We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kalamar Hotel
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just back from 2 weeks in Kalkan. Our first time there but most people we spoke to were on their second, third or more visit. It is mainly a British resort for families. We stayed at the Kalamar hotel in a duplex room which was great, wow what views. Each day wakening up to views of the bay. What more could we have wished for! Breakfast is typical continental which we enjoyed. Nobody really used the hotel in the day as pool area not that inviting, but the beach club was great, free pedlos and canoes. You can walk down to it ok via steps alongside the hotel and get the mini bus back up (available each hour) driven by Albert. It is about a 30 mins walk in to the centre. We did it a few times but mainly got the mini bus which runs at 8pm only. You can get a taxi back which was only 16 lire. There are plenty of restaurants and bars in Kalkan and we never had a bad meal. Serkan the customer manager was very friendly and helpful, each morning he made a point of coming up to the breakfast terrace to speak to the visitors. The Staff at the beach club were also very good. All in all a very enjoyable holiday and would recommend the Kalamar Hotel.

Room Tip: Corner duplex rooms and suites have their own patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dufben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    77
    24
    12
    10
See reviews for
50
125
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wallsend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Kalamar for eight nights in July in a Duplex Room which had shared terrace and private balcony with amazing views! We found Serkan to be helpful and friendly as were the rest of the staff. I have to say the hotel could be alot better if more effort were made in the bar area, we never had a drink there during our entire stay nor saw anyone else. Breakfast was good served up on the top balcony, stunning views and a chnace to speak to some of the other guests staying in the Hotel, the coffee could be stronger. We visited the Beach Club a few times, get down early for a good spot, great service down there and free use of pedalos, kayaks, water trampoline etc. It was our first visit to Turkey and Kalkan was a perfect choice the town is fab gorgeous restaurants too many to choose from its best to book the night before to get a great table. Would recommed the trip to Sakklikent Gorge and Tlos, dont miss beautiful Pattara Beach and best day of the holiday was boat trip on Yildiz 2!

Room Tip: Book a Duplex Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I chose the Hotel from the reviews on TripAdvisor having stayed in Kalkan last year at the Pirat-I chose the hotel because of the dive centre. We arrived very late to a Night Porter who could speak no English & was not exactly what I call helpful, the rooms were very small & spartan, but to be honest we were tired, so I left it till the morning. The breakfast was very limited served on a very windy balcony, whilst trying to make toast, a fuse blew & noone seemed to know what to do, in the end I gave up & went in search of the Manager to complain about the rooms. After some haggling he showed me a duplex room which was much larger & everything was a lot newer than the ones we were in.
The Beach Club is quite a climb down from the Hotel, so be fit or use the shuttle bus the whole time, because the breakfast at the Hotel was so limited we ended up having to pay for breakfast there. The facilities were very good & the guys who work there are brilliant (Mustafa, Faisal & Oktai to name just 3).
There didn't seem to be any kind of Bar service or Dinner service at all at the Hotel so we ate out every night, either walking down the road to Aqua or House or catching a taxi into Kalkan.
Kalkan Diving is fantastic & well worth having a go, all the instructors were fantastic.
The Hotel could be fantastic but I'm not sure the manager has a clue how to run a hotel, there was absolutely no atmosphere so in the end we just used it as somewhere to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for the duplex rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JC181055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I'd never been to Turkey before, let alone Kalkan so I was a little apprehensive at what awaited me. On arrival, I couldn't have been happier. The location of The Kalamar Hotel is absolutely perfect - maybe a mile out of the main town but nestling beautifully on the hillside and overlooking Kalamar Bay. There are quite a few steps here and there so this is something to consider if you have restricted mobility.

Rooms are basic but very comfortable and spotlessly clean and it was nice to have air con and fridge facilities (at no cost - unlike some hotels). The breakfast was perfectly acceptable - continental style but tasty and plenty of it. The pool isn't huge but perfect for taking a cooling dip to escape the massive heat. Serkan is a credit to the hotel. Very welcoming, knowledgeable and ready to help with excursions and arranging taxis whenever you want to go out anywhere.

The beach club is particularly good, including a dive centre, watersports (some free), a fantastic restaurant with beautiful views, great food and free wi-fi. Calm and clear waters make it perfect for snorkeling and swimming. Mustafa and Faisal are great and the service they provided was impeccable. There is a free shuttle bus service to and from the beach club which was great after a day lounging in the sun.

There are plenty of restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel - Aqua and Cafe Vita are particularly good. A walk into Kalkan will take you around 20 minutes but taxis are plentiful. The town is a really lovely place with a fantastic choice of very good places to eat. There are plenty of things to see and do on days out. I'd recommend Saklikent Gorge and a day on a boat to Kekova is a must.

My experience of Turkey and of the Kalamar Hotel was one of peaceful relaxation and I wouldn't hesitate to go back there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our 2nd time in Kalkan, our 2nd time in the Kalamar hotel. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. Serkan and Isha go out of their way to make everything easy, from booking tours for us to bringing us Ice whenever we need it. The private beach has everything you need at your fingertips. Great food at the beach club and good service. A special mention to Alpash our driver who always took us into town. We were running late for a boat trip and he took us all the way to the boat so we wouldn't miss it. Perfect location, a short walk into town, is more peaceful than being right in the centre. When we arrived and when we left the young man working cleaning the decks insisted on carrying our heavy bags for us, this was a good touch. Air conditioning works really well so the room can be a bit of a getaway from the heat. Good fridge facilities in the room, it has all you need.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel occupies what must be one of the best sites in Kalkan overlooking Kalamar Bay. We stayed in a suite room on the second level and had our own private garden area with sun loungers and brolly. It also had a brilliant garden settee and chair with thick cushions and drinks table too. All this with a lovely view.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, especially Serkan, the guest relations manager, who spoke excellent English and was eager to help wherever possible.
The hotel was clean and well presented and the suite room was very spacious with two large armchairs and a huge bed. It would be difficult for anyone with mobility problems because the hotel is on a hillside with many steps.
The beach club at the waterside in Kalamar Bay involved many steps but there is a shuttle bus. Swimming in the sea there involved climbing down a ladder, as in a swimming pool, but the water was clear and calm. The service there was excellent too.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The hotel management would do well to photograph the hotel from the top road to show its beautiful location.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

With breathtaking views of Kalkan and free access to Kalamar Beach Club this could be the best hotel in Kalkan.....but it isn't! The hotel staff provide an adequate service and are very sweet and pleasant but conversation is limited as they are predominately non English speaking. The decor and fabric of the building is old and tired and a major refurbishment is required. However it's not the size of the rooms or the distance from town which you can cope with its the lack of energy and commitment to providing a holiday atmosphere which is missing. The bar isn't a bar by Kalkan standards it unfortunately resembles a 70's crown bowls bar that is poorly stocked, serves warm beer and closes before it opens. I visited the bar everyday for a pre - supper beer and never met anyone else in there for two weeks, not what I wished for. As previous guests have mentioned the bed linen and towels remove your very expensive tan with one swift drying motion it's so abrasive. Breakfast is so limited offering nothing but eggs but interestingly no omelette is on offer and you eat this while the staff line up on the steps observing you which is very off putting. The only engagement with other guests is a post breakfast chat or a chance crossing on the steps whilst trying to leave the hotel to get to the Beach Clubs. Overall a very different experience which will suit many for the price and no frills approach but it wasn't for us.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Timlet1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.1 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#7 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#9 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#12 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.1 mi away
Samira Resort
Samira Resort
#8 of 39 in Kalkan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalamar Hotel

Property: Kalamar Hotel
Address: Kalamar Bay, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkan
#23 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalamar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high above Kalamar Bay and overlooking the water, this hotel features a pool and a beach club with a restaurant and terrace. The Kalamar offers modern rooms with views of the water and the white-washed houses of the fishing village. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a minibar and private bathroom. Kalamar's restaurant overlooks the bay and serves a selection of international meals and snacks. It is possible to eat indoors, or out on the terrace with its bright bougainvilleas. Guests can relax on the lounge chairs by the outdoor swimming pool or arrange a diving or snorkeling excursion at the 24-hour front desk. Kalamar Hotel offer free parking and is a 30-minute drive from Kaş. Fethiye is a 1.5-hour drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Kalamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalamar Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing