We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fidanka..........fantastic!”
Review of Hotel Fidanka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Fidanka
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fidanka..........fantastic!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

After much research we decided on this wonderful boutique hotel....as previously mentioned lots of quirkiness to last a lifetime but so beautifully put together ...everyone from the owner to the day to day manager Borland (spelling ?) and his two young protégés were very kind and attentive...Borland often inquiring as to the time we would get in from an evening in Kalkan...he may have been a bit surprised that a couple in their sixties could still enjoy a night on the tiles! He is a dab hand at cocktails too! The breakfast is a feast for the eyes ......Turkish of course - I had read a previous review where someone had said the breakfast was awful and went elsewhere to get his full English.....he should have stayed at home! Don't you go away to experience life in a different way to that at home for a few days/weeks? The rooms are beautiful.. we stayed in Mimosa a bit of a climb on a hot afternoon but oh so we'll worth it..the views and sunsets were amazing. We did the obligatory walk into Kalkan..it had to be done..just once I hasten to add after that we would watch from our balcony for the water taxi to start his return trip from the harbour and gauge the right time to make the walk to the jetty for our morning trip into Kalkan.. lovely and after that we had just decided we would budget for taxis as and when needed and be done with it. There were ever so small bits missing but not enough to downgrade the review at all - a bin our room would be useful and possibly a safety box but this doesn't put me off..truly amazing and would we go back? Oh yes please but not in July ..just too hot for us next time (and there will be a next time..) September. Thanks to everyone at the hotel you did yourselves proud and gave us a holiday to remember

Room Tip: The two top deluxe timber rooms with jacuzzi ..amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catriona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    33
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
144
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Having returned home last night from a weeks stay in the Fidanka hotel, I feel compelled to write a review (my first on T.A).
I booked this hotel through a tour operator which was offering a very good rate - always slightly suspicious of cheap deals, I spent a good deal of time researching the hotel and its surrounding area beforehand.
My hours of research did not let me down - the hotel turned out to be everything and more. I fell in love with the place at first sight - from the beautiful bouganvilla and jasmine scented gardens, through to the amazing timber rooms. It is clear that there has been much time, love and thought spent into making this hotel so peaceful and welcoming. I particularly admire the way that the hotel sympathetically blends into the hillside, no harsh or invasive building work here.
The rooms are clean and have air conditioning - something which is a necessity in fierce summer temperatures.
The food is great. Breakfast is simple but very tasty, make sure you try the omelette! We also dined there one evening, and a lunch plate of meze - both delicious and as good as anything else in town.
The staff are very helpful, nothing is too much trouble and Bulanz (sp?) was so kind and attentive during our stay.
The only negatives for me where ones which I had previously read about - the tour operator rooms are on the ground/first floors, so although you still have a great seaview , there may be a lack of privacy or perhaps noise from around the poolside bar of an evening.
I would definitely recommend hiring a car - although you can catch the water taxi (5Tl)or a normal taxi (18TL) into Kalkan, it makes life a little easier in the long run.
The area itself is very hilly so I would not recommend this place for those unable to manage steep hills/steps.
We plan to return to Fidanka (which is unusual for us to go to the same place twice), but we will book independently so that we can stay in the higher level rooms.
All in all, a wonderful place for spending some special time with a loved one.

Room Tip: Book independently and ask for a top level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HayleyF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a great time at Fidanka... The room was lovely; clean & spacious with lots of quirky touches. Service was second to none, the manager Bulent was fantastic, very thoughtful & a really nice guy. The pool area is gorgeous & has beautiful views over Kalkan. We had some nice meals there, the BBQ evening was particularly good & very reasonably priced.

Be aware that the only route into town on foot is on a main by-pass type road... We got taxis in the evening but would've preferred to walk had there been more scenic route. There is a taxi boat but it wasn't operating during the evening when we visited, not sure if it operates later in peak season.

The only negatives (which are really minor!)... Glasses in the room weren't changed for clean ones everyday & the mattress wasn't terribly comfortable... But apart from that it was fab!

Room Tip: Book direct for the best rooms or if you book through a travel operator, email the hotel to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadey_H22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I saw and fell in love with this hotel when I was researching our recent holiday to Kalkan. We actually ended up staying in a friends' apartment for the week however, I already had my heart set on hotel Fidanka and convinced my other half to stay one night at the hotel in the middle of our week away - it was the best decision of the holiday!

You will never forget a stay at this hotel; the owners have put a lot of effort into making this a truly unique place and every nook and cranny is filled with something unusual to look at. I booked a Timber Terrace room however, every room has a sea view and I believe each one is individual so I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

I felt like our room was a massive treehouse (this is not the place for those liking minimalism and modern clean lines) - yet it still had a feeling of luxury. The balcony had the most amazing view of the sea and the mountains and was big enough for us both to sit comfortably and enjoy the sunset - it was truly stunning. The bed was comfortable, the shower was great, the staff were friendly, breakfast was included and there was a good choice of food. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and had probably my favourite meal of the week - as well as one of our cheapest.

The two things I 'didn't like' about the hotel (albeit not enough to mark it down!) was the small sunbathing/pool area - there are only 10 loungers which are very close together and the waiter that 'hovered' a little bit (i.e; waiting for a tip). Another consideration is that the hotel is outside of Kalkan town (not walking distance) and the taxt cost us around 25TL. Otherwise, we had a fantastic stay and a night that we will never forget.

I would recommend anyone staying in Kalkan who is looking for a romantic getaway, to book this hotel. You won't regret it and you will never forget it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Fidanka this june. The apartment was spacious and clean and the terrace with a panoramic view of the sea and Kalkan village was my favourite part.
The breakfast time was a very pleasant experience, near the pool are with a lovely sea view and surrounded by beautiful flowers and plants. The food was healthy and delicious; I’ve enjoyed their Turkish yogurt very much, similar with Greek yogurt but with a tangy twist.
The staff is pleasant and helpful, happy to assist you.
We really enjoyed our stay and we would like to return in the future.

PS: We would recommend renting a car to better explore the area and to have easy access to the nicest beaches in Kalkan area - Kas beach and Patara beach. We rented our car from a local agency Alltour, they were very helpful and reliable.

Room Tip: Try to book directly with Fidanka website, as the better rooms are kept for direct booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ancagalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Really nice staff. Small an intimate. Staff can't do enough to help you. Very chilled out atmosphere. Lovely room- mimosa. Great value bar food. Kalkan is a lovely town as well. Lovely unique hotel rooms with beautiful flowers growing around the hotel. I went with a friend but would also be very romantic for couples. Children would get bored as not much to do but ideal for adults wanting to unwind and have some lovely food

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabrielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I am here now and all I can say is 'oh wow what a wonderful place' more to follow when I get back to cold wet Leeds in a fortnight :-) but room is like an Aladins cave - loads of cubby holes with secret rooms inside. Beautiful views. Sun loungers on the balcony ... Just amazing

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GaspodeLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
1.2 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#14 of 39 in Kalkan
259 reviews
1.1 mi away
Likya Residence and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
251 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Elixir
The Elixir
#7 of 39 in Kalkan
388 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#12 of 39 in Kalkan
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fidanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fidanka

Property: Hotel Fidanka
Address: Kisla Mevkii, Zeytinlik Caddesi, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
#14 Family Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fidanka, with its fauna, trees, beautiful gardens and antique furnishings, is a Mediterranean fairytale brought to life by a family from İstanbul who loves nature, art, gourmet food and locales with soul. Fidanka means female sapling in Bulgarian, and grows even more beautiful year after year with our love and the happiness of our guests. We have collected hundreds of objects and fauna throughout the years all over Turkey and the world, not because we think of them as decorations, but because we couldn’t bear to be without them. Toys from our childhood, mementos from our families, wooden ceilings, timber doors, window frames - some from nearby villages, some from the other side of the world, all combine to make Fidanka what it is. Fidanka offers five types of beautiful rooms each with immense terraces opening to breathtaking sea views. We used antique furnishings in all rooms, especially in the Timber Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Fidanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fidanka Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing