We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a relaxing holiday”
Review of Hotel Fidanka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Fidanka
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Fidanka houses have a very warm atmosphere. Fidanka is different than other hotels because you feel like at home in those houses. From furniture to the friendly attitude of the hotel owner, everything tries to make you feel comfortable. The furniture in this hotel is the result of a huge amount of effort. Every little thing has a memory and effort behind it. For example, even the keychains of the rooms are made by painting on a piece of wood. You will feel relaxed and calm in an environment surrounded with various flowers and a beautiful landscape. Hotel Fidanka's kitchen has good food with a modest price as well.

Thanks a lot for your hospitality during our honeymoon stay!
Burcu&Eren

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Burcu X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 225 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife, two adult children and I stayed at this delightfully small and charming hotel in August 2012. I would thoroughly recommend this unique hotel. The staff were all so helpful and friendly. The rooms were spacious, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Views from the balcony were gorgeous. The pool was clean, uncrowded, and very welcome in the 40 degree heat. The menu in the evening was varied and reasonably priced. Breakfast was so different but delicious and ideally suited to set you up for the day. The hotel is located a 5 minute drive from the centre of Kalkan. Alternatively, a 10 minute walk down to the free beach club next to the reasonably priced ferry is a fun way to get into the town. The walk up is less appealing in the heat of the day! The town of Kalkan is too far to walk in August. There is loads to do in Kalkan and the surroundings. Kalkan has so many restaurants. The staff do their best to encourage you in, so you have to be firm about where you want to eat! I would have no hesitation in recommending Kalkan or this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

It really wasn't a gamble to agree to return to Fidanka when deciding to go back to Kalkan (only our second time to ever go back to the same destination and same hotel - ever) but we were really pleasantly surprised that the very few glitches experienced last year had been rectified - barring the gosh-awful butter at breakfast. And that proves we have to be picky to really cite anything not great. The hotel remains quirky, quaint, pretty and welcoming. We had the same room but apparently most bookings are now direct and the best rooms (top floor suites) are reserved for direct reservations. Only one tour operator so next year, and yes, I think we're 90% convinced we'll be back, we'll probably book direct. We didn't eat at the hotel this year which is a shame as those who did, reckon it to be just as good as most restaurants in Kalkan and so convenient. Id recommend Fidanka to anybody happy not to be in the centre of Kalkan but in need of great hospitality and a unique base. Brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingPearnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is truly charming. We were lucky enough to stay in the deluxe timber room with the jacuzzi room which was romantic with stunning views your own private tree house. The staff were extremely friendly and I have nothing but good things to stay. I truly hope it doesn't get taken over by a large holiday group as its unique charm which makes this place special will be lost.. I rarely like to visit a place more than once but I just might be tempted to make an exception ..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shereen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We wanted a quiet Romantic location and thats exactly what we got. A boat ride from the main town or local beach just added to the experience. Rustic artisan decor makes Fidanka a unique hotel. Believe me there can't be a nother like it. No wonder people go back, as we plan to do the same. The higher the room the more luxurious but all are different with beautiful sea views and the smell of Jasmin just fills the air around you. Breakfast is ample just be sure to ask for an omlette as no one is told when they arrive. The staff are helpful and friendly. We had the pool area to ourselves most of the time so it felt very personal. Truly a gem!

Room Tip: The higher Timber Rooms are more expensive but don't come with the Thomson pacakge which give yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Fidanka is a small but beautiful hotel with fantastic rooms and stunning views to match. We stayed in a Timber Terrace room, which had a lovely balcony to sit out on and watch the sunset.

The owner and staff are very friendly and are very approachable if you need any information about Kalkan or the local area.

Fidanka only has a few rooms so it never feels busy and retains it's calm surround set with ornate decorations and flowers.

The food was always very good, we only ate there in the evening a couple of times because we also wanted to sample some restaurants in Kalkan itself. The breakfast was a fresh buffet of local cuisine, but they also cook fantastic omelettes or eggs if you ask.

We are certainly planning to return to Kalkan and Fidanka again.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked fantastic but I'd go for a Timber Terrace or a Deluxe Timber Terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Wow - this is by far the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in and my nicest ever beach holiday. A small, friendly, quirky, pretty little bohemian place with idyllic views, friendly staff, WONDERFUL food and an all round chilled and happy atmosphere. We stayed in the deluxe timber room - Mimosa - which has so much personality and absolutely panoramic views - perfect for honeymooners and absolutely worth an upgrade for anyone looking for an unforgettable trip. PLEASE book this room, you won't regret it. The location was perfect for us too, close enough to the centre of Kalkan which had a huge choice of lovely restaurants (not one bad meal) but didn't feel too over-run with Brits, and at the same time, the hotel itself felt fairly secluded. On some days we even had the pool and small timber bar entirely to ourselves with what felt like private service. Kalkan is a pretty little town and if you want culture, history, sights and beaches, this place is for you. If you're looking for somewhere lively and want entertainment, it's not. It's pleasantly bustling with atmosphere but not spoiled. The near-by Kaputas beach is one of the nicest I've ever seen (10 min drive) and even the little man-made beaches a short walk from the hotel are beautiful, with clear waters and dramatic scenery. There was just so much wonderful stuff to do. We went in late September and virtually had the ancient ruins we visited all to ourselves - breathtaking! If you're just looking for a restaurant in Kalkan, then it may be worth making the trip to this side of town for Fidanka too, it's very different to what's being offered elsewhere, small, isolated, quiet and romantic with the nicest food we tried all week and great music and ambiance. I really can't recommend Fidanka House highly enough. I'm amazed it isn't ranked number 1 on Trip Adviser and I don't even think the pictures do it justice. It felt like home. I didn't ever want to leave and will now recommend it to everyone I know.... although a part of me wishes I could keep this place our little secret.

Room Tip: The deluxe timber rooms are exquisite, worth every penny. Mimosa is the best room ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kc3989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Mahal
Hotel Villa Mahal
#8 of 40 in Kalkan
244 reviews
1.3 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#6 of 40 in Kalkan
254 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#13 of 40 in Kalkan
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pirat
Hotel Pirat
#9 of 40 in Kalkan
440 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#14 of 40 in Kalkan
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fidanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fidanka

Address: Kisla Mevkii, Zeytinlik Caddesi, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
#9 Family Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range: $104 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fidanka, with its fauna, trees, beautiful gardens and antique furnishings, is a Mediterranean fairytale brought to life by a family from İstanbul who loves nature, art, gourmet food and locales with soul. Fidanka means female sapling in Bulgarian, and grows even more beautiful year after year with our love and the happiness of our guests. We have collected hundreds of objects and fauna throughout the years all over Turkey and the world, not because we think of them as decorations, but because we couldn’t bear to be without them. Toys from our childhood, mementos from our families, wooden ceilings, timber doors, window frames - some from nearby villages, some from the other side of the world, all combine to make Fidanka what it is. Fidanka offers five types of beautiful rooms each with immense terraces opening to breathtaking sea views. We used antique furnishings in all rooms, especially in the Timber Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fidanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fidanka Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing