We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet hotel set on the hillside with spectacular views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kalamar Hotel
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel set on the hillside with spectacular views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

Having decided to go to Kalkan for our summer holiday I searched the holiday sites for a cheap but good hotel. After much deliberation and review reading, I chose the Kalamar hotel.
As stated the hotel is set up on the hillside but this presented no problems as the hotel provides an air conditioned car that takes you down to the hotels own beach club and returns you back to the hotel at the end of the day. The car also goes into the main town of Kalkan at 10.00am in the morning, if you want to spend the day in town or at the beach, and the car also takes you into town at 8.00pm so that you can dine at the many restaurants on offer. You have to make your own way back, we walked back, very leisurely and it took about 30 minutes, alternatively you can gat a taxi for about 10 Turkish Lira.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and very quiet, the views are lovely and the breakfast on offer was very good. There were soft and hard boiled eggs, fresh brown and white bread, a selection of Jam, honey and yogurt, olives, cheese, tomatoes, melon, cucumber and creals and cake! Tea and coffee is available and juice, as much as you like! The waiters were friendly and helpful at all times as were the staff in reception.
The pool was small but adaquate and great for a dip after a day roasting at the beach club!
The room was small, but had all the necessary components!! A shower that was always hot, a wardrobe, a dressing table, a fridge, beds and most importantly free air conditioning! There was also a hair dryer, and a chair. We paid for a basic room and we were more than happy, outside our room was a shared terrace with sunbeds and a few tables and chairs with a great view! Towels were changed daily if used and the bed was changed once in the miidle of our week!
The beach club was an added bonus and made our stay even more enjoyable. The sea was clean and crystal clear, the sun beds were free to us as guests of the hotel as were the large sun umbrellas. The lunches were good quality, ranging between 10L and 20L. The drinks were a little expensive but bottled water was available, cold and with beakers provided for 3.75L for a litre. The surroundings were worth it! The water was so clear and brilliant for snorkelling, no beach but terraces with swimming pool style steps into the sea! It was beautiful to swim in as so clean and warm, and there were free pedalos and a canoe as well as a round floating trampoline to play on. There is also a dive club at the beach club if you fancy being adventurous and the usual banana boat and doughnut rides at an extra cost.
Kalkan is on a hill and you will need to do some walking but I thoroughly recommend a visit. Kalkan town comes alive in the evening and is home to some amazing restaurants. We did not have a bad meal and we do appreciate good food! Closer to the hotel is a small restaurant (opp Xanthos hotel) called House bar, I think! The owner is a lovely guy, it is very relaxed and informal and the food is very good.
We had a relaxing and chilled out holiday and will definately return to this jewel on the med!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jolly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    77
    24
    12
    10
See reviews for
50
125
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

The Kalamar Hotel has easily the best view in Kalkan, especially from the breakfast terrace. The staff were absolutely delightful and welcomed us instantly. The hotel was perfect for a lazy holiday in the sun, especially with the beach club just down the road. The future plans for the hotel will make it even better than it already is :)

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonBattisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We have just got back from a great week at the Kalamar Hotel. All the staff were friendly and very helpful, even at 4am when we arrived, there were people to welcome us and carry our bags to the rooms. The apartment we stayed in was comfy and had stunning views of the bay. Breakfast was great, with fresh fruit and amazing freshly made cakes! Down at Kalamar beach, the food was lovely. The hotel even provided a free shuttle bus up and down from the beach, and one down to Kalkan town at night! We found it nice and quiet for a lovely relaxing holiday. I would love to stay here again :D

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizH89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

Overall this hotel is in a good location with some fantastic views, the hotel is clean and the staff are very attentive. We would however advise any couples planning to stay here to make sure they do not book a standard room for 2 people as you will find yourself shown to what can only be described as backpackers accommodation. We were shown a horrid, tiny, dark, dirty room with 2 single beds and had to upgrade on the spot which cost £250 for a week, this happened to 3 other couples while we were there so be warned if booking! The hotel pool is small and warm which is not great if needed to cool off but does do the job. The hotel is beautiful but sadly lacking in atmosphere due to the amazingly high prices of drinks, food etc, 2 lemonades cost us nearly £10! Yes I know it is a hotel but compared to all other hotels and bars in the area it is really overpriced, this means that there is no social side to your holiday as nobody has a drink before going out or when you return from your evening. It also meant that you could not just spend a day in the hotel as the food was very basic and that there was only the small pool area to spend time in. We never saw anybody having a meal in the restaurant and it just seems a shame that there was no opportunity to mix with the other guests. The beach club is a massive plus and the free transport is regular and very well organized, again though very expensive for food and drinks.
Overall if you just want somewhere to sleep and not spend a lot of time, then this is perfect! Could be so much more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pointon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

I had a delightful week staying at the Kalamar Hotel in Kalkan.

The hotel overlooks the Kalamar Bay, which is stunning. If you don't know Kalkan, it is very friendly and lively, and an ideal location for couples. The hotel is probably unsuitable for unsupervised children for safety reasons as is built high up with sheer drops on each side. It is, however, the nicest hotel in the area with regard to charm and atmosphere.

If there are any considerations about the hotel it is that the pool is fairly secluded and small-- the manager told me that they were considering moving the tennis court, which overlooks the bay, and putting a pool in its place, which would be an improvement. The hotel itself is very quiet, with no nightlife of its own; the food is quite basic and not good for vegetarians; and alcohol is expensive. However, these bad points are outweighed by the good points, which are undoubtedly the incredible view, glorious sunshine, and friendly people etc.

In a nutshell, the hotel is clean, tasteful and comfortable, and is affiliated to a great beach club, which is ideal for sunbathing, water sports, swimming, and has good food. The hotel is very accommodating with regard to mini-bus lifts to and from town and to the beach club, although this is not entirely necessary as both are enjoyable walks and not far from the hotel. There are also a lot of inexpensive excursions available from the hotel and I highly recommend these, particulary the boat trip and trip to one of the longest sandy beaches in the world. I also found the hotel and area very safe and had no concerns whatsoever considering I was staying alone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evian_1273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

For the first time ever we returned to the same resort and to the same hotel.We loved the location-possibly too quiet for some but so beautiful and relaxing. The standard rooms which we stayed in are fairly small but are spotlessly clean-fresh towels every day and bedding changed every second day. Breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace with uninterrupted views of Kalamar Bay-absolutely the best start to the day.There is a good selection of food(mainly Turkish) but what else would you expect! Cereals, toast ,eggs etc. for those who don't want olives and cheese. Service was attentive and helpful. Free use of beach club for hotel guests is an added bonus as hotel pool is small. Free shuttle bus to and from the club and into Kalkan very welcome in the heat. This hotel is perfect if you want somewhere with beautiful views, peaceful surroundings and nobody pestering you to spend money at the bar ( as has been our experience in the past).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimigursus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

On arrival given a duplex room on 2 levels. Very narrow and steep spiral staircase to upper floor. Could not get suitcase upstairs. Very hot and airless despite air conditioning. Spent very unconfortable first night before moving to a suite with a pleasant terrace. This room was on one level, cooler and more spacious but lacked attention to detail as would be expected of a 4 star hotel. Breakfast is not worth bothering about - poor selection, little to eat and they wanted to charge extra for fried eggs!!!! Minute swimming pool with a few loungers and parosols. Very few facilities. Lovely location and views across the bay. Would recommend the beach club which can be reached by hotel shuttle bus provided. This hotel could be super if it improved its facilities, its food and evening entertainment eg a properly staffed bar.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johndeb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.1 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#7 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#8 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.1 mi away
Samira Resort
Samira Resort
#9 of 39 in Kalkan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalamar Hotel

Property: Kalamar Hotel
Address: Kalamar Bay, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkan
#23 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalamar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high above Kalamar Bay and overlooking the water, this hotel features a pool and a beach club with a restaurant and terrace. The Kalamar offers modern rooms with views of the water and the white-washed houses of the fishing village. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a minibar and private bathroom. Kalamar's restaurant overlooks the bay and serves a selection of international meals and snacks. It is possible to eat indoors, or out on the terrace with its bright bougainvilleas. Guests can relax on the lounge chairs by the outdoor swimming pool or arrange a diving or snorkeling excursion at the 24-hour front desk. Kalamar Hotel offer free parking and is a 30-minute drive from Kaş. Fethiye is a 1.5-hour drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Kalamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalamar Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing