We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, late night, great service”
Review of Calamar Restaurant

Calamar Restaurant
Ranked #78 of 191 Restaurants in Kas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Crewkerne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, late night, great service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We ate here on the first night of our holiday so didn't sit down until 22.30. This wasn't a problem. We shared a mezze for two between four of us which was more than enough as a starter and were really impressed when they brought a lovely flatbread from the pizza oven. My husband wanted fish and I fancied a fish kebab - they were honest enough to say that this was frozen and persuaded us to go for fresh fish and again were honest enough to say which of those were farmed and which was freshly caught. We had a large sea bream between two of us which was delicious and served with generous helpings of chips and salad. The lamb chops and kebab were also good. I can't remember what we paid but I know we considered it cheap for what we had eaten - I think it was around £50 which seemed good value. The service was good, not overly attentive but everything you needed. It was a good start to the holiday and much better than we expected.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteHowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    37
    18
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing location, friendly service and good reasonably priced food”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The place I visited must be in a different universe to the recent batch of negative reviews. I admit that we have been coming here for the last three years and have got to know the owner well and make a beeline for the Calamar just because it's him, but putting my critical head, I have to say that this fantastically placed restaurant which delivers timely, good quality, reasonably priced, varied food from an extensive menu. What more could I want? (maybe free wine & beer, but even the Calamar isn't THAT good!)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Markxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“one of the worst places to eat”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Admıttedly we only trıed the Pızza - ıf you expect lıke an Italıan style Pızza, then DON'T order thıs one. To start wıth we felt that our pızzas were very under cooked. When we polıtely asked the waıter to send the pızza back to the oven for few more mınutes he dıd not look pleased. He brought one of the pızzas to the cook and we were told that the pızza was rıght the way ıt was.
WE felt unhappy wıth the way the waıter and the cook (who was ın our eyesıght) behaved when dıscussıng the state of the pızza and when returnıng ıt to us.
We felt ıgnored the rest of our stay ın the restaurant: When we wanted to ask for the bıll we had to waıt at least fıve mınutes untıl one of the waıters to look our way and then after waıtıng another 10 mınutes I fınally had to call across the room (whıch was nearly empty - there were only 4 other tables beıng served) to ask for the bıll agaın.
IN general: we wıll certaınly never go back to thıs place and we wısh noone else wıll have a sımılar experıence there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliandAnika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We went there several times and food was good, waiters were very friendly and helpful - even gave us doggie bags to take away food not eaten. It is cheap and cheerful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edinburgh1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selby, north yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't make a special trip”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We wanted something quick and reasonably cheap after a day on a Catamaran...and that's exactly what we got. The waiters make a fuss of the kids, but appeared quite pushy towards passers-by if they dared to slow down to take a glance at their menu board. The food is mediocre but lots to choose from. We won't be rushing back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livelife66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calamar Restaurant also viewed

 
Kas, Antalya Province
Kas, Antalya Province
 
Kas, Antalya Province
 

Been to Calamar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing