We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Delightful”
Review of Villa Hotel Tamara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Hotel Tamara
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Delightful”
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Having seen a few negative reviews of this hotel my wife and I were a bit nervous about spending our honeymooon at the Tamara. We had already pre-booked the accommodation so had a few nervous weeks before we travelled out, however we had no reason to be so concerned. The Tamara hotel is situated on the cukurbag peninsula of Kas and is perfectly located to be within easy access of the town of Kas and still feel like you are in the middle of nowhere.

The hotel itself is a series of apartments in two main buildings. We took a deluxe suite and the room was simply stunning. At 90 square meters and one of the best views I have ever had from the huge patio window looking onto the various islands surrounding Kas. excellent jacuzzi and lots of room to spread out.

The hotel staff are efficient and friendly and very keen to make sure you enjoy your stay, the food was surprisingly good and although choice was not huge (it was the end of the season) everything we ate was very fresh and very well cooked. In fact the food at the hotel was much better than that of many of the restaurants we visited in Kas.

The hotel manager Mesut was a particularly charming man with perfect English and was always keen to offer recommendations or assist with organising boat trips / transfers etc. Mesut runs a tight ship and I was impressed with the upkeep and overall demeanour of the staff anf the hotel itself.

I am bemused about the negative feedback that has been posted concerning this establishment, All I can say is that you look hard enough you can find fault with any establishment. This is why I felt compelled to leave a review. The hotel is a fantastic place to have a quiet relaxing break amongst 'nice people' and if you find the staff rude then I am bemused, either they have changed all of the staff in the past month or two (they haven't) or perhaps some people should look to the adage 'treat people how you would like to be treated' before commenting.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshYildirim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    44
    18
    10
    17
See reviews for
38
126
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Very disappointing stay in this hotel. Great location but unfortunately the hotel is not up to standards at all: no hot water during part of the stay, no shower (just a tub), waking up with the sun (no curtains!), ... All of this could be acceptable if the hotel staff was at least willing to discuss. Unfortunately this was not the case. Food at the restaurant was also well below average. All in all, next time I'd rather stay at the camping down the road than get ripped off again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MexBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVillaTamara, Sahibi at Villa Hotel Tamara, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
Villa Hotel Tamara now is brandnew
We are providing you the best holiday in your dreams with our new crew and new modifications in our rooms.
Kind regards
Erol Bozca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2009

This review could be misleading for some as we've just been there right before the season and as there were only a few rooms occupied I'm not sure how it usually is during the high season. Also being Turkish we were able to communicate with the personnel much easier and had an understanding of the limitations in general. Having said that I can easily say that the best time to go to Kas and stay at this hotel is definitely May or October. On an explanatory note Kas is about 2 and a half hours drive away from the Dalaman airport if you take a private transfer (it costs about 120 TL - €55-60). If you decide to use local means of transportation, i.e. a bus from the airport to Fethiye (20 TL - about €10 per person) and another bus from there to Kas (12 TL - €5-6 per person), it may take well over between 3 and a half to 4 hours. From Antalya, it's bound to take even more time to get to Kas.

On the positive side; as everyone seems to agree, the hotel's location is simply wonderful and the view breath taking. It's on the Cukurbag peninsula, just 5 minutes drive from Kas looking over the Greek island of Meis. It covers quite a large space for its sort, with a private beach (not sand) and two swimming pools with lovely lemon trees scattered around the premises. The rooms are spacious and the two rooms we stayed in (one regular, the other deluxe) had incredible views. Given the time of our stay, it was exactly the thing we were looking for; tranquility, peace and lots of sunshine. The personnel is friendly and mean to do well but as is the case for most establishments in the region they are just locals without special training or the know how of running a boutique hotel.

On the other hand, the rooms lack gusto and style, lacking character thereof. With a touch of a talented interior designer combining locality with functionality and comfort, the rooms could well be one of the focal points about the hotel.

Unfortunately not a lot can be said of the food. It's just sad to see a place, located in an agriculturally rich geography, is totally bereft of the concept of "good food". The breakfast is appaling. In Turkey you must really try hard to serve such bad food! just unbelivable...All we could eat was shephard's salad which could not go wrong as everthing is just fresh, though not top quality. Anyway, hotel management and personnel were very friendly and tried their best to please us even if it meant to go out their usual ways.

Due to its location and setting it should have been a top notch boutique hotel but sadly it's not. It definitely needs better staff and a food & beverages manager as well as a touch of gusto. Still it's such a beatiful and peaceful place and once you dive in the cool waters of the Aegean all your worries will simply wither away.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed in Tamara during the first week of October - a great time to go as the weather is still great and the summer crowds are gone. The hotel is located in Cukurbag Yarimadasi, which is a 5 minute car / cab ride to the lovely town of Kas. The property is right on top of the Mediterranean with amazing views of the Greek Island Meis. We stayed in one of the standard rooms that had a sea view - if possible, try booking one of these as not all the standard rooms face the sea directly. The sea water pool was very nice - the sea, which is reachable by taking the stairs down from the pool, is amazingly clean and there is some good snorkeling.

The service was good - the breakfast was not amazing, but adequate. We did not eat lunch or dinner at the hotel as there were many great restaurants in Kas that we wanted to try.

I would definitely recommend Hotal Tamara for travelers looking for a relaxing holiday by the Mediterranean.

  • Liked — The views from the property
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canbalci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

This was the second part of our holiday. It was said to be one of the best boutique hotels in Turkey. Before going there we checked the reviews in Trip advisor and noticed that there would be some problems. We booked a de luxe suit which was said to have glorious Kas scenery from completely glass covered room.But it was fake! The hotel is situated on a hillside and has a beautiful sea view but this cant be seen from the room because the glass of the room was screwed with plastic and there was no way to open it. We complained to the manager because we would pay extra money for this view but he did not even care. He simply offered us a standard room which we didnt want and he said 'If you dont accept this you can leave!' We left the hotel in one hour. We were very disappointed because such a lovely hotel doesnt deserve such management.

  • Liked — Sea view
  • Disliked — Management
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Balalayka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Just back from a week's holiday at Tamara. Having read some of the reviews on this site we were a bit nervous about what to expect. Whilst there are one or two small things that could be improved re the finish in the rooms some of the more critical reviews feel like they were written about another hotel.

We stayed in one of the suites and it was superb. Very big and spacious with magnificent views, a great bathroom and a jacuzzi bath that took no longer to fill than any other big bath. An attachment on the wall for the shower head would have helped but I can't say the lack of it detracted from our stay.

The bar and swimming pool areas were great with loads of space to sunbathe or hide from the sun. The area by the sea was a bit busier but we always found somewhere to leave our towels etc when we wanted to swim.

The manager and staff were friendly and helpful, with the guys behind the bar being particularly good. We had lunch at the Hotel every day and dinner a couple of times. Whilst the food was perfectly good this is possibly the one area where improvement could be made, not in terms of quality but in terms of variety. An authentic Turkish menu (if there is such a thing) would really take the hotel to another level.

One final thing, we went on a day trip on the hotel boat and really enjoyed it. Beautiful scenary, excellent opportunities to swim and a fantastic lunch of freshly grilled fish and salad - well worth it.

We will be returning to Tamara again and again, like most of the people who were there when we were.

  • Liked — Rooms and views
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RnBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

I confess myself to be nonplussed by the negative review provided by Robinhill. My family have stayed at the Villa Hotel Tamara 4-5 times over the last few years. We have found it to be exactly as described and everything we, at least, were looking for.

Firstly it is stunningly located with a view to die for. The buildings are sympathetically designed and provide equal refuge for lovers of sun and shade alike. The food is good - and indeed - has improved continually over the time we have stayed there. We always take Standard Rooms, on the basis that if you are looking for a holiday in the sun, there is precious little point in spending a fortune on a room you will principally be using for the four S's so to speak. We have always found the rooms to be enchantingly decorated and entirely "fit for purpose". Finally we have found everyone there from owners to manager to staff to be charming, friendly and totally helpful and kind. How often have you stayed in a hotel where you get a phone call half an hour after you have landed in the UK to make sure you had a safe trip home?!


I would recommend Tamara to anyone who wants an unforgettable holiday. Those with weirdly unreasonable expectations might be better off opting for Bournemouth!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Too many steps!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NickpmLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kas hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
0.5 mi away
Lukka Exclusive Hotel
0.1 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#7 of 46 in Kas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Gardens Hotel
2.8 mi away
Saylam Suites
Saylam Suites
#18 of 46 in Kas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 46 in Kas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Hotel Tamara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Hotel Tamara

Property: Villa Hotel Tamara
Address: Cukurbag Yarimadasi Aydin Koker Sok. Kas Merkez, Kas 07580, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kas
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Kas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Hotel Tamara 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In front of your eyes sprawls an endless blue atlas... An incredible festive mood, which is enlivened by the colours of nature ... A feeling that you've been missing, not knowing what it is, now gains in importance. Because you are where your dreams come true, at the Tamara. The happiness about being able to say, "What a fortune that, we came here!" Slowly covers you. Here you will have the good feeling to be among friends. On this piece of land that resembles heaven,we will make sure, thatyou enjoy a vacation with endless comfort. Make room in your mind for new happy memories. Because, you are not going to forget the Tamara for years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Hotel Tamara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamara Hotel Kas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing