We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience”
Review of Medusa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Medusa Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed for two days at Medusa Hotel and we had a very nice experience there.
Bedrooms are very clean, the seaview is just amazing! Service was great, the staff was very friendly and helpful... not only within the hotel, but also the staff that worked at Medusa's private beach in front of the hotel. by the way, very nice and relaxing area.
Breakfast was very rich, with fruits, breads, cereal, etc. The only thing we did not like is that the orange juice would be extra. Except for that, everything was fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tah_Ren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    58
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
36
72
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Medusa Hotel was a very good example of a basic quality. Especially the cleanness of the rooms and hotel facilities impressed me. The location is unbelivable and the view is amazing worth everything. It is also very close to everything. Personnel is very helpful and dedicated. The breakfast could have been a bit better however decent enough. The stairs are a bit demanding and need to be careful-for information of whom cares about that. the hotel also has a little deck used as a beach in the day and restauramt in the night which is very nice. One night we ate there and it was very romantic and the food was more than acceptable. So I strongly recommend this hotel and especially Kas!

Room Tip: Book a full sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeynbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed in Medusa Hotel with my wife at the end of August 2011 for three nights. The location of the Hotel is very good, 5 mins. walking distance to the city center. Like the other hotels in the neighborhood, it has a platform with lounges by the sea, where you can have sun bath and swim in the wonderful bay of Kucukcakil. Hiring a lounge and a sunshade is for free, but you have to reserve one before around 10:00 a.m. otherwise you may not find an empty one. You can order lunch and soft/alcoholic beverages as well. The staff of the Medusa beach restaurant is very nice and friendly.
Our room was a deluxe one on the third floor. It had a really exceptional view of whole bay and the isle Kastellorizo. However the Hotel has no elevator! If you are young and climbing over hundred steps to your room to third floor does not matter to you, then there is no problem. (Well, I counted them; around 60 steps to reach the reception from the street and 40 more to the third floor :)) We stayed bed and breakfast, the breakfast was average. The rooms are clean and have a balcony with great view if your room is on the front side of the Hotel. I recommend you to have a dinner at least one evening in the Medusa beach restaurant. The sundown is wonderful and you can have your dinner just over the waves. Try sea bass with mezes and raki, of course :)

Room Tip: The room should be on the front side of the Hotel, facing the sea. Otherwise climbing all those step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaptan_Bazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Location: very close to the center, but not noisy. it has its own beach (but it operates independent from the hotel, and you can enter even if you do not stay here).

Rooms: very clean, but tiny. the a/c blows directly to the bed as the bed practically occupies the whole room. The isolation is non-existent. When others in our floor closed their door, that woke us up.

Breakfast/restaurant: Contrary to the previous reviews, the breakfast is not that bad (yes the bread is not fresh, but for Turkish standards it is average). the restaurant was always empty (the menu looked overpriced). We only drank tea, it was overpriced and not fresh (Turkish tea is made fresh).

Staff: this is the worst part. They are not rude and try their best, but the receptionists do not know anything about the area. For instance when I asked where to eat they answered "you can eat anywhere, all restaurants are good" (not true). Then I asked when the ferry goes to the Kastelorizo Island, receptionist said only Tuesdays and Sundays (again, not true, it goes daily). I asked for sightseeing, receptionist advised me to go to one of the tour agencies in the city. Either the hotel changed owners, or the knowledgeable Belgian/Turkish couple were on a long holiday, as we did not spot them.

Transportation: if you arrive by bus, some hotels offer to pick you up from the terminal, but not this one. The distance is about 1,5 km. If you have heavy luggage, you probably need to get a cab. It will take you less than 2 minutes, but will cost you 8 lira.

All in all, it was clean and quiet, but the hotel does not deserve this price tag (75 euro per night). We stayed here because everywhere else was sold out. Next time I am in Kas, I will stay somewhere else, possibly in one of the pensions with a/c, and spend the money on daily trips instead.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graymountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This hotel has stunning views from the front rooms. One of the best things was the swimming platforms over the sea. Perfect location - 10 minutes walk into town. However there are a LOT of steps up to the hotel from the road and the rooms are very small. Very good breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Stayed here on a solo trip to Kas. Could not have been more pleased.

The rooms are very simplistic, but they are clean and the hotel is very well run.

But hey, you don't go to Kas for the Four Seasons. You go there to enjoy the natural beauty, the beach and the relaxed atmosphere. Could not be happier that I choose the Medusa.

Make sure you get a room with a view and a balcony.

Very satisfied and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonianGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lancs
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed for a week and had a wonderful time. We decided to follow another TA contributor's advice so (after one night scouring the restaurants in Kas) we decided to stay in and eat. We could not have made a better choice. Apart from one night, we were the only ones eating by the poolside overlooking the sea. We asked the owner Peter for a Turkish selection and each night one of his two chefs served up a three or four course 'surprise' meal with fish or chicken or beef or lamb as the main course. Delicious! We sipped our drinks as we watched the other guests making their way out to the nearby town and reflected on how lucky we were to have our two friendly personal waiters on hand and they taught us some basic Turkish as well! Peter, his wife, Nurcin and his pretty young dancing daughter were very friendly, as was everyone of the hotel's staff.

At the end of the week we paid our bill and the food and drinks bill was very, very reasonable considering the range of food and courses served us. Breakfasts were ok, not great, but more than adequate, with a change in cooked items each day.

The hotel is ideally situated just a few minutes walk from the main centre. It has access to its own beach bar with sun-loungers with easy access down a ladder to the sea. We stayed in one of the end rooms; there are front facing rooms which give wonderful views. Unfortunately there is a building extension going up on the right hand side of the hotel which may cut off some of the view from these side rooms (which are slightly larger with a lounge area), but the view from the front rooms will be unimpeded.

So, nothing to complain about, just a great week of relaxation; little walks into town to browse the shops and walk to the nearby archaeological sites, then an afternoon on the sun-lougers with dips in the sea and then a welcome evening meal!

The journey to the resort was 50 Euros each way, not bad for a two and a half hours trip. Peter or Nurcin will arrange the taxi for you at a better rate than you can get yourself. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEDUSAKAS, Sahibi at Medusa Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Google Translation
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kas hotels
0.5 mi away
Payam Hotel
Payam Hotel
#8 of 46 in Kas
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aqua Princess Hotel
Aqua Princess Hotel
#17 of 46 in Kas
221 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Cachet
Hotel Cachet
#6 of 46 in Kas
369 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Hotel Tamara
Villa Hotel Tamara
#24 of 46 in Kas
229 reviews
2.7 mi away
Club Capa Hotel
Club Capa Hotel
#30 of 46 in Kas
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medusa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medusa Hotel

Property: Medusa Hotel
Address: Kucuk Cakil Mevki No:61 Kas Merkez, Kas 07580, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Kas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Medusa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Medusa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medusa Hotel Kas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing