offer (some included, some not).
- We liked the private rocky waterfront.
- Great staff, and the restaurant at the hotel is very good if a little more expensive than in town.
- Kas is a small town and much less touristy than Kalkan.
- The day spent on the gulet was definitely the highlight of our trip.
- The turkish bath was... ok.

Tips:

- Book one of the larger guest houses towards the water if you can. Be warned - the rest are up a very steep hill!
- Book a second day on the gulet. It's awesome!
- There is good food in Kas, but go off the beaten track to find the better value, and non-touristy places. Order chicken rather than lamb. For some reason the chicken was always better.
- The jazz night and BBQ are good nights to stay in at the hotel, and socialise a little.
- Book some of the activities! We tried the sea kayaking, which was fun. The sunken city was so-so.
- Book a car and explore the surrounding regions, ruins and beaches. They're spectacular. Do it when you get there, and through the hotel. You don't have to have it for 3 days. We hired one for just one day.
- Don't book a massage! It's basically an oil rub and a was real disappointment.

Conclusion:

Deniz Feneri Lighthouse is a great place to go and relax with your partner, though not really a place to meet new people if that's what you're after. It's the furthest hotel from the airport (2 hours) which makes it the least touristy, which is great. There are activities to keep you occupied, and plenty to explore for the more adventurous. Food in the hotel is pretty good, if a little pricier than in town.

All in all, Exclusive Escapes gets a big thumbs up from us, and so does Kas! We would definitely use them again.

Room Tip: Go for the larger suites nearer the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thatblokeDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed for a week in the summer and had a wonderful time. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special and looked after. We had a deluxe room which had an amazing view over the sea and was a nice size. The bathroom was fabulous with another amazing view. The food is brilliant if a little pricey. It's all cooked using the freshest of ingredients - the fish is wonderful and for the first time I ate really healthily (but yummily) on holiday and didn't put on any weight.

The owners and the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The Turkish Bath is a wonderful experience - you come out feeling like you have got a whole new skin!

Kas itself is very pretty with lots of lovely restaurants to visit. If you can't catch the mini bus then a taxi is not expensive. One night we missed our bus back and the owners of the hotel actually drove us home.

We like to travel and always say that we would never go back to the same place twice ... however I think the Lighthouse may change that!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DizzyNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Having stayed at a number of large 5* hotels all over the world we would have no hesitation in recommending The Deniz Feneri Lighthouse - it is not a corporate hotel and that is where The Deniz Feneri wins hands down. This hotel gets everything just right. From the moment you arrive you are greeted warmly and given the impression that nothing will be too much trouble. Within 24 hours of our 7 day break we felt completely relaxed - Gillian and Ozam are attentive but never intrusive. The Deniz Feneri team all ensure that attention to detail is maintained. Steve the Exclusive Escapes rep makes it his mission to ensure that you know all that you need to about the area and has a brilliant sense of humour. The rooms are beautiful, simply designed with luxury products and the most amazing views over the bay. Room 204 has a large balcony, great sunsets guaranteed. The bar has comfortable seating overlooking the pool, Oz the barman mixes the best cocktails and is happy to make you a customised cocktail if you have a favourite. Meals are taken on the beautiful terrace overlooking the infinity pool or at the waterfront restaurant. Shamin, Sedat and Emin manage to make waiting on tables an art form, their professionalism and camaraderie add to the experience - Ottaman night should not be missed!! The food is plentiful and very very good - Ozam and his team offer an excellent Al a Carte menu and the themed nights offer so much choice - the only concern is whether you will fit into your swimming costume the next day!! The Hamam and Spa offer excellent treatments; manicures and pedicures are done sitting in a huge picture window looking out to sea - Bliss! In our opinion the Deniz Feneri shouldn't change a thing ..................we will be going back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 499501Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Absolutely wonderful holiday had the most relaxing holiday in a long time. The free Turkish bath was unbelievable although a bit scary when you don't know what is about to happen! The staff were all absolutely fabulous very attentive and the hotel dog was the loveliest footballer in the world. We didn’t eat at the restaurant after the first night but the breakfast was very good, although I would have liked the smoked salmon more often. Kas it's self was a very nice place to visit, lots of good bar's and restaurants, the harbour was v nice and the people were one of the most friendliest we’ve met.
The hotel provided a minibus every night at 8pm into Kas, this was booked at reception every morning, unfortunately if you didn't get up in time you missed the boat......... sorry the bus.
But no worries there is a dolmus that goes around the peninsular at 10 past and 10 two the hour every day, we got it a few times when we missed the hotel bus. (Go to the top of the hotel, stick your arm out and you'll get a lift)
The spa was absolutely fabulous, we both had a massage which was one of the most relaxing things we did on this holiday and believe me was well worth the effort.
Although the beach is no olu deniz it makes you feel like there is one.
Thank you to everyone for making this a holiday that was needed.

P.S. To all you tripadvisors, there are lot's of steps we loved it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The staff are friendly, the waterfront area is lovely and it's a great place to swim. The courtesy bus only goes into Kas three times a day and is only a minibus which means if you haven't rung reception to book on it by 8.05am you're not going to be on it but the local bus goes from the top of the stairs at the hotel every half an hour until midnight which is useful.

The room was ok - we knew it was small and actually it was slightly larger than we thought - but there were design features that were just silly and have never been changed even though the manager told us they were silly. There were a number of issues with the room - only minor irritations - it just felt as if maintenance was not really being given the attention it deserves. In fairness, we were offered another room but since it was halfway through our stay, we decided to stay where we were. Sleep quality was only average as I found the bed very hard.

The hotel was obviously designed very stylishly a few years ago but that is starting to fray around the edges. The service is ok but the staff seem to run around looking busy a bit more than actually being busy. We were told by the Exclusive Escapes team in London, and again before we arrived at the hotel once in Turkey, that the restaurant at the hotel was the best in Kas. It just isn't - Bahce, Ikbal and the Nur Beach Hotel are all better and cheaper.

In the end, it's a pleasant enough place to stay, but it is lacking in character and atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank londub77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

just got back to uk after a week at this wonderful hotel and already want to go back !!!! everything about it was great !!! the food was wonderful the staff so helpful and friendly and the setting its in was beautiful !!! we will return soon .......paul and kathy

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kas hotels
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Gardens Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
0.5 mi away
Lukka Exclusive Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 46 in Kas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#7 of 46 in Kas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mavilim Hotel
Mavilim Hotel
#2 of 46 in Kas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deniz Feneri Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deniz Feneri Lighthouse

Property: Deniz Feneri Lighthouse
Address: Andifli Mahallesi, Metin Toker Sokak, No:9, Kas 07580, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kas
#6 Family Hotel in Kas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary waterfront hotel has sweeping coastal views and awe-inspiring sunsets which reflect off the water. It has an intricate design of natural stone buildings with paths leading from the reception area through a series of pretty terraces - past several pools, garden terraces and impressive palm trees - to either the Waterfront Suites above or to the extensive private waterfront below. At a glance, the cool combination of natural stone with red roof tiles creates the impression of a mediaeval-style village - but Deniz Feneri is rather more up to the minute than that. Thanks to the considerable efforts of owners, Gillian and Ozan, the contemporary boutique hotel offers one of the finest places to relax and unwind in coastal Turkey. With a quality of service to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Deniz Feneri Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse Kas
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse Hotel Kas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing