We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERSONAL SERVICE PAR EXCELLENCE”
Review of Medusa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Medusa Hotel
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed for a week and had a wonderful time. We decided to follow another TA contributor's advice so (after one night scouring the restaurants in Kas) we decided to stay in and eat. We could not have made a better choice. Apart from one night, we were the only ones eating by the poolside overlooking the sea. We asked the owner Peter for a Turkish selection and each night one of his two chefs served up a three or four course 'surprise' meal with fish or chicken or beef or lamb as the main course. Delicious! We sipped our drinks as we watched the other guests making their way out to the nearby town and reflected on how lucky we were to have our two friendly personal waiters on hand and they taught us some basic Turkish as well! Peter, his wife, Nurcin and his pretty young dancing daughter were very friendly, as was everyone of the hotel's staff.

At the end of the week we paid our bill and the food and drinks bill was very, very reasonable considering the range of food and courses served us. Breakfasts were ok, not great, but more than adequate, with a change in cooked items each day.

The hotel is ideally situated just a few minutes walk from the main centre. It has access to its own beach bar with sun-loungers with easy access down a ladder to the sea. We stayed in one of the end rooms; there are front facing rooms which give wonderful views. Unfortunately there is a building extension going up on the right hand side of the hotel which may cut off some of the view from these side rooms (which are slightly larger with a lounge area), but the view from the front rooms will be unimpeded.

So, nothing to complain about, just a great week of relaxation; little walks into town to browse the shops and walk to the nearby archaeological sites, then an afternoon on the sun-lougers with dips in the sea and then a welcome evening meal!

The journey to the resort was 50 Euros each way, not bad for a two and a half hours trip. Peter or Nurcin will arrange the taxi for you at a better rate than you can get yourself. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEDUSAKAS, Sahibi at Medusa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2010
Google Translation

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Medusa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 176 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2010

The Medusa hotel was exactly what we needed after 7 days walking the Lycian way.
Very comfortable rooms with a view to die for. The location was within easy walking distance to a.o. the harbour and the town center. Lots of restaurants nearby. We certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bangka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I apologize for the lateness of this review, some things I get to slowly. :-(
We live in a small village outside of Kaş and for my wife's birthday in May, I arranged for a surprise visit of her daughter and sister from Istanbul and a stay at the Medusa Hotel. Peter and Nurçin, the hotel hosts, arranged everything including the car from Dalaman airport for the Istanbul travelers. I secretly arranged for two suites for the four of us and both were facing the sea with ample balconies to sit on early morning. I asked them all to keep the visit a surprise and they and their staff were as secretive as can be. When our visitors arrived late at night the desk clerk used the "passport police" as an excuse to call our room and ask us to come to the lobby where my wife was duly surprised by her daughter and sister.

Our stay was delightful, the staff are courteous and friendly beyond measure and worked to meet our every need. The night clerk served tea to my wife, her daughter and sister until the early morning hours and without a complaint or lack of service. The breakfast buffet was more than ample and although some reviewers have commented on the repetitiousness of the layout, I have never felt this about Turkish breakfasts. Cereal grains, very fresh tomatoes and cucumbers, assorted cheeses, marmalades, jams and honey along with both white and wheat bread. A classical Mediterranean fare!

We ate at outside Kaş restaurants for our long weekend so I cannot comment upon the quality of the dinner or lunch but from what I observed the fare appeared to be more than adequate.

The rooms were extremely clean and the hotel was recently updated and modernized. Wireless Internet is adequate in the rooms, LCD TV, modern bath facilities, large closet and very comfortable beds.

The hotel has its own small beach area and a cafe/bar below the hotel and immediately above the beach. Sleeping at nights is very comfortable and in early May we used the A/C during the day but found its sound to be quiet enough that a nap was in order. :-)

As other reviewers have noted, it is a long walk to the lobby and there is no lift. The staff however went out of their way to meet and greet us and carry our bags and shopping to our rooms. Quality service plus and always with a smile.

Peter serves Likya wine at his bar and I have developed a taste for it so much that a couple of weeks later we made a visit to their winery and were treated to both a tour and a formal wine tasting. The quality of Likya red is consistent unlike some other local brands I have tried. I cannot comment much upon their white or rose as I do not drink them. http://kasadventuretravel.blogspot.com/2010/06/likya-winery.html

Try the Medusa, I am sure you will like it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobbittr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We chose the hotel because we knew Kas and knew that the hotel had a great location. We had a good deal on a deluxe room with a magnificent view.The room was good though rather smaller than we would expect for the "deluxe" category. We were surprised that in order to get to Reception we had to climb 56 steps: then a further 17 to our first floor room. This wasn't a problem for us but there were some elderly and partly infirm guests that clearly had difficulty managing the climb up and down. Anyone with walking difficulty should NOT stay at the hotel. The staff were brilliant, very friendly and very helpful. The hotel is managed but the duaghter of the owners and her Belgian husband, an archelogist who speaks several languages fluently including English.
The location is great, just a 5/10 minute walk to the centre of town and a 20 minute walk to a lovely beach. The hotel also has its own lido/swimming platform on the rocks below the hotel. The only downside that we experienced were the noisy A/C unit in our room and when we sampled an evening meal we were disappointed as it wasn't up to the standard of the restaurants in town. Overall though we really enjoyed our stay and would recomend the Medusa.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshwindbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

If you care about hygiene much, I think this is the right place for you. Bed sheets and towels are always very white and changed daily whether you say or not. The staff is very kind. But don't expect much about the breakfast, it is very standard. The other disadvantage of the hotel is, it has no lift. We had to climb to the 4th floor everyday, after a long tiring day! It is better to book rooms on the first floor.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebru06A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

This was our second stay at the Medusa and again it was blissful. The hotel has a lovely homely feeling which is accentuated by the friendliness and hospitality of the owners, Peter and Nurcin, and their staff! They were accommodating with all requests, no matter how peculiar ... transfers (very cheaply I add), paraglying, day trips, scuba diving, beaches, renting of vespas, etc. Nothing was too much trouble. And always with a smile. This August was unbearably hot (even the locals complained) but everyone kept everything in tip top shape. One could only lazy about - in bed in the air-conditioned room or on the loungers at the private beach! Had one dinner on the beach level which was generous and delicious (try the lamb shank and the fish)! And the view was to die for ... Breakfast at the hotel can become a bit monotonous with the same thing day after day ... but that is more a problem with our taste buds I take it. Kas is an absolute favourite destination! (but keep it a secret!)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brutalbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

This is the second time we have been to Kas, my husband and I just love it. The holiday was made even better by the Medusa Hotel, I loved the idea of the private beach area where the food was amazing for lunch and in an evening made into an outdoor restaurant serving such as Morrocan Lamb shanks. We made a pact never to eat in the same place twice of an evening which worked out quite well as there are lots of restaurants in Town. Our room was a Suite and it had every thing you need, lovely sea view, bar fridge, nice little sitting room area and very reasonalble in price as coming from South Africa it is difficult to travel to a destination that is affordable. So all in all wonderful holiday I reccommend the Medusa Hotel highly and we will be back in 2012.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kas hotels
2.7 mi away
Club Capa Hotel
Club Capa Hotel
#37 of 48 in Kas
267 reviews
3.3 mi away
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse
0.0 mi away
Aqua Princess Hotel
Aqua Princess Hotel
#17 of 48 in Kas
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Villa Hotel Tamara
Villa Hotel Tamara
#33 of 48 in Kas
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Payam Hotel
Payam Hotel
#7 of 48 in Kas
92 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medusa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medusa Hotel

Address: Kucuk Cakil Mevki No:61 Kas Merkez, Kas 07580, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Kas
Price Range: $50 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Medusa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Medusa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medusa Hotel Kas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing