We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peninsula Gardens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel is a great asset to the Kas area. It is small - ie not really any grounds to the hotel - other than pool/bar and sun beds - with direct access to the sea which is nice. The style of the hotel and workmanship is good, rooms decent sizes and private pools a nice touch. Whilst there is not any 'unfinished work' in the hotel, the view over the hotel onto the car park could be improved, which in time I am sure it will be. I understand that this winter they are making some other general improvements.

The service in the hotel was good, as was the restaurant and bar (wine list could do with extending). Overall this was a very nice, relaxing holiday. it is a 'boutique hotel' and certain things are lacking to give the real 5 star feeling ( ie no clean towels in the evening/turn down service) but nevertheless it is a lovely hotel, in a great location and decent spa facilities (Turkish bath was excellent).

The only problem with this hotel is the agent we used -Elixir. I am not sure if Elixir are co-owners or what, but it does feel that to a certain extent, they are running the hotel. Perhaps the hotel needs to ensure that there is a more hands on hotel manager but this is why I wonder if Elixir are managing the hotel? The set up seems somewhat strange and this was a popular discussion with other guests in the hotel. The only negative points about the hotel relate to the service and incorrect advice on the 'sale' of the holiday etc from Elixir, we are not alone as others told us the same. This is not a reflection on the hotel, the hotel was very good but there is no reason why it could not be excellent and perhaps in time to come it will be. I would highly recommend the hotel but suggest you use a different agent than we did or book direct, if that is possible.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nichollola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 255 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2011

had a wonderful two week holiday in early July, staying in the very spacious Platinum suite which has the largest private outdoor pool. the hotel spa was very good and the hotel food to die for, excellent service from Hassan, Serkant and Esteban who was front of house for the spa.would highly recommend this hotel which has stunning views out across the med,

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tessa099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed 2 weeks in Jade with it's 19ftx11ft terrace pool-we only left our terrace to go to the restaurant to eat. We booked through Elixir who provided excellent private transfer vehicles for the transfer is 2hours but the wine in the chiller cabinet helped us on our way.
We were greeted at the hotel by some of the staff-it made us feel very welcome. The staff throughout the 2 weeks were very helpful after a few hiccups over the first few days. Once the problems were sorted and the staff had a bit more on-site training things got so much better.
Rooms cleaned and linen changed every day and if you needed anything you only had to ask.
The restaurant was excellent and very reasonably priced, we ate out only twice but really shouldn't have bothered-stay and eat at the hotel the service is very, very good and the food is like 'fine dining'!
Because the hotel has only 18 rooms everyone seems so friendly-a lovely relaxed atmosphere.
The spa was reasonably priced and Esterban and his staff provided a good range of treatments-we finished off with a swim in the spa's indoor pool and a cup of apple tea.
A special mention for Serkan and also Hassan who worked so hard to ensure the smooth running of the restaurant and bar!
If you're tempted-try it! It's a very nice 'classy' place to spend your holiday.

Room Tip: If you want the biggest pool-ask for Jade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We loved the Peninsula Gardens Hotel. We loved the local people of Kas who were extremely friendly and amiable. The food at the Peninsula Gardens Hotel was good verging on great and I think it would have been hard to find better in the area. If I were them, I’d invent a couple of special pre-dinner cocktails for which they, themselves, become well known because while they were doing some experimenting behind the bar they could really push the boat out for us Brits.
Rooms are nice and the ones we had were luxurious. The beds are big and when we changed to the second room, there was a large ceiling mirror. There is a nice touch with the under floor lighting. We had such a good time with the people we met we’ve actually decided to keep in touch with some of them back home. The other guests at the Peninsula Gardens Hotel seem to have travelled quite a lot and so were able to compare notes on other places. This hotel stacked up quite well.
This area of Turkey is much quieter and smaller than Fethiye but it’s big in sailing, scuba and snorkelling, history and charm. It has a natural harbour frequented by small goulettes and larger yachts.
There are many ruins and tombs to visit. There is even a Lycian-style sarcophagus now in the middle of the main street at the Centrum, a clear symbol of this ancient city’s heritage. Climb to the top of the hill and see all the rock tombs shaped like temples carved into the rocks, surreal really – history just throwing itself at you. Just to give an example, we asked someone who’s been many times before how many such sites are around, the response was zillions. Not scientific but reassuring, the Kas Amphitheatre is also worth a visit.
The storekeepers were willing to haggle just as much as the stall holders in the market on the Friday that we went. There are some great little deals for those of you mad enough to want to do a spot of early Christmas shopping. If we wanted to, we could visit restaurants, bars and tea gardens. Kas also has charming little cobbled streets with lots of exclusive shops, the sunken city of Kekova was worth a visit as you don’t have to leave the boat as you tour around. For the more active, scuba diving, sea kayaking and even paragliding are available through Elixir Holidays’ reps.
This could so easily have been another – been there done that holiday, tick it off the list – but the little touches of attention by the staff, reps and Elixir Holidays that we experienced were so special that we are actually happy to recommend this little nugget swimming against the tide of the mass market of the holiday world. We wouldn’t have found this place except for the recommendation of George and Andy. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou7076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

For our honeymoon in July we decided to book the best suite of this hotel in may. 3 days before we arrived they called us to cancel our reservation and they offered us a room 3 levels inferior.
There the terrace for the restaurants stinks like toilet.
Kaş isn't 20 minutes by walking like they told us but 10 minutes by taxi.
An employee is sitting at the pub every night to calculate the bills of every customer in front of everybody.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mag029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Yes, we are genuine and yes we will definitely go again! The Peninsula Gardens Hotel is Ab Fab!

We booked the Peninsula Gardens Hotel on a recommendation from our travel agent who seems to have a great rapport with Elixir Holidays. I had never heard of Elixir but apparently they are the best kept secret in St John’s Wood in London. We’re from Manchester so it’s not surprising. I have to say that the first thing I noticed with Elixir Holidays’ Company is the cars. We travelled in an Audi Q7 and we felt very lucky not to have shared as we didn’t book a private transfer. It was so comfortable and luxurious, that we thought that we were mistaken for a celebrity couple especially on the return, we were treated to a brand new BMW. We used the opportunity almost as a test drive for the Q7 and we visited our local dealer when we got back to Blighty.

The staff were falling over themselves to help us. We had to smile and waved them away because as soon as you looked in their direction, they would try to serve or offer us something or other.

Very rarely can I go somewhere and recommend the food but here you have a small hotel whose chef is masquerading as Chef Ramsay (without the colourful language). With this kind of talent I’m wondering why he’s not in an international city but apparently he has family ties to the region. The restaurant is well above average. The care and skill taken to serve the guests is one of the reasons why we rarely left the hotel. We went into Kas only one day and had an evening meal at one of its many charming restaurants. This was very good.

Kas, the town, is actually stuffed full of small one-off boutiques and antique style homes. The people are very friendly and don’t mind if you ask for discounts. The prices are good anyway and we found a lovely little journal covered in a type of animal hide which was beautiful and different. Their silver jewellery is of a high standard and you can pick up some unusual pieces with interesting designs. The market had a vast range of items and if you searched enough you could find some great bargains. We got there with the free shuttle provided by Elixir Holidays which, for some reason they supply free of charge to the hotel. This is a good service as it takes a little over five minutes to go and you can get back with them as they are based in the town for the return journey.

Our rooms (we stayed three nights in one and four in another), were really, really comfortable and beautifully decorated. We got a private pool with our own balconies both times and we loved the uniqueness that this offered. We didn’t even have to go to either the indoor or outdoor pools and I think that this is their USP. If you like onyx, then this is the place for you. We turned off the lights at night and just let the warm glow from the under floor lighting light up the Champagne glasses – yes, this place is conducive to regenerating body and soul. There was just the right amount of gardens and flowers for us – it was tasteful and not over powering.

The spa where we received a partner massage was really professional, so we booked their Hammam scrub and massage. We walked out with new skins and our tans have stayed with us since.

We loved the idea that we were able to snorkel off one of the platforms of the hotel. The Mediterranean is the perfect place to do this with it clear, warm waters and we learnt that this area is classed in the top 100 in the world for diving.

Our overall impression and experience of the Peninsula Gardens Hotel is one of quiet dignity, class, relaxation, luxury, romance and service. We had a fantastic holiday and our parents are going in October when the temperatures are around 25⁰, on our recommendation, our sister and her husband are going next May for their honeymoon.

If we could give this hotel a rating, it would be six stars and we hope they keep up the good work as we think that we’ve found the new talk of the town of Kas.

Best tip – try the full day boat tour. Everyone came back smiling and relaxed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scenehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mserez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kas hotels
0.3 mi away
Lukka Exclusive Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
0.3 mi away
Villa Hotel Tamara
Villa Hotel Tamara
#31 of 48 in Kas
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#9 of 48 in Kas
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lycia Hotel
Lycia Hotel
#34 of 48 in Kas
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Capa Hotel
Club Capa Hotel
#37 of 48 in Kas
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Gardens Hotel

Address: Beyhan Cenkci Cad. | Selahattin Sonmez sok., Kas, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Kas
Price Range: $166 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peninsula Gardens Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of the most luxurious new hotels we have found on the Lycian coast. As you read this, the first guests are already splashing in their private plunge pools, or basking on their secluded terraces. Literally from the ground up, The Peninsula Gardens has been designed to make the most of the craggy coastal cliffs on which it stands. There are two buildings, but the slope allows the second building to command just as splendid a view as the first. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peninsula Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing