We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst plaice ever!! haha”
Review of Dolphin Restaurant

Dolphin Restaurant
Ranked #147 of 191 Restaurants in Kas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst plaice ever!! haha”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

On a serious note this place is the worst I went to whilst in kas.. We were told the fish was amazing so we had what was recommended by a guy who I assume was the owner and it was awfull.. Also it came accompanied by a plate of about 20 chips to share between 14 of us!! Literally could not believe it..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    35
    41
    28
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The worst restaurant in Kas”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was our second holiday in the Kas / Kalcan area and we'd had our eye on this restaurant for a while.
We should have known it wouldn't be good, the signs were there right at the outset - no fresh bread lady / frozen as opposed to fresh chips / everything served with the ubiquitous froxen chips and rice / fish on view not kept on enough ice and which sits there more than one day.

Bare in mind this was by far the most expensive place we tried (fish was more than double price of other places), the whole meal for 4 of us was very poor. At best I'd describe it as 2 star buffet type food.
As an example the calamari was very smelly (fresh good calamari should have little smell) and chewy and thick.

Everything was bland with no love, just careless bog standard fayre. Unlike some restaurants you get basic bread, with no little nice touches such as well presented local salad / veg items on the main dishes we had, it was just a lump of fish / meat with rice n chips.

We were served by various waiters none of whom had any propensity to be involved or build any kind of rapport. In other words it's akin to the feel of self service at a motorway restaurant.

When it came to paying, the owner did not even say goodbye or anything at all, he was just busy watching football even though we dealt with him personally when paying. Compare this to how he was when he was trying to drag us in the place - he was a slimy salesy all over us chap.

COMPARE THIS TO SOME OF THE LOCAL OUTSIDE OF TOWN PROPER TURKISH FAMILY RESTAURANTS WHICH ARE A LOT CHEAPER AND IMMENSLY BETTER. It's a shame many people don't realise these other places even exist.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morocinvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oh no!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We didn't go in search of this restaurant, we stumbled over it after a very long walk around the town. We were undecided by this one or the blue room next door, as we would have to wait for a table at the blue room we chose this one. On entering the restaurant we were taken to a table downstairs with a view out to the harbour and the town. A bottle of water was opened immediately without being asked and poured for everyone at our table and then a selection of mezes was offered, we chose the tomato salsa and the crab as the other dishes did not look inviting. After a few minutes we were asked what we wanted to drink and so ordered 2 iced tea. Bread came pretty quickly too, but it was not the lovely fresh cooked bread we had found in other restaurants. It was the pre baked variety. Our orders were taken very quickly but the fish kebab had changed from being sea bass to tuna. We then sat admiring the view for 30 mins when we enquirer how long our food would be and was told it would be soon. Another 30mins later and we decided that we had had enough waiting and got up to leave, paying for what we had.

The whole feel of the place was somewhat like faulty towers and the wait staff really could not be less bothered or helpful. We were prepared to pay the extra for the food due to having a harbour view table, but now reading the other reviews I am glad we left.

We made our way back to a previously visited restaurant where we were greeted with a smile and had another very tasty meal.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kerbybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“View/Ambience: the Best, Food/Value: Average”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Kaş is a beautiful scenic town, relatively unspoilt by mass tourism. For me the charm of the place lies in the many small buildings built randomly over the hills of Kaş, with ancient tombs scattered throughout people's backyards and even in the middle of roads. The Dolphin is built into a hillside and is split into two levels, thus offering a magnificent view over the harbour and the town.
The quality of the fish - which here is the main event - is excellent. Extremely fresh and beautifully cooked over good charcoal. However it is also very expensive compared with other fish restaurants in town. So, what the heck... you are paying for the view. If people can’t justify that to themselves then don’t do it. I know that if I was in Kaş with a mate or on my own, I would not eat there. If I were with a girlfriend or with my family I would take them there to enjoy the atmosphere.
One criticism that is not ameliorated by the view however was the meze. These were not especially good. The seaweed, or sea beans as the Turks call them, did not taste fresh, and the crab - well that was actually crab sticks! I sent those back straight away.
Anyway, you got my point I hope. If you want to have a grilled fish with a superb view, then try it out. But one wouldn’t eat there every day.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonviveurtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“3* &average may be generous”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The recent review by Duncan pretty much sums it up. His rhetoric, 'Don't be seduced by the view' is spot-on.

Like Duncan and his family we were 'watered' without question and the food and service were average at best.

Get yourselves down to Jimmy Joker. We've been there three times in 8 days because we've not found a more pleasant eatery as yet.

Have a lovely holiday whomever you are...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Restaurant also viewed

 
Kas, Antalya Province
 

Been to Dolphin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing