We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb steak and charming location”
Review of Chez Evi - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chez Evi
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Chez Evi is located in Kas, this was the best meal we had in Turkey. The food is excellent and the place is so quiant and cosy! the Chef and owner Evi is a wonderful woman with so much passion for food and wine. We booked beforehand and i strongly suggest that you do because the place is not very big and is very popular. You have to try the calamari and the fillet - just fabulous!
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
264 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“superb steak and charming location”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I had dinner at this lovely restaurant with my family yesterday. it is located a few minutes walk of the main square in Kas, however, worthwhile to do the short walk. the restaurant specializes in steak and they do that well - excellent meat and cooked to perfection served with nice home made wedges and fresh vegetables. the service was good and the actual setting is lovely. seems like the new owners have managed to continue in the same spirit and quality as when Evy owned the place herself. not the cheapest food, but not too expensive, would definitely come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timetraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming garden”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Noted from the reviews below that the restaurant has changed hands. The garden is still charming as is the service though very slow. However it is no longer a French restaurant - more Mexican to our surprise with some steaks and a dish of kleftico - as the card we had picked up said French.

Nice atmosphere but the cuisine was not what we expected

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzzzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“French restaurant in Kas”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Set in a small garden with limited tables very good French and Turkish food, expensive. (Went in Sept 2010). However passed it this year in May 2012 and it was closed with a For Sale board outside. I think that may be the end of Chez Evy.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank annej18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
155 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Big in quantity but small in quality”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We decided to check out Chez Evy based on the generally very favorable reviews and the dishes listed in the menu displayed outside the restaurant. We shared a serving of Evy's salad. It was very good. Two of us could not finish it; there was so much of it in a big bowl. The leg of lamb, for one person, my wife ordered was enough for three people but it didn't taste good. My wild boar was really bad: tough meat (yes, game is, by definition, not particularly tender but...) poorly prepared and presented. Again, there was enough of it for three people. There were five kinds of vegetables (not very well prepared) and fried potato cubes that accompanied our dishes. The worst part of whole experience was that we both felt not very good at night - no, we did not even try to eat our share of one third of either of the meat dishes. The young waiter was not interested or knowledgeable enough to provide correct information about the various dishes on the menu - he simply said "I don't eat pork!" when I asked if the wild boar came from the local forest. Madam Evy is selling her restaurant; there is a huge "for sale" sign at the entrance. We paid 150 TL including a bottle of decent Turkish red wine (40TL) and tip, which was not excessive if you only consider the amount of food we were served. But the quality of the experience was not worth it. Regarding atmosphere; yes the little garden like setting is charming but the loud music coming from the neighboring disco did not mix well with the strange selection of the house music blaring from the loudspeakers right above us.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CPLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Steaks in town but don't go for good service!”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We visited Chez Evi after a recommendation of somebody who has gone to Kas for the last 5 years.

The steaks are fantastic and you won't find better in Kas but the service was really poor. Typical french restaurant. A little more attention to detail would make this place superb but then again its got plastic seats!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gracey1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Evi also viewed

Kas, Antalya Province
 
Kas, Antalya Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing