We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but that's about it. Don't visit after season.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Club Barbarossa
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Amazing views and great location. Tasty food but the same every day. Poor customer service and hotel facilities. Staff can hardly speak English. Room standard 2,5 stars, max 3 stars. Hotel looks old and management is not great.

We stayed in Barbarossa in the first week of November. Location is very beautiful and piecefull but that's about it. Food is nice but Not when you have to eat it seven days in a raw. Breakfast is always the same. Three types of cheese, cereal, dried fruit, tomato, cucumber, lettuce, olives, jem, one type of white bread, tea and instant coffee (we've been told that coffee machine was broken). The only hot option is omlet. For dinner you have the choice of buffet (chicken, fish or meat balls from grill and mezes (Turkish sides). You can also choose dishes from the menu but hardly any are available. Breakfast is served btw 8-10 am, dinner btw 6-8pm, quite late so you basically starve if you don't have lunch. There is now one around during lunch time. We have attempted to eat lunch in the hotel but after waiting to serve us and not being able to figure out what's available to eat we gave up and decided to eat in one of the local restaurants. It's much better to eat in Kas where you can find a variety of lovely restaurants. After cancelling half board they meant to refund the money back via bank transfer that they never did!

Room standard is max 3 stars. We have paid for the standard room with garden view £400. We have been given a room with the sea view that costs £720. Toilet was broken (it was repaired straight away) but windows leak. It's a good size room with a king size bed but for £720 it's a rip off.

Overall is a nice hotel if you are looking for a quite stay but don't go for half board. It's much better to rent a car (25 euro per day) and eat in town

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBarbarossa, Owner at Hotel Club Barbarossa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2016

We have read the review of our guest who has been concerned about the quality and timing of our food outlets and some concerns about pricing.

Barbarossa's main attraction is its location. Of course attention to details, comfortable beds and good service are very important to us. Food is one of our major strengths. We have guests coming back year after year and enjoy our signature food. Options are plenty. We have 3 wood burning ovens in our property, three bars, and two restaurants. The timing of the buffets may not suit everyone but you can have food 24/7 anywhere in our property.

Barbarossa offers Turkish breakfast which may seem pretty boring for some. In addition to our cheese selection, home made jams, olives, tomatoes, fruits, cereals and more, pancake and variety of omelets.

Regarding pricing and room options. During pick periods, we are not able to upgrade our guests since Barbarossa is typically full house. However, during off periods, we choose to upgrade our guests since we believe a better room may mean a more satisfied customer. Unfortunately, this has not been the case for our guest.

We are sorry our guest did not enjoy the natural food and incredible setting that we offer. Of course customers have options and we are glad they enjoyed their time in Kas village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 541 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel is on the BAY side, not the SEA side (even though they conveniently advertise "sea views". Nice. Stay on the other side of peninsula where I have stayed before where views are better and management is much more thankful and thoughtful of your stay.

This is easily the worst management and reception I have ever encountered in 15 years and 38+ countries (even making Moscow hotels blush!). I am not much of a writer, but the experience at this hotel prompted me to want to let fellow travelers know what they can expect to encounter.

Examples:
Checking in: There is no reception, just an office right out of Barney Miller...not exactly a 'welcome mat' (which is fine). Upon entering, the 'manager' was on the phone, looked very irritated (this will make a reappearance) while on the phone. Upon hanging up, I offered my information: was not welcomed, was only systematically asked for passport, and handed hotel information and hotel ‘card’ (with no explanation of what card (not hotel key card) is to be used for, etc.)). No worries. Figured bad day…been there…

Second day: head to office to ask about bus schedule to go to Kas. Same gentleman (wearing same outfit) on the phone again. Waited easily 10 minutes (not once during 10 minute wait was I even acknowledged). No quietly 'Hey, I will be with you in a sec…', or equivalent...just ignoring. Another guest came and went (smarter than me to wait) in this time. The manager was literally pulling his hair while on the phone. I left to figure out the bus schedule on my own.

Second day, evening : once again went to office (glutton for punishment) and actually was able to speak. Upon asking for a taxi to be called and how much, I wasn't able to understand how much it was. After asking for clarification, I was practically yelled at with "Twenty Lira!" I was so surprised with the anger of the message that I stepped back. Wow.

Third day: avoided office.

Check out day : checked out early billing-wise but held onto my key to do some swimming. Another woman actually processed my paperwork. Said no hello. Said nothing.
When leaving the key to the office...same gentleman...not a ‘Hello’, or ‘Thank You’, or ‘Goodbye’, or ANYTHING. They are an angry bunch.

I would NEVER go back to this hotel with this management. Additionally, hotel itself is, as others have noted, is showing its age as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank traveler2012now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBarbarossa, Owner at Hotel Club Barbarossa, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2016

We are sorry to read about the comments by our guest. Our objective is to have satisfied guests (currently the number of comments below average is 3 percent.
We are working on making this number even less.

Regarding sea view or not sea view, it is very simple for our future guests to go and visit our web site. We have incredible views of the sea and this is the reason why many of our guests return back year after year, to experience the unique turquoise colored blue flag beach that we have. The hotel is composed of a main building (around 20 years old) and four villa settings (around 10 years old). Two more villa and two more apartments are added to the compound this year, to satisfy the huge demand we are getting from all over the world. We spend around 5 months of the year refurbishing the entire club space with a view to reduce the issues we faced in the previous year...

Every guest experiences our front office with large space (cedar wood flooring, custom made windows and furniture for the guests) to handle up to 2-3 parties checking in or out, or helping them with their questions. We appreciate some guests do not get alone with some of our staff. Unfortunately our guest has been fixated to the behavior of our front end staff and found issues with everything and anything that he was doing (the fact that he is wearing the same outfit the following day).

Some guests would like to have staff who would chat to them rather then attending the customers in the office or on the phone. We attempt to improve our front end service by having better trained staff and more of them. We are sorry that our guests was not satisfied by our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in july-2013 both in corner suit and villa room. Both rooms are perfect in different terms. Firstly corner suit is perfect for couples, the view and jacuzzi in the room are making your holiday exclusive. every morning you wake up to most beautiful view in Kas. Secondly, villa rooms are better for group accommodation. Every room has its own bathroom and has entrance to kitchen and living room. You can buy your own food or beverages and make your own food if you want. (even barbecue:) Stuff are really great and helpful.Especially Mr.Can from the reception was amazing, he helped us alot. And finally breakfast and dinner were excellent just like in real restaurant. Thank you Club Barbarossa for this beautiful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaglarZeynep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel was a great choice for our family. The room we stayed in was of generous size. Buffet dinner was unmissable, one of the high points of our stay. The owner (Sevki) himself regularly dined their and enjoyed the facilities as a guest. In fact I saw him take the cannoe out for a row often in the morning. Don''t miss a paddle.

This place is family friendly although watching your children is recommended, because the site is steep and other reasons. Our children of seven and nine had a wonderful time swimming, snorkelling and relaxing in the cushions under our chosen tent of the day.

The location is great because it is a bit protected from winds further up and around the promontory.

If I had any criticism it would be that some of the grounds need a bit of upkeep and modernising. But hey, what a stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last week. Firstly it has to be said that the hotel is nice. The location is great (once you find it!), with good views and access to a pretty 'beach' and clear water.

However, I have to agree with the last few reviewers in that the experience of staying at this hotel is marred somewhat by the attitude of the staff. The hotel manager seemed more interested in spending time fishing or kayaking than actually managing the hotel. This slack attitude to his job was reflected in some of the other staff. It appeared that the more senior an employee is in the hierarchy the lazier they could be. Personally I don't like to be constantly approached by hotel staff checking everything's OK, so the laissez-faire attitude of the staff was not a huge problem for me. However, never being greeted by any member of staff with a 'hello', nor even acknowledged with a smile is simply poor customer service. As others have said the level of English spoken among the staff is not generally high, but it's generally easy enough to get the message across in other ways.

Other niggles:
The mini-bar in the room had no pricelist. For this you have to ask at the bar downstairs! This made me suspect that the drinks prices were excessive. When I found out the cost of drinks this suspicion was confirmed.
No lightbulbs working on our balcony area, so had to get someone to come and sort it out.
One day at breakfast one of the staff was squeezing fresh orange juice and offering it to guests, but asking for room numbers, so I assume this was being charged for as an extra. Pretty mean.
Lack of privacy between balconies could be an issue.

The positive
We got a pretty good deal on a room, and the price was competitive for the area.
We were upgraded.
The room was huge and clean, although in need of a bit of maintenance.
Big, comfortable bed.
We had a jacuzzi on the balcony, which was unexpected.
Pool was very clean.
The hotel grounds were pretty well tended.
The 'beach' area was atmospheric, pretty and well-equipped.
Breakfast had a lot of choice, although staff were slow to replenish items that ran out.

All in all, the hotel itself was spacious and pleasant, and the location was pretty. However this was let down by the lack of a proper service ethos. Despite this, our stay was on the whole a pleasurable one, which is why I'm feeling generous and giving the hotel a slightly higher rating that the last few reviews.

Tips:
A taxi to Kas harbour costs 20TL each way. Reception can call one for you. It's too far to walk really, which may not be readily apparent from maps. We found that the local bus in the evening was full by the time it had picked up passengers from the other hotels, so it just drove straight past us.
Cocktails from the bar are a slightly eye-watering 25TL each! A small bottle of Efes beer is 8TL.
If you use a sat-nav to arrive at the hotel beware that it may take you up the road that the amphitheatre is on. This now has a road-block and can't be driven up. Use the other road north of this one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulCKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBarbarossa, Owner at Hotel Club Barbarossa, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

We appreciate our guest to take the time to comment on our facilities. We are happy to read about the positive aspects which may not require further elaboration. Regarding the minibar, the rate is identical to the one in the hotel and this is clearly listed in the room folder found in each room. The cost of the beer at 8 TL which we believe is very reasonable since the price of a bottle of bear in a grocery shop is around 4 TL. Regarding imported drinks and cocktail, Turkish government taxes the drinks extremely high say a bottle of Gin could cost over 100 TL. Typically, our guests have two for one during the happy hour, so our rates are much more than competitive. Regarding freshly squeezed fresh juices, we price at the rate of a carbonated beverage. Our fresh fruit juice bar during breakfast is priced at the same rete (5 TL).

Regarding the attitude of our staff, we employ local workers who are not very conversant in English. Most have enough English to take orders or follow basic instructions. We believe in a sustainable local presence so this is a choice we are making. We have smiling local workers which would probably find it difficult to connect with non-English speaking guests. Yearly, Barbarossa send 2-3 promising staff to the UK for 3-4 months (all expenses covered) to English Language Schools in a continuing effort to improve the communication between our non-Turkish speaking guests and our staff.

After all Barbarossa is like a stage. Every guest has different taste and personality. We attempt to discover the likes and dislikes of our guests and make sure they all have a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

me and my husband stayed in one of the Sea view rooms, right on top of the staff lounge room. It has beautiful views and the staff members were nice. The grounds were picturesque indeed. The major problem that we encountered was the terrible smoke coming from the staff lounge below through the bottom of the door to our room till mid night or more every evening (the staff members hangout there to chat and smoke during and after serving dinner outside) that caused terrible headaches and breathing problems for me. The bathroom was very stinky with mouldy smell and the drains were clogged. If the management pays attention to these two factors, it could be a lovely place to stay and enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pamparapanasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBarbarossa, Owner at Hotel Club Barbarossa, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

We appreciate the comments of our guest. Barbarossa is attempting to be a smoke free facility and based on the comments, it is in the making. We would have appreciated if our guest communicated this problem during they stay because nothing is more important then our guests having a comfortable and peaceful sleep.

Regarding bathroom problems in the room, we are looking to our infrastructure during the winter season to ensure such problems will rarely be occurring.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this comment. We hope we will be hosting in Barbarossa again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed in one of the villa's and not in the hotel. The villa's are beautiful. Large house, large rooms and every room has it's own bathroom. The hotel is perfect for couples. The hotel i snot in the centre of the city. But you can always take a bus to Kas.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Critje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kas hotels
0.2 mi away
Lukka Exclusive Hotel
0.4 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#9 of 48 in Kas
171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lycia Hotel
Lycia Hotel
#34 of 48 in Kas
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mavilim Hotel
Mavilim Hotel
#3 of 48 in Kas
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Capa Hotel
Club Capa Hotel
#37 of 48 in Kas
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Hotel Tamara
Villa Hotel Tamara
#31 of 48 in Kas
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Barbarossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Barbarossa

Address: Cukurbag Yarimadasi PK 13, Kas 07580, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kas
#11 Family Hotel in Kas
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Kas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kas
Price Range: $49 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Club Barbarossa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Club Barbarossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbarossa Hotel Kas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing