We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely good”
Review of Retro Bistro

Retro Bistro
Ranked #4 of 193 Restaurants in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Retro is located at the centre of Kas. We are opposite Bouganville Travel. Our specialism is cooking most of our products with sous-vide. This is a method using a vacuum machine to seal the food in air tight bags and submerging them in a water bath which has a temperature regaulator attached. The results are moist and evenly cooked food. 48 Hr cooked lamb shank, 8hr cooked beef burgers, 8hr cooked sirloins and 48hr Osso bucco. This season we are also making cocktails with our sous Vide machines. Limoncello is cooked at a low temperature to infuse the vodka, the results equal months of lemon flavour infusion in just 4 hours. Mint infused mojitos, bloody mary and grapefruit salty dog also available. Takeaway Iced coffees, teas, Smoothies, milkshakes and homemade lemonade. We also cater for our Vegetarian, Vegan and gluten intollerant guests! See you soon we hope
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely good”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Fish restaruants aside, this is the best food you can find in Kas. Burger is awesome and sous-vide cooked meats are lovely.

Helpful?
Thank Arda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    60
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great find in amongst an average field”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Secluded find hidden from the beaten track - limited street presence but great terrace in a small exclusive courtyard out the back. Good quality food in a great environment. Friendly staff, though service was a little slow. The aubergine creme brûlée and the Turkish coffee chocolate mousse were delicious. Good range of food from burgers at 25 TLR to full on offerings upwards of 60TLR. Drinks a little pricey but the dartboard was an added bonus!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“food looked better than tasted”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I visited this restaurant during our 2 week stay in Kas. I was slightly intrigued after reading trip advisor reviews regarding cooking techniques etc.
My original order for chicken wrap forgot exact name was not available that night. I decided to try the Otto burger a homemade burger cooked with cumin and various other spices, which was slightly disappointing, it lacked flavour although beautifully presented, the burger was cooked well ,but the fries which I would describe as oven chips were overcooked and very hard .
the dessert tiramisu was very nice any presented very well ( a terracotta plant pot).
The service was very efficient, the lady was very friendly and informative about the menu. Unfortunately I was very disappointed with the quality of the food and would not return. I felt the food was very mediocre and pricey for the quality of food that was served.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LancashireSunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“heaven for a gluten intolerant traveller!!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

not only is the food in retro original and cooked amazingly well, the staff is a very friendly and hard working group. you find yourself forgetting about the rest of the world while dining in this romantic backstreet of kas. however, the entry to the restaurant is on the main shopping street so it is easy to find, perfect!

as i am gluten intolerant myself i found the right place - not only do they serve gluten free bread with the soup, they even bake their own gluten free buns so you can indulge in a hamburger too!! i never came across such a place in turkey before, to be honest i never had a soup even in turkey because flour is so commonly used.

i highly recommend this place and even find the prices to low for the quality of the food served. this little charming place is guaranteed to give you an unique culinary experience!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elf s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Post-modern Chefs”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Creativity should be "sine qua non" in modern gastronomy for me.Owners of Retro Bistro (Zafer and Melih) have quite original and post-modern point of view in ordinary and well-known foods.I.e. can you imagine yourself ordering a tiramisu and receiving a pot with a plant in it??It is possible here!All of their pastas are handmade,they use modern techniques for making your dishes much more delicious ( like 72 hour-steamed beef).Compared with others,you may think that they are a bit expensive but do not forget that you eat quality meal,not fast food.So,it worths every penny!Because of cooking styles,maybe you wait for a while,but every good thing deserves to be waited in life ! :) Just enjoy the dance of flavours in your mouth...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MilenaOfJuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Retro Bistro also viewed

Kas, Antalya Province
 
Kas, Antalya Province
 
Kas, Antalya Province
Kas, Antalya Province
 

Been to Retro Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing