We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunrise or Sunset”

Hellenistic Theatre
Ranked #6 of 42 things to do in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunrise or Sunset”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A good place to visit in the early AM or at Sunset........ a short walk from the center of Kas to this pretty and rather small , Hellenistic period theater . It has been restored somewhat recently and is in good shape , they even hold events in it occasionally . The setting is nice with olive trees and at the end of town and the view from the upper seats is wonderful as you can see the Bay with it's small islands, and the Greek island of Meis that sits just at the entrance to the Bay of Kas , with the mountains coming down to the sea on two sides.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    94
    31
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Helenistic Theatre”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

A reasonable short walk from town is a very interesting ancient theatre (tiered seating for several hundred) and is recommended to any one who has not been overloaded with similar sites in Turkey and Greece.

it is such a pity that no one seems to be looking after this special place - the litter is off putting and graffiti annoying. So much more could be done to make the Kas Helenistic Theatre a very special place - a not too difficult 'tidy up' would be first on the list. With a little effort, there is no reason why concerts and the like can't be a regular feature of this impressive site.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phillip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“If you have the time...”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I had a little time to stroll around Kas so it was a short (hot!) walk to the theatre, then to the tombs nearby, more tombs, then a lunch with lots of shade and water. It was quite nice to hike up the steps and imagine taking in an event thousands of years ago. I didn't hike in the area, so just walking above the theatre was a quick and easy way to get a little feel for the land. It was a nice loop to do (see the free Kas city map). I will admit that the sun was too much for me, but I had enough water.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bikeboardride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful area”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We heard about this area literally on our last day, we did not regret for walking all the way there. From the main square it takes 10 mins to walk. It's sad that in our hotel there was no information about it. Anyway totally worth to see. No entrance fee.

Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
441 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Nice place to stroll to, near to the town”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We popped into Kas, from a boat trip and walked up to this amphitheatre - 26 rows of seating, some of them repaired - in a very quiet part of the town - with a nice view from the top.

Free to enter, nice to visit but you wouldn't spend a long time there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hellenistic Theatre also viewed

Kas, Antalya Province
Kas, Antalya Province
 
Kas, Antalya Province
Kas, Antalya Province
 

Been to Hellenistic Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing