We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel - Don't listen to below bad reviews!!”
Review of Kalamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kalamar Hotel
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel - Don't listen to below bad reviews!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I am writing this review a little late as we did go in August last year!! However we have rebooked for this year as the stay was one of the best holiday's I've ever been on.
We arrived at the Kalamar in the dead of night - pitch black and didn't quite know what to expect, however when we woke up we where pleasently suprised, the views this hotel offer are fantastic and the breakfast on the terrace is spectacular for the views. Yes the breakfast isn't a full english type of service but who goes on holiday to go home from home? I certainly don't! Kader the hotel manager and all of the staff at the hotel will do anything for you. We arrived and realised we had forgotten beach towels! Doh! The lads where more than happy to hop on a scooter and buy us some towels so we didn't have to go into Kalkan to get them! The hotel is about a 5 minute drive from the centre of Kalkan and the hotel offers a shuttle service to the town at 10 am and 8pm which is ideal. It's about 7 turkish lira to get back in a taxi which is nothing!
The beach club is also brilliant - the food is great value for money and really tasty and the service is excellent. If you get friendly enough with them your picture will be put on the 'wall of fame' on your last day so make sure your in your best bikini and not looking too dishevilled!! Haha!
The restuarants in Kalkan are also fantastic I would recommend Aubergine, the Doy Doy and Beligins Kitchen. Kader also booked us into a restaurant at a trout farm in a town called Ishmelar (not sure if this is spelt correctly) but the food was amazing and the views are breath taking (as it was nearly at the top of the mountain overlooking Kalamar and Kalkan bay). Tip - just because the starters are cheap doesn't mean these are tapas style !! We ended up with a mountain of food!
I would also recommend going on a turkish boat for the day. We went on a lovely one. If you go to Kalkan harbour and look for a boat called Pina-X this is the nicest. We went on two boats once with Captain Abdi of the Pina-X and once on another one but the Pina was definately the best and Abdi is lovely!
I truley cannot wait to go back this year - once you've been you will get the Kalkan bug! Nearly all the people we met where regulars!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterSungodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    85
    30
    15
    17
See reviews for
65
144
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woolton,Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Over the past 3 years, I have stayed at the Kalamar Hotel several times. It has been a consistently excellent experience. The hotel is tastefully decorated. The staff are professional and helpful.The hotel is nicely decorated and the room that we had, was wonderful with private terrace. What keeps me coming back (and hopefully will continue to keep me coming back) is the great location and great service. Thanks to Kader for such an unforgettable holiday.
I highly recommend this special charming boutique hotel.

Isabella & Aidan Webster

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IsabellaW71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

After a 1 week holiday at the Kalamar in July this year i have just booked to return next June. The resort of Kalkan is beautiful with lots of gorgeous restaurants to eat in if you are a 'foody' and lots of pretty sights to take in while you eat. If you like to get off the tourist trail hire a jeep and head off on the D400, this road runs right along the coast and we found some lovely hidden villages and places to stop and take in the true Turkey! Hotel was great for what we wanted, a clean and comfortable base with a great beach club for the days when we didnt want to venture far and a lovely breakfast with views of the bay to start your day. Shame that the service some of the recent visitors recieved has let the hotel down on the reviews, but dont be put off...... i'd still recommend! Recently had relatives also visit at end of season and they too experienced the lack of breakfast but are not put off and will return also.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate,York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Excellent location near the sea. The room was clean and comfortable. The Manager Kadear and his staff was great, very friendly and helpful both late and night and early in the morning. Definitely would recommend this hotel!”
Larry C

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarryCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

We stayed at the Kalamar Hotel during the last week of the season from the 12-19 October, where the season in Kalkan continued one more week until the end of October.
When booking the hotel we had spoiled ourselves and paid an extra GBP 50.00 to upgrade to a so called suite, which we believe was the right choice.
Arriving at the hotel we found to have received probably one of the best suites as it was at the very end on a corner overlooking the bay. Downstairs was a little bathroom with a small lounge, including a small TV and fridge as well as some additional storage. Some spiral stairs were leading to the double bedroom, which also had a large closet. From the bedroom you were able to access to small balconies with chairs and a table. The lounge offered access to a small terrace with a sitting area (small sofa and chair) and also 2 sun lounges.
The holiday couldn’t have started any better in Kalkan.
From the Hotel it took about 20 minutes to talk to Kalkan, which was pleasant enough, however, by the end of the week somehow the road seemed to have stretched. In the evening we took a taxi back to the hotel, which was around 10 Turkish liras, but please be aware afternoon midnight there is a 50% charge on top.
On the first day the breakfast was served on a terrace with the beautiful view of the bay.
The breakfast buffet consisted of a Turkish breakfast like olives, bread, goat cheese, eggs, but you could also find toast, butter, jam honey and 2 types of cerial. Tea, Coffee and some juices were also served.
The following day the breakfast was moved inside as the weather was a bit overcast and unfortunately it remained inside throughout the holiday. Some days the consistent of the breakfast was less than other  No juice today, but tomorrow....Further into the week the buffet was abandoned and breakfast was served on a single plate and bits and pieces were starting to miss. “There is no more juice or there are not more eggs as it is the end of the season”. It was more and more disappointing to attend breakfast the further it was in the week.
The staff was quite young, friendly, but not very service orientated. Like with the breakfast also we started to feel the impact that their season ended soon. One morning when we had a lay in – all of a sudden some staff climbed over onto our terrace and were going to take our sun lounges and mattresses for them. Firstly our privacy was disrupted as the staff member had a great view of us getting ready for the day, but also we were still paying guests at the hotel and they attempted to prepare for closing it for end of season. Having spoken with the staff member we managed to fight for our sun lounge, but only later that day we had go to reception to retrieve the mattresses again. Unfortunately we never saw the cushion for the outside sofa again.
Another disappointing experience was that when housekeeping knocked to make up the room while we were in it, they didn’t come back later but tomorrow, even though you mentioned you will be gone in 30 minutes. I believe this wasn’t the language barrier, but just that their motivation was just not there.
We have been taking this experience with a pinch of salt as we didn’t want our holiday to get spoiled and we don’t mind little hick ups, unfortunately we had to leave with a bitter taste in respect to the Kalkan Hotel.
Our transfer to the airport was only at 07pm and we had asked to pay a late check-out charge of GBP 15.00. On check-out I was going to speak with the Manager to share my disappointment of the service b’fast, housekeeping etc, but on reception was a young lad, who didn’t speak any/little English, but only had the order to charge GBP 15.00 and didn’t even know the exchange rate. It was not worth it to stand our point and argue with the young lad, who was just following the instructions he had received from his manager, therefore we had settled the late check-out charge – Nevertheless this had left a very bitter taste for us and we would not recommend this hotel considering we were the last guest of the hotel of the season of 2009 – they had virtually locked up the hotel with our departure.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NickLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Early mornig arrival due to delay at airport.First room shown was occupied.Second room dirty cobwebs on lightshades.fridge not working.dirty cups and glasses outside door.Offered inferior room no sea view not acceptable .3 days later cobwebs still therse dirty cups still there fridge still not working.WE had complained every day but to no avail .Went to see manager early next morning showed him photos of cobwebs dirty cups etc.He said go for breakfast he would sort it out.Went up to breakfast we were first there 6.50am .All waiters inside chatting . Breakfast is served outside on terrace and the UNCOVERED food on the serving counter was being eaten by birds! We told the staff who just chased them away but did not replace the food.We returned to reception and told thge manager we were vacating our room.Booked into Meldi Hotel which was superb.Informed our travel agents of our move but we were still charged for 8days even though we were there for 3days.Ther were more problems but I have said enough.Dont believe everything you read about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jamesharWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for a week from 12 Oct on a B&B basis, and my overall impression isn't great, probably becuase it was the end of season & the hotel was winding down before the winter. First impressions were good, the hotel is in a quiet location with stunning views across the see and Kalkan bay. It's about a 20-25min walk into town, which we didn't mind, but usually got a taxi back in the evening (approx 10 Lira). We booked a suite (2401) and I'm glad we did, as it had a huge terrace with loungers and chairs. Downstairs had seating, a TV, fridge & modern bathroom. Upstairs was the bedroom with plenty of storage, a balcony with seating and another set of doors opening out towards the sea. The views were superb!! However, the downside was the service, mainly at breakfast. Day one was fine, breakfast on the terrace with a selection of juice, fresh fruit, bread, cheese etc. Subsequent days there was less and less food, some there was no juice, others we just had a pre-made plate and the response when asked where breakfast was - was 'sorry, we are closing for the winter'. By the end of the week it became a joke, and wasn't worth going down to breakfast for. By day 4 we found out that there were only 15 guests in the hotel, and by the last day we were the very last guests in the hotel. They even had the cheek to charge 15 pounds for a late check-out, which I thought was a bit much. Overall the hotel was nice, but they really need to work on their customer service skills & get some more breakfast for the guests. PS - Arrange a private taxi or car transfer from Dalaman airport, otherwise you'll have a 2+hr transfer in a minbus.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.3 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kalkan
270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#6 of 39 in Kalkan
241 reviews
1.1 mi away
Samira Resort
Samira Resort
#14 of 39 in Kalkan
465 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pirat
Hotel Pirat
#5 of 39 in Kalkan
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalamar Hotel

Property: Kalamar Hotel
Address: Kalamar Bay, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkan
#23 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalamar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high above Kalamar Bay and overlooking the water, this hotel features a pool and a beach club with a restaurant and terrace. The Kalamar offers modern rooms with views of the water and the white-washed houses of the fishing village. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a minibar and private bathroom. Kalamar's restaurant overlooks the bay and serves a selection of international meals and snacks. It is possible to eat indoors, or out on the terrace with its bright bougainvilleas. Guests can relax on the lounge chairs by the outdoor swimming pool or arrange a diving or snorkeling excursion at the 24-hour front desk. Kalamar Hotel offer free parking and is a 30-minute drive from Kaş. Fethiye is a 1.5-hour drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HRS, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kalamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalamar Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing