We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peninsula Gardens Hotel
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a lovely little place. It's small, friendly and relaxed. If this is the 13th rated hotel in Kas then numbers 1-12 must really be something else!

It is a fantastic place just to recharge the batteries. There isn't much - well anything - going on so the only thing to do is to lie in the sun; swim in the sea, the pool or your own terrace pool; eat and drink. That's precisely what we were looking for.

There's plenty of room to do your relaxing too. With only 18 rooms there was never any pressure on sun beds. Both the pool area and the sun deck are comfortable with waiter service but the Cabanas are the real star. They're expensive and we only indulged on one day but - well I'm, not a sun worshipper but even I stayed there for every possible minute.

If you want more to do and see take the minibus into Kas have a look around and try the great restaurants and cafes (tips: Maya Gardens and Kosk).

The one "event" at PG was a weekly barbeque with a decent singer guitarist. He got my vote for playing a good version of "Wish you Were Here". The BBQ is a bit expensive but delivers mountains of food and is a chance to be a bit more sociable, just the once.

This place is serious but not precious about its food. Presentation was always excellent and dinner became the main entertainment most evenings as we spent several hours over the process. They'll do you a quick pasta as well if that's what you want. Service was conscientious and disciplined whilst remaining friendly and cheerful. I've read a bit of criticism about the Turkish food there and I can understand that: the international menu was more inventive. I can well imagine that the chef (who showed up regularly to check that everything was okay) felt that visitors have certain expectations of turkish dishes when they visit so wasn't able to alter them. The bar/restaurant manager was very attentive and ran things pretty well but with a smile.

Our room was very pleasant and our deck and pool were fantastic. The level of amenities was okay and the cleanliness impeccable. We loved sitting on our sun beds either first thing or at sunset looking out over the sea. All the rooms have the same sea view.

The spa was under sold a bit (no leaflet in the room) and we didn't get around to visiting it until towards the end. Which was a pity. Some commenters have complained the the pool in the spa is short and narrow. I loved it: it's in a space carved out of the rock face and so being in the pool felt like swimming in a cave. It also made a pleasant and cool escape from the sun.

The Elixir reps were great and very helpful. We found it best to deal with them rather than Reception if we wanted anything in the hotel even if it was housekeeping. We only went on one excursion to Xanthos, TLOS, Carpet Warehouse, Saklikent Gorge and a beach. This was a very long day; add in another location for lunch and it made for a lot of minibus miles. Saklikent is worth the visit and the ruins were impressive. I thought that the Carpet Manufacturers Association and the accompanying hard sell were par for the course and easy enough to ignore even if I did get a bit irked that time wasted there was at cost of more time doing interesting things. However, if you go there knowing you want a carpet and have done your research it may well be possible to pick up a bargin. The couple on our trip who bought one were pleased with the deal.

In summary: we loved it; it was exactly what we were looking for and we enjoyed treating ourselves for a week.

One very small point to Elixir who I know read these reviews. You really shouldn't charge for drinking water. Keeping hydrated is important for people visiting from colder climates. Sure, fine, charge for the gastro labelled mineral water served with meals but not for the plastic bottles needed during the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyDaveSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    45
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
178
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ferring, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just returned from what has been one of our most enjoyable holiday experiences. We booked via ‘Secret Escapes’ and the organisation was first class. On arrival at the hotel we were met by friendly staff and shown to a pristine room overlooking a beautiful bay where we would watch the sun set below the mountains on most evenings.
On previous holidays - we have visited the hotel website to view location, rooms, food etc and invariably have been disappointed by one or the other. The Peninsula Gardens however lived up to its description in all aspects. All 18 rooms have spectacular views – many with their own plunge pools – in addition there is both a large communal pool and a sea swimming deck with a floating sun raft.

Our tariff included breakfast - which was laid out in a covered patio overlooking the bay - with all manner of cereals and fruits to choose from and a chef on hand to display his skills for omelettes and pancakes!

The hotel provided its own shuttle-bus service 3 times daily to the local town of Kas (Kash) where you could explore the harbour and its local shops and many interesting restaurants – or just sit by the harbour wall enjoying a local Turkish coffee or fresh orange juice and watch the world go by.

However, the food at the hotel was so good that we really had to drag ourselves into town to sample alternatives. The hotel offered different menus for lunch and dinner – with delicious options that catered for all tastes – my favourite for lunch being the Tempura shrimp and vegetables and for dinner a beautifully prepared grouper. A complimentary Mezze was provided at both lunch & dinner and we enjoyed toasting our breads on the small ‘firepit’ provided.

The restaurant was an open-air deck overlooking the bay and the excellent staff provided whatever table setting required – 2’s or 4’s - or in our case a table for 10 on the Thursday night when the hotel organised a superb local BBQ evening.

Although we took advantage of the organisers ‘away days’ – being our first trip to Turkey – the facilities offered by the hotel were such that we could just chill out on the twin ‘day-beds’ situated on decks overlooking the sea – where staff would happily provide all manner of drinks while you soaked up the sun.

The best commendation – always best left to last – was the staff. Always welcoming – with big smiles and free advice on all things local – from the young girls who impeccably cleaned the rooms to the reception staff – those chefs who you rarely see but create such wonderful food – and the bar and restaurant guys whose level of service made us feel special.

I believe we chose the best time of year to visit – May and September looking to be the best months – the weather was ‘full on’ sun every day but one – which was a little overcast but warm. Highly recommended and will definitely visit again.

Roy & Mo Parmenter
May 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Peninsula Gardens Hotel is a lovely 18 room property built into the cliffside in a fine location on the coast, outside the attractive small town and harbour of Kas (pronounced 'kash'). It is difficult to fault the size or quality of the rooms which are modern, well furnished and comfortable, with lovely views, especially from your own spacious outside sitting/lounging area. The room we had benefited from a small plunge pool (some rooms have larger pools, some have no pool but this is reflected in the price). Our room and spacious shower room were spotlessly clean.

The public areas are very attractive and include an outdoor poolside dining area with views down to the sea. There is a fresh water swimming pool and a large sea water pool with a raft, and a couple of lounging/sun-bathing areas on two different levels above it. The whole set-up is in many ways idyllic but not ideal for anyone with mobility problems, although there is a lift from the reception area to the upper floors.

There is a spar and a small gym but we didn't use them..

You have to remember that this is southwest Turkey and the service is therefore not what one might expect in a five star hotel in northern Europe. That said, the staff throughout were charming, friendly and only too happy to help. One suspects that training to a five star standard is not readily available but you can't fault the willingness of the staff to learn from constructive advice.

The food at dinner was excellent and its presentation charming, verging on the exotic. The buffet-style breakfast was extensive and varied, making lunch almost superfluous and the breakfast area, being outside, had all the benefits of fresh air and the elevated views down to the sea.

The wines (including Turkish) were perfectly acceptable. The bar did its best to produce familiar cocktails but was not always successful (training?) and I would recommend sticking to beer and the usual spirits.

There is a shuttle bus service at roughly two-hourly intervals into Kas which has a small harbour and a large modern marina. Tourists have not yet spoiled the town and there is a large number of bars and restaurants/tavernas of varying quality. Shopping is obviously tourist-oriented although there are a couple of interesting 'antique' shops. The Friday market is interesting but not worth a lot of time.

All in all, a great place for a week of simply relaxing and enjoying the quality of the hotel and its surroundings, and if you get bored with that there are some interesting local tours that are worth doing and which can easily be arranged through the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with plunge pools obviously have more outdoor space and the higher up you are the more pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFrogPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Disappointingly average hotel. Not to international standards. Tired fixtures and furnishings, basic rooms.

Huge difference from website to reality. Felt somewhat 'conned' especially with the price we paid.

Managed by Elixir holidays so essential ran by holiday reps which is never going to work. Focus was around the pushy reps and their sales pitches. No hotel manager - no personal touch.

Beautiful view and food in restaurant was good - service levels, and in particular the female waitress who was unable to smile, let it down. Worst massage ever had and between the reps and the massuese they were unable to carry out our booking.

Really cannot understand any of the rave reviews. Not for the discerning or well travelled. Such a shame as it takes a long time to get there, location wise it has so much potential.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JohannaSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elixir H, Director of Sales at Peninsula Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Peninsula Gardens Hotel is a beautifully decorated, luxury small boutique hotel with only 18 rooms, in Kas. This private hotel is only 2 years old and the staff strives to provide the best service for its guests and we truly hope that future visitors can actually see that this contributor’s review does not seem to stack up against the others. The timing of this review is also extremely interesting; why not send it in when they return? Even two or three months after but just before the new season begins – six months later?

Travellers can also see that time after time this location receives a great rating (four or five stars), even when value does not – this reviewer gave it three stars. Regarding the staff, they are not seasonal reps, they have been with us for many years and they know everything there is to know about their local area as well as sites to visit and the rest of Turkey. Elixir does not retail any other products than the hotels so there is nothing else for the staff to be pushy about. If guests need anything apart from cars, they usually book before they leave the United Kingdom.

The bartender is internationally trained, the yoga and Pilates teacher has just returned from her Far Eastern master classes, the Area Manager from Brazil etc... The ground staff regularly comes to London to see the operations from the UK side as well as sample customer service first hand in London. There are numerous day to day calls to and from the UK to ensure all our guests are happy and, if things go wrong the measure of a proper, responsible and professional organisation is to immediately put it right which is in our best interest to do – and we always do so. It is unfortunate in this instance that the guest did not approach us with a problem if one existed, they have no pictures of the bedrooms or location to support their critique so we cannot substantiate where that close-up of loungers came from. The hotel is only two seasons old and there are numerous re-bookings for the forthcoming season in this glamorous luxury boutique hotel. It cannot be considered old and tired.

Last September, we also offered our guests one complimentary partner massage, a complimentary one day cabana hire and a boat trip so these guests would also have partaken of these free added extras. If there was a problem with the massage, they could actually tell the masseuse at the time of the treatment – likes and dislikes are well received and as each person is an individual, their needs would also be.

The season is about to start and Sapphire is a Deluxe Room. This accommodation has its own plunge pool and delightful outlook over the Mediterranean – a beauty that cannot be disputed. We would like to send our most recent pictures from August just before the clients said that they visited. There are no touch ups or super wide angles just plain photographs of the room that the clients stayed in. We can be contacted directly for any further enquiries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Two hours drive from the airport, greeted on arrival and shown to our room,. Very nice views from the balcony with two sunbeds, plunge pool outside patio door number 2 a bit cold. On suite shower room large and roomy.Mirror over the bed took us by suRprise. Staff excellent, could not do enough to help us. Shuttle bus to town 3 times a day. Breakfast buffet very good. Kas very nice. but something was missing and I cant say what. It just missed the mark. It was not value for money, a bit pricey for what was on offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
33 Thank garngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here second week of October. Was a really good time to go as weather still hot and town nice and quiet. As other reviewers have said it's the staff that make the hotel. Lots of staff and all very friendly. Booked the gold suite with our own pool although it was freezing! Hotel food was really nice. Bus service into Kas 3 times a day and free which is not the case with other hotels. Hired a car through the hotel for a day - about £40 - and went off to Kekova to see the sunken city. Avoid the big boats and find one of the local boat owners to take you out in their small boats. You can haggle on price and they are much more flexible to suit what you want to do. We really enjoyed Kas, back street restaurants are better and lots of lovely little bars. At this time of year there were great bargains. One small constructive comment about the hotel was the fact that there is no fan in bathroom but there is a vent but it's right above the toilet and through to the corridor! All in all a great place and would definitely go back. Our favourite was Kosk.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for gold or platinum as they were the only rooms that got the sun before midday. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AR&RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

A great place to have a luxurious break in the sun. We came in the second week of October, the weather was sunny and hot bar 1 day which rained. The rooms are of high standard with great sun decks, small pools and great views. We switched rooms half way through as we got a late booking. The first room was a platinum suite, the second Ruby suite. The second room was as good as first, potentially better as was more private. We agreed that if we came back it would not be worth paying more for 'better' rooms as they all seem very good. for what you are getting the price is good. The staff were friendly and helpful. The free transport to Kas (not walking distance by any means) was very convenient. You're def better being on the Peninsula rather than in Kas despite the distance. Kas is a kind of quint little fishing village. I'd give it a 6.5 out of 10 as its not that pretty and resteraunts aren't amazing. This holiday was great really because of the Hotel and views.

In terms of activity bar extreme relaxation, we went on the free boat trip which was a great day out. A nice cruise on a very comfortable boat with a good lunch. We also went on a boat trip to see te sunken city. Much less luxury + an hour in a crappy coach to get there. It was a beautiful trip though. Other people went on a gorge trip which they said was good.

In terms of food the Hotel resteraunt is very good, but beware of the room service food. It's not half as good for some reason. You are better off having a big breakfast and waiting til supper. Meals in Kas are a mixed bag. We had a great meal at Ratattoille. The best place we ate was on our last night at a place called Divakas. This is on the opposite side to the peninsular and can be walked to be going up the drive, right, then left up a track, meet a fork, bear left, turn left at road then you will see a sign on the right. This is another hotel, the setting is amazing with a better view than from the other side. The food and ambience here is very family/Turkish which is the only real thing that the PG lacks. I would go to this resteraunt near the start of your holiday as you will prob want to come back!

Peninsular Gardens is a great place to come an unwind. I would recommend it to anyone who likes holidays where sunbathing in luxury is there thing.





  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LukeJonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kas hotels
0.3 mi away
Lukka Exclusive Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
0.3 mi away
Villa Hotel Tamara
Villa Hotel Tamara
#27 of 48 in Kas
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mavilim Hotel
Mavilim Hotel
#3 of 48 in Kas
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse
0.2 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#7 of 48 in Kas
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Gardens Hotel

Property: Peninsula Gardens Hotel
Address: Beyhan Cenkci Cad. | Selahattin Sonmez sok., Kas, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Kas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peninsula Gardens Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of the most luxurious new hotels we have found on the Lycian coast. As you read this, the first guests are already splashing in their private plunge pools, or basking on their secluded terraces. Literally from the ground up, The Peninsula Gardens has been designed to make the most of the craggy coastal cliffs on which it stands. There are two buildings, but the slope allows the second building to command just as splendid a view as the first. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Peninsula Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing